Aero Contractor reportedly changes name to Nigerian Eagle | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 22 November 2013

Aero Contractor reportedly changes name to Nigerian Eagle

According to new reports, Aero Contractors, partly owned by the Ibru family has changed its name to Nigerian Eagle, and will most likely be the official national carrier.

Thisday reports that the airline will be unveiled this Sunday as the nation's national carrier by President Goodluck Jonathan on his return from the UK.
"There will not be Aero Contractors anymore. It is now Nigerian Eagle and it will be launched on Sunday by Mr. President. You will not see Aero anymore after the launch of this airline”. Sources told Thisday on Wednesday,
The Federal Government owns 60% stake in the airline.

78 comments:

jaybeyblu said...

oh-oh!

I hope the change goes beyond mere name to efficient and reliable services.

BEN said...

I hear una, Nigerian monkey.

Ok, noted!

Lolly. said...

So not flying Aero again.

Nigerian WHAT? OH MY.... Thats how the cookie crumbled.

Still partly owned by the Ibrus? That's what they want us to believe. The government has taken over the airline fully.

Igor said...

I pray that this change in name will lead to a better change in their services.On the hand,I am happy that Nigeria has something similar to a national carrier

Finally, i wudnt hv to b discriminated again wen i fly Qatar Airways on transit, where dey say does wit Nigerian passport wud hv to wait in d airport bcus dey cnt get an hotel, dere not allow in 2 d country... #tnxyouGEJ

Igor said...

FG things nor dey get head oh coz of mismanagement ... God help Naija

i prefer the first name,Nigerian eagle sounds local.

Mrs E said...

We don't care about a name change but demand a change in your entire operation. Let's start with your carriers and then your fares

See This Lagos Female Club Owner Flaunts Her Big Bo*obs By Exposing In Public said...

Thats cool. He is automatically telling us he's become one of us and we should gladly welcome him

That shows that the rumours turn out to be true even though some pple denied it at first, hope this wil help in checkin the excesses of arik and help push down ticket prices

This act alone is patriotic enough..

Hian. They shudnt change name oo. Virgin changed and now. They fly no more.
If you ask me, we shud change our name sef. Moreover, it wasn't US that gave Nigeria this name & as Africans say...
There's alot in a name. Lool!

once it becomes the official carrier, then it loses its integrity as an airline and it would most likely not do as well

Mz_NenyeH said...

Nıgerıan Eagle z a good name,but does d name really matter?..d safety does!

Bike Packing Blog said...

Where is Stella Oduah?! Is she gonna be part of the launching?

Msheew

This is good step in the right direction and the government's involvement is a good partnership . Great! #TEAMGEJ

Very good development for the company, I just hope this turn doesn't lead to their decline. But I am happy for them, at least they can comfortably clear their debts; finally we will have our own national carrier again.

Really happy for this development. I hope they this development goes to the education sector too.

If this is true, will be so happy. GEJ till 2019.

That puts an end to my flying Aero or Nigerian whatever they call themselves.
Nigerian government and maintenance...sad story.
Stella just walked free after stealing all that money

Mind Treasures said...

Nice move! But my fear is that theIr services wud be abysmally poor as a result, they most likely wud nt to show their new strenght as a national carrier. At the expense of good customer service, am not a pessimist , jst sharing my fears however. The management may want to prove me wrong, before then am waiting

HOPE THEY CHANGE THEIR PLANS TOO AND MAINTAIN IT WELL O COS D LAST TIME I TOOK AERO TO ABJ ALMOST PEED ON MYSEF..THEY SHD ALSO STOP SELLING SNACKS ONBOARD....I HATE THAT GOSSH

Change the only constant thing in nature. *cagey*

Ŋa̶̲̥̅ dem sabi,its nt a mata of changing name bt T̶̲̥̅̊​♥ work on plane crash matter n make sure dt deir planes aren't old

Buykindlecomics said...

Changing of name does not insure safety, Nigeria aviation sector really needs a much change

And another good airline goes down! Once FG enters,d airline becomes terrible and eventually goes bankrupt. Oh why did Aero do this! #sobbing#

That's ok imo,bt that name though hmmm.

CHOI!! HOPE THEY DONT WANT TO RUN THIS ONE DOWN! I'VE ALWAYS HAD FAITH IN "AERO", WILL HAVE TO APPLY SOME RISK AVOIDANCE ON THIS NEW DEVELOPMENT!!

More like mrs Jonathan and oduah have 60% share in it. It has been dame life long dream. Why do you think oduah can not be sanctioned. One day sha, the people will speak. Awon ole, common jagudas.

NO!!! Any Airline that has Nigeria in it's name does not last long O! History says so>

wen dem neva pay nigerian airways liquidated staff.....e no possible now.After som pple ave sufferd & even died bcos of dis money.

ture said...

Airline owned by government? God forbid. They won't see my blood

Abdulgafaar said...

I pray the Nigerian factor doesnt kill Aero whom have heavy traffic but have remained a dominant force

Changing the name would not improve the performance, instead get better personnel, managers, Planes etc

Speechless

Thumbs up

Mich said...

Aero or Nigerian Eagle,its still gonna be same old thing,won't it?

jane said...

Its not about changing ur name from aero contractor 2 Nigerian eagle. Its about improving on ur services and not endangering ppl's lives. U guys should practice proper maintenance culture rather dan changing from one name 2 another. Period

Yemi said...

That name will affect them

Good start

Wrong move. They shouldn't ruin such a good airline :(

Here they go again. While the government divests from PHCN because it cannot run a business, the same government is taking a majority stake in an airline. If you could not run PHCN, Nigeria airways, Nitel, etc, how can you run Nigeria eagle???? Just another conduit to steal our money!!!!!

why not change it name to super eagle.

Buahahahahahahahahaha

The end of Aero impeccable safety record .. Anything the Nigerian Govt touches must DIE

U re right

I'm speechless, Changing the name doesn't change the fact that Nigeria is the only country in the World without a National air carrier. 60% stakes means, owned by senators and people in the inner caucus..

Federal govt 60%!! The beginning of the end!

I have a feeling it would be run like every other Government Company. It would follow the same route nigerian airways followed!

Wolfy! said...

changing names OKWAI does it change the way their air hostel interacts with the customers? will they stop selling drinks and stuff and then give them for free?

Are we safe?

They are the best and reliable airline in nigeria. For over 50yrs no stories of crash. Kudos to them. Love them hate them,they are most reliable.

The government has no business doing business. This is another embezzlement avenue with 60% stake. In a sector such as this, it should be privatized and subsidized by the govt for being a national carrier not the govt owning 60% share capital. The next govt will put another one of their cronies in mgmt to manage this money laundering feat and we'll have anothe Jimoh Ibrahim story to tell. History is there so we can learn from it and avoid making the same mistake (s). Why are we heading on the same path? The definition of insanity is playing here, trying the same thing hoping for a different outcome. We tried this already, it did not work. What's changed this time that the govt should be a majority shareholder in a national carrier. I know Johnathan may have been ill advised by the Minister but he should use that PhD that he has for making better judgement. We all want a natinal carrier but not this way, not this route. Thats what happens when people that knows zero about aviation and business gets a pen and paper mixed with power, you get this. Smh

Here we go again. Old wine in new bottles. I'm dodging the wash abeg.

Lol,who are they deceiving? When did the 60% acquisition take place?

What is it with Nigeria and "Eagle". Almost everything has eagle as a prefix or suffix.
And btw, anything FG owned dies. This is the last we'll hear of Aero.......sorry nigerian eagle. Lmbo

When you don't understand something it is foolhardy to simply dismiss it. Unlike most of the commentators here who simply bash anything Nigerian, I really hope that Aero give it a good run and tries very hard to create a NIgerian company that we can all be proud of. I wish them the best of luck, we will be rooting for your success.

Err....dont think I'll use that airline anymore. Nigerian wha...?! I think I'll pass. :)

Kay

mtchewww....na today? change of name means nothing. sitdon look naim we de

Anon 7.34 they are the best and reliable but it has changed hands now. The question is, will it still be reliable? I wonder oh...

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Bone Arik...
Aero used to be my favorite airline...
Flew it like once every week at a time...
Let's hope its transmogrification into Nigerian Eagle will be a blessing and not a curse...

Okay!

jaloo said...

Nigerian eagle ko nigeria chicken ni ‎​you starve ur paSsengers with food na only inside aero dem D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ buy food stupid pple beta find a more stupid name than this

U mean arik?i doubt if aeros sell food.dt sld b arik

Ok,amm flyin nigeria eagle,lol

Hahahahahahahaha. Very funny

Hope dis won't affect their efficiency and neglect will set in since na govt property now. Neglect leads to crash. Abeg oooh make dey continue with no crash news for some of us that spends all their weekend flying from one nigeria junction to another (no be state or town lol)

U obviously hav never entered an aircraft in nigeria.arik sell snacks ke?

Mark White said...

Prestige Deck Coating and waterproofing company located in south Orange County, CA. We install top notch waterproof decking materials designed for patio decks, pool decks, roof decks, and balconies. We are deck builders who install waterproof decking, deck coating, and pool deck resurfacing services. contractor