Photos: Former NIMASA boss Akpobolokemi, 3 others arraigned over N2.3bn fraud | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 4 December 2015

Photos: Former NIMASA boss Akpobolokemi, 3 others arraigned over N2.3bn fraud

Press statement from EFCC
The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission today December 4, 2015 arraigned a former Director General of Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency Patrick Ziadeke Akpobolokemi, Executive Director Captain Eziekiel Bala Agaba, Ekene Nwakuche, Governor Amechee Juan, Blockz and Stonz Limited and Al-Kenzo Logistics Limited before Justice Ibrahim Buba of the Federal High Court Lagos on twenty-two count charge of conspiracy fraudulent conversion and Money Laundering.

The accused persons are alleged to have fraudulently converted the sum of N2, 365,600,000 meant for the implementing of the International Ship and Port Security (ISPS) Code which NIMASA was the designated implementation agency. The former DG was said to have gotten presidential approval for the release of the said monies through the office of the then National Security Adviser to President Goodluck Jonathan, Colonel Sambo Dasuki. For the purpose of executing the ISPS, a committee chaired by Captain Bala was set up by Akpobolokemi. Other members of the committee are Captain Warredi Enisuoh Mr Vincent Udoye, Governor Amechee Juan, Captain OBF Ola dipole and two NPA staff. The committee was mandated to coordinate the activities relating to the ISPS in line with international regulations and the scope in Nigeria.

Investigation, however, revealed that, upon receiving the money, the committee instead of executing the project diverted the entire sum to their personal use, using companies owned by them and their associates to lauder the illegal proceeds. One of the counts read that, "you Patrick Ziadeke Akpobolokemi, Captain Eziekiel Agaba, Ekene Nwakuche, Governor Amechee Juan between 23rd of December 2013 and 13th March 2014 in Lagos within the jurisdiction of this court did commit an offence to wit; conversion of the sum N437,726,666,66 (Four Hundred and Thirty Seven Million, Seven Hundred and Twenty Six Thousand , Sixty and Six Kobo) property of the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency and thereby committed an offence contrary to Section 15 (1) of the Money Laundering ( Prohibition ) ( Amendment ) Act 2012 and punishable under section 15 ( 3 ) of the same Act”. The accused persons pleaded not guilty to all the charges read to them. In view of the plea of the accused persons, prosecuting Counsel Rotimi Oyedepo requested for trial date and also prayed the court to remand the accused persons in prison custody.

Counsel representing the accused persons: Joseph Nwobike, SAN for the first accused person, Pascal Madu for the second accused person, Lanre Olayinka for the third, fifth and sixth accused persons, A. I Asemundara for the fourth accused person, filed bail applications praying the court to admit their clients to bail. Justice Buba granted the accused persons bail in the sum of N50, 000,000 each with one surety in like sum. The surety must be a resident of Lagos with a landed property to be verified by the court registrar. Each accused and the surety must deposit their international passport and a passport photograph with the court registry.

He further added that each accused must sign an undertaking that he will not delay the trial. Justice Buba also ordered that the accused persons be remanded in prison pending perfection of their bail terms. The case was subsequently adjourned to December 7, 2015 for the commencement of trial.

Wilson Uwujaren
Head, Media & Publicity
4th December, 2015

41 comments:

Kikiki they so look it *grabs hot tea*

Where is their proof and evidence before laying such allegations?

Na wa!
Almost all recent fraudulent activities involves dasuki.
#bringbackourmoney

Nawaooo so who come be saint for this Nigeria????
Nobody!!!

#Dakinzz

EFCC is working!

Good news

Una go hear nwìii. Sai baba

edDREAMZ said...

Is obvious he will never be touched judging frm his smile though.....

Amechi handy work. If a thief can be a minister of federal Republic of Nigeria then all other thieves should be left alone.

All the Nigerian celebs that this ex nimasa DG gave money to should be arrested as well. I know 3 of them ass kissers nd if not that I know u won't post this if I do, I would have listed them immediately.. Jst a few months ago he was untouchable nd unseeable. Errm T(not the real name *wink*) a Nigerian musician was one of his highest beneficiaries.

Stealing is not corruption.said by former Oga on top.Thank God stealing is corruption now.We are all waiting for the out come

tomjerryswit said...

al ds recovery de level of hunger in our country is bcomin alarmin。。。tomjerryswit

Will they ever prosecute them if found guilty?

See their faces. Awon ole burukus! Linda take note!

Hehehehehe where is all d stolen money going mbok? If I can remember vividly NIGERIA is still broke.

Hmmn lego

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

EFCC r working!

Nawa ooooooo Nigeria 4 film

They yaff finish dis country ooooooooooooooo... dee

This corruption fight would claim lots of souls!

God bless you my day it took pdp to be unpopular in 16 years,apc in 6 months r failing badly o

That's good

#iT wiLL oNLy gEt bEttER
#It MuSt eNd iN prAiSE

This idiot that woul"nt give you a job in NIMSA if you are not his tribes man. He carried on as lord of the manor. Too bad.

Who confirmed they are thieves. Be very careful with your comments. They could be your father,brother or inlaw. : let the court decide please.

Good 4 Dem.

D judge though... for a total sum of N3.4B u grant bail to d tune of N50k each. Very interesting country. If na poor man thief now, hmmmmmm....

Shut up. Didnt you read where they said the funds were diverted into their personal accounts and they never used the fund to do what the funds were meant for? Is that not enough evidence? Pls always read well and understand what you are reading before u talk senselessly

Sorry thieves cannot be my inlaw or brother. They should face the law.

Gbam! Them don dey catch them one by one

Hmmm that's to tell u how wicked that Dasuki are. Change is here.

Ekene, those who are blessed with benevolent spirit should remain humble.

Always read carefully olodo. 50m not 50k.

Ekene so all this shakara na stolen money. Ij Johnson you no do well at all. What did you achieve by sharing that pics on FB..

Amie said...

Its remaining u

Lol....oghene biko

TOCHI said...

And Zenith bank wife be carrying Hermes and Chanel bags 3months salary!

Don't mind the stupid efcc,it's their fathers and grandfathers that stole money,idiots doing rubbish

Efcc doing shit and rubbish,and all the cattle rearers in the name of Hausa mind you Nimasa generated the highest revenue during this mans stay,the university of maritime built?the seafearers programme this Hausa people are just pained cause he built school in his hometown,y'all can suck a dick

Its a good examplke of selective justice , so there is nothing special about this. I believe Juan Amechi Governor and other will be vindicated. Thousands of cases Fmr governor Amechi Roti I yet EFCC never made any move.They are are also trying to Frustrate Tompolo even when he sued them to court.

Its a good example of what i term selective justice, so there is nothing special about this. Juan Amechi Governor and other will be vindicated shortly. Why is it that there is search light on Perceived PDP supportters alone? Are they all angels in Apc?
I think the original essence of EFCC is gradually eroding off.
Are there certain people they want down at all cost?