Woman Abandons Baby To Die, Corpse Found In The Ceiling | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 22 July 2011

Woman Abandons Baby To Die, Corpse Found In The Ceiling

Toyin Olaomo
The police at Olosan Division, Mushin, Lagos State, Southwest Nigeria have arrested a 36-year old housewife, Toyin Sodiq Olaomo, who abandoned her eighth child in the ceiling of her residence to die.

Toyin abandoned the three-day old baby girl on Monday July 18 while she was picked up on Wednesday July 20 and detained pending the out-come of police investigation into the incident.

A resident of 353, Agege Motor Road, Challenge, Mushin, Lagos, Emmanuel Adebiyi Osho, who reported the matter at the police station, told PM News that in the early hours of Monday, he heard a strange noise from the suspect’s room.

But when it was morning, Toyin told her curious neighbour that it was a minor disagreement between her and her husband that caused the uproar. “She claimed her last born sustained an injury on the leg and showed me a bucket full of blood,” Osho said.

Osho added: “However, we later discovered Toyin’s dead three-day- old baby girl soaked in blood inside a polythene bag in the ceiling of the fifth floor of our house. I called the attention of the landlord, Tajudeen Adedapo Salami, who followed me to the police station to report the incident.”
The police came immediately and arrested Toyin who is now undergoing interrogation.

When the police went to Ladipo Market, Mushin where Toyin’s husband, Sodiq Olaomo sells spare parts, he could not be located. None of his colleagues at the market knew his whereabouts. He was, however, arrested this morning.

The husband’s initial absence fuelled suspicion because Toyin reportedly told the police that her fleeing husband was aware of what led to the incident.

Our correspondent was not allowed to speak to the woman to know the motive for her cruel act.
A source at the police station informed P.M.NEWS yesterday morning that the police are trying to establish whether the abandoned baby was a foetus aborted by the woman or that she gave birth to the baby naturally but allowed her to die in the ceiling.

Culled from : PM News

26 comments:

mamabussy said...

Truth be told, there are loads of insane people walking down the street of this country..........

the white enchantress said...

one flogs d living daylight out of her son with God knows what an instrument which leaves marks n injuries on his body......another gives birth and kills 3 days old baby girl went further to drain d baby's blood out of her body to the last drop......meanwhile some ladies are somewhere lookin for just one child....let dem just take in even for once so de could stop being stigmatised.THIS WORLD IS IN CHAOS.i have nothing to say to this lady other than....the tears of dis baby will forever haunt you n whoever advised you.

SOLA said...

What is happening to us now? So much sad news going on.
If at all the child died accidently, what's wrong in announcing the death and tell half truth on how it happened?? Why keep in the ceiling?! For what now?? Could this be a ritual go wrong?? **smhs**

Kemiismyrealname said...

All these judges and members of the jury.

People have ALWAYS committed these atrocities from the beginning of time. This is not new. With more people having access to the internet, these things are being reported and viewed by a much wider audience than in the past.

CLF said...

Ok now in her white garment ensemble! LOL!!

I agree with Kemi.

There has been evil in the land since time immemorial.it is the wider access to print media and the internet that is bring all these evil deeds to light.
still....it is getting worse

she is such a wicked human being

bebelondon said...

Wonders will never end in this world. These are the signs of endtime.

wivesroundtable said...

that evil has been with us since beginning of time does not mean that evil should be viewd as 'normal'.evil is evil, whenevr it is committed and however the news of it is spread
so saying that 'People have ALWAYS committed these atrocities from the beginning of time...............' is not very comforting.
having said that,this woman did something extremely wrong! if she didnt need an 8th child, she should have taken precautions against having one rather than killing him/her AFTER God saved her from the labour room. dosent make sense

what do u expect in her aladura celestial church o christ uniform..are they not all possessed??

Ebere said...

The rate at which crime is been committed these days ia alarming,mothers killing their own children,husbands killing wives and vice versa.Trully,the world is fast coming to an end.May God not allow us see evil.amen

jesus baby said...

the lord is going soon wash out

starimage said...

its indeed a sad scenerio,its quite unfortunate but an insight on how wicked people can be.May God have mercy on her ,because i am sure the law authorities would not

babe said...

why na?

Miss Ama said...

My sister is looking for just one child...even half a child, yet someone kills her eight.
God is watching. May the soul of that poor angel RIP.

At age 36, she's had 8 children. Hmm! She must be laying eggs!

what do you excpect from a cele purzon

Woman of 36 with 8 children and a husband that has run away. Why dont these over fertile women just put a plug on it after 3 children? Now she is probably trying to please the man by getting rid of the baby. Still what kind of job can they have to cater for 7? Nigeria's population is just exploding and exploding with a lot of miscreants. Please limit your children to 2 if you are not financially secure and 3 if you are.

Anon that's wrong to generalize against everyone in a church. Some are there with pure intents.
That being said, my mind goes to a money ritual gone wrong. Otherwise what does it take to scream egbami o it was an accident and roll on the floor in a convincing way. Lots of people have gotten away with evil that way since time immemorial

zoomzoomzoom said...

My exact thots...Anonymous 3:44pm.Looks like a money ritual gone wrong.I wonder where this world is going with all these orisirisi things happening.Almighty God have mercy on us all.

babe said...

just went thru this again...did you read her name 'olaomo' meaning 'grace of child' *SMH*

Looks like they deliverd the baby at home by themselves, hence the bucket full of blood, and just tied the newborn dead or alive in the bag and tossed in the ceiling. Crime of poverty!

which kind evil do you guys accuse all the time? Nigerians...SMDH! you ignore ssigns of depression, disorders, frustration, etc that often leads to these kind of behavior and accuse the devil. how can a 36 yr old have 8th kids and not be depressed into a stupor? abeg, not everything is devil or aiye...a lot of nigerians are clinically depressed and they don't even know it. knowledge is power..seek help and stop saying everything is spiritual or demonic attack.

The government should give free birth control (not abortion!) to all who want it. Many children would be spared mistreatment and abuse and women would be free to make responsible choices about motherhood.

j said...

SEX is POETRY for the poor
thats why they keep popping kids like cigars
Lord have mercy!!!!!!!!!!

deeeee said...

What has the church got to do wif her killing her child, you prejudist????????