Billionaire businessman Jimoh Ibrahim arrested over N6b tax fraud | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 18 November 2013

Billionaire businessman Jimoh Ibrahim arrested over N6b tax fraud

According to a report by Sahara Reporters, the Special Enforcement Unit of Federal Inland Revenue Service has arrested billionaire businessman, Jimoh Ibrahim, over a tax fraud that runs into N6.8b.
Sources within the unit told Saharareporters that Mr. Ibrahim was picked up today and is currently under detention at the offices of the agency.
According to one source, “We are investigating a case where Chief Ibrahim, defrauded the federal government to the tune of N6.8 billion. He is in our custody, we take intend to take a statement from the suspect under caution”, he added.
One of our sources said Mr. Mr. Ibrahim have been evading agents of the unit for some time but disclosed that they eventually caught up with him in his hotel room in NICON Luxury Hotel where he was arrested this afternoon in Abuja.

88 comments:

This is because of the showoff mentality . Half of the rich people in Nigeria living a fake life and keeping up with the joneses .

Genny buy phone she pasted it , SHaking my head. At 35 yrs old

this is so good, cheating the government o din din N6b habaaaaaaaaaah kilode naaaa

Nigeria Banks To Shutdown Nationwide

first to comment...am coming!

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

Eyahh...

Good for him. He chopped my money sometimes bck. I bought a ticket 2 Ghana, the flight was cancelled n I didn't get a refund. I had to quickly buy an emergency ticket frm Arik in order to meet my appointment. Av always known dt God will collect the money frm him, one way or the other.

Finally!overtake don overtake overtake #infela'svoice

If we are a serious country, let the law follow its course. Try him in court, and if found guilty, punish him. Nigerians have been sentenced to 22 years for stealing phones, a crime of this magnitude does far more damage to the nation.

JDY said...

Good to still have good authorities around. But defrauding federal govt.?? You'll always get caught!
Jdy last posted...What Hot Women Really Want In A Guy

I wish for once in this country,justice should be done.Jimoh Ibrahim committed a lot of fraud in Air Nigeria and lying to Nigerians that he shut down the Airline because of staff disloyalty and my question is this before the take over by Jimoh Ibrahim,the same disloyal staff grew the Airline fleet from 3 to 7 when Richard Bradson pulled out of Virgin Nigeria.This man stoled over N6B cashflow generated by the Airline ,by moving money from Air Nigeria on a monthly basis to Nicon Insurance and Nicon Investment.with the assistance of UBA he diverted $18m to set set up Energy bank of Ghana.He stole staff pension, cooperative contribution and staff 4 months salary, before terminating their employment on the pages of Newspaper.If not for the support of OBJ and some key PDP Stalwarts this man should be rutting in jail now. This man called corporate virus in Nigeria economy is only out to buy and kill businesses in Nigeria and we should all pray that God will take him out .

Mich said...

Its about time.
Tax fraud/evasion,no matter how small a percentage it is,constitutes to the bane of the Nigerian economy.
Chief Ibrahim is just one amongst many other wealthy Nigerians who indulge in this act.
Things you can't try with Big Ol' Uncle Sam,the IRS will definitely collect every cent it is owed and still make sure the offender serves time.
But then again,what has the government done with all the tax money they have been collecting?
Why is it so hard for them to keep to their own part of the Social Contract?

Who did he offend? Who did he not settle? He better go and settle that person...

ogaoo I pray Justice takes its full course.

What wrong wit this rich men and fraud oga o some people sha guys checkout
see nollywood actress Uche iwuji Fully nude Photo When She Was In School leaks online

lalasblog said...

i'm not sure why they are arresting someone they are investigating. how about you investigate him first then arrest him. or are you guys hoping to torture him into confessing.

Fammie said...

He doesn't pay tax?

BBM on iPad and iPod

fly guy said...

jimoh ibrahim again

PAVOUR said...

Exactly my dear

What is ur business wit Genny? Abeg shut up.

Gbamest!!!

Lucky U oo

What is EFCC doing with the case of Stella Oduah? Its a big shame to Nigeria security and pple controling dem

Even d rich don't want to pay tax

Well now money is getting short, and the legislators and governors are on the neck of Minister Okonjo-Iweala. But the big man will settle the FIRS as always.

Anonymous 4:34 u re the biggest fool av ever met all my life,am sure u dont av a job cos if u do u will understand wht we re talking abt here,were osi.

Eeeyyaahhh... They shuld try and settle it amicably jare!

Eeeeeeehhhhh! U hate so Tey u carry am enter another matter. Poverty mentality. Am sure u are poor n miserable. Get a life abeg

Dats their headache ooooo

Hmmm, corruption everywhere in Nigeria

say so via Nigeria Gossip News

Rough Diamond said...

Good for him!!!
See e face sef!

Hehehehehehe........the greatest pretender

This. Your comment is fuelled by bad belle get alive pls

@celebritylovife said...

Thief of life! Nwayo man,oya com vomit make Fg chop am! All ov una nah dogs!

lightbirdie said...

Nemesis is finally catching up with oga jimoh

Pls him let pay the money and go to jail for defrauding federal govt

Na my head e offend

Gbam....u said t all...maybe its an achievement to her

Igor said...

He once told a Nigerian daily that he loves swimming in troubled waters.I guess that's why he is always in the news for the wrong reasons

He should go and settle

Nigeria

segi said...

Nt wit d pensioners money of federal govt institutions he made away wit thru NICON INSURANCE PLC & am sure he is praying to b old someday, I wish d law wl take its course

Mischievous said...

He is just one of the many fake rich men in Nigeria.

By broda u don talk am finish...

Fati said...

Girl please!!!!!many of these naija business moguls evade tax o e way or the other in so gar as they settle the officer(s) in charge......we are hearing this only because perhaps sumthng went wrong with the settlement this time.if not,what was FIRS looking at that the tax liqbility rose up to the loint of running i to billions? Sumone wasnt doing his job or busy compromising until the contract went bad with jimoh ibrahim.

Nothing was said of aunty stella again and i am sure nothing will come out of this issue either.This is a banana republic of a country!!!!!!totally messed up!!!!!!

Madam linda,if u like,dont post my comment,shey u hear?

They re plenty oh, my former company still owes me, imagine getting a monthly deduction of pension frm my PAY, yet no pension account, everyone is mute, cuz of ogars at d top, whoever gets to talk, get fired, another ogar at d top dt is world's 5th richest, has no HMO for his workers nor does he have a company bus @least, yet he keeps lavishing on fiesta and recharge to stardom, God is watching them all...

wise ass said...

They couldn't close d N255M case, how would they close a case of over N6B, like d former we would hear stories and d matter would just disappear, is he d only person evading tax?

I totally agree with u,he must have offended someone,have u 4gotten he's one of OBJ boys and jona /obj are somehow enemies,is Dangote paying tax?

You are daft, why invovle genny for this matter

Anon 4:13pm,you're so Dumb for mentioning 'Genny' here.Is this post about Genny? Are you that pained about her success?! Na wa ooooooo,i just tire for some of una ...And LIBers i don't give a flying hoot about your insults(that's why i never respond)#Kiss ma cute Ass Mehn and have a swell time while @ it! :P

PRETTY GIRL

Corporate virus indeed,it's about time this guy is dealt with,he is just grounding nigerias economy.

If they change law on this man.....I pray that G̶̲̥̅̊ø̸̸̨̲̣̣d̶̲̥̅ we judge by himself soon

THIEF!!!!!!!!!

Am nt surprise abt it becos d so called big business men in Nigeria don't pay tax.Dangote,Adenuga,Otedollar,Ovia bt dey are shielded becos dey play politics wit d ogas @d top.

Don Peror Francis said...

Dis Sahara reporters self,una weldone unravelling secret truth

emerald said...

Good for him for making so many youth jobless for a long period of time . I pray he reaps what he has sown. Wicked man

And who catches the federal government that defrauds its citizens on a daily basis?

Please always comment with sense abeg !

snr makaveli said...

Thunder no fit strike am again cus e dey fear asuu,na asuu go strike am oo»our money mtcheewww

Madam We are only hearing this because Jimoh Ibrahim is popular, FIRS arrests evaders everyday, there is always a tax court case everyday. Stop displaying your stupidity here.

Thank u my dear, Hatred has eaten deep into many nigerian and is too bad

Its political jimoh is obj son and obj and Gel are @ war....

He takes delight in buying off dying Companies, he pumps in money, saps them dry,ruin them then close them down giving a very flimsy excuse

curoption everywhere.

THAT MEANS HIS FLOODED NICON HOTEL IN VGC THAT HAS RENDERED VGC GATE ENTRANCE UNMOTORABLE WILL NOT BE RECTIFIED FOR A LONG TIME.

Fati said...

The shallowness with which we present our opinions is alarming.if you do not agree with one person's point of view,state your position and make it devoid of unecessary insults!!!!!haba!!!many rude remarks that are totally uncalled for.there is so much negativity in the way we relate with eachother and it makes me sick to my stomach!!!! I can as well continue on the thread of insults but it doesnt make sense. Show some maturity in discourses or arguments and avoid these bickering! Gosh!!no wonder we are the way we are!!!!!

Angry people....

God is watching dem on 4D screen!!!!!1 day every tin will be over. 4 dem !!!!!awon ole jatiti

so, the government is just getting to know...mcheww. all of them b thief

He'll still bribe his way through

#justpassingby

Comments such as these are what ruin this country, what a warped thought process, if we are all thinking that he should go settle someone and not face the full extent of the law, then nobody should scream when these so-called people in power continue to pillage this country.hipsy!

The guy is a crook! High time he got caught!!

bangla said...

Bangladeshi

Though Say so via I respected Jimoh Ibrahim seriously. He's fucking up these days.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Good...
Very good...
Let him vomit the taxes...
N6.8b is not really a big deal for the super brat dude, I guess...
But let them have him released soon enough...pursuant to the Fair Hearing clause under section 36 of the 1999 Constitution, as amended...
After-all, the man pays the salaries of many thousands of Nigerians who are his employees...
Nobody holy pass, according to Tuface...

That's change compared to bigger frauds by his mentors

Linda Keep up the good work but he was not arrested though even FIRS confirmed that http://wp.me/p41RXl-8W have a wonderful day dishing out the latest news

Petro... T said...

Linda.. I heard that Car scandal: panel submit result, recommend 3-year jail term for Odua.

God bless you for this comment. This Jimoh is a fraudster not a business man. He stole all the money at air nigeria before sacking the staff on the pages of newspaper. He will not know peace till he dies. Oluwa a fi omi ara ati eje ara je Jimoh ni iya. Amin.

Jimoh na unrepentant fraudster. Oloriburuku somebody.

God bless you for this comment. This Jimoh is a fraudster not a business man. He stole all the money at air nigeria before sacking the staff on the pages of newspaper. He will not know peace till he dies. Oluwa a fi omi ara ati eje ara je Jimoh ni iya. Amin.

WE, [i mean us] should be called CORRUPTIONIANS as against NIGERIANS

As much as I dislike the guy..I Know he will still bribe his way out of the system. I can bet that he is in this situation cos he has stepped on some toes. Once he sorts himself out, all will be swept under the carpet as usual. Mshew.

This â„“̊ƨ̣̣̇̇ de country where de poor alone face judgemnt de rich feel de heat a little and den de case â„“̊ƨ̣̣̇̇ sieze so dere's no need celebratin dat a rich man â„“̊ƨ̣̣̇̇ caught in an offence jst passin shai

Fucking Bastard i hope he rots in custody even though i know he'll bribe his way out.

#word#

U are talking like u are not a nigerian and how many rich men have gone to prrison serving time for stealing?

davina said...

Dis re jst stories notin will b done. He is going Scott free.

Jimoh Ibrahim is product of El-Rufai BPE privatization during OBJ..so he is not new to the police and EFCC...