Arab revolution imminent in Nigeria? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 19 December 2011

Arab revolution imminent in Nigeria?

During a press briefing by the Nigeria Bar Association (NBA) in Kaduna yesterday, the NBA said it will not support the planned removal of subsidy on petroleum by the federal government, and said a revolution like what happened in some Arab countries recently is inevitable in Nigeria if the federal government goes ahead with its plan to remove subsidy on petroleum.

Do you agree? Is an Arab revolution imminent or even possible in Nigeria? Are Nigerians capable?

28 comments:

Str8FrmDaHips said...

The only thing that would pacify the people is transparency..when GEJ removes the oil subsidy where are the funds GOING??...same for the Lekki Tollgate...they better all come correct!!

*ajalahtravel* said...

There better be

*ajalahtravel*

olu said...

I support this, it is very possible. I live in d northern part of Nigeria, pple here are so tired of their leaders, they only enrich dmselves alone and I think that is wat d BOKO HARAM pple are fighting for to some extent. In some places in d north local govt does nt exist, once money gets to d LG secretariat it is shared, dt is pathetic. if u ever live in d north u will feel sorry, d gap btw d rich and d poor is too wide..may God help us in ds country.

The NBA is now a toothless bulldog since the new president got there. Abeg he should let us hear word and learn from the like of Olisa Agbakogba and Rotimi Akeredolu!

Nigeria love God but NO ONE wants to go to heaven. Do you know how many people died during the Arab spring revolution ?

I dont think its possible now in nigeria considering the lilly-livered nature of an average nigerian, who is afraid of tear gas let alone gunshots. Our politicians are aware of this fact and are taking advantage of us. Am sure if there is a revolution today, that some of us who re saying its possible, would rather be watching movies at home. We seriously need to wake up in this country.

Dabi Dozi said...

There will be no Arab revolution in Nigeria. Where was all these fools and toothless NBA when Boko Haram was slauthering southerners? Where was their Arab revolution? All these jobless beggars and NBA should phuckin go home and stop polluting the atmosphere with their yeye noise. Smh.

• Petroleum subsidy removed.
• Motorists and pedestrians taxed to death on every road in Nigeria by corrupt politicians and thieving policemen.
• Constant power failure.
• Armed robbers at every bank and street corner.
• Pastors publicly slapping people, including Boko Haram and Muslim people, for not paying enough tithes and offerings.
• Joblessness: High unemployment = high comments on Linda Ikeji's blog and high Twitter and Facebook traffic from Nigeria.
• Mosquitos with AK47 - to suck una blood at night at gunpoint.
• Tourists getting robbed, etc.
• 99.9% of people in Nigeria are frightfully corrupt.

Na wa for una for Nigeria. I hear say Federal government wants to impose "Air Tax" for breathing in air. Is it true?

lol

SULZ said...

NIGERIANS ARE HYPOCRITICAL IN NATURE....THEY SAY YES AND ONCE YOU RUN ALONG THEY POKE THEIR NOSE WITH THEIR EVIL SMILE AND TURN BACK.

MEANWHILE I KNOW THIS IS NOT GENEVIEVE'S POST BUT I KNOW LINDA IS HER SOMBORRI SO PLEASE ASK HER IF SHE'S STILL ACTING OR HAS PEREZ HILTON NAMED HER PARIS HILTON OF AFRICA THIS TIME SMH

blunt said...

give me 13 dump-trucks and volunteers and i will block all d lanes at d lekki toll plaza with refuse in protest..Give me a voice and i will blow d monument of opprepsion to smithereens.

omo Ade said...

Seriously, if d subsidy shuld b removed, things are going to be expensive especially for pple in Lagos state, considering d amount being paid as tax, expensive education, expensive foodstuffs, unavailable health care facilties nd now d toll gate...pple will definitely take to street...but till then

Tolu said...

We need a Moses.

omo naija said...

...but Linda if u don't lead us...who will?

we though sucide bombing was not possible in Nigeria. When people lose hope they have no other choicebut to revolt. I am so scared cos i know revolution is so close and the innocent will perish.God help us.

take a cue from the lekki toll gate ish and u will c that all they saying is just story story story...Nigerians cannot do anything,even in asia at a bar the other day bouncers were buys beatin a nigerian at a bar and the remaining Nigerians were busy drinkin like its normal,Nigerians fear too much
Chuks Slam

Linda ur choice of words. "Arab style revolution....."

i cant wait for revolution to happen. i am tied of this country.
I am fearless n is just that boko haram are nt targeting the right people.= I cant f--- king wait....

@ Dabi Dozi made me laugh with...Mosquitos with AK47 - to suck una blood at night at gunpoint..but seriously he has points there & all he says makes sense. Folks what & how will you act when there's anything like revolution in 9ja? Better start thinking that now because it's sure gonna happen. People are frustrated & only 0.025 percent of Nigerians living in Nigeria are not. Now that's dangerous if you ask me.

Nigerians are indeed to scared to die and the West will not sponsor it.

the people of nigerian is the most foolish people on earth and the leaders knows it because the people can not do anything,it is only in nigerian toll gates is built in a city,it simpliy means the leaders are calling the masses fools,this can never never ever happen in other african countries talkless of advanced countries.nigerians will remain fools.

REVOLUTION IS COMEING IF NIGERIAN LEADER,S ARE NOT DOING THE RIGHT THING WE PROMIS

Wt our attitude lyk... "wetin concern mi","I nva chop u dey talk abt fight", "who cares", "mk dm dey do deir own", "na deir problem b dt" etc..we will nt go anywia. revolution my foot.

Gani is dead, who will lead us?

franco said...

To anonymous..."Gani is dead,who will lead us?"...idiot!...go and wake him up to lead you....In a revolution u don't need a leader...it is a spontaneous reaction by all and sundry to oppression and injustices...revolution is not a coup where u need a leader...

appaling said...

Its really appaling how I can read between the lines that a good number of muslims support boko haram. U guys are the scum, evil people of the earth. I still do not understand this your god that allows you to kill and murder in his name. I see more posts about GEJ being a slow president as compared to people condemning islamic boko haram idiots who are murdering hundreds of innocent citizens with their actions. Wat planet do muslims come from? Did u guys not read the majority of christians who condemned the pastor that slapped his member? I never read from muslims condeming terroriists acts ever! It just shows they silently approve these barbaric, evil methods by their brethren. How sad

The arab's can have their revolution all to themselves. Seeing how the last revoluation went (aka Biafra), I suggest that the Igbo's sit this one out and let others sacrifice. We have done our bit. No one listened to us back then and now we are all suffering.

Mr appalling u are just as stupid and foolish as ur comments..who told u muslims support boko haram.....and how dare u say God and put a small g like we worship some thing....you are a racist and you no better than boko haram.i has a muslim condemn the activities of boko haram

There is a lot of agitation for this on twitter, but before we jump the gun and assume we are ready for such an action, we must understand that our circumstance is different. The average Nigerian does not have the same values and commitment to a cause that the average Arab has.Be aware that if such a protest were to begin at this time, our officers will not be firing only teargas. Half of the protesters will be looting shops,burning private property,robbing people and raping women.It seems that we have forgotten the corruption of the average Nigerian. We need to begin to address the corrupt appetites of the average Nigerian before we can even begin to confront our leaders. Half of Nigerians are just as committed to a life of corruption as our leaders.How can we sincerely resist what we embrace???
It's not yet time for a revolution. We need to be prepared for it.Be wise!