Jared Fogle, ex-Subway spokesman, sentenced to 15 years in prison for pedophilia | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 20 November 2015

Jared Fogle, ex-Subway spokesman, sentenced to 15 years in prison for pedophilia

Jared Fogle emerged from obscurity to become the unlikely face of one of America's biggest restaurant chains, earning a small fortune by touting the benefits of a healthy lifestyle that included Subway sandwiches. He gained fame for significant weight loss, attributed to eating Subway sandwiches, and was a spokesperson for the company's advertising campaigns from 2000 to 2015.
But his wholesome public image was only that, and on Thursday he was sentenced to more than 15 years in prison for trading in child pornography and having sex with underage prostitutes.
Fogle, 38, sought leniency, apologizing to his victims and telling the court in a tearful statement that he was raised with good values by a good family, but succumbed to self-centred "deception and lies." He said he wished he had realized long ago that he had a problem.
"I had become dependent on alcohol, pornography and prostitutes," he told the judge. "I want to redeem my life. I want to become a good, decent person. I want to rebuild my life."
Judge Tanya Walton Pratt wasn't swayed, though, and gave him a harsher sentence than the 12 1/2 years that prosecutors had sought. She also ordered him to submit to a lifetime of post-prison supervision and fined him $175,000.
"What a gift, to have such a professional windfall fall in your lap," Pratt said, referring to the lucrative deal Subway gave Fogle after he lost more than 200 pounds in college, partly by eating its sandwiches. But she said Fogle blew the chance he'd been given by living a double life and pointed out that the crimes he committed weren't victimless.

33 comments:

Good for him.

Serves him right. Linda take note!

Na wa o. Wolves in sheep clothing. End time things

#It wiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

Serves him right. Linda take note!

Eiya...wat a life

Good for him. Wonder what's attractive about a child's body.

Kojevspin D Realist said...

I love this judge. Stupid man. 15 yrs is kool n he will meet some black dudes in jail dat will do to him wat he did to those young boys.

Wonders shall never cease to happen...

Ehn... He can now redeem his life in prison. Fifteen years should be enough time for sober reflection and attitudinal change.

Serves him right, a lesson to others like him.

Eyah Watch ORITSE FEMI new music video GIVE THANKS

So when he was fubu,it didn't come to his head to do underage girls,it was when he became healthy that the pedophile in him came out ba?
My friend serve your sentence

hrm paul ojeih said...

The law works in america he got 15years out here children get raped and nothing is done wat a damn shame

Baddest Puta said...

Fame changes people. Smh

What a shame... Double your hustle by the hook not by the crook.

Punishment well deserved!

Good for him.

Na wao!

perfect!

mccoy said...

All this silly biased judges!
Where yhe "underaged prostitutes" forced?

Not that I support paedophilia though
Reasons why women shouldn't be given power!

Peace nwadire said...

Odiegwuoooo

Ice_shock said...

He would certainly go back to his prev size in jail
#needanalibitojoinmetastethenewgeishasardine

We all need to be careful with the kind of life we live especially when heaven smiles down on us and our accounts begin to grow cos that's when we get most temptations that might be our downfall back to even to a worse situation that we were before the windfall if we succumb to it.

Good riddance. Justice well served!

Sorry bro

Wow! Isn't he the guy that used to make guest appearances on the Biggest Loser?...shame.

Too bad man. Punishment well seved.

See how he messed his life up because of his foolish life style mtewwwwww!!!

And off he goes with his small fortune!

Good for him!!

He deserves the punishment

Read this Incredible Story Now! I Should Be Dead By Now

serves him right