President Barack Obama weighed in on the Oscar nominations controversy for the first time in an exclusive one-on-one interview with ABC7's David Ono. The President invited Ono to meet in the Diplomatic Reception Room at the White House on Wednesday. The conversation turned to diversity in the film industry after the second straight year of all-white acting nominations for the Oscars by the Academy.
Obama has often spoken about pushing the country towards a better understanding of its differences with a theme of tolerance and inclusion. It's the same theme Hollywood is grappling with in regards to the Oscars.
"I think that California is an example of the incredible diversity of this country. That's a strength," Obama said. "I think that when everybody's story is told, then that makes for better art, it makes for better entertainment, it makes everybody feel part of one American family."

62 comments:
Good one Obama
Nice one (y)
Damolia.DEW
Well said Obama,wallahi ur head is there,you couldn't have say it much better than this.
True Talk!
Right on point my idol. More Instagram followers for you
Da fuck's POTUS Saying?
I know no wetin this one the talk oh
Abeg next
!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere
Da fuck's POTUS Saying?
I think so too
* it's well*
OK. Gud morning all
POPULAR LIB READER!
Well said
Obama ejiro okwu.
Linda how is Banana Island?
So right
nice
meenah_wakil on instagram
nice
meenah_wakil on instagram
Enter your comment...ok na love tht
For sure presido
Hmmmmm
Obama baba
Him no say anything here now? Just dey beat around the bush
AJ MAIN BOY...
Oh nice speech
Surely there must be diversity.
Obama should about this after all he has nothing in Gomorrah to loose, his tenure will be ending soon.
I DIDN'T TYPE THIS FA' IT JUST POPPED OUT...
He's always smart
Equal right black or white
NICE
Noted
I dont even understand wat he said...
Hmmmmmmmmm racism in America is just too much!!
LINDA NOTIFY DBANJ
I bank on your thoughts most times Mr. President.
Lol...he was very careful with his choice of words. But we get ur point sir!
Still a white Oscars to me tho..dia biz tho
linda post my comment o
#IWASHERE
Dey shld free dis matter jare
Well said...the white community still look at d blacks as an opposition everybody has a story to tell..y shuld dey b left out of d oscars wen d constitute a part of it....time equality and fairness in all ramifications.....longliveBLACKS
Well said...the white community still look at d blacks as an opposition everybody has a story to tell..y shuld dey b left out of d oscars wen d constitute a part of it....its time fr equality and fairness in all ramifications.....longliveBLACKS
Obama for President. Wait! he is one. This guys just knows how to tackle any question. Orator of the highest order.
Right now can his opinion change anytin???
Hmm mm
Wildflower wuz ere
Gbam
Well said
Odi mma
Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
Direct from Delsu
Obama Obama...we ve hard
Exactly my take on the issue. Linda take note!
racism can never stop as long as the yorubas hate the igbos while the igbos hate the hausas
that Imo boy
I pray it stop .....Lindododo, I beg post my comment
Do you even understand what he's just said?
EWU
Mtcheeeeeeeeeeeew.
Obama the diplomatic man.
Well said Mr.P
Oloshi black race oloju kokoro.
Na wa o.
U sure say u undatand wetin POTUS dey tok?
One day, a traveler in a remote country town, convinced that he was on the wrong road, came to a halt in a village. Calling one of the villagers to the car window, he said:
"Friend, I need help. I'm lost."
The villager looked at him for a moment. "Do you know where you are?" he asked.
"Yes," said the traveler. "I saw the name of your town as I entered."
The man nodded his head, "Do you know where you want to be?"
"Yes," the traveler replied, and named his destination.
"You're not lost," he said, "you just need directions."
---READ MORE---
Very very smart.a lot of idiots here don't even understand his reply.he supported the blacks but he was diplomatic about it.
Good one Obama
Well said
Spoken like a true president
Bcus u̶̲̥̅̊ no go skul
LOL....angelmakiz@yahoo.com