Mom charged with assault for defending her daughter against bullies | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 30 January 2016

Mom charged with assault for defending her daughter against bullies

A mother is facing an assault charge after confronting a bully at her teenage daughter’s school. Morgan Sellers, 14, has been enduring bullying by a group of kids at her middle school since last fall. “It’s been stressful because I never know what name they’re going to call me each day,” Morgan told WHO-HD. “It makes me feel bad about myself, like I’m not good enough.”

Morgan’s mom, Alisha Morton, 31, says she repeatedly complained about the bullying to the principal, teachers, and superintendent of Northview Middle School in Ankeny, Iowa. She was assured that they would take care of the situation. But nothing changed.

The bullying got so bad that Morgan told her mom she wanted to die.
“For my child to come home and tell me that she wants to die because this child is still doing something that I’ve confronted the school and superintendent about, that kills me inside,” Morton said.
It was the last straw. On Jan. 11, Morton went with her daughter to the school to face the student who was bullying Morgan the most — an eighth-grade boy. During the exchange, another student, a ninth-grade girl, allegedly threatened Morton.
“She said, ‘I’m going to beat your ass. Get the hell out of here,"
Morton said. “I said, ‘You’re a child; you’re not involved in this. Sit back down.’”

When the teen girl wouldn’t back off during the confrontation, Morton put one arm out to block her.

The mom says the student then tried to punch her. Morgan came to her mom’s defense, grabbing the ninth-grade girl’s hands to prevent her from hitting Morton. “I told her when I grabbed her hands, ‘You’re not going to hit my mom,’” Morgan said.
The mom was charged with assault “by admittedly shoving the student during a verbal altercation,” the assault complaint says, according to WHO-HD.

43 comments:

noted

Really ..funny people

Hehehe is mama is definitely from the hood, she's only protecting her child from bullies!

Policy

Iffa hear assault? N wat do dey call bullying?

Oyinbo nawa! So they want the children to be disrespectful

JAYZSBOSS said...

Haba

Dey shld free dis woman joor
Sum kids re evil,demonic,& de best way 2 place dem right is by taking little action on dem
Am temporary out of service
Pls try again later
Linda dont take note!

baba said...

Enter your comment...y na

So it's now a bad thing abi?

Cherry girl said...

oga gan

tollyjems said...

Why didn't they take any action when the student was complaining bullying. Must she commit suicide before the take any action. I don't blame the mother o, am sure she did it for her child's safety

So much 4a civilized nation

Rubbish. Why must children get bullied as long as u're schooling in yankee?

Oyibo Dem

Golda Awosika said...

Lol, com to Africa, dey wil flog u n ur mum will come n thank dem

Graciejay said...

These whites and their foolish ways. Why don't they let they poor girl be? Haba!

Okogba said...

So she should sit down and watch her daughter get bullied continously right??? I would do worse if in her shoes

I hate that kind of a mother

OMIDAN ABBY said...

These white folks let things get to them... deep down der heart. Lol

That's absolutely rubbish!!

InkDrop said...

they should also be charged for bullying their classmate.. y should they charge her mum?..

Na them sabi! * it's well*

@adenike bamigboye which mother do you hate.

You cant read ???

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Na wa p. But this babe sef full ground no be small o

U hate the type of mother that will defend her child? Did you even read the post?

tosisochukwu said...

Make them pack well

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

junia said...

Dat was how one boy committed suicide leaving a letter 4 his parents, it was Linda Dat posted dat too. Dis is really bad.

junia said...

Adenike read very well b4 posting. I guess u were in a hurry 2 post.

So bully is allowed?

Na waoo!

Dis people sef

Olodo! Recieve sense.

Okaro said...

Be considerate with your tabs and spacing please.

You're welcome :-)

Adenike wrote as if she never had a good and caring mother. Are you a base born?

She is real olodo. Adenike is a bully as well.

Oyibo useless mtchewwww

AJ MAIN BOY...

Funny Whites....angelmakiz@yahoo.com

Luciana Chinda said...

Issokay,

So what was she supposed to do? Watch n allow her commit suicide?

#Linda'spal

So what was she supposed to do? Watch n allow her commit suicide?

#Linda'spal