Senate orders Customs boss, Hameed Ali, to appear before it in his Uniform | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 9 March 2017

Senate orders Customs boss, Hameed Ali, to appear before it in his Uniform

The senate today ordered Comptroller General of Custom, Hameed Ali, to appear before it on March 15th in his complete Customs Officers uniform. The senate gave the order following the refusal of Customs to comply with its directive to suspend the collection of duty on old vehicles. Hameed who is a retired Nigerian Army Colonel, has never worn the Customs officers uniform since assuming office in August 2015.

The senate during plenary on Tuesday ordered the Nigeria Customs Service to suspend its directive to collect duties on old vehicles whose importer might have failed to pay for duties while importing the car into the country. Customs had sent out a circular informing old car owners to go to the nearest Customs office to verify if the duties of their cars were fully paid for as cars with unpaid duties would be impounded.

Despite the senates directive to suspend the order, Customs says it would go ahead with its own directive. This decision apparently irked the senators who during its plenary today ordered that the Customs Boss, Hameed Ali appear before them on March 15th.

Speaking during the deliberation, Dino Melaye said
"The senate will take a resolution and an agency of government will have the temerity, will have the guts, the strength to blatantly disregard the Nigerian senate. It is a very dark day for democracy. I’m a member of the customs committee, I want to educate some of us today, the position of CGC is rank, as I speak today, the deputy controller of customs is next promotion is CGC.  
I asked him in the committee why he is not wearing uniform rank and he said uniformed men don’t wear uniform twice. I reminded him that he retired as a colonel and General Ananiah retired as a general and was appointed as the corps marshal of the FRSC, and proudly wears the uniform of the road safety. If we are taking a decision of the people and agency disrespects the Nigerian senate, however we will need to check this properly. If they are taking duty on Nigerian road but if the president is passing no customs officer will stop him and ask for papers, they will salute and they will pass. The senate resolves that we invite the CGC to appear in plenary with his uniform to either justify or falsify this statement.”he said

21 comments:

hehe

Dino God Almighty will bless you!!! No one can bring you down for the fact that you have decided to fight for democracy,that means, you are the voice of the people I salute your courage may God strengthen you and keep you for us...

Old man go wear your khaki and face the senate your hear, na by force yo head custom.

Incompetent and old cargo Buhari is electing into office.

GOOD

This man jst want to turn nigeria to another thing

Dino is the man

Some people are above the law in dis country... dee

APC government has murdered democracy, rule of law, orderliness, in Nigeria. They're just doing and giving orders as they like. If Hamid Ali is above custom service he should resign.

Hmmmmm.... Thank you senators!!! I don tire for this man and in mumu laws... an ignorant retired colonel who does not know jack about customs, I don't blame him, i blame the illiterate president who made him CGC... they are only interested in making life more difficult for nigerians everyday... seizing already imported rice from their warehouses and now they want to seize old vehicles!!! #Thieves

Word!!
Dude even look like an Imbecile.

Ngozi Chukwu said...

OK. It seems Dino's concern is about the uniform and not the impact of the unilateral and stupid decision the senate is making on an economy that is already weak. It is very clear that this senate/congress is only interested in what suits them. Why would anyone impose such a law - no tariff on used cars imported into the country? It is bad enough that the so called tariff collected does not get into the coffers of the government and even when it does, it is not applied to the benefit of the masses. The essence of this tariff is for them to bring in their Rolls Royce and Bentleys without inuring more tariffs. It is insane!! It is mind boggling!! All these idiots in the congress do is to keep fortifying their purses while the masses are dying of hunger!! Why are Nigerians so complacent? Why do you complain while the likes of Dino are pushing impunity right in your face?? Their errand boys live in America and buy these cars for them. Go to Sugarland Texas and see their millions of dollar homes that they pay for in cash in the USA!!! This is insane!!! Are they concerned that every one will start bringing in all kinds of junk into Nigeria and this is a country that lacks basic infrastructure including waste/refuse disposal system!! What do they care?? Sometimes I wonder how intelligent these so called politicians are - there are no good roads yet you are buying these exotic cars - may be they will only drive it in Maitama, power is practically non existent yet they build these edifices and generate power and pollution with their generators, their President is in UK receiving treatment because the health system is below par, they send their children to schools in other western countries because the public schools in Nigeria are jokes, the list goes on and on. Ultimately these are all happening because both the past and the present "leaders" have looted and are still looting this nation and the common Nigerian stands by watching and waiting for crumbs!!!The earlier we face facts in Nigeria the better for everyone. Nigeria is a failed state and I think the United Nations should recognize her as such. The place is in anarchy though no one believes this but it is, if not why would the police be professional escorts for people who can afford it for security rather than protecting the citizens? It is a failed state that is in anarchy and their leaders are anarchists! I weep for my beloved country!!!! Ngozi Chukwu, Highlands Ranch, Colorado.

Ngozi Chukwu said...

OK. It seems Dino's concern is about the uniform and not the impact of the unilateral and stupid decision the senate is making on an economy that is already weak. It is very clear that this senate/congress is only interested in what suits them. Why would anyone impose such a law - no tariff on used cars imported into the country? It is bad enough that the so called tariff collected does not get into the coffers of the government and even when it does, it is not applied to the benefit of the masses. The essence of this tariff is for them to bring in their Rolls Royce and Bentleys without inuring more tariffs. It is insane!! It is mind boggling!! All these idiots in the congress do is to keep fortifying their purses while the masses are dying of hunger!! Why are Nigerians so complacent? Why do you complain while the likes of Dino are pushing impunity right in your face?? Their errand boys live in America and buy these cars for them. Go to Sugarland Texas and see their millions of dollar homes that they pay for in cash in the USA!!! This is insane!!! Are they concerned that every one will start bringing in all kinds of junk into Nigeria and this is a country that lacks basic infrastructure including waste/refuse disposal system!! What do they care?? Sometimes I wonder how intelligent these so called politicians are - there are no good roads yet you are buying these exotic cars - may be they will only drive it in Maitama, power is practically non existent yet they build these edifices and generate power and pollution with their generators, their President is in UK receiving treatment because the health system is below par, they send their children to schools in other western countries because the public schools in Nigeria are jokes, the list goes on and on. Ultimately these are all happening because both the past and the present "leaders" have looted and are still looting this nation and the common Nigerian stands by watching and waiting for crumbs!!!The earlier we face facts in Nigeria the better for everyone. Nigeria is a failed state and I think the United Nations should recognize her as such. The place is in anarchy though no one believes this but it is, if not why would the police be professional escorts for people who can afford it for security rather than protecting the citizens? It is a failed state that is in anarchy and their leaders are anarchists! I weep for my beloved country!!!! Ngozi Chukwu, Highlands Ranch, Colorado.

The very arrogant silly man must wear that uniform. Buhari is too sick now to protect him!

Biodun said...

I pity this country.. this custom duty for old cars is a fraud and must be stoped. When did dis start. Hmmmm. Our govt is so insensitive. We have alot on our neck and u are busy stoping old cars for custom documents? We are so depressed and smiling in dis present govt. Please senate do somthing.

Tayo said...

He is just being arrogant.
Get a Bigger Penis Using Penis Exercises at www.PenisEnlargementGym.com

Buhari's brother. He's untouchable

Abdullahi Virmaya Bardi said...

...but why all the hate language? Thought the issue under review is an important matter of national interest that border on economy, security and citizen's welfare. Only matured minds should participate in the discuss to assist all concerned to analyze and bring a good solution beneficial to all. Hate languages are from bankrupt minds who will not add value to the discuss.

Oponu

Your comment is as stupid as you are