Photo: Man sets himself on fire outside Japanese embassy | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 12 August 2015

Photo: Man sets himself on fire outside Japanese embassy

An 81 year old South Korean man identified simply as Choi set himself on fire this morning Wednesday, August 12th outside the Japanese embassy in Seoul during a large protest over Japan's forced recruitment of sex slaves to service military brothels during World War II.

Other protesters tried to douse the fire with blanket and bottled water before emergency services arrived. He was eventually removed to an ambulance and rushed to the hospital. Fortunately his condition is not critical and he is expected to recover eventually.

The protest on Wednesday drew close to 1,000 protestors to the embassy ahead of Saturday's 70th anniversary of the end of Japan's 1910-45 colonial rule over the Korean peninsula. Although Japan insists the issue was settled in the 1965 bilateral agreement that restored diplomatic ties between the two nations, which saw Tokyo make a total payment of $800 million in grants or loans to its former colony, South Korea says Japan has still not done enough to atone for the forced recruitment of South Korean women to work in Japanese military brothels as so-called "comfort women".

The issue has strained relations between South Korea and Japan for years with South Korean President Park Geun-Hye saying there can be no meeting with Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe until Japan makes full amends.

Self-immolation in South Korea was common during the pro-democracy movement of the 1980s and early-90s, when a number of student activists set themselves on fire during public demonstrations. A 56-year-old disabled man died after setting himself on fire in a dispute with his landlord five months ago.

Image credit: AFP

39 comments:

Ndi ala everywhere!

The caption contradicts the story.

Linda pls how does the headline and story relate biko,i'm sure ure been carried away with the transgege stuff

*iyawo Obama

dudette said...

Linda u just got me confused...

Linda, what has the topic of the story got to do with the story itself. Your love for gay/ transgender issues is messing your brain up I guess

Joblesshousewife said...

phew

Seriously i no understand this post shah...

The caption and the write up are different Haba Lindsy bae di kwa high this morning o lol #onelovefromsnow#

I said it ooo.. I'm sure throughout next week, this is the question we would be answering! Last month it was: this lady says she looks like Omotola".. well it's all fun.. but the transgender this not sweet atall. Rom 12:2

LINDA NA THE HEADLINE IS DIFF ABI NA OLD AGE?...

I don't know.

SMH

Now the caption matches the story.

May his soul rest in peace.

Mumu man!

Dis kain life wey sweet like dis? I De mad? Oga next time try poison, no one can save u for DAT one

Linda Dearie u don't seem to have betta gist for us 2day coz u have just been blogging about Trans gender.pls don't kill our Vibe dis morning.SirSlim.

oscar said...

why is the topic of transgender so much on your blog lately,and how is a man setting himself on fire in protest got to do with the topic of transgender...are you planning on becoming a transgender...if so let us know...cos your stories are becoming unappealing,we come to your blog for information and entertainment...but this is ridiculous,i don't live in Nigeria,and seriously for the past 4-5 years i come here to know whats happening back home,during the elections,i literally slept on your blog,everyone around me now visits your blog because of me,but seriously your blogging style and content is seriously going down...and yes...IM TIRED OF THE KARDASHIANS TOO!!!!

Da fuck with this self immolation ish.

Dumb Fuck.

Lol...the caption really got me...nawa o

Scratching my head, Linda I no get

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Alloy read
He is not dead

I tell you o! Dis one na serious madness. Linda take note!

Na wa o, onye na way ya.....it is well.

Choiiii..just like his name

These two have a long standing history before and after world war. Can't believe they are still at it.

anu ewu like him..... die for nothing dead brain

HMMMMM AT 81???TOMJERRYSWIT

Beautiful Rina± said...

if not madness, tell me y a man ll set himself ablaze n tink he is punishing anoda person? some peeps are out of dis world sha

Choi!

Hmmm. Wht was he trying to do all bcos to prove a point or wht d essence to die and send himsef via short cut to hell...
Thank God he survived it.

Lol...southkorea is now a very wealthy country on par with japan, that's y dey can talk. If only nigeria will develop some sense mayb we too can demand apologies from Britain, buh we are far more comfortable licking their feet. Mstchew.

Get a job

No be small ndi ara o!

Jimoh Rapport said...

Crazy because God doesn't support suicide!

See name choiii.

Whow..