My encounter with Niger Delta Avengers- Sports Minister Dalung | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 18 July 2016

My encounter with Niger Delta Avengers- Sports Minister Dalung

Minister of Youths and Sports, Solomon Dalung, over the weekend via his twitter handle, announced that he held talks with members of the militant group, Niger Delta Avengers. Speaking to a selected group of journalists at the end of a stakeholder’s meeting of the Southern senatorial zone of Plateau State on Saturday July 16th, Dalung said he took a two-hour journey on the sea to Oporoza in Gbaramatu kingdom in Delta state last Wednesday July 13th where he met with the leadership of the NDA who gave him a sealed hand-written letter to deliver to President Muhammadu Buhari.

“On reaching the community after the two-hour journey on the high sea, I met with the members of the communities who told me that their dream was to be included in the Nigerian project, that the education facilities and other basic social amenities are almost non-existent in the communities. They also raised concern of incessant attacks by the Nigerian Military. As a youth minister, I know the Avengers are mostly youths who have potentials to be great citizens of this country.” Dalung stated that after meeting with the communities, he was escorted by the Niger Delta ambassadors to the leadership of Avengers who gave him a hand-written letter specifying their demands which he said he was yet to present to the President. According to him, members of the militant group raised three important issues “The issues include the Niger-Delta Maritime University, pipeline community policing which they said the government had denied them, and the inability of the government to continue with the amnesty programme established by former President Umaru Musa Yarádua Yar’Adua. After going round some of the communities, I noticed that government projects were almost non-existent. I saw a secondary school signboard somewhere but the school is yet to be developed, the community has a clinic but still at the foundation level and a borehole that is not functional.”he said

29 comments:

They've stated what they want, cld the FG look into this!

simple questions. WHY DO DELTA STATE HAVE A GOVERNOR? WHY WAS NDDC SET UP? WHY DO DELTA STATE HAVE LOCAL GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS? These issues are basic issues a sensible governor knows are his duties, the present focus on executive matters,not state matters...common sense,go school and learn!

Lube-section said...

He never met Avengers. You can tell by reading his reports

Okay u mean APC almajiri AVENGERs?
who is fooling who in apc government OF WASHERS.
U MEET THEM AS WHAT? THEY GAVE U LETTER TO GIVE TERRORIST BUHARI AS WHAT?
AVENGERS ARE NOT FOR MONEY IS BETTER UNA ACCEPT THEIR DEMAND OOOOO.

One word...let peace reign mbok

Victor Emeka Isaac said...

I know all they want is for the government to come to their aid.... The government should just give listening ears to them

Show Some Love
Check Out Vabadon's Blog

Hope dis mks d difference

Dey should talk to their brothers dat are destroying things. Linda take note!

Hmmmmmmmmm

Tpy said...

All of this after their brother was in power for 5 years. Shame!

Just imagine,i now believed the new DG of NDDC who said more 1000 abondonned projects and most of them paid up to 80 percent.pls who are we to blame.remember their brother just left govt

Okkk

All those things whose fault.Jonathan was a president for 6yrs without touching those areas or did something for his brothers and sisters.6yrs is not 6days.Now with force they want this newly Government to do it overnight.All those money there leaders were getting during Jonathan regime what are they doing with it.The most corrupt region in the world is Niger delta region.All of them are corrupt they need money more than my igbo people.Give them money forget everything to bring for them.Very lazy set of human beings....nuel

JEMBETE(KEY-POINT) said...

I BIN DE VEX WEN I EAR SAY U WAN GO MY HOUSE BCOS I TINK SAY DEM SEND U BUT WITH WATIN U SEE AND TALK, U DUNG SI FOR UR SEF WHY WE DE BLOW PIPE LINES SO go tell ur boss watin u see

7b9b611e said...

thank God you have seen, gone for your self. i support the avengers. engr Emy

Hamza said...

Then what has GEJ done for them as the son of the land that ruled over the entire country for good 6 years with Nigeria having the highest IGR during his reign as president?

Are there no governors in these states?

Buhari should please giv dis people attention nd dialogue wit dem

Oh no! So much under-development.
So where is all the money sent down for infrastructure and development.....

This man did not meet avengers you had better be careful of who you met.

Buhari would die if he opens that letter if it's through from avengers

Well,God will help this government in d fulfilment of d Niger Delta dreams.But it's such a disgrace that GEJ couldn't do all these for his own people!

I doubt authenticity of this information, even if all these are put in place, these ple NDA may not see any sense in it until their pocket is taken care of

donduke said...

Am always very happy when truth is told!!

Avengers would have updated their site that they spoke with Dalung... na him know who give am letter

EVEN IF YOU HOLD ANOTHER TALK WITH THEM, THEY HAVE TOLD YOU GUYS WHAT THEY WANT.

Dope!!
Dude got some Whiz.
Your ingenuity can be better harnessed if u STRAIGHTEN up.

what happens to the millions that are being shared to the states monthly?

I agree with you on this question

Hahahahahaahaha..Another propaganda machine in the name of Dalung...U no meet Niger Delta Avengers Please....You only met people of Gbaramatu kingdom in Delta state and not Niger Deltal Avengers..All HAIL BIAFRA