Pope celebrates 'Holy Thursday in prison, washes the feet of 12 prison inmates (Photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 14 April 2017

Pope celebrates 'Holy Thursday in prison, washes the feet of 12 prison inmates (Photos)

Pope Francis during the Holy Thursday celebration washed the feet of prison inmates at the Paliano detention center in Italy for former mafia members. As part of the mass celebration, the pontiff bent to wash and kiss the right foot of 12 inmates in commemoration of Jesus' gesture of humility towards his 12 apostles on the night before he was crucified.

Two of the inmates, who participated in the ceremony are said to be serving life sentences while the remaining 10 are due to be released between 2019 and 2073.
According to the Vatican, three of the inmates were women and one was a born Muslim who had converted to Catholicism. The group consisted of 10 Italians, an Albanian and a prisoner from the pope’s homeland of Argentina.

According to the pope in his massage culled from AP, he said by washing the feet of inmates, he was willing to do 'the work of a slave in order to sow love among us' and urged the prisoners to help each other.
'If you can do something, a service for your companions in prison, do it,' he said, adding that 'this is love … to be the servant of others.'
He added:
'We are all sinners. We all have defects,' the pope told the inmates during an improvised sermon broadcasted by Vatican Radio.

38 comments:

Ayam not understanding this pope anymore.. 🤔😕.. trying to be like Jesus or what? He's now overdoing it abeg.

Increase Your Penis Size [Click Here] said...

Nice gesture. Most pastors cannot do that.

Linda ikeji ,today is good Friday o remember not to eat meat as a catholic that you is

But all these prisoners with fine clothes and shoes

God bless you pope..HUMILLITY'

awwww sweet Padre!
You're blessed!

Kunle said...

The season is not yet over. Order your original favourite CLUB JERSEY on the GTBank SME Platform for as low as 6k. CLICK HERE to Order Now for N6K! Hurry as Limited is stock available

Lmao I thot so too. This ones dnt look like prisoners. Good one my Pope period

Nice Job.

Kissing feet too!..wow!

Exactly what's on my mind...designer shoes

The other prisoner is due to be released on 2073. Gosh! U go old for prison scatter

How is he overdoing it? Amebo zone!.He is not like some pastors that choose rich pple for fèet washing, he decided to feet wash d inmates thats pure humility, my sister, next time if u dont have nice thing to say waka pass. Happy good friday.

God bless you Supreme Pontiff

Please shut up. Even the bible says we should be Christ like you moron.

Maxi Saso said...

🙌

free browsing tutorial, phone Review and News

The people's pope.well done sir.

Nnenne maybe u are not of Catholic extraction otherwise u shouldn't have say this, maybe u can ask any of ur granny which I believe be Catholic.

This Nnenne ehn, if you don't understand Catholic doctrine then don't make inferences like that. He's not trying to be like Jesus, it's an enactment of Christ passion in fact commemoration of the last supper when Christ washed the feet of his disciples. Don't just go there!

Miss George, Don't always take a controversial position all the time. Also try to smile more and not be angry all the time. You would be better off for it. The Pope isn't trying to be Jesus. Kissing of feets is symbolic. Read the post again.

GOD bless you His Lordship

Louis Erhimeyoma said...

@Nnnene George.You might as well say that Jesus over did his also.You see a man living a practical life of Jesus and you say he is overdoing it.May God open our eyes to see and know what humility and service truly means.

People please forgive nnenna because she's ignorant. She obviously didn't understand the bible. Do you blame her when she's busy jumping from one church to another chasing after men of God? She doesn't even listen to the sermons in the church. My people perish for lack of knowledge.

Nnenna, Pope is preaching unconditional love, selflessness,repentance,forgiveness etc. I forgive you because your heart is very bitter with everything you see and you need constant counselling to get out of it.

Nneka George that's what Christianity should be like, olodo christ like. Get some sense bitch

Lol. Let me just spare her my own bashing

Make una please pardon Nnenna because of Christ death today

this is arguably the most pious pope since John Paul II

touch.cee@gmail.com said...

Dear Nnenna George, Every christian shudnt just try but Strive with all that he is, to be like Christ.
Its a season of love...i pray that the love of Christ touches deep within your soul. Happy Easter love!!

Uju said...

Weldone my pope

DFC anonymous said...

His Holiness please

What a sign of Humility

Lol... Please forgive Nene, it's the season of compassion, live and forgiveness.

perpetualmaria said...

Am so humbled by his act of humility hmnnn...humility and service. Soooo good. Wow.prison?...

I can only categorise your problem as some one trying​to install WhatsApp on a Sagem phone. Receive sense

I think we all went too far with the bashing...

Truth be told Nnenna George should not make a comment like that, but going as far as saying she has a bitter heart while some went as far as talking about men of God and Pastors. I think that is too much coming from christians.

Muslims have different sects but most of us don't even know cos they all act as one and support each other no matter what. i think Christians should do the same and support each other no matter the denomination we belong to. Christ came for all afterall.

Just my two cents...

Nnenne I sincerely think u have ur opinion.That people r not writing in ursupport doesn't show ur point wasn't valid. My problem is publicising d humility.Is it part of Christ teaching. I would rather prefer washing of d feet of lower pastors like Rev. Fathers or sisters, or better still other section clerics or Hindu or Muslim.

Amen