One die of Lassa Fever in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 23 January 2016

One die of Lassa Fever in Lagos

One of the three patients that have tested positive to the deadly viral disease, Lassa Fever, has died. The state commissioner for Health, Dr. Jide Idris who made this known during a press briefing yesterday, said the deceased, a 51 year old who lived in Ilasan, Lekki, had returned from Edo where he attended a wedding ceremony on December 28, last year.

He fell ill and was initially admitted at Divine Medical Centre in Ikoyi on January 12th and referred to Mainland Hospital Yaba early January 18th and later died at 2pm same day before the result of the laboratory test that confirmed him positive of Lassa Fever was received.

“The dead victim will be buried today after due consultation with the family and has been kept in the morgue in leak proof body bag.”he said
Dr. Idris revealed that 14 suspected cases of Lassa Fever has been recorded in the state as at January 21. Idris also disclosed that the Ministry has shortlisted 447 contacts of the confirmed cases and 438 (98 per cent) of the contacts who are currently being monitored.

38 comments:

YOUNGBUHARI said...

Nigeria will overcome this... R.I.P

linda Last Born(IPHY) said...

Hmmmmmmmmmmm RIP......

Golda Awosika said...

Please start the quarantine and testing.

God please have mercy on ur children ..

The govt seems to be sleeping while ppl die frm this deadly disease. They shld pls ask The former health minister how They managed The ebola outbreak 2yrs ago or They shld continue there blame game

JAYZSBOSS said...

Alright

lassa or what do yu call yourself yur days are numbered

applegeniuz said...

hmmmmm.....God help us. rip to d

dead.
#kpomkwem

GHOSTFACE said...

wahhala

They should pls look into this...Abeg. Rip to d dead

Nawa...LindaConfirm

sanrock said...

Relying on the creator to help us here. God bless 9ja

Like play e Don dey kill for lag hmmmm! LindaGatti call health minister ask am wetin him dey do to contain dis disease

AJ MAIN BOY...

Linda be gvn media people esp radio stations news as dream fm is airing this info currently

Is there no cure for this

Sad ...

Hahahahaha...

Now, this is scary.

This laser fever wahala don de pass hand ooo

DAUGHTER _ OF _ A _ SOMEBODY... said...

Ahhh must every disease n sickness come to learn yoruba language in lagos eh?

I didn't type this fa' it just popped out...

This is sad.Divine hospital

Sorry for the lost of life, but it's the government of Jonathan and PDP are the curse, Government of blame.

Hmmm, RIP. * it's well*

Luciana Chinda said...

Rip

Apc are the curse, their bad luck.

Rip

Enter your comment...
Na jonathan cause am*

ROBOCOP

MAY GOD PURGE THIS LAND OF EVERY EPIDEMIC IN JESUS NAME. RIP TO THE DEAD

U are just an ignorant bulldog for saying that..how does Jonathan regime concerns dis...u shud b in a daycare not ere
@carterfazhion

Shut up!!!
@carterfazhion..

While we are all praying, its important to do our part....maintain a high level of personal and community hygiene. The vectors are rats, you want to rid your environment of rats as much as possible. Pls. Do not visit hospitals or crowded places except absolutely necessary. Prevention is key.

You are the bulldog for not being ashamed after all you and ur men hv milked this country..... Jonathan is the cause via 2.1bn arms deal if nt boko haram wld nt hv gotten to this level today.