Ministerial nominee jumps into lagoon | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 19 July 2011

Ministerial nominee jumps into lagoon

Rescuers at the scene where former PDP Lagos East Senatorial candidate, Alade Abaniwonda drowned in Lagos yesterday. Inset: Abaniwonda
Lagosians watched in awe and consternation yesterday evening at the Leventis bus stop in Marina, Lagos, when a ministerial nominee, Mr. Al-Mustaim Alade Abaniwonda, aged 56, dived into the lagoon under mysterious circumstances at about 3pm. He eventually drowned in the lagoon.

Abaniwonda was the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) senatorial candidate for Lagos East in the April 9, 2011 National Assembly election. According to Abaniwonda’s driver, simply identified as Wasiu, the senatorial candidate, who lost to the incumbent Senator Tunde Ashafa of the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) and whose name was among the list of 10 nominees sent to President Goodluck Jonathan for consideration as minister from Lagos State, was coming from a bank on Lagos Island when he told the driver that he was pressed and would need to use the toilet. Wasiu added that all his entreaties and persuasions that his boss should wait until they get to his office, at the CSS Bookshop building in Broad Street, fell on deaf ears.

Wasiu said: “He ate his food after we left the bank and he told me he was going to use a toilet down there. That was all until I heard people shouting. He was still struggling to get out when I got there but he later went down inside the water.” Wasiu was promptly arrested by police officers attached to the Marine Police Division at whose backyard the incident took place. He was not allowed to talk to people afterwards and when National Mirror attempted to talk to the DPO, he bluntly said he was not position to brief the press on the matter.

Eyewitness account has it that when the politician jumped into the river, he was still able to stand upright but he deliberately walked into a deeper portion of the lagoon. A toilet operator, who does not want his name in print said: “We didn’t know what happened in the vehicle before he came down. But when he got to us, he told us he wanted to use our toilet. We were still looking for the key and water when he walked towards the river.

“He took off his jacket, wristwatch, wallet and made for the lagoon side. We were even telling him that is not the toilet, he insisted on going towards other direction. We called him again and he answered in Yoruba saying: Ani mo fe se gaa, meaning, “I want to defecate”. All of a sudden we just saw him in the lagoon.

“I saw him dive into the water. We threw a floater and a tyre at him but he wouldn’t use them. Instead, he struggled to a deeper side of the river. “He was there still floating for about three minutes and luckily a flying boat was on sight. We waved at the boat to help rescue him at the point he was still floating but when the boat arrived, he swam and hid under the last pillar; when the people saw that they went there.”

Another eyewitness account said Abaniwonda slipped and fell into the lagoon while going to the toilet. But she confirmed that he obviously frustrated all attempts at rescuing him. She, however, blamed the marine police for their inability to rescue the drowned senatorial candidate, saying they didn’t do anything special to help him.

Her words: “I am disappointed in the marine police. They had their flying boat and swimming jackets in the station, why can’t they jump into the water and pull the man out? At least that is their duty; instead, they were throwing tyres and floaters like ordinary people. Things like this could never have happened in civilised country.” Abaniwonda’s son, who rushed to the scene with some other siblings barely an hour after the incident, told National Mirror that there was nothing in his father’s mood or attitude to suggest he was not happy or was worried about anything. “My mother celebrated her birthday yesterday and he was there happy.

We celebrated together with other family members. If he is still in the water up till now, and you told me it happened about an hour ago, then he must have died because he is diabetic. There is a limit to which his lungs would be able to hold him under water.” Abaniwonda drove in a Toyota Camry car with registration number MU 555 AAA while his son and other siblings who came in two jeeps one of which has the Federal Government registration number FG 527 A52, could not stop crying but were not willing to talk to the press. The Police Public Relations Officer, Lagos State Command, Mr. Jinadu Samuel, who spoke to National Mirror on phone, said he was not aware of the incident but promised to contact the Marine Divisional Police Officer to get adequate brief on the incident.

The Epe-born politician, was a senatorial candidate for Lagos East under the Alliance for Democracy (AD) and the ACN before crossing over to the PDP in 2003 after he sought to contest the senatorial district’s ticket on ACN’s platform but was asked to step down for the eventual winner of the ticket, Hon. Olorunnibe Mamora, Abaniwonda holds a first degree from the University of Ife, (now Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife). He is the founder and managing partner of Alade Abaniwonda & Partners, an investment company, with offices at the CSS Bookshop building, Broad Street, Lagos. The question on the lips of sympathisers was: “What could have made a supposed millionaire leave his family and wealth to commit suicide by jumping into lagoon?”

The answer to this question could only be answered by Abaniwionda himself. Meanwhile, as at the time of filing this report, all efforts to retrieve his corpse from the lagoon have not yielded any positive result as all the searchers have retired for the day, with the intention to continue today. Speaking on the development, the Lagos State PDP Secretary, Mr. Olatunji Shelle, told National Mirror that he was yet to confirm the authenticity of the story, adding that he doesn’t believe that Abaniwonda for any reason could jump into the lagoon.

He said that he was on his way to the police station where the complaint was lodge, adding that until he confirms the incident, he cannot make any comment. The state chairman of the PDP, Setonji Koshoedo in a telephone chat with National Mirror declined comment, saying: “I have no comment. The search is still on, but I cannot comment on that incident for now.”

Culled from : National Mirror Newspaper.

58 comments:

RealTalk said...

This sounds like a jazz story or he was under a spell of some sort. Normal straight head people won't up and do a thing like that.

Aye ni ka oooo, guess some spiritual forces took over his mind.... yoruba people call it 'EDI"or did the man went bankrupt?

So Sad! What's with nigerians taking to suicide these days,few days ago it was d Motunrayo girl n now this.Please talk to somebody when u are depressed or feel u've had it

Aye ma ni ka oooo, guess the spiritual forces took over the man's heart. or did he went bankrupt or something? eeyah , may his soul rest in perfect peace.but the some1 shld bail his driver ooo, no b him drag him inside water ooo

Bella said...

It's so weird a story, am still shocked to read this.Nigerians hardly commit suicide ooo!!, i strongly believe his death is diabolical.May God save us in this Country.

Bee said...

But naija self....If the story they describe is true, then the heart of man is wicked.

If he was acting weird and they saw him entering the water, why didnt anyone stop him???/

Nigerians, na wa o. Ever heard of a psychotic breakdown? Not everything is diabolical na. Is life a Nollywood movie?

Ayodeji said...

O ma ga o! Edi ree o!

is this a spell or what or was he depressed.Haaaaaaaaaaa so sad!!!

CLF said...

Laughing at the bullet did “he went bankrupt!”

Suicide, suicide (a la Snoop Dogg) first and then oh maybe, he was called by Bisi daughter of the river. Omashe oh!!

SOLA said...

omg!

Tosin Smith said...

When the issue of mental health remains a taboo in this country, the signs are easy to ignore and the victim is always almost too ashamed to seek help. People keep saying Nigerians don't commit suicide...pls keep living under that illusion. I have a friend who has attempted suicide twice (man issues on both occasions )... Truth is she wasn't 'jazzed' like you folks will want people to believe... 'cos she heard voices in her head she said.

Someone like her needs help, she need a shrink, she needs to talk bat her inability to be emotionally independent. Look out for the signs, we never know who is depressed or is about to have a psychotic breakdown.

Suicide is just a permanent solution to a temporary problem and it's a totally selfish thing to do... But really there is a reason why we are high up on the food chain, we can't continue to under the guise of being 'modern' and lose our traditional values , pls POKE your nose in someone's problem... Care about 'em, watch out for the signs nd save a life.

Heat stroke

its not everything that is jazz,who knows if the man had lost a lot of money and winning the election was his sole hope of recovery?
besides for people saying he was rich,its like saying otedola was a billionaire if we didnt know about his debt profile

'epe born politician'- aaah se e mo pe omi ye lon pe ni. i.e. its the water spirit calling their very own. that seems like the only explanation.its a sad story.

14me said...

What is happening nowadays hmmm we realy need to be prayerful oooo,cos i wonder what will make him commit such.

This is not a case of jazzing anybody. this man obviously had some mental and emotional issues and probably felt he had no one to turn to.
Suicide is an issue that needs more attention in Nigeria. People always believe its not something Nigerians do because there is no data showing the amount of deaths by suicide.
My fellow Nigerians lets pray for his family and please always talk to someone when you feel you cant go on.

probably dl and was threatened to be exposed if he didn't rescind his nomination.
devil and deep blue sea type situation.

Diva said...

Tosin Smith said it best!!!!
GBAM!!!!!

Agbaje Adeyeye Oladipo said...

So sorry for the family, whoever is behind this should remain forever young......#nemesis. Let's live each day like it's going to be our last! peace be unto you!!!!

crys said...

dis is either jazz or sometin happened 2 his head o,cos its definetly not normal at all,ra ra o!!!!!!

wivesroundtable said...

How on earth does one explain this???

Cannime said...

Interesting... however, not everything is spiritual guys..

Sean Keyz said...

Arrrrrrrrhhhh!!! Aye maa le o! Nnkan Nbe.... This is the hand of the world (Owo awon aye).
Some people don't believe in metaphysical powers, but they do exist, this is obviously one of such.

I love his name "Abaniwonda". May his soul rest in peace.

fannie said...

i'm no doctor, buh since they said he's diabetic, i've heard that diabetes can make one lose his senses especially advanced stage. i've seen something similar happen to my uncle first hand, he was pointing to no where in particular and was going towards that direction, and all calls to him to come back fell on deaf ears, he kept going, we had to go and drag him. When he finally got himself he didn't even remenber wat happen, i believ that is wat happened to this man, he lost his senses nse briefly and no one was there to call him back...sad

samlolo said...

This is not ordinary and the police should please release that driver WTF

Iyaeto said...

e fit be magun or another form of jazz .How man go comot cloth go jump inside lagoon.God help us

Uche said...

Chei his household wickedness don finish am

Is this story real?what is realy happening hmmm we need to get close to GOD what can make a man of that status killed himself......

May his Soul rest in Peace.... Amen!

www.sportdivang.blogspot.com

Myfather did not commit suicide he slipped into the waterwhen he went to pee. He dint go bankrupt neither did he have any issues. We were still talking about things that will happen yesterday morning. And my dad did not swim behind a pillar neither did he turn down anyefforts for help As he couldn't even swim as he was petrified of water. So pls I beg people not to make this into a joke as this is really sad and I have to live without my bestfriend now. And pls pray for his soul and ask God to forgive him his sins.Insha Allah

And his driver was released to us yesterdayy hewas held by the marine police when he went to report that his boss was in the water and they did absoluteky nothing. And they dmeanded 150k for a flyboat to go rescue him which was paid by my sisters husband but it was already too late. The driver is like my brother he is famile and nothing is being done to him. My fathers life could have been saved. Pls pray for his body to be recovered

I was at the leventis brt bus stop yesterday when this incident happened. It was a shock to us all that waited for hours before d brt bus arrived. We were told that he refused to be helped, and that he also refused to use the toilet.I saw his son and another lady in his son's white landCruiser. It was a very sad experience and everyone just kept wondering what could have gone wrong, and people started coming up with their own stories of what could have driven him to such an act.I just hope his body will be found. It was his time. We should all take lessons from this and live our lives well. Money is NOT everything.I pray for his family and friends.

AYE MA NIKAA OO,HAA MO GBEDI FUN YIN O,May God himself console MORIN,RAQUEEBAT,KANYIN AND DASOLA+THEIR MUM AMIN

Hmmmm, like someone said this is more like ise aye like yoruba people say otherwise known as terrestial forces behind this. Haba o ga oooooo. May his soul RIP.

hallucinating, or hearing voices in ur head are indeed signs of mental illness but many atimes there are forces behind it. However, commiting suicide may not neccessarily be as a result of mental issues but fraustration and depression. personally i had attempted it, deliberately got drunk, and went to beach in Europe, Thank God for intervention. Like a previous commenter had said, please learn to speak when depressed, its very very important.

Femiluv said...

Wow, condolences to the family.

I did not know that people peed in a lagoon. I guess this is a lesson for all, stop peeing in the lagoon.

Condolences to the family...

If we had properly fortified barriers around the lagoon people would not fall over and if we had toilet facilities all over Lagos i.e at petrol stations, mobile toilets, public toilets, restaurants, bukas all with toilets wouldn't there be somewhere for him to pee...

These are the things we need people in the senate fighting for, politician fighting for not fighting for personal gain...

There are people who think their wealth will protect them but when things like this happen can all these politicians, ministers etc see that NOONE is exempt!

We see people confident because they have money that they can fly abroad for treatment, what if you have a roadside accident and you were driving alone, no one recognises you... the money to fly about in the first critical one hour can't save you! That is why we need emergency services in Nigeria!

I bet David Cameron as he is visiting Nigeria has a doctor on his entourage, probably not when he goes to France though...u c my point?

If the boat rescue team are asking for 150K to go and rescue someone so what happens to poor people?? It means they dont have a fighting chance then?

But no o they all want to be wearing diamonds, drive big cars, carry hermes, fly 8yr old and 15yr old children first class on govt money and then some of us still admire them and want to be like them when they are robbing us blind!

The civility and maturity of a nation is judged by how the stronger treat the weaker...

farouk lawal said...

ppl will keep runing there mouths like taps. my uncle did not commit suicide. and the best thing you gboro mi ro's shld do is to keep praying for the families and all off us that are still alife, not turning it to jokes. dick heads. hissssssss.

leilah! said...

This is really sad, my deepest condolences to the family. i wish people commenting would be a little respectful... it is not a laughing matter!

Ade_Cool said...

There are things that happen in 9ja that you just cannot get your head round it..lost about 3 friends at quite a young age..all related to water/drowning..still baffles me..
R.I.P..

oscar said...

This Man is a politician and we know too well that Nigerian politician can go to any length for power and means..........this looks like a case of a cult member who has reneged or refused to fulfill certain conditions demanded by the cult-group. All of a sudden a milllonia of his caliber now wants to defecate in a Lagoon.Wonders shall never end.

Kemiismyrealname said...

This is so sad. May his soul find eternal rest. I know God will provide comfort for the family at this sorrowful time.

For all of us that comment, please do not forget that no-one wishes this kind of thing upon themselves. What goes around comes around. Show some sensitivity and decorum in your comments, please.

May his soul rest in perfect peace.I am realy touched by this story cos i know what it feels to loose a father,especially in such a sad circumstance.
May Almighty Allah be with his family and also forgive him of his sins.I pray that they find his corpse too.Its such a very sad story,so ver sad!!!!

I would not be surprised if he had drugs in his system, like LSD.

This is how it should be done, thank God Niagra falls is not in Nigeria:

http://goo.gl/E2SrU

WIBV television reports the woman was swept away in the current of the Niagara River near Devil’s Hole. The crew of a Whirlpool jet boat operating in the area saved the unidentified woman’s life. Upper Mountain Fire Chief Lee Casper said, “The jet boat was doing a normal tour, up to the rapids up there, saw her go in. They pulled her out of the water, brought her down to the Lewiston sand docks.” Casper said had the jet boat not been right there to scoop her up, it’s likely she would not have survived. It was an almost impossible rescue, but the passengers and crew of the jet boat pulled it off.

This is a case of spending all he had and thinking he will recup from ministerial position. This is to show that just a few people go to serve.Now he lost everything and no hope. However, nigerian women must learn how to control their husbands.Any man that his wife cannot control will always end up like these bunch ibori and now this and so many othere. May God bless his soul and help his family

This is not a laughing matter for crying out loud, we live in a civilized world so i dont know why people are blaming it on terrestial powers, we are no longer in the dark ages. There is every possibility that he was depressed felt it wasn't necessary to let anyone know or may he might have taken a wrong path and the crime is about coming to lime light and he thinks he cannot withstand the shame and because of that the best thing for him to do is to take his life, but which ever be the case may his soul rest in peace and may God give the bereaved the fortitude to bear the loss

Enough of all dis ideas,versions n comments.The man his gone n all we need do as our brother's keeper is to pray for the deceased and his family.Was privileged to attend his daughter's wedding n i must confess he had no reasons to commit suicide.
To the family may Allah(swt)grant him A-janah afridaous.Eyin won a da o,waju ti wonde fi sile le ko ni baje.(AMIN)...m terrified

the white enchantress said...

i think he is in debt.... serious debt and wouldnt want to spill.

Y'all who say this man was in debt should shut the hell up i still saw him on sunday he was so full of life nothing suggested all d deppression nonsense you guys are talking about i repeat he never committed sucide,y'all should stop this silly joke people are still hurting for a loss and y'all are turning it to some silly joke smh

Please, let’s forget about jazz or any spiritual force! This is just an act of a selfish man! Suicidals are usually selfish people hence leaving others to answer all the questions they wouldn’t want to answer e.g. how come your name was dropped from the list of ministers, were you not good enough and all! I am irritated by this!

WETIN DEY PURSUE AM... D EVIL IDOL IN HIS FATHER'S HOUSE OR NEMESIS...

Ayo cole said...

Am short of words, dis is very sad. May his soul Rest with the Lord

Ayo cole said...

I am short of words, dis is very sad. May his Soul rest with the Lord...Amen.

pls guys actually
he went to poo-poo (he couldnt hold it) and he slipped
and no,it wasnt suicide
I dont understand how naija ppl can carry gist
I mean where on earth did all this come from o ma ga o