We will not allow Social Media to be used as an instrument of blackmail- Dino Melaye | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 5 December 2015

We will not allow Social Media to be used as an instrument of blackmail- Dino Melaye

Dino Melaye is one of the Senators in the forefront of the Social Media bill. Let me explain my stance on this. I'm not saying people should indiscriminately use social media to destroy other people's character, integrity etc. What I am saying is, they shouldn't criminalize it. If someone writes something about you that you feel is untrue, or destroyed your reputation, the courts are there. Sue them for defamation...all over the world, it's a civil case. Leave it as a civil case, why criminalize it? If they pass this bill, it means if you write something they feel is false, they will come to your house, handcuff you, put you in jail, take you to the courts, where you will be found guilty and sentenced to 2 years in prison or fine of N4million...for saying something about someone. It's not done anywhere in the world, except uncivilized third world countries. Also, who determines what is false? It's sad that these bunch of jokers we have in the senate would even consider this...they forget they have children who also use social media. This same people used social media to enter government, now it's no longer useful to them. Quite sad. See more tweets from Uncle Dino after the cut...

129 comments:

This issue of social media is going too far enough already. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Same tool used in entering power, they're kicking against it now. It will never happen!

Hmmmmmmm I'm even tired of this seriously....

Linda dey vex ooooo.....because u no u write a lot of unverified lies

Enough already

LolzzzzzZzzzzz....

Indeed he deseves some respect!
He spoke well and I hope dis plan wil b else while dat is if its true.

Personally the bill makes no sense,and dino of all people that slandered some politicians and licked sahara reporters ass should be d last one having a stance on this issue. My verdict - these old men are just insecure ,scared that they will be voted out d way Jonathan was if they mess up(which they surely will) that's d main aim for this law,they don't want criticism or any watchdog on social media calling dem out

He is coming out slowly
Onye ara
Let's watch and see naa

# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

He is coming out slowly
Onye ara
Let's watch and see naa

He is even the biggest disappointment in the Senate. Mcheeeeeeeeew! Linda take note!

Bastards...bastards...bastards...dey will all burn in hell.

I really am tired of typing anything concerning dis social media bill.....what in d heavens did Nigerians do by electing "CHANGE" ? Where are all those people chanting change change? What system of govt are we running again, can someone remind me? Freedom of speech can NEVER be taken away from us! Datz d only way we the masses show our grieviances......They are done using socail media 2 frustrate the GEJ administration out of office, now they don't want 2 get the same treatment.....Imagine locking me up for posting my opinion on social media biko nu? I really wipe 4 Nigeria! "Finally, CHANGE has arrived" .

He is even the biggest disappointment in the Senate. Mcheeeeeeeeew! Linda take note!

Linda.. keep saying trash.. they will just close this you useless blog.. #MallamMaiShayi

U will b claiming mr uprite..u re a big fool n hypocrite..pple who say tins re not true are sued for defamation in court..when apc was campaigning all d lies u guys told dat wasnt true what has happened now..its nigerians i blame sha.very gullible pple..buhari was d ones who first whipped pple,den said if he doesnt win election blood will flow n dat he supports sharia as rule of law in nigeria,he cums out n say hes changed n foolish pple believed..mk we dey look

Linda.. keep saying trash.. they will just close this your useless blog.. #MallamMaiShayi

Dino is a disappointment.... His days are numbered. He will fall without the influence of gravity.

Oga uncle Dino or abi milo, shut up make pesn hear word, you people myt as well ban internet in nigeria as una even don provide opinion or abi suggestion boxes for senate president, this apc mofos been planning all these move long before now, we knw u want to cement yur stronghold in aso rock buh there are many ways to kill a rat nah. Linda no worry, buh be praying shaa and be updating us cus na u and your fellow bloggers this thing go affect directly, Dnt want a situation that I'll miss reading news on your blog.

Hmmmmmm...

etochi21 said...

When Dinoo Melaye will come to terms with what he is doing right now it might just be too late to make amends. I will be here to see how this movie ends.

Pk said...

And they call themselves agents of change. It's shameful. I pity these sets of senators.

Nke ahu gbasara ha

#iT wiLL oNLy gET beTTer
#It MuSt eNd In PrAise

Dino Melaye was never a democrat. People just couldn't read between the lines.
He is just a street smart urchin and has always been a wolf in sheep's clothing.
He is beginning to show his true colour.
Expect more misdemeanour from this ragamuffin.

andre kelvin said...

See this fool

@ Dino melaye ur a bastard.You used social media to come to lime light,now same idiot like u and the fools in senate are trying to pass this bill. I weep for nigeria.

Uncle Dino......Wat goes around......comes around.......
It will definetely affect those close to you nd ur senators first

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB....

Linda's pet said...

lie lie lie. this is d same platform used to bring GEJ down... We will stil use the media on APC...lie lie party. u and ur likes better grow thick skin to absorb t alll. Una neva see 1quater of wetin una use GEJ and mama Peace do...u r alredy complaining.

Senator Dino Maleye, if u r demand some respect then resign as a public officer and go and work in any of ur private firm cos you deserve no respect while you are working for us and not doing what you are suppose to do. We have the right to talk to you the way we like if you are not giving us any good reason while you are voted for likewise you have the right to do same in your private owned firm. The world is watching and waiting for you guys to misbehave and I am very sure due actions will be taken.

So na now social media don become what is use as blackmail, publish lies, etc by Dino. Wonder shall never end. Na wa o. I could remember when the fucking APC was using it to insult GEJ and do all sort of cheap lie and propaganda to win elections it wasn't bad. Please Dino Nigerians don open eyes ok. Maybe u are backward to see the future. Am sorry it is too late to cry now,maybe next time.

Useless jokers, is only four years most of u will spend there watch nd see. PMB will continue to deal with u criminals nd I'll keep mute.

amakaluvlyG said...

aunty Linda leave dis bunch of old fools and their new strategies to legalize corruption..... but it can also b use against dem in d sense dat if d opponents want to say anytin bad about dem there must b solid evidence to back d claim....dat way fowl yansh go open wide....dey are digging their own graves....idiots...# inspired by Linda

Anu ohia! Oya go and check if its false and jail me Dino. You haven't checked your excesses on battery yet you want to talk.

Dino dino dino, u have alot of things to hide, if u say what sahara is reporting is false, take them to court, abi cant senators and people in power sue for defarmation or slander? Why are u now wanting to gag social media? Una plans nor go work

I don't like dis man 4 anytin, talking of being rude, he's d most rude person ve ever seen in d senate. He wore d Daris God ooo t-shirt even Patience was still d first lady. Ok he wants dos bills passed so dat we won't hear abt how he's beating his wife and not takin responsibity for Bisi Ibidapo-Obe's child. Excuse

I dont support the bill but online platform like sahara reporters have been bought over by Thiefnubu and it been used to blackmail his opponent. imagine use fake british passport to blackmail saraki, saying the president brother-in-law arrested for fraud.

Hello Linda, why is this social media bill disturbing you that much? Simple confirm your story before u write. Shikina

Can you just imagine!
Well, this is part of the change y'll voted for, please enjoy it.
Good night

<< LIB Addict >>

DINO MELAYE URE SUCH A ASSHOLE!!!!!!!!!!
REMEMBER U WON'T BE IN POWER FOREVER
KARMA AWAITS U

So Dino is Linda's uncle. #nowIknow

Mr 47 said...

Going Patience Jonathan style huh? @Put u in jail. Don't be scaring your readers with police because your business is been affected with this policy. If u get your view across in a clean and more civilised way. No one will come for u. Ride on Dino, I second to it. U were all supporting him, why don't u support him now??? Fyi: no be only APC senator dey house, PDP is there too

This man is a joker! So he is one to talk now? All the insults and lies he heaped on GEJ, what did they do to him. He's a bloody hypocrite!

Funso Samuel said...

This man is a BIG goat. We have succeeded in using our thumbs to nail/kill ourself in this country o. We have been scammed. APC, thunder fire una o

We used the power of social media to get APC elected, we will use the power of social media again to oppose this backward bill. Any senator that thinks he or she is above the collective will of the people, let such a person think again. I'm so incensed by this senseless politicians. They think they can use us during elections and dump us when they get elected. If they think 2019 is far away, let them think again. We won't forget this

To think I supported these guys one hundred percent during elections

The Apc govt agenda is becoming clearer sister Linda. A re-group of bad wagon. So, they have used the social media as a ladder to climb and its now time to remove it. The same undertakes that buried the Pdp is at their feet waiting

Gloria said...

Linda yes it is only in third world countries that people are so callous and damn right unlawful that they would want to use social media as a medium to blackmail and defame their enemies just to bring them down, so based on this fact it has become a necessity to CRIMINALIZE such acts. It can't just be a civil matter anymore to serve as an even further deterrent to other intending culprits.

When GEJ was in power, they all defamed his character, person and even his office and went went away with it. Well the APC led government promised CHANGE, but they never promised POSITIVE or GOOD CHANGE. Welcome to the "CHANGED" Nigeria. Gradually drifting backwards towards military regime.

WeALTHY ChIC said...

Am not surprised he's among them. Irresponsible woman beater.

Jimi Abaje warned us abt dis........ APC youth where are you........... SMH

shameless man, assuming you lost the election and pdp is still the ruling party sahara reporters would have still been on course for you,now its your turn to have a taste of your own medicine they have suddenly lost course,apc cant bring change, not with this kinda scumbag

Arsenal said...

I feel like crippling this idiot already.
His dirty mouth be running like nsi afosisa.
Useless bunch.

For the fact that this man is (EBIRA)IGBIRA. I have no case against him because they always act b4 they think. Bcos of you i will always travel to the nearby country, post and come back to 9ja. I am very sure you want to bring this up to divert the attention of all Nigerian. I mean you and the rest of your BARAWO caucus. God in heaven will punish you. I do not blame you, i blame all the people that wsted their votes for you. This is your final political post mind you. Very local senator posting cars, drinks, living room....Omo oju o rolari to somo re ni Olaniyonu.

I have been reading Saharareporters for a long time and generally I have come to realize that what they publish mostly turns out to be true. Dino Melaye knows that. He knows that their stories are mostly true. I say mostly because there are also stories which eventually don't come out in the public beyond the saharareporters reporting, because we are in a country where many wrongs are swept under the carpet. Not that those stories are eventually proven to be wrong. Dino Melaye knows that SR's only fault till this very moment is that they can be one-sided( which is bad). SR may know that 2 men are thieves, they will tell you only about one of the men being a thief if it so pleases them. They may not tell you about the other man. Dino knows that they don't tell lies but they can be biased in their reportage.

Dino, the world is at your feet. It feels good up there, surely.

Nse ifafana etemi...Abasi mbok!

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

Respect ko
Wife battery

Dino d lap dog. Woman beater. Can anything good come out of his mouth sef. Tsheww

Is this same Dino who was (pretending to be) "champion of d masses" and 'anti corruption' crusader' only yesterday? What short memory; well our senator is now cruising & flaunting a Rolls-Royce, (on Senator's salary?) so what do u expect!!

Gag bill.

If Saharareporters is your target, go and ask Jeffrey Archer(UK) how he ended up in prison. Be careful, senators!

Seriously Linda, I think from my own point of view, The senate of the Federal republic of Nigeria mean well on this because
“True freedom is impossible without a mind made free by discipline.”
― Mortimer J. Adler.
As laudable as their aim appear, there's need to organize a public hearing so as to hear from the practitioners on the modalities for passing such a law. A balance is needed to be stroke, because criticism and unnecessary bickering can never help solve this.
Regards the guy (tope oluwa) on channels earlier today, I think he over stepped his bound, he took it too personal as if he's having a biff with them.He shouldn't have transferred his aggression that way, except he's sponsored.

You demand respect from people who voted you in ?? So this is how u disregard the tax payer?? Seriously, it is like these guys have forgotten that they are CIVIL SERVANTS n a servant is suppose to serve n not demand respect....

Emeka4life said...

Stop exposing any form of corruption of power, shikena.
The powerful deserve some respect when it comes to misuse of their power.

You demand respect from people who voted you in ?? So this is how u disregard the tax payer?? Seriously, it is like these guys have forgotten that they are CIVIL SERVANTS n a servant is suppose to serve n not demand respect....

Its so funny, boko boko have bn posting tinz on social media buh dey av nt bn apprehended. Criminals r on ground koro koro, dm no c, na social media..well i trust trolls..

This Dino deserves to be beaten.

Emeka4life said...

Same medium helped to usher in the APC dominated regime by exposing the misrule of PDP and their plans for rigging the elections.
The APC treasury looters are planning to silence this voice ahead of 2019. Old wine in new bottle, the Nigeria story.

Well, for me myself and I, I think they're making a lot of noise of recent bc freedom of speech includes the freedom to offend people not the other way round.

All those that voted for ds idiots in power. Una go see mama, call am papa....u guyz should just watch n see. This stupid/ present administration will take us 30yrs backwards. U can just imagine what these buffons are contemplating in 2015??? They ain't even talking about how to stabilize n make PMS available ds yuletide season! Is ds nonsense they are contemplating!!! No PMS, No light...Nothing to show for der 6months!!! see oga Dino... ofcourse he will be @d fore front of ds nonsense policy. why won't he?? He knows he is always misbehaving n doesn't want to be outed again n again. Mumu, Today Sahara is no longer serious, cos they ain't playing ur tune no more! May God save d hell hole call Nigeria, Things just keep getting from bad to worse. I pity ds great country, it is well. #SMH #sideeyes@Dino.

Senseless idiot.

But you can use social media to label every successful girl prettier than you a street walker and peddle other lies abi

I'm sadness not cos of the bill alone but these bunch of animals that parade themselves as senators that trying to Coerce this draconian law would not suffer it cos they're above the law but the useless, visionless, hopeless good for nothing Nigerian youth (masses)that worship this he goat are the ones that will still be at the receiving end. My daily prayer is that as this jackass refuse to repent nature should take all the heartless deceptive politicians in Nigeria for that country to be a better place for the innocent ones that they animals in human skin subject to hardship on daily basis.

The law will be binding on us all as Nigerians inclusive of those who passed it. If U are pertubed by the passage or existence of such law, then U are probably a peddler of lies and unfounded propagander.

Lol! Linda dey para o. Wet in u dey fear?

My dear Linda this is the hand of esau but the voice of Jacob playing out! Anyhow you look at it, freedom of expression will lose. I'm glad you observed that these men that were champions of free speech and rode of its back during GEJ administration have now realised it's inadequacy. We all have every reason to be scared. THIS IS HOW OPPRESSION STARTS - SEEMINGLY HARMLESS AND INNOCENT LAWS BY government to 'safeguard' the people.

'who determines what is false? '

That's it...What if the person denies it? Who knows the truth? Linda ikeji,You're smart!

Bonerio what's your opinion, ur party wan put you for jail. Omojuwa and his gang are not saying anything Abi brown envelop done seal their. Mouth?

Some of us were born into money but still went ahead to make more money we don't need the your rags to riches display. Not everyone came from the gutters dear lily

I hope this bill passes so you can learn to earn a living the right way. Publishing lies and displaying how insecure you are for the world is comical. Old money isn't loud or arrogant lily. There will always be girls that are prettier than you, find a healthy way to cope with that fact. Sad you have to be rich for men to want you, this must be devasting much for you. Much luv dear

Lol....they want to take her daily bread.....lol

So wot are u doing on d useless blog.idiot.

Nyc1

Exactly oooo.mr respect.he's expected to serve d nation and now hez demanding for respect.fool

Greedy idiot. Go and open urs lets see if you will succeed

Funso Samuel said...

This man is a BIG goat. We have succeeded in using our thumbs to nail/kill ourself in this country o. We have been scammed. APC, thunder fire una o

Where is Bonario? Abokithewarrigoat nko? Haven't seen you guys comments yet o

this igbo ghel no care about all this grammar una dey write hia na traffic she dey find for her business. Since the house for banana na so so professor come full hia. mission accomplished shake me

Playing with fire smally one day you go chop white snail

For those who don't know, Nigeria cannot be America, and America connot be Nigeria. We are culturally different.Moreso, any development or advancement achieved alongside lack of morality, responsibility and accountability for what we do or say in private or in public is a development/advancement destined to crumble some day. It's ruin awaits, it's just a matter of time.

Freedom without conscience is oppression. your freedom should not become another person's bondage. Please be accountable to what you say or do. Be responsible.

Kels417 said...

Abeg who rude pass Dino, c me c respect as if he knws d meaning

Hehe hehe na sooooo i trust oyibo America no get her time

AGB said...

I'm feeling you on your stance on this issue.

Shee una wan change? Now una don see am. When Amaechi and co bullied and insulted president Goodluck, he did not jail him because he believes in Democracy, now Baba wants to jail us for saying our minds. Now I know many people will be regretting voting for this deceitful government.

And I know it's Buhari that is sponsoring this bill, he doesn't want what happened to Gej to happen to him, let him just be. Doing like snake. Ona amiari ka agwo.

The mistake that we Nigerian makes will always hunt us.. This Dino man is not even fit to be a senator. He has no business in the senate in the first place... I mean how can a man who can manage his very small little home dictate what happens in a big country called Nigeria. Dino is a disappointment #SadFace😩

anonymous said...

The national assembly is not the issue on this matter. The person sponsoring this bill is the president. He is using his cronies in the national assembly to do the job. He knows he can't withstand the barrage of criticism from the Nigerian people for not been able to move the country forward. He is someone who can't really defend himself like leaders in developed countries do and so to continue from where he stopped in 1985 by placing a gag on opposition, he is now trying to legalize illegality by using his puppets in the assembly to do the dirty job. If Buhari's is not the one sponsoring this satanic bill, why haven't he come out to say he is going to veto the bill if it gets to his desk? Any bill that will bring succor to nigerians, it doesn't go anywhere but bills that will bring smile to members of the national assembly are approved with immediacy. Bills to create jobs, fight insecurity and advance technology have not even been imagined in the august body, yet the one to silence people is what is more important to them. If you know you can't take criticism be it accurate or not, never become a politician

They are banning useless false post and insinuations alike THEY ARE NOT BANNING THE INTERNET. Please you can still go online and do positive things for your self not indulge In these mind rotting soul-less blogs

Lewis said...

That gun is coming to your head soon from the youths of this country

Although i almost always never read my comments on this blog, i must still say that i support the bill because of the excesses of some of the bloggers. Going by your argument here, should we have made Rape, Stealing, 419 and Assault civil cases? Civilized people know how to conduct themselves with decorum but uncivilized people do not. Consequently there is need to reign them in. The Bill simply requires bloggers and social media crusaders to apply the Golden Rule in broadcasting their views. Write about others as you would like them write about you. Please what is wrong with that?

Hehe.. Lol @ Dino Melaye being a street smart urchin. Is it only him? Na dem boku NASS. Naijas want real changes NOW.

Dis is a shocker to d likes of Bonario n his evil broda aboki. U no longer comment on all posts. Ntoooor na God catch una. Dats d way d cookies crumble

Tom said...

There are always two sides of everything. These wolves called senators are trying to erode every mode of checks on their demonic activities. I have never seen a generation of foolish leaders like these senators. Never altruistic in nature. You all should commit suicide because China with all forms of deficiencies in their land and socio -economic clime has achieved more than our country which has all the resources needed to be the greatest in the comity of nations.Shame on all the African leaders who has brought us this pain and shame.Shame on the set of youth who organise awards and nominate their lazy friends and build an elite team of youths marginalising the real gifted ones bereft of opportunities. We need a youth Party for the next election. We refuse to be in the youth arm of any political party. National redemption party. We need to redeem our nation from this plague of wicked and horrific leaders.Service sector is the brainpower of every economy. The so called economists are just technical disasters to our economic growth.I weep for this nation.

@Eze thank U for ur voice of reasoning. The bill if passed into law is binding on all of us, including those who passed it. The intent behind it is a good one. One person's freedom cannot become another person's bondage. The numerous opposing comments and barrage of insults we see from pple towards the NASS as regards this bill goes to show how many Nigerians have become morally bankrupt. Pple want continue to say or do things they are not prepared to be accountable for.Is this what civilization is all about? No! Sir.

BLUNT said...

You accuse her of insecurity? I bet, your write-up reeks of the purest form of insecurity. Just like you said, "old money isn't loud...". You also abused that. You're codedly and beefly loud. At least in her own case, we're sure there's money- new money or not! We don't know about you. You might be typing this from the dingy face-me-I-face-you single room where you're even a sqatter. Hatred is fatal my friend.

Watevaaaaaa ur just as cluless as your leader

Can't**

When u ppl wr using it against GEJ shebi it was swt abi? Mtcheeewwwwwwwww... I had to stop twitting in dose daiz cos all u saw thr was hate frm ds apc voltrons. Now, e dun reach una turn, u ppl can't swallow d bitter pill abi??? Wobbish

1 million Gbosa for ur comment. Adding to it he is a bastard Okun tout.

To enter government.....did you go to school my 3year old daughter wouldn't say that

@anon: Wow: I don't believe I just read that. Are u for real? I am also born into money. I want u to knw that some of us too don't judge by material things because we have an understanding that money grow winds and fly. Pls can u drop that ur bad bele. Kai that's deep but full of envy.
Mesh say so.

Tresh E said...

Lol@post in a nearby country and come back... Can't stop laughing...

You are the biggest fool ever liveth...endtime fool(in Akpoko master's voice' who told you she Is insecure... Just like you have the right to voice your thoughts and opinion, so does she... Blogging and journalism is a legit means of income... She makes her money, pays her tax and has made a reasonable contribution to her society in her little way. Get a life fool and quit being in others affairs.

You this old fashion uncivilized he-goat... Do you even understand the implication of this? No you don't afterall it's your son or daughter that opened your Facebook page for you...please if you don't have anything good to say; buy kola nut and dry gin and chill..

Hahahaha..... Mama linda don't worry, they can do nothing

I guess GEJ will be laughing with arms crossed.. watching the reactions of Nigeria to "change". Me too I dey watch

@ Nnenna george & Funsho samuel, ar u sure d two of u read meanin into what Dino is sayin here. U guys should use ur head before rainin abuse on him dman was makin sense..

Some of them are trying to hide undercover, if you do something good your integrity stands outstanding and vice versa

Dino the voice of the people is the voice of God.. Be careful!!

I knoooooooow!

He doesn't know!!!

Let them stop their kids from schooling abroad n see that is not funny. That's the bill they should be passing

Even if they block her, my dear Linda has the money she can spend for more than ten yrs

Lmaooooooo

Mr give me respect, You will get no respect, while there's still fuel scarcity and the country is still lagging behind in education, job creation, technology, electricity etc. Why don't you make a loud noise for Electricity provider to provide constant electricity else they will be put in prison, or a bill that will make people happy and jump from their seat in gladness.

You and your senators are bullying Nigerians and its unacceptable, you cannot stop our rights to express our discontent on social media. We voted you in, we can also kick all of you out.

Don't wipe bros. No mind them.

Then let them setup theirs. It shows social media is quite objective though. Because this same media pointed out GEJs excesses and he lost. They want to party abi?

C.h.a.n.g.e who want change? Change is here. Hahahaha. APC change. Thank God I never voted for them bcos t knew this is the only change they can bring. Losers

Abeg block make una block am o we go still tweet, may be they don't know how IT savvy we are in this country block my IP and i will use another country IP how about that. Dino we dare you and your APC worms...

This guys should concentrate on senses and not nonsense.