US John Kerry speaks on the arms deal scandal, applauds Buhari's anti-corruption drive | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 23 January 2016

US John Kerry speaks on the arms deal scandal, applauds Buhari's anti-corruption drive

United State Secretary of State, John Kerry, has applauded President Buhari for his anti-corruption drive. Speaking at the ongoing World Economic Forum holding in Davos, Switzerland, Kerry spoke on corruption and how it threatens global stability, growth and future. He drew example from Nigeria, its fight against Boko Haram and how findings from the arms deal investigations showed that corruption stalled the fight against terrorism...

“When Nigeria’s President, Buhari, took office last spring, he inherited a military that was under-paid, underfed and unable to protect the Nigerian people from Boko Haram. One reason is that much of the military budget was finding its way into the pockets of the generals. And just this week, we saw reports that more than 50 people in Nigeria, including former government officials, stole nine billion dollars from the treasury,” he told the delegation

160 comments:

Noted

Very thoughtful of him. Linda take note!

AZEEZ RIZQAH said...

Enter your comment...
Na Nigeria he come see use as example abi? Diarisgod.

what concern this man

baba said...

Enter your comment...mak e go slip

Ok na

#It wiLL oNLy gET beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

BUT this is not true. CORRUPTION is still at its peak. So BUHARI is still going from one country to another telling lies? THIS IS SO SHAMEFUL.

na so

Habibat Idris said...

You need to see Imo socialite, Evelyn's leaked sex videoClick here

Now just negodu how the international communities are making caricature of us.. Tell me how an investor will feel free and safe to invest in our economy when we're tearing ourselves down, giving the country bad image.. Can't we fight this corruption in a low key? Must Buhari show the whole world he is fighting something? They won't trust us anymore. Plz let's reserve ourselves some dignity and save ourselves further shame & international embarrassment. Thank you!

Dodiegwu,birds of a feather

This man again who knows what they need from Nigeria this time around.
Buhari is an illiterate they can say any thing an get what the want since they are white.
Buharis corruption fight is a scam and sham only wise people like freeborn knows it.

Because they're gradually having their way

Hmmmmmmm

Order for your quality beddings @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available Nationwide .

Buhari is a God send....nuel

I hear

WORD!!!
Now go Hang all em corrupt mofos.

OMG Can u imagine d primitive level of embezzlement ,$9 Billion Dollars in total?GOD BLESS NIGERIA

YOUNGBUHARI said...

And Nigerians won't appreciate what they have got going... Ungrateful bunch

JAYZSBOSS said...

What's he saying?

o'ben said...

Haaaa50 person? Nine billion dollars?... is that what buhari told u?bros Na lie o!

renieccc09@gmail said...

Seen....

Kelly leave dat tin

God bless PMB.Boko Haram had been degraded.Stupid Ebele Jonathan can't go unpunished cuz it will be difficult to jail the messengers and allow the clueless master to go score free.omooba

Mufliat said...

This country is setting a bad record.
It is well with us

#Hajia Mufliat

Lol all I can do right now is laf

Wetin him sabi mteew..#lindaConfirm

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTA said...

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE...good John kerry we don hear u anyway me am Justsayingmaownohh via ma LATEST TECNO f7.
@lindaikeji d lindus am still waiting ohh

optimisticlady said...

His opinion doesn't count to me.

Buhari needs to start working.

Golda Awosika said...

Dz fool dat is yet to solve the chaos going on in America. Pls paddle ur own canoe

Owk

PEPSI ADDICT

Andy sneh said...

Ok,nice

My President... You are working....

Babylawyer. said...

They should better face their country and deal wit their internal issues. Us and their crooked ways.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

My john kerry, you forgot to mention that some of the government officials from the past administration are also serving under president Buhari's government too.. And some of the 36 jokers from the past government, i mean some of the governors handed over power to their self yet they shout corruption!

They should arrest jonathan he will confess and named this people. Thanks mr president for helping us. We really appreciate.

WONDERFUL

I need more enlightenment from a learned person please. What gives Kerry the right to wade into such an affair and giving extravagant figures? This is clearly because GEJ never accepted their supposed help cum infiltration plan and now he is tagging one good and the other bad. By the way, is it 2.1billion dollars or 50billion dollars. Now we are getting grossly confused. These Americans are misleading and trying to incite something out of d ordinary so they can infiltrate and control our vast natural resources.

At Least somebody Believes in Buhari's anti corruption fight

Cliq said...

please visit my blog @ www.naijacliq.com

Good for our anti corruption war

Demmy said...

My dear country as a reference point wen discussing corruption. It's well

Jude Akinwole said...

The international community's eyes are fixed on us... This comment will spur Buhari more!

Jude Akinwole said...

The international community's eyes are fixed on us... This comment will spur Buhari more!

Can we just fix the economy first...

#PeterObiForPresident2019

VIBEbrown consulting said...

They always use Nigeria as example at bad instances. I can't wait to change my nationality.

AMIJEZ said...

Well applauded,but it should not be a selective probe. Probe all of them.

Good

Ok heard..Linda observe carefully

tosisochukwu said...

All man on good conduct oh! We don't need his irrelevant opinion

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

Hmmm.... dem don carry our matter reach una side.... #buharigate#

KERRY IS NOW AN APC MEMBER....NIGERIANS CAN LIVE IN DENIAL

What does this MUMU knows about Nigerian politics.... Americans they think they know everything... Time will Tell.

OK now

Let's go Linda

owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin) said...

REALLY

Dasuki don enter one chance!

Uzosafetyblog said...

While some lunatic over here will condemned his administration. #IRepLIB

Okay na ...

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Hmmmmmmm. Dunno what to say.

Mk i hear word. Next pls

If the world leaders are acknowledging the effort of our president in trying to curb theft in the first country, then we don't care what PDP and it's fellow thieves are saying, everyone of them will face the wrath of the law even if their 'hero' GEJ is found guilty, he'll be prosecuted! Nigeria must be cleansed!

John Kerry, is 100% right joor!

I MUST WIN LINDA GIVEAWAY said...

Buhari that doesn't understand English will understand praises.....

Fantastic!

angel said...

this is d change we all wanted . way to go Sai Buhari

Noted.

Men of God said...

Na so Dem tell am naa, abi?

Ekenekwa m unu!

Alpacino D said...

The military needs eligible welfare! Word!

This US government helped him to the presidency so he is doing it in their own way...We can understand....Linda Much love...Long Live LIB

This folks follow up every details abut Us . Good to knw that .

*deW*

Ya nkop Mkpo mbok

All this talk has it reduced the price of palm oil?? No...its not about fighting corruption, it's about re-investing the money recovered for the benefit of the populace...

Nice one jare for appreciating our president

well.....strong words,mind blowing.to a better future...cheers!!!!!!!

vee said...

Abegi! Take several seats backwards and into the lagoon.

Chi chi said...

I hope idiots can get that into their dumb skull and stop praising a president that sat clueless and watched military men die needlessly.

Those who still support the PDP despite all the revelations of humongous corruption perpetrated under their government are people who have put politics and party affiliation above our national welbeing. Sometimes U hear them say things like the anti-graft war is selective or a witch-hunt. Rather than a national outrage we still have sympathizers of those that have rendered many pple orphans, widows, jobless, homeless.. I can go on and on. This atitude itself is what is distasteful, not an ad from chicken republic. For such sympathizers, their calls for the FG to prosecute pple within the APC (even without any tangible evidence) is not for the zeal to eradicate corruption from our country, but they silently believe that in doing so, the APC will self destruct and thus an elimination of a government which they've always hated irrespective of any good thing it has to offer for the betterment of Nigeria. It's a pity they will carry on this hate until the end of this administration. And if this government delivers well at the end, then its haters will have to live in their self-inflicted emotional trauma for a loooong time.
I'll rather support a govt that's fighting corruption than the one that's accomodating corruption in order to gain the support of pple living directly or indirectly on the proceeds of corruption.

Ok nice..

Post my comment..

lovina said...

Na wa ooo God help Nigeria

hrm paul ojeih said...

Haba oga kerry no b 9. Billion dolls na 2billion dols dasuki thief

Enemies of Nigeria! Get lost, anti corruption my bog ass

Buhari is an Idiot any day any time, so stfu already.

28:50

Victor said...

... the comment was made around 28:52 mark. Thank me later

Africana said...

And the world is watching

Am sure u fool, cant talk abt de fuel scarcity we have been facing nd other hardships dat poor masses have been facing, is to run ur mouth any how.

You this stupid Stern with start commenting stupidly,I wonder which Canadian Tire outlet you work with in Canada.
Kindly uses ur senses for appropriate comment rather than missing out the content or storyline ..ode
Thanks to God will live and breed in Canada.
Did you see and listen to John Kerry said abt the regime of God's doing.

Handwork of the lying liar, Lai Muhammed.

NOBLE IGWE HAS BEEN ENGAGED SINCE THE BEGINNING OF THIS MONTH BUT YOU WONT REPORT THAT ONE BECAUSE HE IS YOUR FRIEND BA?
THEY HAVE EVEN PICKED ASO EBI BUT IT IS ONLY EBUKA AND TOOLZ THAT YOU WILL TELL US.
DO YOUR WORK. YOU WILL SEE HIS WIFES BIG ROCK ON HER FINGER

Nice post linda, but check enthralmusic.altervista.org, i need you to tell me ehat you fink of my blog

Donjazzycrush said...

if I hear...

Don~ jazzycrush

funkecrown05@gmail.com said...

Hmmmmmmmm ok

The stone said...

Good but US is also corrupt he will not use that as an example on Africa.Trump will always say the truth about US

Www.preew.com the world largest job/career database

Oga pls seat down. You mean the one sided anti corruption drive?.

We don hear
#remitekosoko

Ok nah

Linda's pearl said...

But seriously ds arms deal ndi oshi raeli need to refund doz monies, as in return evry tin both d one dey hav chopped nd d unchopped, dey stole too much biko.

Buhari pls increase nysc allawee

Tpy said...

mumu fayose oya go and ask john kerry for the names of the people

Enter your comment...,

FRESH said...

Ok nau.Sebi John Kerry is APC too? We k

FRESH said...

Ok nau.Sebi John Terry is APC??? We keep telling the youth & fellow citizens,let's unite & suppo

FRESH said...

Ok nau.Sebi John Kerry is APC too??? We have screamed to high heavens asking the youths & Nigerians to support the President in this war.These guys looted us silly.The monies are hidden all over the world.It is not an APC thing,it is about our future.Be you igbo,yoruba, Hausa or any other tribe.We cannot just allow them walk away with our cash.

"United State"? Bush girl.

Those who say its political...oya over to you.

that is a plus for my dear mr. president but he should learn to focus on other Nigeria problems.....

Bona said...

Na so Buhari don wash una brain??

Linda will you marry me

Wetin concern u.mr too know

Stan said...

LOBATAN! Yankee don confirm am!

What's next?

yipeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee we are on the news again..Trash

For window blinds, wallpaper and curtain please call 08160856785.

http://TheYouthCash.com/?ref=134888

Mr Kerry, that's d problem we r having in our country, we have shameless looters as leaders,stealing n condoning evil,shameless elders statesmen..

US Leahy Law which prohibits the US Department of State and Department of Defence from providing military assistance to foreign military units that violate human rights with impunity “AIDED AND ABETTED” the onslaught of the Boko Haram terrorists group in Nigeria AND not corruption.
U.S should apply the Leahy law to themselves.

cklement said...

US Leahy Law which prohibits the US Department of State and Department of Defence from providing military assistance to foreign military units that violate human rights with impunity “AIDED AND ABETTED” the onslaught of the Boko Haram terrorists group in Nigeria AND not corruption.

cklement said...

Even selfish and hypocrite Nigerians don't see all that.. Poverty has raided their senses of reasoning.

Sigh...our reputation at stake

Issorite

AJ AJ MAIN...

This corruption stalling the.fight against Boko Haram..is quite embarassing to a nation like Nigeria....does it mean if Boko haram never came up...our arsenal is nothing to write home abt?...nawa ooo

Pesin Pikin said...

Oh my, this really is like a slap to d image n structure to d Nigerian govt! Ppl refer to Nigerians as corrupt ppl n scam n now our govt just gave them another reason y corruption is a peculiar feature plaguing us. SAD!!!!!

Abi ooooo

Wia did dis dude got his own figure?
All dem knw is 2 pic microphone and talk rubbish
Ok ooooo
Linda dont take note!

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Can't be more true Kerry! Now Naija don make history class more interesting!
Tell them..

What is needed is an international law against money laundering. Most of the money stolen by public officials in Africa are deposited abroad in banks owned by the western nationals. They are the tax dodgers who operate in Tax Havens. These Tax Havens should be banned by the World Bank. There should also be full disclosures by banks whenever governments request full disclosures on their nationals who are banking overseas.

Now that's someone with a brain, whose judgement is not clouded by his share of the loot.

Biko, in which year did this happen? Cos all I know is we've gat a celebrity president who travels more than Kim K.

@CruiseControl
mercycruise@yahoo.com

Biko, in which year did this happen? Cos all I know is we've gat a celebrity president who travels more than Kim K.

@CruiseControl
mercycruise@yahoo.com

I'm not interested. * it's well*

So America is buying into the lies and fairy tales of LieR Mohammed... Na dem sabi.

exquisito said...

Oh! Is that Oshiomole lauding Buhari's antigraft war?! Hell NO! That's John Kerry. Wailers will still wail. A pig will always remain a pig. More strength and wisdom to PMB.
#NextPls

PDP people, what do you have to say?

mudi X said...

International politics..so what of job creation ?

It is so sad that Jonathan retired the disciplined soldiers and left miscreants Luke AVM Alkali Mamu and Alex Barde.Barde and Mamu both should be deranked to squadron Leader and Flt Lt respectively.Thank God for Buhari

Nwovu Friday S.G said...

This guy is a leader,articulated speech. Nice one Mr Kerry.

God bless. U sir

We sit here and not appreciate buhari...but others do. One day Nigeria will be better...but first it has to be worse.

LINDA YOU DONT NEED TO POST THIS COMMENT. I JUST WANT YOU TO KNOW NOBLE IGWE IS ENGAGED. HER NAME IS CHIOMA OTISI SHE USED TO WORK AT NIGERIAN BREWERIES AFTER SHE MOVED BACK FROM ABROAD. YOU CAN FOLLOW HER ON INSTAGRAM TO CHECK. THANK ME AFTER

FRESH said...

There are money laundering laws,there are treaties the world over.But some countries are not signatories.

The US and other world leaders should complement PMB's efforts by swinging into action and repatriate the stolen wealth stashed in their countries expeditely. Thanks JK.

Anti corruption war os loopsided and aimed at weakening the opposition. Are all apc members saints let buhari fish out corrupt APC members. One this to note is that corruption doesnt start and ceases at the FG level. What is efcc during at the state and local govt levels to fish out thieves

Nothing against Buhari. I support him but you need to understand why Nigerian leaders - past and present - need to be criticized. They have failed us all

Luciana Chinda said...

Well said!

Enter your comment....

shut up daniela desmond we all know that the foreigners does not understand nigerian politics . keep appreciating nothing , brain washed soul

I concur

This is what I call common sense

U'll lif long & God bless ur generation

It's only beneficiaries of corruption that are against Buhari. Looters, scammers,copyright thieves, oil thieves & vandals etc. Check them out!

Bastard PDP wants to ruin us.

fieldmarshal said...

Nice one Kerry

fieldmarshal said...

THIS ONE WILL BE TRAVELLING FROM ONE COUNTRY TO THE OTHER AS IF HE'S A SAINT OVER THERE IN THE US. ALL OF UNA NA EVIL PPLE. CAUSING TROUBLE IN OTHER PPLE'S LANDS. LEAVE OUR BABA ALONE. DON'T APPLAUD