Fox News anchor apologizes for saying Nigeria is 'right next to Mali' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 21 November 2015

Fox News anchor apologizes for saying Nigeria is 'right next to Mali'

Celebrity Fox News anchor, Harris Faulkner, has apologized to Nigeria after stating on the American news giant that Nigeria was "right next to Mali" during her reportage of the Mali Hostage crisis during which at least 27 people died.

Miss Faulkner had made the claim live but was challenged by Nigerian born US TV host, Reno Omokri who told her she had "misinformed" Americans and negatively portrayed Nigeria.

The news anchor later fessed up in a tweet admitting that she was in error but maintaining that Nigeria and Mali were in the same area to which an American responded by saying "You're wrong Harris Nigeria is sub-Saharan/West African while Mali is in the Sahel region". 

Harris Faulkner is a 6 time Emmy Award Winner.

47 comments:

He needs to go back and write neco

OK, we don hear attention seeker.

CHRIS SKYE said...

Better be

Lol she just didn't wanna swallow the humble pie.Admit it .Shikenan

Thanks 4 educating her abeg.....must we be right next to bad bad things always

You for no apologise na...let me blast the living hell out of your life.

Get it right mam

She dey mad

Since they realised their mistake and apologised it's all good.

2 Models Urgently Needed for a video shoot tomorrow in Festac Pay 10,000 Models Must be fair Ping if interested BBM 2BCF882B ASAP

Good thing she corrected herself after the goof.

Apologies accepted.

Guys, Will you donate this organ of yours for $35,000.00?

Cuz terrorists attacked them, it became automatically close to Nigeria. Tsheww

Nigeria is so notorious that they wanna attach anything bad or any bad news to us.. What a poor country called Nigeria 😩

They just open their mouth and things, y not research first? -originalityundisputed

Too much of lie lie z worrying her... fake news people

Chiisunshine(carolips) said...

Nigeria is becoming way popular

Very good respond from Reno Omokri thre.

They keep making such blunders on national TV.

SMH at this lady

the guy is not informed.

sparkle said...

Lol, I tire dear

Labo said...

She's right though, they are both in West Africa

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Sounding lik a breaking record!

Biko Nigeria and Mali, aren't both in West Africa or wht is dis missed interpretation all abt.

Racism

Sunmi said...

Ngeria don suffer

In wat way biko? On geography or in terrorism?

When Reno Omokri turn Nigeria born US TV host??

Good. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Thanks reno......................

id meriam said...

He or she?

And that's why he/she thinks she/he is beyond errors?

mira cookie said...

Go bleach em na.. models must be fair ni

Even the useless CNN said the attack in Cameroon was by the "Nigerian Boko Haram". To them an we get BH

Dats much berra! Linda take note!

Hehe.......she's wrong but,we no be bad thing?
Atleast mali na poor nation,dem dey suffer...
We na rich nation,we dey suffer! We be worse thing ,abeg..
Ps..our terrorism pass their own.

He apologise stil making thesame mistake......she shud hav just enter google na......lady google is ya frnd

Na she abeg....._ u guys keep sayin #HE#

Fish Hook said...

How about NIGERIA changing its name or NIGER REPUBLIC changing its name? The two countries share a common border and Hausa language. They can also merge to become ONE COUNTRY. It is always very confusing especially when you refer the citizens as Nigerian and Nigerienne respectively. These names are colonial from Britain and France respectively. Gold Coast, Dahomey and Upper Volta have long changed their colonial names. We can call Nigeria LOKOJA refering to the confluence point of the three Rivers that define Nigeria, and the citizens as Lokojians instead of Nigerians. This might be the inspiration needed to reform renew reposition reinvigorate rebrand and rebuild Nigeria. Lokoja had once been the capital of Nigeria before Independence.

What organ?

With emphasis on geography..

Urenna said...

Some of this Foreigners could be soo dumb ehh, Emmy awards my foot! She is dumb! Yes I mean dumb(She refuses to accept her mistake), MUMU....when it comes to news concerning Africa they just make a fool of themselves..Some of them still refer Africa as a country bunch of olodos(dull brains),ewu Hausa(Hausa goat),ndi izu maghu(Stupid people)....LOL

These people need to stop thinking of Africa as a country but a continent! They need to start doing their research!

I love d fact Dat we r not sitting down n folding our hands when dis foreigners r talking rubbish about us so bcos wahala occurred we r next to Mali abegg ooo we no DE next to Mali madam Emmy knw Dat mums americans