How we survived the plane crash, by Feyi Agagu | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 6 October 2013

How we survived the plane crash, by Feyi Agagu

A close family friend of Feyi, son of late Chief Agagu, who is one of the survivors of the ill fated Associated Airlines flight, told Vanguard that he (Feyi) was initially reluctant to enter the plane after seeing how old it looked. (The exact plane pictured right). He and others survived basically by sitting at the back of the plane. Below is what a family insider Feyi spoke to said;
“The young man said that once they got to the tarmac before boarding and once he sighted the plane, what struck him was the seemingly very old look of the plane. Feyi said he didn’t like the looks of the plane. He also said but for the importance and significance of the trip, his inner sense didn’t feel comfortable boarding the plane.
"In fact, Feyi said he told another survivor, Femi Akinsanya, that the plane looked too old and he didn’t feel like boarding. But Feyi said he was told not to get himself worked up needlessly since this was not going to be his first time aboard a plane neither would this be the first old-looking plane that he would board. That was how he said he boarded the plane”.
“Feyi recounted how he and Femi Akinsanya boarded the plane and moved straight to the back end to take up seats. Why Feyi chose the back seat”, the source said, “was more a function of his state of mind about the state of the plane rather than a preference for taking a back seat.

“When they sat down, Feyi told me that he and Femi simply prayed that they should just take off and land safely, oblivious of what lay ahead of them. “Feyi said once they took off, everything happened so fast. What he also told me was that both he and Femi noticed what looked like a crack not far from where they sat at the rear end of the plane

“He said everything happened so fast that by the time the plane crashed on the ground, it was that crack that had been noticed earlier that transformed into a gapping exit point upon impact on the ground.

“Feyi said the exit point created was where he and Femi escaped through”.

Another source further revealed that most of the survivors of the crash appeared to be those seated at the rear end of the plane.

Though 23years old, the plane, according to Balami David, the President of the National Association of Pilots and Engineers, during a television interview, reportedly operated some days before the ill-fated flight.

82 comments:

Linda plance crash kwa? Lmao!!!

Madam at the top, correct yourself na..

Immaculate said...

Thank God for your life feyi, and again always listen to what your heart tells you all the time, wish you speedy recovery. Rip for those that lost their lives.

Plance ke? Linda check ur heading again I beg

Rough Diamond said...

Tank God for feyi!
Quick recovery to all d survivors!

Thank God for u..

Mich said...

A 23year old plane that is still operated more than twice a week.
Funny part is there hasn't been any official statement from the airline operator(s).
Smh!

Linda u no dey go church? Thnk God they survived, I hope now dey pay more attention to d state of our aviation in dis country

Oluwaseun Temitope said...

Whether Femi n others seated at d rear end of the plane or not it was only God dat delivered them.Praise be to God. Halleluyah

Godson said...

We should Give glory to God for saving their lives. God is good all the time. It's not by seating at the rear end of the plane. It's by the grace of almighty GOD

most of these planes hav been used for mor dan 30yrs,yet d FG cant stop dem from runnin til somtin lik dis occurs,too bad

Thank heaven they both live 2 tell d story.

Gistyinka Blog said...

Hmmm 23 years plane. God bless nigeria.

So I donno anything about the lifetime/lifecycle of planes, but 23 year old though? Is that proper?! #jaybeyblu

Thank God 4 prayer o, let's also try 2. Always listen 2 our inner man which. Is d spirit of God. Remembr he had missed feelings @ 1stm

THANK GOD FOR YOU

FUNKE AKINDELE IN LOVE WITH FORMER OGUN STATE GOVERNOR'S...CLICK HERE.

God of miracle na M̶̲̥̅̊y̶̲̥̅̊ Papaooooooo. Please you people should start now †Φ prepare Fø̲̣̣я̅ a fat thanksgiving †Φ God. A̶̲̥̅̊Ώ̶̲̣̣̥d̶̲̥̅̊ don't be S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ quick †Φ forget ђã†‎​ God has done Fø̲̣̣я̅ you, remember is not by your righteousness rather by God's grace.

tank God o

They should just try n check b4 putting people's life at risk.......plane wey dem don condem 4 yankee dem go buy am come dey use 4 9ja#9jalove okririka tins pass anytin#thank God 4 ur life n 2 dose dat cud not make it continue to rest in peace.amen

@EDDYSYFAR said...

All τ̣̣ђℓ̊s old planes should βε̲̣̣̣̥ laid †̥☹ rest already.

Sweetyboo LinLin, typo's abound in this report...
Thank God for the survivors...

jane. said...

God be praised. How on earth could they allow such plane to fly!! How!! How!! May God continue to protect us oo

Pls which 1 is 'plance' again?

God tried tellin u but u reluctantly ignored,but he said its nt yet ur tym. Ure luky 2 av a second chance so use it in his glorification. Its a miracle indeed. RIP 2 dose dat wernt given a second chance.

He should hv said something about the crack bcos plane accident happen mostly because of little issues that the crew tend to ignore, if it were to be me, I wouldn't enter d damn old plane!

so obviously, this accident coulda been avoided if the engineers had respected the old age of the plane and stoped using it.
so sad, in Naija, if it hasnt crashed yet, its still usable.

Mia.E

bbm pin 23491053 said...

You see, always follow your mind heart in what ever you do. Thank God . Cheers. Engr Emy.

hmmmmmmm....
.seee story.....i belive their prayer really worked for them......

They survived because God helped them to, not because of where they sat or where they didn't, Period!! Thank God for their lives

'Plance?' Na wa o

Tnk God for your life

ASUU PLEASE SHUT UP!!! Whenever people talk about how the university education system in Nigeria is decaying blaming the FG, I ask myself where is their thinking faculty? Is the FG the lecturers that sorts? Is the FG the people in the system that sell admission? Is the FG the lecturers that don't teach? Is the FG the schools mangement that don't manage or the cleaners that get paid but don't clean? Is the FG the one that eats Internal generated revenue? The list goes on...am not saying FG blameless but those bastards in ASUU contributed significantly to this so called decay! ASUU is a useless union! We the poor, the hope of our parents are wasting away at home and the think strike is the solution? What have they done to rid universities of unserious lecturers? Nothing! The probability of them using the money they are asking for judiciously is Zero! My name is Uche, am a proud zikite, and I am asking ASUU to shut up and go to hell!!!

Yetinde said...

Allahu Allam,God knows best but we shld do good,dats all dat matters,e je kii a maa see dada.RIP to those dat lose dier lives.

tnk god dae survived

Ms G said...

Thank God .

23yrs old plane?? OMG dis is terrible

kunle said...

Yes, they survive because of the location of where they sit and the sick plane hasn't fly much in the sky. Thank God for him. discover secrets to losing some weight and eating healthy

They should not think they survive cos they were smart or something!they survive simply by d grace of God..!linda there's a typo in d spelling of "PLANE"..!#doctorbobby

Na d plane b 23years old abi wetin? All these aircrafts in naija,dem don't really cr about d lives of people,sofar dem see money! How plane go old like dat,una still carry am dey convey lives! Now who wan board plane go look well b4 e jump enter! Na only God dey save person! Papa God save us,protect us and kip us away from harm and danger amen!

Feyi thank God for your life and try and give your life to christ if u havent

From nw on,will select d rear weneva flying. Blood of Jesus cover us all, Amen.

Mmmmm! Odiegu!!

I knw uncle Feyi Very Well, he is A very Nice person A man With A heart of Gold, God will Never Forget his Children, If there are me to pray there is A GOD to Answer, so happy for him Wishing him quick Recovery.

May other RIP and d dead body that redied

Awon ogboni oshi! Why didn't dey listen to their fada wen he said they should bury him in his death place? They just had to go and kill innocent people.... Make dem no die rara o..... They should stay on this earth forever. Idiot people!!! Imagine pdp bastards saying "the burial can go on cos d son and in-law didn't die" what an inhumane statement to make. Na chickens die for that plane?

PAVOUR said...

Nowaha

The question is that who issued these people licenses to be operating these kind of planes in Nigeria?
That person need to be dismissed from service.
The mere fact that a plane flew some days before does not mean the plane is safe to fly today.
A government that want to ban importation of used cars but allowed these kind of planes to be ferrying people all over Nigeria can only be headed by a once-shoeless president, a NEVER-GET-IT president, a president that has no balls, a 'PUSSY' PRESIDENT, a LAME PRESIDENT, A NEVER-DO-WELL PRESIDENT.
HOW CAN ONE IN HIS OR HER RIGHT MIND ALLOWED JUNKS AS PLANES IN THE NIGERIA OF TODAY BUT WANT TO BAN IMPORTATION OF USED CARS? WHAT KIND OF THINKING IS THAT?
JONATHAN GOVERNMENT IS DEFINITELY A DIRECTIONLESS GOVERNMENT. A CLUELESS GOVERNMENT.

Some times i wonder who this Goodluck Jonathan is? How did he become our president? What can we do to prevent characters like this Goodluck Jonathan from ever coming near ASO ROCK? DOES THIS MAN THINK HE IS ON FISHING EXPEDITION WITH OUR LIVES OR WHAT?
GOODLUCK JONATHAN IS NOTHING BUT A DISASTER.WHAT MORE CAN ONE TAKE FROM THIS MAN WHO IS GOING TO BE COMATOSE THROUGHOUT HIS ENTIRE PRESIDENCY. IS THERE ANYTHING THAT CAN BE DONE TO WAKE OUR PRESIDENT UP FROM A SELF INDUCED COMA?
JONATHAN, JONATHAN, JONATHAN PLEASE WAKE UP.HOW I WISH I CAN TAKE MY VOTE BACK AND THROW IT INTO THE LAGOON. THE LAGOON DESERVES MY VOTE BETTER THAN THIS MAN.
ALL OUR ROADS ARE DEATH TRAPS, THE PLANES ARE NOTHING BUT FLYING COFFINS AND YET JONATHAN IS ALWAYS TELLING US, HE IS ON-TOP-OF-IT. ON TOP OF WHAT IF I MAY ASK?
HABA, I DON TIRE FOR THIS NIGERIA.
KIDNAPPINGS ALL OVER THE SOUTH AND BOMBING BY BOKO HARAM ALL OVER THE NORTH AND JONATHAN IS 'ON TOP OF SOLVING THE PROBLEMS'. REALLY.
I DONT THINK SO.
olu@atlanta.

I watched a documentary a while back, d@ people sitting behind, close to the toilet are more likely to survive than people sitting in 1st/biz class.

Linda ,pls write about τ̣̣ђё 2 cabin crews tjat survived.they really need help.plslet d public know about them and save tjem.they need better medical care.

HATERS-SLAYER said...

guy u dey vex ooo,nah easy u dey write ni?

@bros olu@alanta pls take it easy nd mind wat u say in public, ur tongue can take u anywia in dis life. Tank God u admitted 2 d fact dat u voted 4 him as our president,les stop all dis criticism nd fight 4 our right as a citizen of nigeria , if u wia given an opportunity to rule nigeria as a president 4 one nite my broda I bet u, u will do worst dan he has don. Pls les let him be nd pray 4 a better nigeria. Thanks

Now u Sound like FFK....hehehe

Now u Sound like FFK

Its true that de back seats are usually the safest to seat in a plane,however its God who saved their lives and not all this grammar they're speaking.. because many times,there've been cases of plane crashes with no survivor,esp in this dead country called Naija,a classical Example is that of Dana,not even one person survived,not even a member of the cabin crew who knew all about safety measures survived it,so na God..Am very happy for the lives of these survivors,God is indeed a miracle working God
PS: so the Air craft was 23 years? My Goodness that plane was dead many years ago and was just waiting for the time it'l be buried,smh4naija

PRETTY GIRL

Liar,the man died immediately he slumped and couldn't get to speak with anybody,and he was an IKALE man,they don't bury them outside their town,do ur findings very well

U insulltn GEJ wat v u done to better Nigeria. JOna is jus lyk d odas. No victor no Vanquish!!! Tnk God I neva enter plane

Hmmm. Plane crashed without survival, aren't there people at the back seat? Let's believe in God's grace. Ce fini.

God Bless U.

I hate NIGERIA. Pls somebody kill goodluck, he is BOKO HARAM! #angry

Tnk God for ur life feyi, wish u quick recovering nd for dos dat loose dere lives in respect of da plan crash may ur gentle soul RIP amen..

" He and others survived basically by sitting"- THIS GRAMMATICAL EXPRESSION IS NOT CORRECT- HOW CAN YOU BASICALLY SURVIVE BECAUSE YOU SAT AT THE BACK???? PLEASE LINDA YOU HAVE TWO OPTIONS 1) SUE THE SCHOOL(S) YOU GOT YOUR EDUCATION FROM or 2) GO BACK TO SCHOOL AND BRUSH UP ON YOUR SPELLING!

President Jonathan should just resign.
Presidency is not for pussie.
This Gooodluck-now-turned-bad-luck of a president has NEVER been on top of any thing apart from sitting down in posh presidential jets junketing all over the world while we are all being killed by FLYING COFFINS that his government licensed as aeroplanes.
PRESIDENCY IS NOT FOR PUSSIE.
GO JONATHAN, GO. PLEASE GO.
SHAME ON YOU JONATHAN. SHAME ON YOU. Oh GOD, THIS MAN SHOULD JUST GO. GO . GO .GO .GO .GO GO.GO.
PLEASE GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.
oluatalanta.

So as u comment finish con put engr b4 ur name u fink say ppl go con add u 4 bbm abi............#brokeassalert

Linda wea is my comment na

The aisle and rear seats are generally safest. Being near an exit is also recommended.

See u. U for put ur full name, I'd number + Dept make we know say u no dey fear instead u use general igbotic name!!!!

Wat r u even saying....mscheww

D airline has to take care of that

I think people should be more sensitive to thier spirits, if you have misgivings about doing something, traveling, or entering any form of transport arrange to enter another one. God has a way of witnessing to our spirits when there's impending danger. Nigerians as a whole should fight more, ask questions and refuse shoddy treatment, you see something that's not good enough, speak out, the doctor gives you a drug you don't know, speak out, your life might depend on it.
Peace Nigeria!!

Bros it is God....

Watch those documentaries again... If the plane goes down tail first like the asiana Boeing 747, those at the back are in trouble o. If there's an explosion, those in the middle are usually most vulnerable because of jet fuel and that's where most toilets are

Me I dnt understand why none of Agaguz family lost dr life sha..hope dz tin wasn't spiritually-fishy #didi

@anon 2:06pm, una dey d same ogboni club abi, na how u sabi say d man be ogboni be dat abi. Ode oshi. You people should stop saying what you don't know.

Hmmm,y is it that only the family members survived n d well wishers perished. There's more to this thing.RIP to d sacrificed souls

Naija had problems before Jonathan hot there. All citizen for Naija should help the country not jus the president.

Olu@atlanta you are d biggest fool.jst listen to yourself.you sit behind your computer & spew rubbish on your president.even when u don''t get enough sleep @ night i'm sure u'll still blame it on Jonathan!
Is Jonathan d cause of nigeria's problem? How abt all d president's before him.this man has only done 2 yrs & fools like u think that he'll fix everything within a blink of n eye! Things are gradually changing but enemies of progress like you fool have vowed not to give him neccessary support.If its that easy go and ask Obama after almost 6yrs how many of his agenda he has successfully implemented.

Anyway maybe u'll go hug a transformer cos come 2015 BGG he'll still be re-elected .you can throw ur useless vote to d lagoon,many more will vote 4 him

Hahahahahaha... Ugonna ugwuoti!! I must hunt u wia ever u go. Chyk

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.
JONATHAN NEED TO RESIGN.
HE HAS TO GO.
HE MUST GO. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.
PLEASE JONATHAN IN THE NAME OF THE GODS OF THE DELTA CREEKS, PLEASE GO.PLEASE LEAVE US ALONE. STOP FISHING WITH OUR LIVES.
UNDER ABACHA WE WERE NOT DYING LIKE THIS. BEING KILLED BOTH ON THE ROADS AND IN THE AIR UNDER YOUR WATCH.
PLEASE GO. I AM TIRED OF WITNESSING CRASHES UPON CRASHES WHILE YOU ARE CLAIMING YOU ARE SITTING ON IT. BOMBINGS UPON BOMBINGS OF DEFENSELESS NIGERIANS AND YOU ARE TOO WEAK TO STOP IT.
KIDNAPPINGS UPON KIDNAPPINGS YOU NO FIT STOP.
ONLY GOD KNOWS THE NEXT SET OF VICTIMS DUE TO YOUR INEPTITUDE WHILE YOU ARE ON-TOP-OF-ONLY-GOD-KNOWS-WHAT.
PLEASE GO JONATHAN.
I AM BEGGING YOU JONATHAN TO GO. GO.
PLEASE GO. IN THE NAME OF GOD PLEASE GO.

RESIGN.

QUIT.

COMMOT.

ABDICATE.

EXIT.

VACATE.

STEP ASIDE.

VAMOOSE.

DISAPPEAR.

PLEASE GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.
GO, GO, GO, GO ,GO GO ,GO ,GO. GO JONATHAN.
I LOVE YOU JONATHAN. I VOTED FOR YOU BUT THIS JOB IS TOO MUCH FOR YOU TO HANDLE. I WISH YOU ALL THE BEST BUT PLEASE GO. RESIGN PLEASE.
olu@atlanta.

Una two wey reply, na una papa be ogboni.. He had told his fam long before that he should be buried wherever he dies......you idiots of a rotten camp. Make una dey escape o.. Make sure u live older than metu himself... No die again awon alaye baje..... Ori e o po rara.... Oloshi rada rada.

This their story is somehow joor. It's just his immediate family that escaped totally unhurt. Or where those air hostesses not at the back too? Anyone who doesn't want to be used as sacrifice should surely stay away from this family.

Thank God for ur life

Snick said...

Listen to the foolishness the official had to say. That the plane operated a few days prior without incident does not mean that it should have been operating at all... it may have just been luck or borrowed time. Why should the plane appear so visibly decrepit to passengers flying it. It means that the age of the plane is showing or that after 23 years, not even maintenance could redeem even its superficial appearance so one could only wonder about the mechanical components of the plane. Newer planes crash but from the sounds of this one, it seems like responsibility will have to be taken somewhere. Just a sad situation every way you look at it.

abegi,all of us knw say na sacrifice dem dose pple do,imagine am na,evrytin dat has 2 do wit Agagu no die 4 d crash,bt pple wey escort dem 4 d plane either die or brutally injured....na only dem sit down 4 d back of d plane ni? Nonsense....SS was here.