Nigerians come for Chicken Republic over 'Olisa Metuh' ad | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 23 January 2016

Nigerians come for Chicken Republic over 'Olisa Metuh' ad

Sometime last week, one of Nigeria's biggest fast food restaurants tweeted this ad on their official twitter page; "Why eat your words when you can eat our meals" and "Special delivery for Olisa" with an EFCC logo on the ad, which is in reference to reports that PDP Spokesman Olisa Metuh allegedly ate or tried to eat a document containing statements he made to the EFCC so it won't be used as evidence against him in court which Metuh has since denied he did. But that didn't stop Chicken Republic from latching on the controversy and using it as a publicity stunt for their brand.

Nigerians who found the ad distasteful came for Chicken Republic on social media...some are even calling for a boycott. See some tweets after the cut and tell us what you think of it all...

139 comments:

Victor Kachi said...

Get latest and working free browsing cheat on all networks and tech updates on my blog @ Entclass.com

Ohalete O said...

I will think about it.

Golda Awosika said...

It is hilarious but then it is a stupid idea. Dz re state matters.

Abu Dhabi said...

Lol lol lol

আবুধাবি প্রিন্স

Chicken Republic of all fast food. Stooping so flat afterall they v bin so low

What's chicken Republic wahala in this issue. Busy body will run them down if they are not careful with their publicity stunts

But that ad isn't cool for real

#iT wiLL oNLy gET beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

tosisochukwu said...

Hahahaha! Nigerians can be very funny @ times

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

So chicken republic now specialize in mockery.. Watin we no go see for 9ja

YOUNGBUHARI said...

Lol. They have no joy. Oliseh over to you oh

Clowns every were, terrorist buhari bad government is not only affecting people financially is also affecting them mentally.
Buhari is responsible for all this madness.

Noted.

sanrock said...

So unprofessional....

well....its too far for them if i might say

The person that innovate this ideal is very senseless they need to be dealt with..Linda observe carefully

Lol, ok!

Alpacino D said...

Mundacious castrated crumbling company, fuckd up real time, 'cos kinda pesin won't munch on their shits anymore

Nah!dts bad. They shouldn't have done dat

That was a big error from them.

kween Bee said...

How can they be so insensitive to such delicate matter? It's like they have made too much money.. In fact as for me and my household no more chicken Republic... From today we do "Mega Chicken".... God abeg ooo!!

We claim we re educated yet we talk @tyms like uneducated pple.i don't see anythg wrng with dis ad infact I'm impressed with it. A very good lesson 2 all intending looters. U loot n we disgrace u more than this. @chickenrepublic kip it up.

Don't see it as a big deal tho

Lol not cool tho

Tony said...

This cud be a brand killer, merchants/investors don't venture into political matters as tables can get turned anytime. But since Nigerians are divided along party line, the aggrieved side will be more pained.

If he's guilty, I don't see why people should think less of Chicken Republic, after all the Metuhs of our world have been eating out commonwealth since time immemorial and we have been singing thier praises. Many of us still see them as victimized or being witch hunted, SMH.
I wonder if we would ever learn.

Make una gerara here jooh, looters deserve more embarrassment to send a strong signal to others. All this rants are from pdp.

I don't even have a degree or diploma in advertising or public relations but I know that running this Ad was a terrible idea...

I SEE CHICKEN REPUBLIC HAVING SERIOUS PROBLEM IN THE FUTURE FOR THIS SILLY ACT,BECOS IF PDP SHOULD TAKE OVER GOVERNMENT SOMEDAY,IT WILL BE OVER FOR DEM.OMALICHA LI

Evening... These chickens don enter. There's a price for every action. They must pay for spreading Lasa Fever

baba said...

Chicken Republic... Killing kids with Lasa Fever

Chicken republic management are bastards . They will get what's coming to them

Who can save Nigerians from the rat piss on Burgers? #LasaFever

Lasa Fever joint... Hahaha.

I dont see anytin wrong here

You guys should not worry I will tell my fathers brother uncle to probe them,in naija everything Is a joke,Abi linda!

Lmao. Dis is so mean

Hehehehehhe na wa oh..this pple are funny.lol

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

The most senseless and stupid advert of the year. Who ever dey in charge of Dat ad, Dem need sack Dat person immediately. Dis kind thing dey run company down

AJ MAIN BOY...

The AD wasn't necessary.. It will make them loose some of their customers...#LindaConfirm

Funny drama

That's Foolish.... Time will Tell.

Lol hilarious tweet ever....if only they didn't call names minus the Efcc logo....it kool initiative.... chicken republic brace yourself lol

Anon said...

They have segregated themselves...Good for them...as 4 me & my house, we no near dem again Sam sam!

Oh my love for ##ChickenRepublic just died, and yes, why eat bird flu at #ChickenRepublic instead of eating at 5 Star restaurant onitsh?

Make thunder fire bokohari.

Lolzzz

There is nothing wrong in the ad by Chicken Republic. We know those sentimental tribe that want to boycott, let them do others will patronize them.

Abdul Adepetu said...

Who cares, why eat your words! Eat fresh chicken from chicken republic! Awon Ole! Are you out of job yet, keep supporting thieves!

That's their shit

are they mad?? so the yeye eatery still exists??????????? mtchewww!

i love that ads jaree
Nothing wrong with it just that they shouldn't have mentioned 'olisah'.

#XENO-FABIAN

Haahahahhaa,very funny

Dis is see finish ...

I am a full time card carrying member of the APC who believes in doing what is right and I strongly believe that this ad is SO SO WRONG. Chicken Republic better apologises to Olisa before the courts come after them. APC is the party to beat any day.

Mr 47 said...

If it was a man from another tribe, it would have been a hit on Lib. Why are igbo people feeling so insecure???

Na them sabi! * it's well*

Zeesat said...

Mumu...ur statement is becoming sooo boring,keep blaming buhari. Senseless human being

APC will pay 4 everything they are doing...why running a country with hatred 4 d opposition party...is really insane

Zeesat said...

U obviously don't have anything meaningful to say.It not a must for u to comment.

Now dis ad got me ROTFWL! Linda take note!

Apc shit can go to any length to humiliate olisa but GOD pass them

clyde said...

I am even surprised that chicken Republic is still making some noise.i had rather buy roundabout from mama put than buy chicken from chicken republic where the chicken is tasteless and could even be stale due to low patronage.As for the advert, it is only seeking a cheap popularity.Soon it will become an ant republic.

Chicken Republic serve bird-flu chickens.

funkecrown05@gmail.com said...

Y na chicken republic. It's nt gud 2 ridicule any1 especially wen d person is facin problem

sweetie said...

Linda, nigerians didn't come after chicken republic, it only d dead party call PDP. Chicken republic ride on, more adverts is coming from others. Shameless people

DAUGHTER _ OF _ A _ SOMEBODY... said...

This is the handiwork of the powers of darkness, joke gone wrong.

I didn't type this fa' it just popped out...

CERTIFIED GENTLEMAN said...

Buka Over Chicken Republic. I've got to understand those incharge of their Media is truly Chicken, infat they're all Chicken at Chicken Republic.

@ipadeola pls shut ur mouth..if u re educated enuf, u should Knw it's uncivil to interfere in state matters, an on goin investigation nd open case should't b played wit nd if u must make caricature of it, den don't let it b too direct or too forward.pls go back to skul cos it's only a fool like u dat's lookin for anytin to grown their biz il do such stupidly tins.....not a PDP fan but dis not cool nd against d law. Only happen in a lawless country like 9ja....

I love this ad,infact I would start patronising them,can't stop lauginh

Whatever rocks there boat

Any publicity is a good publicity,believe me.Nice one

Nothing disrespectful here,what looters did to destinies is far worst

Not cool...

That's so disrespectful from a brand like Chicken Republic

Y eat bird flu from chicken republic when u can eat correct mama put? Stupid advert!!!

Insensitive advert!!!! Bird flu Centre

Lol chicken Republic in akure that I saw rats running everywhere. . Eat their food and eat LASSA fever!

Tired of hiding under anonymous when actually I'm a LIB addict!

People have time fa, drinking panadol on top someone else headache mtewwwww!!!

Iranu!

#GeneralFortune

Y wnt they mind their biz, Metu case is kind of sensitive..... Nigeria sha

That was an insult ND nt an advert.

Demmy said...

Hmmmm, just passin

Lool. Na naija style na. Everytin na publicity stunt. Lawma has done it, it's now chicken republic. Lol

Just looking for more Instagram followers

That makes u uneducated, is it not obvious that metuh is been victimized. It shows the kind of democracy apc is running.

Does accusing someone make the person guilty allow the court to say he is a looser.....so shall every false accusations against u in this life be implied true without any defence in Jesus name amen

OTONY said...

Wetin sef. Must we take things too serious. Nothing wrong with it. I remember OLX doing something like this with Linda with her Range Rover. The hardship never reach not to see the humour in certain actions

Big for nothing he got without sense.... No wonder u are so full of hate and lack sense. Omo ale

That makes u uneducated, is it not obvious that metuh is been victimized. It shows the kind of democracy apc is running.

They went too far

Chicken republic una fall ma hand no sense of humour at all.

Wen he was bizi eatin d moni who him help, if he liks he should eat shit and die slow

That is not nice at all

Pesin Pikin said...

Na wa o! Y are some ppl just being sentimental bout this?? Mtchewww....

Chicken republic would soon fold up because of bird flu, they are trying to make awareness, too bad for them.

Boycot Boycot Boycot
I am never gonna eat bird flu infested chicken republic chicken

Extreme stupidity on the part of chicken republic. This is what the bible calls running out in the streets and grabbing a stray dog by the tail.

Genesis said...

Metuh isn't too big to be cartooned with, its just the brand that's isn't right. Meaning if it came from other source other than a company it better. Very soon Metuh will sue them to court cos he's desperately in need of bail money. Chicken republic expect court invitation from Metuh's legal crew.

Genesis said...

Metuh isn't too big to be cartooned with, its just the brand that's isn't right. Meaning if it came from other source other than a company it better. Very soon Metuh will sue them to court cos he's desperately in need of bail money. Chicken republic expect court invitation from Metuh's legal crew.

Very funny advert by chicken republic. Very silly reaction by mainly tribal jingoistic and true to type this is being instigated by Linda. I have been reading your blog for close to 2 years or more but I think you are increasing showing bias as I have observed that any thing that promotes PDP and miopic Igbo tribal interests gets you very excited and do you seek to influence public opinion on the issue. Stay neutral so you will not lose vital followership.

Funny and disrespectful...

I will start eating in chicken republic from now on. What a lovely advert. Hahahahahahaha

all na publicity stunt to advertise their brand...

Looking for a natural way to completely reverse type 2
diabetes within the shortest time possible Click Here To Watch This
Video Now

I will continue to patronise chicken republic till i die

How? I don't usually respond 2 anonymous comments but I owe it a point of duty as a gd citizen with the fear of God. He was alleged 2 av collected 400m which he dint deny.infact he said it Ws 4 an assignment. Pls wat kinda assignment is dat. Pls search urself n tell me if some1 embezzled ur parents funds like dis ll u support him/her?. Pls let's b realistic. Don't get me wrng I'm not saying he's guilty yet but there re allegations n he MUST prove his innocence but let's enjoy d fun while it lasts so as 2 deter future or intending looters.

hahahahahahhahaha oshi on the xtreme order, lets see hw APC saves them from the foreseen condolences

U are a big fool.hes alleged to have collected 400 million naira from dasuki which is presently before an honorable court with competent jurisdiction.no right thinking person should make an idotic comment on a matter that's before the court.Chicken republic messed up big time.

Those who still support the PDP despite all the revelations of humongous corruption perpetrated under their government are people who have put politics and party affiliation above our national welbeing. Sometimes U hear them say things like the anti-graft war is selective or a witch-hunt. Rather than a national outrage we still have sympathizers of those that have rendered many pple orphans, widows, jobless. I can go on and on. This atitude itself is what is distasteful, not an ad from chicken republic. For such sympathizers, their calls for the FG to prosecute pple within the APC (even without any tangible evidence) is not for the zeal to eradicate corruption from our country, but they silently believe that in doing so, the APC will self destruct and thus an elimination of a government which they've always hated irrespective of any good thing it has to offer for the betterment of Nigeria. It's a pity they will carry on this hate until the end of this administration. And if this government delivers well at the end, then its haters will have to live in their self-inflicted emotional trauma for a loooong time.
I'll rather support a govt that's fighting corruption than the one that's accomodating corruption in order to gain the support of pple living directly or indirectly on the proceeds of corruption.

Chicken continent that should be their aim not meddling With state matters thanks a zillion

Jude Akinwole said...

Common guys, have a sense of humour. This is very hilarious! I find it very funny & I don't think you should take it too seriously! Props to Chicken Republic hare! #ThiIsActuallyVeryFunnyAndCreative

OLISA DESERVES EVERY BIT OF DISGRACE HE GETS. I LIKE WHAT CHICKEN REPUBLIC DID TO HIM. YEYE TROLLS TALKING NONSENSE

Nice one#Lindangwanu#

Did they apologize to APC when they made similar cartoon , calling out the APC. Ur claim of being a card carrying member is false and pretentious.

This truly leaves a bad taste.they should tender an unreserved apology for this irresponsible tweet.

Come, have LIB readers noticed that only Igbos leave this annoying large space after their posts?

You are foolish for saying that @zeesat like buhari isnt to be blamed .....Idoit change carriers...I dnt knw what av gained frm them..until soldiers start slapping you anyhow...then u knw change has come ....fool

@freeborn, I think u r getting obsessed with Buhari. You now worship him, can't stop talking about him every second of d day. Pray to God for forgiveness

Cee said...

They are very selfish people na

Cee said...

KFC did similar thing to Mourhino. Just before he lost his job at CFC. Abeg na their market they wan sell, them nor send Oliseh message, it's not a bad idea

Yea ..they wanted it to sound funny..but behold it didn't. .so they had to remove it..finish

No wonder there branch always close down and sale there building to individuals who use them for super market. Poisonous eatery. Never gonna see me they again.

FourthOfApril said...

From the tweets i noticed that a lot of Yoruba people were against the ad. If a Yoruba man had been the butt of the joke, a lot of Igbos (Linda inclusive) would have been celebrating the ad. The ad is actually a creative piece. Please the Igbos should get over themselves and stop being touchy and overly sensitive whenever mention is made of an Igbo man, woman or issue, loosen up.

GGS said...

Chicken rebublic or chicken nation. You no do well.Lassa dey chicken rebublic confirm. Go eat there you confirmed dead. Lol

Andy sneh said...

Dis is way too funny.

Lol.. Na wa oh

I can't eat in Chicken Republic again.. Afterall, they sell dead chicken

May the owner of Chicken republic sie an untimely death for this... I will vote 100 of Olisa Metuh again and again over foolish Buhari.. Rubbishhh

Like the way they need to deal with your grammar

dacharles2 said...

Dough to me is not a good thing to meddle in politics.. but Naija no sabi joke if is not Bovi, Baskeetmouth or Akpos do the joke... na was ooo. Some are even pretending as if they patronize ChickenRepublic like that.... even some house wife way no fit cook dry talk.. wait and see when Ur husband now find out the taste of the chicken has change then you will know say@ChickenRepublic na baba... in Olamide voice

But whoever handles that account is stupid. How is ds a thing of joke? Mtcheeewwwwwwwww... It's not even funny 1 bit!

You see the ad was cool, besides a name wasn't mentioned. We need to start mocking this looters in any way possible, we ve to totally discourage it, seriously or jokingly. It happens in the American too, remember a doll was made of bill Clinton to mock the then ongoing sex scandal with Monica Lewinsky. Nigerians could be so satirical, only the corrupt minded people would boycott CR because an enemy of the state was mocked. Infact am eating there today.

Hey, a name wasn't mentioned an image wasn't even shown. It's all in the head, court only works with valid and visible proof, not assumptions or imaginary theories

Tunde ariyo said...

Why do we ethnicizw corruption?a bad pot holes doesn't know the occcupanat of the vehicle nor hiss tribe or creed.An IED doesn't even know it's maker talkless of others.the actions of olisa metuh and co has brought national disgrace and she be deplored by all sentiments apart.lets shame all enemies of the masses through whatever means,i say thumbs up chicken republic

It's quite funny and a creative play on news in public domain.

Really funny but DUMB....

-LIB PIKIN-