How can a gold digger stay with a man for 12 years? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 20 December 2011

How can a gold digger stay with a man for 12 years?

Vanessa has been with Kobe since 1999. They met when she was only 17 and he was 21 and not very successful. She gave him her youth and children, how is she a gold digger?
Why do people assume that once a man is rich, that's all a woman wants him for? Women can't genuinely love a rich man? *Yimu* lol. No, but seriously, it's not always the case biko.

Anyway, according to the ex-stepfather of Kobe Bryant's estranged wife, Vanessa, she learned Gold Digging 101 from her mother.
From TMZ:
Kobe Bryant should have known his soon-to-be ex-wife would take him to the cleaners in their divorce ... because she learned the wallet-raiding playbook from her mother ... so says Vanessa's ex-step dad.
TMZ spoke with Stephen Laine -- an inventory manager for a food company who was married to Vanessa's mother from 1990 to 2003 ... and helped raise Vanessa from a child into adulthood. Laine tells us, "Her mother taught her well to wait for the ten-year mark [before divorcing]."
Lol, interesting theory. Keep reading...

He explains, "In California ... it's considered a long term marriage and then she gets paid for life or until she remarries ... just like her mother is doing to me."

Laine continues, "I have to pay her mom $1,800 every month and clearly they don’t need it."

Sources close to Vanessa tell us ... Kobe's soon-to-be ex-mother-in-law is currently living in one of the BBaller's mansions ... and we're told Vanessa is very good to her.

Laine gripes, "I have a six-year-old daughter and that money could be used toward her college fund or something ... you'd think she'd care .. but no, she's spiteful."

Ex-step dad, please go and sit down somewhere jor. He cheated over and over again...she's had enough and wants out. Say what you like!

68 comments:

Cameroon's Banks Go Nuclear said...

California considers a marriage that lasts over a decade to be long term, in other words, she made her case air-tight...

Fashion,Love and Life said...

Very shocking and interesting theory. It's possible. Never say never. We all know money grabbing runs in families thanks to the Kardashians but then again, when she met him, he wasn't a success so Hmm

Kelle
www.fashionloveandlife.com

so how did she know he was gonna be rich later in life? maybe she used the oyibo Ifa to check his star and future. Ndi ara. that fada-in-law should go and park well abeg!
mchewww. the theory doesnt work for me.

Hope Lamar Odom got Khole to sign a prenup, that family can't be trusted.

The mother just thought her well - not to let any man fuck around with her or else he will be seriously dealt with, which is the case of Kobe at the moment

She was waiting for 10yrs now she can get more money

Label said...

Free the Kardashians abeg...., you only live once how yu choose to conduct urself whilst alive is yur business... I am looking for a Rich Hubbby!!!

God punish those who say she is a goldigger. For what, that quiet girl who was not ever in the press. Can u imagine, kobe is the one who faulted on the marriage, HE cheated and gets what he deserves. When she married him, did he have money.Vanessa nne, i am happy for u o jare.

UgoBabeeee said...

OF course its for the money....so what she met him when she was young, you mean to tell me she didnt know what an NBA'er can potentially make??? Pulleeezzzeeee......when they got married Bryant was a ball player.....if it were truly love- why is she getting divorced NOW??? what has happened NOW that makes her want to divorce if not for the fact that she was waiting her time out to get a better allotment?? if it were truly love- what happened to the better for worse aspect of things? Divorce wouldnt be an option if it were about love- you'd work on whatever "irreconcilable diferences"....pure rubbish...chicken head aint nothing more than a white gold digger....but i dont sympathize for Kobe- had he been with a sister maybe i'd have some pity for him....

Kobe was signed into the NBA right out of the high school. That lil gold digger knew he was destined for $$$$ and she played her game well. Now she can sit back and reap what she didn't sow. Not a bad payout for 12years of work.

Kobe cannot stay faithful so why should she stay with his ass? Do you want her to stay with him till he gives her HIV/AIDS? People please think. It is married people like Kobe that give marraige a bad name.

Ada said...

Unsuccessful? NAH! Kobe was one of those people that everyone knew would make it so its possible she saw the potential in him. Gold digging or not, he deserves it. No one forced him to get married afterall

That's why all you ugly winches will marry only poor men.

When she met him he wasn't a success? Really? She was in High School, he was playing Pro-Ball, how does that not make him a financial success?

Why did she not divorce him 9 years ago? why did she not divorce him 5 years ago.
I am not in anyway trying to encourage cheating or divorce but i have to say she knew what she was getting into.
Its all about the money. Just wait for another 3months and she will be in a new relationship.

Kobe came into the NBA at age 17; so yes, he was ultra-successful when she met him. in memory serves, he was already making about $10m annually when they got engaged.

@linda,,,white people has alots time,days and years,to finish there missions,,while we blacks people dont have any time to wait,,
white people always waiting u to grow,becos they knew what them will gain from you in future,,and if u refused to grow to there test?hmmm,,they will destroyed you easyly,,,i has being working with them,,so dont smile whenever a white person are helping you,,white people need a return in helping a black man,,thx

She is not a gold digger!She knew d marriage wasn't gonna last right from that 2003 incident.Kobe himself didn't make matters any better.He kept on cheating.The last thing men wanna do is to make women feel stupid cos d moment u do that,ur own don done be dat!The problem with men is that they always think they are smart when they r playing their stupid games;forgetting that the woman is a thousand steps ahead of u and will out-smart you in d end.She wouldn't mind waiting for whatever amount of time she has to wait just to make sure she achieves her goal!

I've said this before and I'll say it again: MEN,NEVER EVER UNDERESTIMATE A WOMAN'S INTUITION COS WE RECOGNISE GAME EVEN BEFORE YOU PLAY IT!

Sean O said...

@FashionLove... Yeah?.... he wasn't successful back then? Honey if u play ball or shoot hoops back in high school or college....u gonna have mad groupies, cos the girls already feel u gonna have a bright future, hence they invest in relationship with you, or try to lock u down with a kid. That's word

TINA said...

How was Kobe not Successful in 1999?

...he was 21 and not successful? Really? that's just laughable!!!
Kobe was already a professional B'baller signed into a multi-million dollar contract before he met his wife!...sad part of this whole saga was that; this fool Kobe refused to sign a pre-nuptial agreement against the wishes of his parents, saying he was in LOVE....wonder why that love died after 12yrs of marriage? so now the wife is going to walk away with half of his dough$$$$$. Cha-ching!!!
I PITY THE FOOL KOBE

Linda Kobe Bryant didnt go to college before he went into the NBA at the age of 18 in 1996 and his 1st contract was a multimillion dollar one. So he was by all standards rich when she met him, nonetheless he shouldn't have strayed given her reason to divorce.

Bey said...

What about what he has done to her? He cheated on her!! Doesn't that mean anythg anymore? Oh she's a gold digger now... then what does that make him?Its good for him! Men need to know they can not have their cake and eat it. If you do the crime, you will do the time!

lolo said...

Kobe was successful at 21.

Sheikh Sa'ad Al Kaholic said...

On the December 17 2011 post on this couple, below is the comment I made. That was even before the step-father made his gold digger allegation. That woman is evil. Whatever she did that led him to cheat, she learnt it from her mother. She deliverately frustrated the marriage. She did it to get to his money. She is nothing but a useless crook. In my opinion she does not deserve a penny. I hope the courts wise up to her scam and chase her and her mother out of town. If I was Kobe, I'd donate the whole fucking millions to an orphanage so she gets nothing.

Below was my comment of December 17, 2011 3:02 PM:

Sheikh Sa'ad Al Kaholic said...
He cheated, I don't support. She's taking half his hard-earned millions just cos he cheated is daylight robbery. I'm against that. The true reason for the divorce is not cos he cheated. It's cos she's after his money. Robbers should be hand-cuffed in jail, not in the bedroom.

funke said...

That is what woman get when we cant take rubbish in our marriage or relationship anymore..So sad! The same thing happen to me when i left my baby dad cos he impregnant 2 different girls, now everyone is insulting me (both his frds and family)they said `"may be she is in a relationship with another man" but no one has ever mention his two baby mamas..Nigerians only talk about women and we women are not helping the matter too, we alwayz critize ourself cos of one useless guy. God bless u Vannessa. btw i know she is not nigerian

KnewItWasComing said...

You need to get your facts straight oh Linda! This guy, Kobe was drafted to NBA when he was 18 and when he was 17 already had endorsement deals with Adidas and Sprite so I'm pretty sure everyone knew he was going to be a star and was already rich by the time he married the 'gold digger'. She slept with Kobe and Kobe was forced to marry her cause she was a minor and he didn't want trouble. Plus we women have intuition and always know that our men will be great! She had to wait until 10 years so she could get alimony for the rest of her life. That's California law for you, so I'm going to lean on the side that she knew/knows exactly what she is doing. It d nothing to do with him creating cause he's been cheating for years and she was okay, now all of a sudden she can't handle it, come on!!!

nativepals.com said...

TYhis is not about the money. if kobe is unfaithful, then she got every reason to leave da marriage

obviouly, he was a nobody with great potential when she met him but she definitely waited for the 10 year mark to divorce him

AnAngryNigerianMan said...

Actually, she met him after he started playing in the NBA. That does not mean she is a gold digger, maybe she got fed up, waited her time for her case to be air tight and left. If a woman packs up and leaves after numerous fidelity issues by the man, dont call her a gold digger cos she was not the reason for the failure of the marriage, just making sure the man pays for his indiscretion however, we have some women who are career thieves(the Robin Givens) who plan and scheme a man out of his money, married for less than a year or two but want 50% ole!

Lion can never give birth to a goat Linda, people spend a life time planing how to raid, invade and slaughter another mans purse. The latest princess of UK was groomed from childhood for the prince so what are you talking about being young?? Biko, the girl is a "ten year robber" just like her mama kpichikam!

mcheeeeeew

Also, some babes can tell guys that will become something, all those girls that used to follow club boys in lag where are those boys today? useless and hopeless....But those boys with smelling mouth and trouser that refuse to touch ground are the senior accountants and bank execs today na, look Jim Ovia, does he look like somebody that was in any yeye club or cult (happening boys)? NO, he was a bloody efiko and I'm sure babes walked the other way when he attempted toast back then but today go and try his cash na.........mcheeeeeew

Can Vanessa also swear to God tha she too hasn't cheated all these times kobe was on d road..me thinks its all abt d benjys!! Correct GD. :D

Muneerah said...

Linda, I tire oh..don't know why people assume loving a rich guy means u are a gold digger!

Linda, depends on how deep you are digging.

Jaja said...

He doesn't need to have been rich when they met. All she needed was to know was that he had the potential to be rich...and trust me girls KNOW these things.
So she intuitively knows he would be rich, then all she needed to do was stick in there a few years to verify and when the dollars come rolling in would just dig deep to pass the 10-year mark. Simples!

Nestorhymes said...

Kai, kobe lose guard o. e no first know abt pre-nup? allowed himself get carried away for nothing. Hand don meet am o

Linda o!! Kobe was already a superstar frm high skoll(secondary skol went into d NBA straight frm high skool on a $90 million+ contract minus endorsements o.only lebron n KG has matched tha.I blame kobe 4 nt listening to his dad who was against dem gettin married.Guess dad knws berra :p.

Well, when will there be a divorce case that the wife will not ask for any money? Why is money sharing the issue whenever there is a divorce case? When you trully love someone, the person's wellbeing and interest be uppermost in your mind and i know that is not the case here.
Even Linda started it on a bad note that Vanessa gave him her youth, didn't Kobe give his youth too abi 21 years old na "old man"? Or is Linda implying that unmarried ladies don't age? In conclusion - this is gold digging, she just waited for the optimal time to do what she would have done long ago.

Whatever, case of sour grapes. He should go suck a lemon. She deserves half for putting up his his sh.. for so long. DOG!!

Linda, you show your ignorance a lot these days. LOL. Perhaps you need to do some research on Kobe before you post rubbish. He was groomed for greatness.
Gold digging? *i roll my eyes* I find it hard to feel sorry for men.
Khloe Kardashian was rich before she met Lamar so the comparison isn't similar.

spakleen said...

l

@ anon 12.24 am, 'u has been workin with them'?

I ain't saying she's a GOLD DIGGER...but she she ain't messing with no BROKE BROKE!!. ..

And how do you mean..he was nothing at 21??..he was on his way to a Multi-Million Contract..do you know sportstars especially in USA are coveted from their teens..its like saying Tiger was nothing at 21..cmon now!!...she knew she had hit GOLD!!..and the baby was her ACE!!..this ain't Nja..this is what they do in trying to tie down successful dudes!!..
Na that time u go hear..forgot to take the pills!!

She can now get advice from all the other divorcess flaunting Reality Shows..so many and ever so irritating!!..Kobe has been so naive and stupid..he thought this girl was some sort of carpet by not signing a Pre-Nup!!..didn't know she was bidding her time busy scheming!!..that's why i love George Clooney and Simon Cowell!!..correct bobos!!..

Linda stop concorting facts...Kobe was well on his way to Mega Mega Bucks..I recommend u go see the film "He Got Game"..to see how Agents come for kiddie ballers!!...he probs was on 1 million even then..The play now is..successful dudes would be having babies left right and center and not committing...so wouldn't be wearing that maclean smile just yet!!
Silly Kobe now he's going to see some broke azz dude fu.cking his wife and carrying his kids!!..plus he never dated sistas..so on that Kobe you a real DUMMY!!

Femillionaire said...

Gold digger or not, Kobe's to blame. If he knew that he could not keep johnny boy under leash, he should not have married like P Diddy, George Clooney, Lebron James, Simon Cowell et al or he should have had a pre-nup like Tiger Woods whose wife got 10% when she divorced him.

The jury is still out on whether she's a gold digger anyway... If she demands for half of his $360m fortune, then the jury will conclude that she ain't nothing but a gold digger but if she demands for something reasonable and not outrageous like say $10 - $50m, then the jury will conclude that she's not.

Honestly speaking, do not understand why women demand for so much during a divorce while claiming that they're fed-up with the guy. If truly you are leaving as a result of irreconcilable differences, then his money should not be an issue. Tina Turner did it and she's held in very high esteem today. Make it plane and let us know. You are in it to make money which is no different from the run girls and ashawos whose only hustle is their punani, just that you are/were smarter with yours.

Meanwhile, most men who were married to highly successful women tend to just walk away with whatever they brought into the relationship without the need to start scrounging for the woman's wealth. Guy Richie simply walked away without fighting when Madonna decided she had had enough and wanted to start cavorting with toyboys.

All the people calling her a gold digger are doing so without considering the heartbreak she is going through. Whenever I see these Westerners getting married something keeps telling me it wont last and that is exactly what is happening. Lets call a spade a spade. He cheated on his wife and its wrong, let him pay his price shikena.

Guys guys what do we expect here. She is Mexican abi na Hispanic for crying out loud. This is what they all have to do to make it in America. To use their beauty to trap rich African American men, have children for them,chop their money well and bounce. This is why black women stay frustrated with their men. She played him and she played him good!!! she would soon find another rich black man or an average Hispanic man she can control.

superswag said...

waitin 4 d cash to keep diggin and bigger... Thats how a goldgidder could be with a man for 12years.. Get that linda,..i hope so

Hahaha..there used to be a time The assumption was non-black women were more loving..non-confrontational and humble..now all of them they get divorced anyhow...our sistas would still forgive you if you don't go too far but this oyinbo babes all na timing..if money dey..na go be that!!..when i dey college..i see wetin my lecturer wey be oyinbo..him oyinbo wife do am..bobo na room he move into...a whole lecturer!!
Now sef!!..one of my friends wey marry some Swedish babe..now she wants the house and divorce!!

Blackknight! said...

In that case, are we going to expect Joseph Yobo and his wife to divorce after 10 years? I asked this question because they are two unlikely/unmatched couple and it seems to me that the only reason SHE Married him is because of MONEY and her mom taught her well......

Well, ladies must marry dudes for one reason or the other.

See me see wahala o,if u see dis kin opportunity u no go hug am nd every1 seems 2 av 4gotten dt he CHEATED abi dt 1 no b bad thin. Vanessa u r d bst,divorse d d CHEAt nd gt your entillment

Ada said...

I personally have noooo idea why anyone's labelling d woman...had d man been a upstanding husband now I will understand where all dis fire is coming from... Walahi, if I be Lawyer I'll be on Vanessa's team right now men! Gold digger my G6 ass!! Pls don't irritate me. What do dese men want, is it till she ends up on medication and alcohol in d name of love n tolerating the useless man's ways... Ahn ahn, pls let her get paid n move on to live the remaining long life ahead jare...who needs constant shaniqua's disturbing ur peace! Nonsense!

dejoski said...

Kobe was already a mega success at 21. What are you talking about? He was already an NBA all star obviously going places. Kobe was a hit from start and that much was obvious. So YES!!! She could have married him for the money. I'm not saying she did but she COULD have. She might just be leveraging on him cheating. And by the way,if he was really good to her with his money..she really would have no reason to go thru the stress of divorce. I guess she is now tired of the marriage and simply needs some freedom. But YES she could have married him cos he had money not necessarily cos she planned she would eventually divorce him.

linda keep dreaming......u are a nigerian, living in nigeria....

you have a lot to talk about nigeria and africa and keep on bringing this american thing......

No one is even talking about the fact that she bore him two kids! We women know what it is to carry and bear a child just once, how much more twice!! Abeg, if she doesn't get "gold", what's she supposed to get? "tin"??? 12 years of her life!!! Beans?????

dejoski said...

By 18, Kobe signed a 6yr endorsement deal with addidas worth $48M!!! So puleeeze he was already SOMETHING when they met...remove that bloody false clause from the story

KMT make una park well abeg, only one person talked about the kids nonsense as far as I am concerned kids are a life sentences even after they get married they are still ur property so if she doesn't take dat fool to the cleaners how is she gona support n look afta her kids wen she was married she was a full time housewife so now she won divorce the cheater who repeatedly ignored n broke his marriage vowels shud she now start again with selling tomatoes 2feed the kids the had together ni and of course she too has to look after herself. I don't care what you guys say no woman should experience a cheating in marriage anyone dat is married and cheating needs JESUS!!! Nonesense and ingredences....vanessa wa gbayi make u milk him dry cuz u neva born those kids alone as long as u look after ur kids den das the most important things cuz those kids are your hope and future! Who eva says she is a gold digga can go drink gari with petrol MTCHEW!!!!!

Ada said...

Walahi dis mata is just driving me madt! All the people blaming Vanessa r acting as if Kobe was dumb wen he decided to get married, and yet shoot himself in d foot by fooling around! Are u kidding me?! Do u realise that Athlete wives generally literally put their lives on hold if their hubbies must climb to the top of their fields?.. Micheal Jordan's wife was employed in d home full time till he retired, n there are a million cases like dat! U care for d home, children, travel as n wen ur hubby needs to form supporters club, etc...if dat is how gold is dug, den all naija women who do d same for their families are also gold diggers abi?? Nonsense! Waka to anybody comin here yarning bullocks, plus dat useless ex stepfather, any wonder why he's an ex? He shld better be saving his money for monthly payment instead of following TMZ! Ezigbo Anuofia!!

Nigerians! Seriously we have a problem. Especially women. We judge ourselves too much and that's why men will continue to treat us the way we do. It is simply disgusting that women are saying she is a gold digger. what ever she is collecting now is HER right. Kobe knew the implications of his actions yet he still went ahead and here you people are saying she should continue to endure the nonsense. Why must women always take trash from men? Why can't men behave themselves? Of course that isn't possible so he should be ready to give her what is due to her. He has plenty money na so no shaking. I don't even see why people are drinking panadol for another man's headache. The guy did not tell y'all dat he can't pay so all you haters,go take a chill pill

Str8FrmDaHips said...

@Ada..calm down joor!!...must be such a hard life living in a multi-million mansion...why didn't she marry a regular guy..she knew playas always get play...but got preggers!!
As for the kids seen nuff foster parents do a better job than the biological parents..go ask Madonna!!..and some Dads even have better parenting skills..

belladonna said...

You people sef..I don't know why people are calling her a gold digger. So it isn't at all possible that she truly loved him when they got married? Is it that any one that marries a rich person is now a gold digger? So anytime an average person is approached by a rich dude, she shuld say no so pple won't call her a gold digger. This is the kind of narrow minded thinking that I hate. He was dumb cos he knew he couldn't keep it in his pants and yet he got married to someone without a prenup. Is it that he felt she culd neva divorce him? As per what na? I don't think she went into the marriage with divorce as the end goal but as he kept on cheating and she decided to be smart also, I can only commend her. He was playing around and she played her own cards right. Brava!

HISS said...

everything has a price!

he cheated, he gat to pay!

hope this is a lesson to other men!

but with such a beautiful wife, why does he cheat often???

or is she not giving it to him??

or he does not know how to say NO to the useless women that throw themselves at him?? #long hiss#

@Ugo Babeee,why r u talking like u know for sure.Only God knows.So,kobe is justified for cheating..not fair at all.R u gonna stay in an unhealthy relationship cos it's for better or for worse,wait till it happens to u..i dont wish it on my enemy...what makes some men not cheat?Will power /spirit of God...whatever...People sha need to respect Linda abi,stop talking to her like she is ur last child.u can make constructive criticism without disrespecting her and pls dont shoot me.

for all of u who don't know, let me give u the facts!!! she is a golddigger n kobe had this coming to him! it is his karma! why u ask?? well, kobe got drafted right out of high school and was getting endorsements left and right, so when she met him, she KNEW VERY WELL that he was gonna become even more successful and have even more money for her to get her hands on. kobe met her on a music video set. she was a video girl for one of these rappers/hip hop artists! what kind of girl did he expect her to be? duh? a girl who is willing to shake her ass or show herself for money is loose n u can't turn a ho into a housewife! as for him, his karma came now because of what he did to his ex-girlfriend back home before he became really popular n famous. he was dating her n didnt have the decency to break up with her. she thought they were still together until she had to hear it on t.v that he was engaged and was going to marry vanessa. how cold is that?? VERY DAMN COLD AND CALLOUS!! so u see the karma of what he did to that girl has finally caught up with him. black guys never learn. they always think oyinbo is better but oyinbo will always disgrace them n treat them like animals. his family didn't like her and his father warned him but he didn't listen. and to top it all off, he didn't sign a prenuptial agreement because he said he was in love with her. DUMB ASS!!! now HALF of all the money he has worked hard for is going to her. smh. this is just d beginning o. the pain he will suffer ehn, he will be begging God to save him! if she wasn't a golddigger and really loved him, she would either work it out with him or divorce him and not accept any money from him! so is it the money that will make the pain of him cheating go away??? get d fuck outta here! they both deserve each other n whatever they get! oh well merry xmas y'all! no be my own wahala, i just wanted to inform y'all of the truth so u don't feel pity for them!!

Kobe Bryant was actually a rising basketball phenom at the time he met his wife. He met his wife in California after he was drafted to play basketball there. In other words, he was already a celebrity when his wife met him and she new or should have known what he stood to make. I recall that when he proposed to her their was a big to do about him not having her sign a pre-nup and their were articles that projected his future earnings. In light of this, Kobe had ample notice that he should have gotten a prenup and he made an informed decision not to do so. Like Dr. Phil says, when one chooses the action, one also chooses the consequences. As for whether Kobe's wife is a gold-digger, I think so, but that is Kobe's crap to deal with. Next.

if he still has gold.lol. >>to answer your question.