According to the Nation, three policemen died on the spot, the fourth died at the Lagos State University Teaching Hospital (LASUTH) while the fifth officer, an assistant superintendent of police, sustained injuries and is being treated at LASUTH.
The driver of the lorry which caused the accident fled the scene immediately the accident occurred and is yet to be identified or caught as the lorry was not registered.
The command’s spokesman, Olarinde Famous-Cole, an Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP), confirmed the incident, saying;
"At about 1pm on Sunday, a team of Policemen attached to X Squad at the State Police Command while on surveillance and patrol duty along Isiwu road, Imota, Ikorodu were involved in a fatal motor accident leaving four police officers in the patrol truck dead.
“The police van had five policemen on-board and was allegedly hit by an unregistered 911 tipper and the driver, who could not be identified at the time of this report, fled the scene.
“It was disclosed that both vehicles were coming from opposite direction at a point near Isiwu town and they colluded, in the process three policemen died on the spot. As a result of that, traffic policemen were immediately dispatched to the scene.
An ASP with an Inspector who sustained serious injuries were rushed to LASUTH, Ikeja, where the latter died and the former is currently admitted.
“Meanwhile, corpses have been deposited at General hospital Ikorodu and LASUTH, Ikeja for autopsy. The police patrol truck and lorry have been towed to the division. “Investigation is ongoing to apprehend the fleeing suspect."

15 comments:
Hmm Sad.. RIP
God have mercy n grant their families d strength to go through dis.
Serves them right. They are always driving like devils and endangering other road users. Am sure they caused the accident, good riddance to bad rubbish.
Autopsy kwa, for accident? The body That is already in pains....oh ...RIP to the dead.... And quick recovery to the living
NAWA OO
PLEASE KINDLY FOLLOW ME ON LIS @OKECHUKWU NNODUECHI
My in-law was involve in d accident.. D inspector dat sustained injury later died...my sister(wife) is really in pain right nw...CNT hold my tears
Karma I believe killed them all.. Nigeria police are the most wicked Humans in the world, they all deserve to be dead
Dats becos ur fmly wasn't involve..may God forgv u
Serves him right if he has been an unjust police, Rip if he's been a good cop
U talk abt karma...wat do u no abt karma? Wat do u den say abt our politicians? Hmmm...i pity u n dis ur coment cos u don't no if ur children wil someday fall in luv with a police officer. incase u dont No my dear no one on this earth is pure and perfect
So Judge not dat u may not be judged
You seem to be some kind of bias... Why didn't you post there corpses for us to see but if it were to be that of civilians as it were you will definitely post it. Be real Linda. Best Regards.
OK
We called on that faithful day but they didn't respond not knowing they are part of them,we had to do it on our own by rescuing 2 of them to the nearest hospital.not lasuith at all.nigerian police hmmmmmmm