Lagos police attempts to cover up shooting of banker & security guard | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 13 November 2012

Lagos police attempts to cover up shooting of banker & security guard

Femi in hospital bed                                                                     Femi before the shooting

The police in Lagos are currently attempting to cover up the shooting of Access Bank Staff, Femi Badejo; and a security guard, Joshua Musa.

Punch reporters, Kunle Falayi and Eniola Akinkuotu had reported on Monday that Badejo and the security guard were shot by the policemen attached to Maroko Police station while responding to a distress call about a robbery. Badejo had told Punch that he was shot five times by the police.

Badejo, who is presently writhing in pains at St Nicholas Hospital, Lagos Island, said, "Around 4am, armed robbers stormed my home. I live in a one storey building and there are four tenants occupying the ground floor.

"The robbers robbed all of us occupying the ground floor. They stole my clothes, money, phones and other valuables. While the robbery was ongoing, one of the tenants called Maroko Police Division."
Badejo said after the robbers had fled, scores of policemen arrived at the house while one of them started shooting indiscriminately.

He said, “We (neighbours) were all inside the compound counting our lossses when we heard a bang on the gate. Immediately the security guard opened, one of the policemen started shooting indiscriminately.

"The security guard was shot in the pelvic and in the back but the bullet pierced through his chest. I immediately took cover under a car but the policeman came to where I was and started shooting at me.

"I immediately hid under d car but the policeman came behind me and shot me five times."
Police have however denied the allegations. The Police Public Relations Officer, Ngozi Braide, told the Nation newspaper that the banker was shot by mistake just once and not five times.

She also said the security guard was not shot by the police but was found dead when policemen arrived the scene.

She said, "According to the Area Commander, when the policemen arrived the scene, the security guard was found dead and the banker was hiding under a car so they shot him once thinking that he was an armed robber."

PUNCH however interviewed the supposedly dead security guard and he is presently on life support but is conscious at Lagos State University Teaching Hospital, Ikeja.

His uncle, who is a retired policeman said he was shot by the police and not by armed robbers.
The interview which is in Punch of today, infuriated the police authorities for making them look stupid to the extent that when the Punch reporter, Kunle Falayi, arrived at the office of the CP, Mr Umar Manko, he was walked out of the premises of the police command.

All this happpened in the presence of 12 other journalists.

Eniola Akinkuotu has also been warned by the police repeatedly not to write bad reports about them or face grevious consequences.

75 comments:

BLOGLORD said...

i have and will continue to say it that Nigerian Police are useless.
just this morning on my way to work, one idiot of a policeman was threatening a man that he will kill him just because the guy told him to go and join the queue waiting for a bus rather than stand in front of everybody.quoting him "i will killed you here now, u don't know me."
now on my way back, another incidence of police again, they caught an 'okada man' and cocked a gun at him, the man started screaming almost immediately, abeg no shoot me, abeg abegh, no kill me, carry the okada go. i was so infuriated.
someone almost vashed me in the process cos everyone was trying to get away from the retards. i just don't get it. Ngozi braide is a nuisance as well as the rest of them. i really get angry hearing anything about Nigerian police

I dnt tink we need police in this country

Please get well and go to your family. I wish u well femi

err...how can a conscious person be on life support? abi is it possible? Those in the medical field please explain...

Oh my!linda we must not let this go like dis.its tru,they are even threatening pple around femi!Nigerian police is evil!that ngozi woman,if I swear4her it will definitely come2pass!she's such a useless woman,she must b 4rm aluu!am so pissed right now!

Na wa niger policia. Msm

Thank God he is alive ..even if the police was caught red handed they would still deny,btw they should cover his bum jare ... And d man fine ooo

Nigerian police equal to armed robeers,shameless thieves ,that is why i like the way Boko haram is dealing with one by one

Thank God he is alive ..even if the police was caught red handed they would still deny,btw they should cover his bum jare ... And d man fine ooo

Dr. Tony said...

Nigerian policemen are the most useless set of officers in the world. The banker should sue them a huge sum of money 'cos his life is priceless.

Thank God these guys are alive, or else police for cook the story wella.

zazu said...

Over fine dey wori d man,thank God 4 ur life o.so na so niger police jst one take waste dis sweet bobo life b4?naija police I greet una spacially

John said...

This Ngozi Braide of a character is something else. Haven't anyone in the force figured out she's just not good at her job. She makes comments that make them all look foolish. She never researches what she says. She reminds me of a character from an American mini-series some years back called Police Academy.

This is becoming serious. Don't understand the Nigerian police anymore. Except The Lord watches over the city, the watchman watches but in vain.

My dear I didn't want to say it o, to avoid getting some serious bashing but this banker is HAWT!!! Wishing him and the security soonest recovery

Stupid!read properly!hissss

So u do av a job?#just askin

Nigerian police is a shame, they need to bury their heads in shame. I'm ashamed to call myself nig. Dis countrys useless. God help us

They need to sue d police force n the police shld pay d medical bills, nig police is a disgrace n extremly inefficient!!! Do we need dem really??

The nigerian police re the worst in the world sha! Jesus...even when it is obvious they re still lying..that is how they kill innocent people and harrass them everyday...this country is messed up ..God save us all from our oppressors

Gosh, must they always lie...I hate this police people!!!...mschewwwwwww

Atutuboyoyo Says So said...

I can guarantee that amongst themselves [Naija Police] they are probably cursing the "team" that responded to the call, for not "finishing" off all of them, so that there would be no witnesses and no one to refute their cockamamie story that "they killed x members of a notorious armed gang that has been terrorizing the area after a violent gun battle with the armed robbers"
After that, all of them will be given promotion for their "bravery".

I am only glad that this man and the people in that neighbourhood are alive to see another day and tell the story to the world.

I have always said that given the choice I would rather meet with 50 armed robbers in the dead of night that be faced with the tender mercies of the Naija police in an alley in broad daylight.

God help us!

O Lord
Ds man is Foiiiiiine
*whew*
I wish him safe recovery

I can't even imagine what would happen when we have state police. Get well soon femi .

Nigerian Police, Just totally useless, they are claiming it was just a shot, kindly go to the hospital and check the victim, the doctors won't lie, he was shot five times. Also the guard is not dead, let them continue lying, this is a big case, and there's no where for them to hide this time around, Nigerians won't let this pass. Enough is Enough

Anon 9.59pm u re a retard.#just saying

Tbaba said...

This Ngozi braide is so daft. A big disgrace and embarassment to women. So unintelligent and has no sense of decorum. Haba! Your men met the securityman dead on the scene yet he is alive n conscious. Your men shot the banker once yet he has multiple gun wounds.See her lies coming through her nose and this is not the first time she is doing this. How did she even qualify for the job of a spin doctor?she is causing them more harm. LIAR! Anyway she is a true reflection of the comatose state of the nigerian police. Mtcheeeeeeew

Na wa for Nigerian policemen.

Linda,pls post my comment.This guy is toooo fine.Thank God he is alive.Is he married?Im sure we have something in common.Im praying for his recovery oh seriously.Father Lord keep him safe.Jay

The ngozi braide should be relieved of d job!!! She's so dull n lazy.

yes he is very
married......

Femi I thank god 4 spAring your life,as 4 the police. We are fighting this issue to the last,this situation femi found himself could happen to anyone,so I guess as nigerian we shouldn't fold our hands on these issue,femi happens to b my frd. Way back in the university,and a hardworking man,talented and bright,this police are unprofessional,wish NPF can be reformed just like the wayz banks were reformed.the two police that shot femi and the gateman should be in jail by right now .if it were to be tinubu son or fasholas son by now the police, wld be sleep in cell .I dnt undersand dis country ,notin is working.xcept Gods protection

She can't even take time to thoroughly investigate the case,see blatant lie.they need to put live roaches in that her mouth and sew it shut with needle for spewing such nonsense to us

I believe that if police force can be scrap in this country, robbery will reduce by 80%, cus they are the arm robbers we are talking abt...#iHateNigeriaPolice

Jessica said...

This bitch ngozi gives women a bad name n certainly leaves a bitter taste in the mouth.For her to have risen thru d ranks in such a corrupt institution she must be mad corrupt n possibly receives d devil as a visitor in her home oloshi olobo run run!Why is it that whenever d Nigerian police parades 'supposed' armed robbers the weapons and ammunition recovered always look d same?Lazy fucking bastards,may u all meet violent deaths bar none.

lovelylady said...

Some1 said he was shot d times the foolish Ngozi Braide said it was once,will one gunshot give rise to 5 different injuries?daft sick people.useless bloody retards

lovelylady said...

5 not d

Ada Anambra. said...

Dis whole thing with naija police is rather pathetic! Handsome man dough! Linda darln pls I need his contact if he is not married shaa!

I'm sick and tired of hearing about the incompetence of the Nigerian Police. What sort of training do they undergo? Even if it did turn out that Femi was a thief and he hid under the car, as a sane and rational person are you not supposed to get him out of there (alive) and then arrest him? After all, was he armed?? Were you threatened in anyway? Were your lives in danger? You didn't even assess the situation. You didn't ask questions. Trigger happy ingrates. Get well soon Femi and security guard. God help this country.

Please, the bobo dey fine sha. I beg how old is he? Which hospital is he at? I fit get him visa make I come take care of him well well here in America.

D robbers are even more sensible dan d useless policemen kai, femi nd I attended d same uni, nd he is 1 FINE GODfearing brilliant hardworking guy, Femi ϑε̲ãr pls get well soon the lord is ur strength. I hope the useless officers are duly punished cos I know Nigerian police nd der mago mago anofia's oshi

yaaaay... femi ooo! shey u see now? hawwt hawwt hawwt. he's never one to let his "beauty" get to him. really sweet guy nd dwn to earth too!
we love you, we support you, nd we're praying fr you 2,4,7
you'll be up on ur feet in no time by God's grace. #eagle

Thank God femi didn't die.cos police wld have tagged him a thief n that wld be the end of story. Why did it take our policemen one good hour to get to ajah frm maroko ps.was there traffic?some of this police men work hand in hand with these robbers.this has always been the story "police arrived few minutes after the robbers left.smh

Looks like d NPF motto has changed. When you don't train dem properly. Dis is Tʰᵉ result

This Ngozi Braide is a hopeless and useless Public Relations person and deserves to be sacked 20 times over. How much more of her senseless and clueless utterances do we have to put up with? At least we tax payers pay her salaries and as such should have a right to ask her to be sacked. Very irritating woman

sexyrhodes said...

Please leave Femi alone o! He is marreied with a child. The police can say all they want and I hope they are getting ready for the storm that is coming to hit them. Femi was my classmate in school (University) let's thank God he is still alive. As for the police, this is when they will know the importance of brotherhood cos Covenant University Alumni is taking them down. Useless people.......hisssssss

Actually he is recently divorcerd. SINGLE!

Pple wit dat name NGOZI in public offx are retards#jz sayn

I wonder why Anon 10.33 should make such nasty remark/s when she is only stating the obvious. I will say Ngozi Braide doesn't know her Job as PR0. Even the IG of police does a better Job than her. She is a nuisance really. I hope she isn't married yet if not I feel sorry for her husband and kids.

i think the state police thing sound more better, atleast we know who be who for our area.

I wonder if this is what it takes to police a country and quite unfortunately Nigeria police are made up of thieves , untrained, uneducated beings, and above all those who called themselves the image makers and commissions ,DPO,S and area commanders are the worst liar on earth.I don,t know if there is a way Jonathan failed Govt can install CCTV/Projector to monitors the activities of the arm robber(police) in Nigeria. thank God that the 2 innocent souls are alive if not police would have say they are the robber , that they were gone down after a hot battle. imagine a police responding to a distress call after an hour. SHAME , TOO BAD

Dat woman is mad

Apart from the fact that the ngozi braide girl is not on top of her job, she is equally as foolish as others. Mark it, if you continue like this, heavens will definitely deny you a husband. Useless girl. Better do something good withy your life

I was thought that Ngozi Brade girl was some Nollywood contraption. Is she for real? She does a disservice to career women if for real.

Ijaw Chic said...

She said, "According to the Area Commander, when the policemen arrived the scene,.......the banker was hiding under a car so they shot him once thinking that he was an armed robber."

Even if he WAS a robber, they had no right to shoot him!! This is the jungle justice we speak about!! How do you shoot a defenseless and armless person?? Was he carrying a gun?? Foolish set of people!!

The entire NPF should be scrapped!!!! Wtf!!!

FortySeven said...

They saw him hiding under the car and they shot at him thinking he was a robber??? Do they know how retarded that sounds???

EVEN GOD DEY LAFF said...

this lady called ngozi braids is jst an ass whole and does not knw wat it means to b a PRO.hw can she say they shot him once.she even said the guard was found dead where as he is alive.PR IS NOT ALL ABT LIES MISS NGOZI

Ngozi Braide should be sacked immediately. Empty nonentity!. I am sure she used bottom power to get that post. Her non functional brain is full of straw and sawdust.

EVEN GOD DEY LAFF said...

Armed robbers come ur house dem no kill u.NIGERIA POLICE come they nearly kill u wit 5 bullet.nigeria police are retards they need help.armed robbers now better pass poice

awwwwwww,this guy is so sexy i have the hots for him already,thank God he survived...linda abeeeeeeeeeeg,help me get his contact
i hope he's single sha

May God judge every uniform man that uses it armunition carelesses against any citizen of this Nation.Can't we get a sensible police in Nigerian?GOD this is getting too much and. Boko Haram dey there,dem no go attack?Shameless animals..I H...them will all passion!Grrrrrrrrrrh

Its really silly when they try to play us like this. Linda you should take this up personally. What sort of rubbish is this, she should be sayn im sorry she is saying one was a mistake.

The media should drag them down, and what the F* is fashola doing about all this madness

esty said...

The Robbers even get sense pass the police, that's how does Useless Aluu Police allowed those 4 Boys to be beaten to Death, wat a shame

LusciousBerry said...

@ anon 7:50 who tld dat Femi is recently divorced?

Dear linda, i do not know what to make of the Nigerian police force, they keep hurting people evryday and sweeping it under the carpet. There is a mad police man who is always at Costain bus stop at the round-about, catching and collecting money from innoent bus drivers in the name of controlling traffic. Last week tuesday, on the 6th of Novemeber to be precise, this mad man was shooting sporadically and causin commotion at about 7;15pm m, i got an injury on my hand as a result of the pandemonium. I then ask how can a sane man shoot into the air at that time of the evening when the bus stop is filled to the brim and there was no robbery or what so ever, just because he was having an arguement with an okada man. This man man should be investigated and removed from that place before he commits more havoc and the police heads will come out and deny....PLS LINDA ESCALATE THIS OR DO THIS INVESTIGATION YOURSESLF, THIS MAN IS ALWAYS AT THAT BUS STOP IN THE EVENINGS, ASK PEOPLE AROUND THEY WILL TELL YOU.

when it concerns the elite it gets press if na for ketu this one happen nko??

Chrisbrizzy said...

Christ! 'This dance don pass joromy!'This are mentally unstable blood-sucking wolves parading themselves as police force. They have given us too large a proof for us to actually bring down the gavel on the desk that we are dealing with a set of rag-tag squad soaked and swimming in the mud of foolishness, rascality, unseriousness, indiscipline, ocean-size corruption and lawlessness.
Policing is a serious business and recruitment exercise should be done with utter caution but here we recruit 'idiots' that soon turn the lips of their AK .47 on us rather than on the predators. How could this be explained to Nigerians? Arm robbers attacked and robbed me in my own house, 911 was dialled by a good samaritan who thought the call would bring sucour but you came in hours after the show and instead of going after the maskmen you began shooting me. Are you not crazy?
Police signifies law, order, security and safety of lives and properties but ours is a reverse system and this has shown that we are headlessly plunging into a police state and a police state is a country that only shows off the hallmark of an arena in which security officers clutching life threatening weapons dance naked and drunk alfresco.
God help us...but what is this Ngozi woman saying? Is she even the problem? Just asking...
I rest my case...

PLS OOOOOOOOOOOO PPLE FEMI AND HIS WIFE ARE STILL VERY MARRIED LEGALLY HES SON IS 15MONTHS SO ALL U PROSTITUTES AND EVIL WISHERS WISHING HIS HOME SHLKD WRECK YOU WILL WRECK IJN,POLS HET WELL AND JOIN YOUR WIFE IN AMERICA.GOD BLESS

PLS LINDA PUT A STOP[ SAYIN FEMI BADEJO NIS DIVORCED HES STILL MARRIED HES WIFE IS IN YANKEE WIV THEIR SON THNK YOU

Forgive Linda, this is a serious issue. I wish Femi speedy recovery. I love his legs and thighs. Man, wish I could get my hands on those. Whoever is intimate with him dey enjoy o.

Blogtoto said...

Citizens can revolt against a state or federal govt that refuses to protect their lives by collectively not paying taxes.Your taxes pay their salaries including that of the police,you can refuse to pay your taxes till the police force get their house in order via proper recruitment n training procedures.

You are all retards!!!

Me said...

Funny Comments..Sad situation...God help us all.. get well soon friend...

Ashawo girls saying ashawo things. Go and masturbate Jor

Dami said...

I wish U speedy recovery dear....Can't imagine if u had died.....can't...
Its ok to day dream....he z fine all right...but derz more to d man....Naija police...