Photo: Kano Govt empowers limbless Rahma Haruna and her family with foodstuffs and cash gifts | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 30 January 2016

Photo: Kano Govt empowers limbless Rahma Haruna and her family with foodstuffs and cash gifts

Kano State Govt through the state Commissioner for Women Affair, Barr. Zubaida Damakka Abubakar empowered the family of Rahma Haruna, a limbless 19-year old girl of Lahadin Makole in Dawakin Kudu local government area of Kano state.

Rahma, who has no functional limbs but tiny appendages in the position of arms and legs, is being moved about in a synthetic washbasin by a young cousin, to beg for alms in Kano city, about 26 kilometers from her village. The earnings help in sustaining the family of four.

Her father, Haruna Muhammad said her challenge started when she was 6 months old and largely due to poverty, he could not take her for specialized medical attention. He had sold his farm and personal belongings but no progress was recorded in her treatment. At last, he resigned to the sad fate, which many people in his community seem to believe, that her condition is the handiwork of evil spirits.
Because of her condition, the poor girl cannot do virtually anything without the support of a family member. She and her brother, who carries her to solicit alms to feed the poor family, do not go to school.

While presenting the donation of empowerment items to the family on Friday, January 29, the Commissioner of Women Affairs, Barr. Zubaida Damakka said the state government is touched by the condition of the girl stressing that the government would do all it could to see that Rahma does not feel forsaken.

"Government would continue to look after her welfare to ensure that she lives as comfortable as possible and to make sure that she does not beg because of her physical challenge" the commissioner assured.

Barrister Zubaida stated that she was “amazed by the girl's zeal to do something meaning for herself rather than the usual street begging which she and her younger brother engaged in”, adding that the donation was meant to empower the family so that they can earn a living decently and take their children to school.

Items donated to the girl’s mother to start a business include 10 cartons of noodles, 2 bags of detergent, 10 cartons of biscuits, 2 bags of semovita, 2 bag of rice, a sack of soya bean, 2 gallons of cooking oil 25 liters each and the sum of twenty thousand naira.

68 comments:

20k was given by state government to start up a business???? Why not offer a long term solution for them??Are we supposed to be impressed by this pettiness???? Indomie saving lives since 12AD..!

Nice one i pray for the almajiri family to accept this and stop there as usual begging business since is party an career of every hausa people.

20k was given by state government to start up a business???? Why not offer a long term solution for them??Are we supposed to be impressed by this pettiness???? Indomie saving lives since 12AD..!

Very good

And they had to put it on the news?
The donation was obviously just for them to score some point. Those who do good genuinely do not blow trumpets.

baba said...

Enter your comment...nice one

Nice of them

AWWWWW

. I MISSED YOU AUNTY LINDA....

Thats more like it....

OMIDAN ABBY said...

This pic is creepy! Don't lik lookin' sef..
Don't want to spill my mind b4 some pple b lik m I human..
Indomie no dey do hausas pple o, dey too dey chop, der stomach don pass it's elastic limit..

They will still beg
Trust me

OMIDAN ABBY said...

When dignitaries came now, dem use the wheel chair.. make she leave now, bowl starts..

Very nice of them.

God bless the giver!!! % Linda Your Greatest Fan %

Nice....

So nice of them, I hope this gesture will help her to stop begging.

Nice one.. they really need this

Hmmmmmmm issorite!!!

Aunty linda be posting my comment..

Nice. Thanks for this kind gesture

It's well

GOD bless

Eye service
Am temporary out of service
Pls try again later
Linda dont take note!

chinenye Arinze said...

what is 20k stupid people nonsense

liz swt 16 said...

Did I c 20k? SMH 4 "Kano State Gov"

Nice one but the donation is too little as compare to government capacity

Very thoughtful of dem. Linda take note!

God for them.

Congratulations to the people make them work again

Luciana Chinda said...

Awwwwww,

Johnlyn said...

The cash sum was small from a state governor.

aunty madam,linda...you can also help the girl woop

Issorite

AJ MAIN BOY...

Good work

20k???...wts dt supposed to do..dts definitely too small coming from d goverment

God is wonderful o

Can u imagine?! Just 20k?? Chai..

Linda I hv arrived, post my comment.

Thanks to the state government, I pray they make good their promise. If dey can get 20k across to d girl n her family monthly it will be a huge relief. I don't feel it's too small if it's a continuous thing sha. May God bless all d givers so far.

#Linda'spal

E go soon finish n she gats enta street.... kpom kwem

Nigeria govt is a joke. This is completely inhuman. Indome will not make life better rather coz more sickness to her and her family.

Moses Iwux said...

God help 'em

The gods are watching

S L I M M Z said...

Poor gurl

What can N20,000 do? Why not send her abroad for proper medical attention. At least they can provide artificial limbs for her. Or send one of her siblings to school so that he or she can become a graduate and take care of the family.

Abdul Adepetu said...

So all in all about 50,000 was put together for this photo ops by the government of Kano state. No house was offered, no scholarship was offered to the brother who could not go to school. What a sad and pathetic people. If anyone says anything thing, they will say racist. Where are the rich kano people, where are the instagrammers! Another photo opportunity in Kano, Hurry! God is watching us all!

hmmmm

They sayb2 bags of rice, two bags of semo.. Proudly, as if it'll serve more than a few months at most.. Don't even mention the money, it's disgraceful.

It's good they showed concern at all anyway.

Our very own Nick Vujuicic.. Nigeria is not the right country for anyone to be so disabled

pretty face said...

Welcome development

Seen, next...

Empowerment with 20k who does that? Absolute rubbish

Empowerment with 20k who does that? Rubbish

20k? Hmmmm! And they have gut to show it to populace, this is highly ridiculous, empowerment in deed

Issoriat....

I wonder

Dem go gree?
Begging na occupation for dem.

Seconded

For 18yrs they did not see her.

No I think its her personal donation.Like she said, the govt will do something about it so she doesn't suffer

Nice one! * it's well*

OGBETA'S BLOG said...

Nice move by the Kano state Government...

20k?

Those items and 20k.
God,It seems like a show off for publicity only by the useless govt.
I or any individual can donate such.
What a shame to kano d govt.

20k and 10cartons of indomie, money dat is not enough to buy d bag dat d commissioner is carrying... dee

God bless them for their kind gesture

They tried sha. At least, that's something for a start instead of them not saying or doing anything about the girls situation. And those of you criticising what the Commissioner for Women Affairs did, what are the things 'you' have done to all least assist the girl and her poor family? Some people sha

and yet she is still in that plastic bowl, same one even with all the donations said to have been to her, its same color. what is going on? the family can not even buy a new bowl for her? i just dont understand while give 5 naira to a beggar when sachet water and cheapest biscuit is sold for 10 naira.

Ok una don do this one, abeg u people should head to Zaria for the little boy that lost his eyes to ritualists. And pls we don't want to hear 20k again bikonu.

-LIB PIKIN-