The governor stressed that the DSS lacks the
constitutional powers to be involved in the legal process to discipline a
serving judicial official, pointing out that there is a legal process
that must be followed.
Addressing the people of Rivers State on Saturday
night during a special dinner for the management and players of Rivers
United at the Government House, Port Harcourt, Governor Wike said the
weak blackmail of the DSS will not lessen the crime they have committed
against the Nigerian State by assaulting the judiciary.
He noted that nobody is deceived by the concocted figures being circulated by the DSS.
He said: "Their blackmail stories will not move me. They
will concoct all kinds of stories to justify this undemocratic
illegality perpetrated against the judiciary.
"It is really unfortunate that DSS would concoct a false
defence that $2million USD , (that is N900million) was found in the
house of the judge.It is unfortunate that the DSS is coming up with
flimsy excuses. "
It will be recalled that the governor and the DSS
Operatives had their encounter outside the gate of the residence. It
is therefore ridiculous that the DSS remained outside to decare thar
N900million was found in the residence.
The governor noted that while he does not condone
corruption , he will never support any process that is targeted at
ruining the nation’s judiciary.
He stated that the National Judicial Council has the
responsibility to discipline erring and corrupt judges, after which
indicted judicial officers are handed over to the relevant law
enforcement agency for prosecution.
The governor said that the Police, Army and other
para-military agencies have their respective processes for the
discipline of erring and corrupt officers.
"In the police, erring and corrupt policemen are first
given orderly room trial, sacked and then appropriately prosecuted. For
Judicial Officers, the DSS has no role", he said.
Governor Wike added: "This impunity must stop.I am not in support of any judicial support being involved in corruption.
What we are saying is that the right things must be done. We must not do things that will jeopardise our hard earned democracy.
"If they had abducted the judge, they may go ahead to kill the judge and they will say that Rivers State is insecure."
The governor added that he resorted to offering the
explanation because of the propensity of the DSS and other agencies
to use newspapers and the media to manipulate information.
He said: "The way things are going nobody should relax.
Freedom comes with sacrifice. Independence comes with sacrifice. Liberty
comes with sacrifice.
He said: "We must resist this injustice. Nobody can
intimidate Rivers people. If you use to do that, not now. I am informing
you before you will read whatever lies they wiĺl circulate in
newspapers."
The governor noted that contrary to false statement issued
by the DSS he was with senior Rivers indigenes at the time of stopping
the DSS unconstitutional act.
He said: "I was there with our State and National Assembly
members, Former Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rt Hon.
Austin Opara , the PDP Chairman, Bro Felix Obuah and some caretaker
chairmen. When they said I was with thugs I just laughed."
Simeon Nwakaudu,
Special Assistant to the Rivers State Governor, Electronic Media.
9th October, 2016.
Special Assistant to the Rivers State Governor, Electronic Media.
9th October, 2016.
Pictures: Rivers State Governor , Nyesom Ezenwo Wike in a
group photograph with players and management of Rivers United at a
Special Dinner in honour of the team on Saturday
46 comments:
Buhari's government is the worst I've seen, but those judges might not be clean, so this man should stop making noise and allow DSS to do their work.
Wike no worries but wat do u think wen oga is above d law
Akuko
Its only fools dat will believe DSS's fabricated lies and allegations against these judges.
Hmmmmmm,i still don't know what to say about this issue buh all I know is that every body in authority is corrupt
As we all go to today, pls say Psalm 109:8 for Buhari.
It's just amazing that they could see $2million from outside the compound.
Still developing
Fighting corruption in the judiciary is a very welcomed development but if law enforcement officers do follow due process how are they different from criminals and the corrupt.
Corrupt judges must go down! Your personal opinion wont help them ok, useless corrupt people who support thieves are the problems of this country...yet we come here to complain about power output, recession and all. Bloody hypocrites! Nigeria needs a revolution quick
Don't mind dem jare
ABI
Hmmmmmmmmmm
Post my comment
Nawa o.
Governor Wike you are part of the problems affecting Nigeria. You are as guilty as the judges you are protecting. Nemesis will catch up with you.
Hmmmmm
Abegi shut up, you are the worst of dem all. Linda take note!
Mr WIke,
Reading through your comments, i think you should understand something the part of the problem we are having in Nigeria today was because there was no room for checks and balance. Have you ever ask yourself why petty criminal cases attracted huge sentence and big or capital cases always attracted fines or minimum sentence. With this development i could assure you that the Judiciary would be sanitize a bit to see real justice taken place. Although, some people statement was that those affected judges should be handed over to NJC, we needed to ask our self simple doctrine of law which says "YOU CANT BE A JUDGE IN YOUR OWN CASE" corruption charges is a criminal case and it should be treated as such. If the DSS has enough to nail those alleged for corruption we should give them our support and no soft land for corrupt judges not even plea bargain in Nigeria context.
But woke you were with thugs why do you just like lying and do you intend training your children
Cure Premature Ejaculation and Satisfy your Wife. No drugs, No side effects.
Viga Delay Spray helps you last longer in bed. Call 08101866047.
Buy on Konga. Delivery anywhere in Nigeria
Increase your Penis size Naturally. No drugs, No cream.
Buy on Konga. Nationwide delivery. Call 08101866047
HmmmmmmMmmmm
Wike very corrupt. He bribed his way into becoming a governor that's why he is fighting for the judges because they will expose him if tortured
All i see is corruption fighting back. Buhari dont worry, majority of Nigerians are strongly behind you. God hates corruption, so be rest assured that God is with you on this one
I hate this Wike guy. I cant even stand his voice. It is so irritating. Wike is what happens when you put a thug and tout in as governor
Hmmmmmm
Wike is as corrupt as those judges, so nothing he says can move me. We kept shouting we wanted someone with a strong mind to help fight corruption in this country, God answer and gave us buhari, it's still us that r still shouting infringement of human rights! Tufiakwa! Nigerians what do u really want!!!!
But wike you were with thugs why do you just like lying and do you intend training your children
Akin Kunle stop sounding like a coward here,Governor Wike is talking about due process, he said due process OK and we are all saying the same thing here,everything is wrong about this arrest including the time 1am!how can one old man would be disturbing the whole country for crying out aloud,pls.
Matters arising
The members of the Stealing Association of Nigeria (SANs) hide under the No Bars Association (NBA) to perpetuate corruption in the land.
They travel on a regular basis to stash money abroad for themselves and on behalf of their treasury looting clients.
EFCC needs to concentrate on them first, call it stereotyping or whatever, the country needs healing.
What of Justice Okon Abang, why won't DSS go after him. Fuck APC!
Whooping believes those lies anyways...?
TBH
This Juliet Iwuoha is a very stupid girl and her comments doesn't make sense. You always write like a primary school girl that doesn't have common sense. You must not comment and it is not by force. Commenting on any news is for serious minded people with mature mind as many people are reading to learn one or two things from the news and comments. Please Linda this a special appeal your blog is international known, you do a great job for somebody like Julite Iwuoha to come and be writing comments without meaning and weight. Please devote time to read her message b/4 publishing. Thank you and God bless.
It's only bastards that will believe wike's lies, corrupt idiots, your times are up
Juliet Iwuno had issues, her pictures say it all. Let her keep exposing herself to the world on LIB.
I feel Nigerians should be very concerned that the rule of law isn't being followed. This is only 2016, imagine what Nigeria will be come at this rate in 2017, 2018 & 2019. The picture is not looking good at all...
Two wrongs can't make a right. Wike too doesn't have a case? Why? He obstructed the nation's security operatives from carrying out their job! Now we will never know what would have been found there.
Wike they say, is a lawyer. Difficult to believe.
Hahaha@one old man be disturbing the whole country, abi n.a. old age de do am?
As long as the DSS had a search warrant, they had the right to do whatever they wanted to do. So Wike should shut up except of course, he too is corrupt
So was the DSS supposed to give the judges an ovation treatment for being corrupt? When you go to an armed robber's house to catch him, do you pet him and give him a standing ovation for being a criminal? Kai, Nigeria is messed up. I weep for my country!
TRUE!