UK blacklists medical graduates from 9 Nigerian universities | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 21 December 2011

UK blacklists medical graduates from 9 Nigerian universities

GMC says the schools no longer meet accepted standards of practice in the UK

Medical graduates from nine universities in Nigeria will no longer be able to obtain licenses to practice in the United Kingdom, following a decision by the UK's General Medical Council (GMC) to ban the higher institutions.

The GMC, a body of independent regulators which registers medical doctors to practise in the UK, took the decision to bar graduates from the nine universities from writing PLAB.

PLAB is the UK exam that enables non-UK Medical graduates to undertake post-graduate medical training in the country.

The affected graduates are those who graduated after December 10, 2010 from Ambrose Ali University, Ebonyi State University, Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH), Nnamdi Azikiwe University, University of Jos, University of Nigeria and the University of Port Harcourt.

It also applies to those who graduated on or after April 1, 2010 from Igbinedion University College of Health Sciences and the University of Benin.

According to Jason Day of the GMC's press office, the schools were axed because they no longer meet the required standards for practise in the UK.
He added that the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MDCN) had also advised that they suspend accreditation of some medical schools in the country.

“The decision only applies to students who graduated from those medical schools after the MDCN suspended their accreditation,” Day said

Culled from  Dailytimes.com

51 comments:

doctor toolz said...

mehn that is deep my alumni medilag no make the list:-) but i concur wit that list, had to work wit some doctors from a couple of doctors from some of those delisted and mehn, them no know shyte

leonidas said...

well..Im not surprised...We've gat crack head schools over here...

The greatest University of Ibadan can never be on that list.

chiko said...

So we all can see what is happening.madonna uni and unilag med sch still remain the best in the country and that's why they are recomended abroad also.

niger not dey carry last abi? I blame the money grabbing government for not investing in proper education. Now see embarrassment...Haters in 5 4 3 2 1......

hope america will not join dis craze ass people.

well blame MDCN. MDCN withdrew the accreditations from those school so offcourse GMC followed suit and said that means the graduates from those schools are not qualified enough to work in the UK.

if your country board think the schools are not good enough to be accredited, then the message to other countries will be loud and clear BLACKLIST

Kemi said...

This is just a tip of the huge mess that is building up in future. Yet money that should be invested in the the education sector is being used to fly round the world and feed an already obese government and their underlings.

Well, that's okay but our government should do something about our medical schools but Looking at the recent budget, i don't think they will do anything, so i rest my case.
Most of our school don't have classrooms, no lab, no cadava, no lecturer, no electricity, no equipments, no chairs, no tables,no computers etc, infact Nigeria medical school is finished, totally finished( lying in state) as i type.

GEJ!GEJ! hope you get to read this and do something fast! our schools are not operating well.In place of classrooms, we sit under shady trees, in place of cadava, we use dead bush meat, in place of light, we use lamp or otoropa, in place of lecturer, we're forced to buy handouts, in place of ammonia acid for practicals, we use our urine. The only thing that improves in our schools are the school fees which goes up every session.

Nsukka too? Now, that's sad.

CRajiv said...

(From A Nairaland Poster)
http://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-830059.32.html

This happened late last year. As an obligation, the MDCN informed the WHO who de-listed the affected schools.

This problem has been solved and the MDCN website has now been updated. See the MDCN website: http://www.mdcnigeria.org/

The following is a list of currently updated accredited medical schools as obtained from the MDCN website:
FULLY ACCREDITED MEDICAL SCHOOLS IN NIGERIA

College of Medicine and Health Sciences, Abia State University, Uturu, Abia State
College of Health Sciences,Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki.
College of Medicine, University of Lagos, Idi Araba, Lagos.
College of Health Sciences, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife, Osun State.
College of Health Sciences, University of Port-Harcourt.
College of Health Sciences, Usman Dan Fodiyo University, Sokoto, Sokoto State.
College of Health Sciences, Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomosho.
College of Medicine, University of Ibadan, Oyo State.
College of Medicine, University of Ilorin, Kwara State.
College of Medical Sciences, University of Calabar, Cross River State.
College of Medicine, Lagos State University, Ikeja, Lagos State.
College of Medicine, Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma.
Faculty of Medical Sciences, University of Jos.
Faculty of Medicine, Bayero University, Kano State.
Obafemi Awolowo College of Health Sciences, Sagamu, Olabisi Onabanjo (formerly Ogun State) University, Ago Iwoye, Ogun State.
College of Medicine, Imo State University, Owerri
College of Health Science, Madonna University Okija
College of Medical Sciences, University of Benin, Benin City , Edo State.
Oba Okunade College of Health Sciences Igbinedion University Okada, Benin -City, Edo State.
College of Medicine, University of Nigeria Enugu Campus. Enugu.
College of Health Sciences, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Nnewi.
Faculty of Medicine, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria.
College of Medical Sciences, University of Maiduguri.
College of Health Sciences, Delta State University, Abraka
College of Medicine, Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu
College Of Health Sciences, University of Uyo, Uyo

PARTIALLY ACCREDITED MEDICAL SCHOOLS FOR MEDICAL ONLY

College of Health Sciences, Bigham University Karu, Nasarawa.
College of Health Sciences, Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island
College of Health Sciences, Benue State University, Makurdi

The WHO website though (http://avicenna.ku.dk/database/medicine/) has not been updated as bad news often makes the headlines quickly but they are very difficult to retract.

Please Linda HEED and stop following the bandwagon to disseminate OLD stories. You are much better than this..

HISS said...

ya wa don gas!

Yetinde said...

Thank God,medilag no dey o.

Sheriff Shittu said...

linda now i knw pple come here to read cele-gossips or socio-gossips as i'll say cos they respond less to matter that should concern us most.

unn!!! **shocked**

Only 9?

Na wa o. That's bad news. So our brothers and sisters abroad will not be able to practice medicine, further subjecting them to do with menial jobs. God help this country o.

ETHAN said...

Linda pls dere is gist abt Nadia Buhari snatching someone's husband.Delta soap boss to be preside.look for details for me.Aproko will nt kill me.Linda u done infect me with aproko spirit.

karisgirl said...

Here is the list of affected institutions and the classes:

Ambrose Ali University (this only applies to those who graduated
after 10 December 2010)

Ebonyi State University (this only applies to those who graduated
after 10 December 2010)

Igbinedion University College of Health Sciences (this applies
only to those who graduated on or after 1 April 2010)

Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH) (this only
applies to those who graduated after 10 December 2010)

Nnamdi Azikiwe University (this only applies to those who
graduated after 10 December 2010)

University of Benin (this applies only to those who graduated on or
after 1 April 2010)

University of Jos (this only applies to those who graduated after 10
December 2010)

University of Nigeria (this only applies to those who graduated after
10 December 2010)

University of Port Harcourt (this only applies to those who
graduated after 10 December 2010)

Source:

http://www.africanexaminer.com/doctor1221

Silky said...

Thi is rubbish. Can they do that and why. Jesus Christ.After how many years in skool and they cant even write an exam to qualify them. Isnt it after they have failed that they should be screened out instead of such prjudice.Gosh. I hate oyibo pple. Mtsceeeew!

Silky said...

Can you imagine? Am sooo upset at this news

I went to IGBENEDION UNIVERSITY OKADA and i am quite shocked that this disqualification didnt come earlier. Medical students there spend at least 8 years to graduate from medicine if All goes well. And each year they are asked to pay ridiculously high fees for services that arentnrendered. Then the Chief Igbinedion would just squander the cash on his stupid birthday parties an all sort of irrelevant rubbish. This doesnt just go for the medical college but all the other colleges in the school as well.

very bad instead of oga jona to see how he can improve the status of naija universities he would not do that but if it is to budget 1 billion naira to feed in 1 year he is number one, if it is to fight to remove oil subsidy he is number one yeye man.

the problem is our government,instend of them to invest and spend more money on schools they are busy using the money for their selfish end,at the end of day they go to overseas for treatment,may God saves our souls.

Jbabe said...

i thank God university of Ibadan was not included o,however which kind thing be this o? so no better Doc again abi?NUC you got a great task ahead of you oooooo

Mama somtee said...

You need to go to a government hospital and see those house officers , na to pose oh , hold blackberry that's all they cannot set a line for drip , clueless, lack understanding of what life entails , if this is what it would take to embarrass the government so be it , This country is gradually coming to an halt ooooh .

Lady Jaye said...

Silky - are you being a troll or are you just dense? ACCREDITION means an independent body trained to evaluate things is assured that an institution delivers quality education, and sufficient training. It is NOT about taking exams. It is about being trained to be competent. Stupidity and racism are NOT sexy.

Lady Jaye said...

And again, Silky - The British are under NO obligation to qualify people who graduate from YOUR country. They qualify those who graduate from THEIR country because they know what they re looking for. They don't have to play nice with anyone and qualify them just because "they went to school for so many years". Utter nonsense.

Faith said...

I know say UNiport must dey sha. US don first ban Uniport graduates from submitting transcript to come and study in Ivy League schools like harvard and no be only medical department o, now UK don follow. Thank God say I don commot for Naija to do my masters already....Unique Uniport...smh

even igbinedion??..after all dat money??
Dem for return my money o!!
Dis is sad,though

God help us

@ chiko you are joking when you say Madonna University right? They should be the number one on that list and why they are still allowed to admitt students when they don't have a hospital or isn't that one of the things a medical faculty should have?

Kemi said...

@Silky how in the world is this prejudice and what are you hating Oyinbo people for? It is called standards and everyone has a right to set theirs. Rather you should hate your government that refuses to improve the education standards in the country.
CRajiv - thanks for the update. I still firmly believe that not enough is being done for education. Conditions are abysmal, teachers are busy chasing their own agendas, amenities are non existent and very soon these students who would have learnt nothing will then become teachers in future teaching our children the nothing they learnt while in school.

Olu said...

Linda:

I'm dissapointed at the headline of this article

1. The UK did not decide to blacklist the schools out of the blue, the schools lost their accreditation in Nigeria and therefore the graduates are not fit to practice in Nigeria or anywhere in the world.

A school that is not accredited means the graduates are not properly trained medical doctors

2. The article should bring attention to the reasons why the schools lost their accreditation in the first place and should read - Nigerian medical school losing accreditation, effects felt abroad.

Don't let your blog lose its credibility.

Omalicha said...

how can nsukka not be there and asutech nnewi campus be on the list..i mean if that isnt a travesty what is?

The only school in nigeria that can compete with any other school abroad is covenant university....

nigerians can only pray that they eventually open up a medical school.............

for me any other school in nigeria aside from covenant university is rubbish

Blehhhh! Bullcrap MDCN. Hw cum most of the schools there r eastern and midwestern schools. I"m a Unn Medical graduate and the reasn why they took the accreditation(whch they ve restored) is cos of our number. I ve interacted wit med grads frm western schools nt listed above and they dnt knw shigbain.

why are most of the schools in the south east?

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Well there's no beating quality..should be applied to a range of other disciplines too..written sentences from 9ja Graduates can give you a headache!!..not their fault..just a sub-standard level of education with little or no facilities!!
Nsukka..what a shame that was a premier league 9ja uni!!..
Funny thing just over the weeekend saw the Igbinedions grinning like cat that just got some milk..at their recent convocation!!

'Dedotun said...

How can you ppl be blaming the MDCN and the GMC for blacklisting medical schools? We're talking about doctors who will be responsible for thousands of lives here, @Silky is talking about the number of years they spent in school, who gives a f*** if they spent 1000 yrs in school. God forbid, but if one of these quack doctors kill ur loved one will u still feel the same way.
The blame lies squarely on our authorities, its not only medical schools that are crappy, our entire educational system is a HUGE JOKE and absolutely nothing is being done about it. All they care about is fuel subsidy and cassava bread. All those of you who voted for GEJ may God forgive you because future generations wont.....

Am horny jorrrr

mrsdaramola said...

Igbinedion students bribe their way to graduation. Just wait till you are treated by one of these graduating frauds.

iron lover said...

@Annon4.40pm. you re really funny. we are talking of medical college here and u talking of a glorified missionary secondary school. pls do a post whn your school has the balls to have a med school.

I do not plan to write any PLAB or migrate to UK but I am proud that Oba Awon University (OAU)will never find itselve in this mess.

Tonia said...

Great madonnites!Great,Great madonites!Great,Greattttttttt @least fr Edeh don dey try I shock say we no dey dis list bt all d same I'm a proud madonite.

mrs daramola or watever they call u u,wat do u mean by igbins student bribe their way to graduate,u see wat am saying ,ds re d kind of stupid peps dat say things dey know nothing abt,u dont ve an idea of who igbins med sch student re.wen u re looking for hardworking student,u call igbins student,u re just a terrible stupid mother,who knows nothing abt igbins students,just shut d fuck stupid

I think people should be constructive in their comments and thinking. This is a senstive issue that can and will affect our respective future for those that have one.
Please, if u don't have anything sensible to say, can u just keep ur di..y mouth shut.
Some pple's comments are actually d reflection of the standard of education they've had. I can't agree with anybody that they are well trained graduates!!!

ada said...

@ mama somtee, why culdn't ‎​ u̶̲̥̅ pass jamb
for medicine exams or ‎​ęя u withdrawn @ 2nd
Mbbs level? Those houseofficers are saving lives
while ‎​ u̶̲̥̅ are hating & gossiping here. As 4 madonna,
plz shut Ūя̲̅ mouth coz I tried studying medicine dere but left
& ryt now am a doctor from a prestigious uni.

Just like we do in nigeria, we are leaving the real cos of the rot in our educational system.

Its not just medicine, the quality of graduates coming out from our institutions of higher learning have taken a nose dive.

Admissions are no longer by merit, but how much you can part with, admitted students part with money to sort courses, our lecturers have become glorified market women selling all sort of things. The success rate in WAEC and NECO over the past three years, have been the worst in the history of this nation. Parents participate, aid and fully bankroll their wards in exam malpractice.

Its easy for us to blame government always. but we need to tell ourselves the truth. Everyone have a part to play to return our educational system to its glorious past.

They have a variety of ring styles that can fit into anyone's budget. However a personally designed promise ring for her is an exceptional gift. Anyway, here are some other famous couples that have chosen unique ways of staking claim on their partners, after the jump.

Feel free to surf to my blog; promise rings personalized