Drama at Ooni’s palace: Wives, children barred from Ooni’s burial | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 15 August 2015

Drama at Ooni’s palace: Wives, children barred from Ooni’s burial

The final burial rites of the late Ooni of Ife, Oba Okunade Sijuwade, Olubuse II, was performed on Friday, but his wives, children and family members were unable to pay their last respects as they were barred from the programme.
Some people who had expected to see the body of the monarch lie in state were disappointed as his remains were neither brought out for people to see nor was any casket displayed during the burial service.
A lot of dignitaries were in attendance like Vice-President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, Rear Admiral Akin Aduwo (retd.), Gen. Alani Akinriande (retd.), Senator Babajide Omoworare, Ondo State Governor Olusegun Mimiko.
Traditional prayers were offered for the late monarch by Tadimole Awo Ilare, Chief Faloba. The event was conducted in less than three hours.
A source at the palace said that no member of the royal family was allowed to see the remains of the monarch since he was brought back to the palace.
He said:
“As we are holding this interdenominational service here, those concerned are performing their own rites inside the palace where the body is kept.
ADVERTISEMENT
“You can see that the gates of the palace are locked and nobody is allowed to go inside. Nobody can see him again except those who will bury him.
“The wives and children were not even supposed to see his corpse at all but tradition was broken this time around because he (Sijuwade) died in London. But no family member can see him again. Those performing the rites are there now and they will complete it today (Friday). He will be buried in the middle of the night, but nobody will be there apart from those who will lower him into the grave.”
The source said those who saw the bodies of the previous Oonis were attacked by smallpox and did not survive the ailment.

A monarch in Osun State, who spoke on the condition of anonymity, disclosed that traditional rulers of the town went to various shrines, including the Obalufon shrine in Ife to perform some rites for Oba Sijuwade on Friday.

He said the traditional rulers later went into Ooni’s palace shortly before an interdenominational burial service for the king commenced on the palace premises.
The monarch said:
“Nobody can see the Ooni, not even the US President, Barrack Obama. We are with him. It’s only the initiates who can see him. His wives and children cannot see him.”
During the service, the Preacher, Bishop of Ife Diocese of Anglican Communion, Rt. Rev. Oluranti Odubogun, said the monarch’s demise demonstrated that every mortal man would die no matter their status.
He said:
“Baba has gone. He will stand before the King of Kings who will judge what he did while here on earth.
“Some persons have started jostling to succeed him now but we must all remember the judgement day when we will give account of all that we did on earth.
“I urge you to make today a memorable one and give your life to Christ. Jesus is the only way, accept him today.”
As the interdenominational service was about to start, worshippers of Oro cult in Ife, also called Isoro, stormed the venue and attempted to stop the service. The worshippers claimed that it was a sacrilege to hold an interdenominational service for the departed king. And as the service went on outside the palace, the traditional worshippers sang and danced inside the palace.

As part of the palace tradition and custom, women are forbidden from entering the palace while traditional rites are being performed for a passing monarch.

During the interdenominational service, sounds of gunshots suddenly rent the air, making some of those present at the service run for safety.
A source said that more gunshots would be fired later in the day, as from 5.00 pm, adding that curfew to last for seven days would start by 4.00 pm on Friday.

One of the palace chiefs, Sooko Adelugba, said that many parts of the town had already been deserted by residents who were eager to comply with the curfew as announced by the palace.
One of the initiates told one of our correspondents who had tried to interview him that it was an abomination to speak publicly of traditional rites offered for a departed Ooni.

Meanwhile, fresh facts have emerged as to why the monarch would be buried beside the immediate past Ooni, Oba Adesoji Aderemi.

The mausoleum is said to be located at the rear end of the palace.
A palace source said the final resting place of Sijuwade had been constructed in a mausoleum inside the Palace of Oba Aderemi, adding that the cemetery inside the palace is called Ile Nla (mighty house).

The worshippers of Oro cult in Ife, also called ‘Isoro’, clashed with residents who were erecting tents for the interdenominational burial service at the frontage of Enuwa Palace.
A prominent chief in Ife, who spoke on the condition of anonymity, said the ‘Isoro’ descended on the people who erected the tents because they (initiates) wanted to observe a seven-day burial rites for the departed king.

The chief said, “The ‘Isoro’ saw the erection of tents for an interdenominational burial service as a sacrilege against custom and tradition.
“They descended on the people erecting the tents and flogged them heavily. They destroyed the tents and swore never to allow anybody do any interdenominational service at the palace.”
The chief revealed that the state government had to wade into the crisis before the service was allowed.
He said, “It took the intervention of officials of the state government, who appealed to the ‘Isoro’ to allow the people to hold the interdenominational service before the issue was resolved. If not for the intervention of the state government, the interdenominational service would not have been allowed.”

It was revealed that Sijuwade’s eldest son, Tokunbo, and some other family members flew to England immediately the monarch breathed his last to join the king’s three wives, Morisola, Ladun and Odunola – who were already there.
Morisola is the eldest wife, Ladun is the second wife and Odunola, who is the daughter of the immediate past Orangun of Ila, is the youngest wife.
It was learnt that the family members flew down to England to pay their last respect to the departed monarch.

The Araba of Osogbo land, Chief Yemi Elebuibon, who spoke with one of our correspondents on Friday, disclosed that the corpse of the Ooni belonged to Ile-Ife and not his family.
He said:
“The traditional burial rites of the kings of Ile-Ife and Oyo are strictly complied with and they are comprehensive.
“When the Ooni dies, the body becomes that of the town. The ‘Isoro’ cult group will take over. The ‘Isoro’ initiates are the ones who worship the ‘Oro’ deity.
“It is the ‘Isoro’ people that would inform the various deities, who were worshipped and appeased when the Ooni was crowned, that he (the monarch) is no more.
“It’s a rite. Nothing must stop it.”
The Araba dispelled the belief that the heart of the late king would be fed to the next Ooni.
He said, “The eating of the heart of a departed King by an incoming one belonged to the past. It no longer exists. People still make this insinuation because many are barred from witnessing the burial of a king.
“What the incoming king will eat is the heart of an animal and not that of a human. Nobody would be buried with the Ooni. Nobody would be killed for any form of sacrifice.”
Elebuibon explained that animals are now used for the burial rites of Yoruba Obas because of modernisation, noting that Christianity and Islam also stopped the use of humans for sacrifice when God stopped Abraham from sacrificing his son, Isaac.

Punch

108 comments:

Jazz jazz jazz

What kind of evil tradition is that one kwanu? So what's d essence of d prayers said by d Bishop??? They shld have just followed traditional rites only now...... Na wa o
May his soul RIP

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Like we dunno dat parts of d dead body would be used eventually. Smh

What kind of evil tradition is that one kwanu? So what's d essence of d prayers said by d Bishop??? They shld have just followed traditional rites only now...... Na wa o
May his soul RIP

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Hmmmmmm is aiit....tradition ooo

BECKYS WORLD EVENTS /NAIJA BAKERS BLOG said...

Lies lies lies, I tank God for xtainity. Anytin dat is done in darkness, is secretive. Am yoruba, d heart of the late king is always fed to his successor. No complete body to b buried, it has all being decapitated and shared. What a life! A waste! Vanity upon vanity.

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

jasmine said...

Good morning libers. If no one is to be buried with the ooni, why then did the abobaku take to his heels at the annoucement of the obas demise. What is pursueing him if he won't be buried alive with the oba.

No comment

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Interesting

Barbarians!

It is well.

seyi crown said...

O serious

Ah toh!

Diary of a Naija mom said...

Tradition perhaps have to take its course...

The maid factor: A must read for all ladies.

Shoro niyen,morning y'all

pey said...

At 21st century this shit still goes on smh they need to chill

Na script b dis, chaiiiiiiii.

Yoruba my land.

Auditor/Accountant said...

Well the interdenominational service wouldn't hv taken place if I were to judge blc he wasn't recognised wit them when he was alive. Why do u want to associate wit him now dat he's late.

Seems like yorubas are cursed with illiterate for monarchs...which was is no1 can see the ooni not even barrack obama. I pity d dead ooni sef, his burial is a mess. Cultist that, fetish this.
And what's up with the gist that pple who saw bodies of dead ooni died from smallpox? Smallpox dt has been eradicated since when? Lolzz. Instead of them to bury Some1 in d daytime properly as a human being,it's in d middle of d night. I wish y'all good luck with your 'tradition'. A yoruba friend told me dis stuff about eating d past king's heart before you can ascend d throne, so it's true. Hmm.

Seems like yorubas are cursed with illiterate for monarchs...which was is no1 can see the ooni not even barrack obama. I pity d dead ooni sef, his burial is a mess. Cultist that, fetish this.
And what's up with the gist that pple who saw bodies of dead ooni died from smallpox? Smallpox dt has been eradicated since when? Lolzz. Instead of them to bury Some1 in d daytime properly as a human being,it's in d middle of d night. I wish y'all good luck with your 'tradition'. A yoruba friend told me dis stuff about eating d past king's heart before you can ascend d throne, so it's true. Hmm.

That's tradition for u! In Qua Land, d day the Ntoe or Ndidem dies, he is buried immediately only d initiates, council of chiefs, collage of Atoe and his immediate Family who knws! Whenever they r ready to perform his burial rites, then they ll announce his death and bury him! Meanwhile d head of d next ruling family ll already be leading d kingdom! That's y the kings initiates their wives and sons into the Ekpe custom( cos only an initiated member can see his remains)!

For window blinds, wallpaper and curtains please call 08160856785.

Let the dead bury the dead,,,all yorubas are idol worshipers

D REAL JAY said...

Abobaku

Hmmmmmmmm chukwu zoba mmadu

I don't expect anything less... dee

it's no drama oooo,the wives and d children knws already 4rm d start dt dey won't see d body of their hubby n daddy again immediately he is taken into the palace,and dey also knw d palace is forbidden 4 dem to enta again,it is d tradition of d Town and dey are aware except dey want somtin else to happen to dem,its not surprising to dem @ll.the wives and d children were present @ d interdenomination service 4 d late king,u even showed us dia pics here yestaday

Fetish lifestyle. God forbid. I cant even ve sex wt an occult member, all dos women dat married dat man tried. Dats selling ur soul to d devil.i wonder y ppl struggle for fetish positions. Terrible suituation. God save us all.Smh!

Unto Ceasar what is Ceasar's and unto Christ what is Christ's... Tradition is tradition!

Okay...It is well.

I used to v great respect for d Yorubas bt am shocked to read ds. Sum'1 v to eat anoda person hrt. Gosh

Are you serious?? OMG!

Hmmmm. All dis their traditions and rituals leave me wit doubt dat dis practices r unacceptable and abomination b4 d Lord.

Am amaze dat in dis modern era we stil hav local and old traditional practices stil b carried out b people who don't want to outlive old and devilish practices.

Pls we should hold strongly to dis wise words "“I urge you to make today a memorable one and give your life to Christ. Jesus is the only way, accept him today.”

Those who hav ears let them hear for a word is enough 4d wise!!!

core yorubas will know that this is all according to the tradition..... strictly adhering to the tradition occurs when very important OBAS die i.e Ooni of Ife, Oba akiolu sef...... it's simply tradition that the body will be dismembered and buried in different locations but the heart is to be prepared for the new king as a meal. EDDY!!!

Yoruba and there demonic tradition.am sure that more than ten head we go down with him.
I respect tradition,but this one is above it in this 21 century.

Linda what sort of nonsense tradition is this? They will all go and account for their dirty deeds. So unfortunate at this modernization Era such rubbish is still going on. You a elders take note and change for Better!

Yoruba and there demonic tradition.am sure that more than ten heads we go down with him.
I respect tradition,but this one is above it in this 21 century.

Makavelli said...

You are such a fool like urz is not worst dan d Yorubas.tribalistic hypocrite

Have u seen one before!

Hmmmm. All dis their traditions and rituals leave me wit doubt dat dis practices r unacceptable and abomination b4 d Lord.

Am amaze dat in dis modern era we stil hav local and old traditional practices stil b carried out b people who don't want to outlive old and devilish practices.

Pls we should hold strongly to dis wise words "“I urge you to make today a memorable one and give your life to Christ. Jesus is the only way, accept him today.”

yea it's true. Someone gisted me all about it, I was totally shocked. I didn't even believe if but the person swore it was true. What people do in the name of tradition.
The old Britain had the Celtic druids, same way old Romans had their fetish blood sacrifice festivals, but at some point, there is something called cultural assimilation, where you blend your culture and eradicate the ones that can't apply to how humans live now. So many western countries had fetish practices, halloween and many more others, that would put these ones to shame, but at some point, its all about growing up and blending your culture, preserving what you can to tally with what is morally right, and what you will be proud to identify with. Well...some people are proud to identify with this spectacle, what can I say?

Help me ask them!

Prince Abdul said...

Methuonu ... as if ibo rites are not worse, abeg pack well nd mind ur biz

You don't believe the small pox story? Ever heard of Soponna? We should just thank God for Christianity..nkan be!

Ikenna. I am Yoruba and I do not worship idols.

As all igbos are 419:ers?
Feel how stupid my statement is?
Now multiply the stupidity by 1000 and add 1 million to it (if you can even count, judging by the apparent idiotic and tribalistic character you exhibit) ..that is Infact how stupid your comment is. .we are one in Nigeria. People made by God
.Nigeria must survive

hrm paul ojeih said...

Becky for shizzi Infact make I knack u pidgin English. Dis una tradition na real yawa. So even in dis modern day and age una dey chop oba heart. Dis shit freaks me out. That means evil still rules in the palace of the oni. Saying that inter denominational prayer is bull shit.

Thank God you are not to judge!

All those who commented on Yoruba Obas and illiteracy,there are Obas who have Phds and other degrees.It is a traditional thing,they knew what they were going into,all Obas and Obis and Edems and Obongs have various indegenous rites.This affects most parts of the nation,a lot of Nigerians still believe in this,case in point money rituals,organs disappearing.God save us.

Elegant uzy said...

U took the words out of my mouth...He isn't a xtian why associate with xtians. ...nigerians and eye service....A whole bishop even came for what nah....He can go for condolence visit but not to stand preach or conduct any service. ...

Everything is even scary..they need to wise up.. Won't eat someone heart if I am to become a king. Jesus Christ is around and the end of the world is near.

Enuf of this dead man nah...haba!!

Hmm osun people

Hmm osun pple

Ochaimo+ said...

Barring people to bury the abobaku with ooni. The culture stinks in this 21st century.

Hmm osun pple

Shut up if you don't know about other people's tradition. I don't blame you, when u are part of a minitity group that's almost gone into extinction

Dike Ndi Igbo said...

The isoro pple shuld follow him to whr he will be judged so that they wil stop d judgement for his free passage to heaven... **Sanko**

abiola said...

Yeah very true, and the parts are buried at different areas in the town after which the heart is fed to the new king.. that's why they say" O je oba"

WORD!!!

There's no drama cause the children knew they won't see him or witness his burial but it's a lie that they won't feed his heart to the next king

Mihearty said...

Not my business neither will I say RIP

DOLAPO ONI!! DOLAPO! U HAVE GOTTEN YOURSELF ENTANGLED WITH AB OCCULTIC MONARCH FAMILY...FOUNDATIONAL CURSES AND FOUNDATIONAL LIMITATIONS....poor girl

See thinking?!all yorubas are idol worshippers....then all Igbos are what?think bfr u talk Abeg!

Simply Custom not jazz... ask and u shall be told o'ye indomie generation

Deb said...

Gosh!!lind am disspaointed in you. You just post stories that are not true, have seen pictures of the wives at the burial . They wore white lace with gele so why lie???

@ ademiluyi, rumour has it that it is your family or lineage that is to succeed the ooni

Nigerians can believe anything. Make we dey use our brains sometimes abeg. Oyibos did not become wise overnight. If it's bleaching now, you will know but if it's logical thinking, zero. Hian

1st rule of publishing News... d true story is never published..
2ndly d news says disclosing d burial rites is a sacrilege but hw kum d Araba had 2 talk abt d eating of heart and burying d ooni with humans or living beings so 2 say...
Wat I can deduce is dt it's either d Araba has committed a sacrilege which I knw he'll nt do or he's trying 2 calm d fearful hearts of people.. so jxt an advice frm a concerned Nigerian... people around dt vicinity should flee 4 their lives...pls don't think twice while fleeing

#nanapearl

It is obvious that all the traditions were strictly observed. The abodokun or whatever called ran because he knew his life was in danger. He was arrested and returned why? They told us that eating of the heart of a past Ooni is a thing of the past and nobody will be buried with the monarch. Exactly....just like they told us that the Oba was still alive and would b in his son's wedding when the oba was actually dead and lying stiff in a morgue in London. Liars! Liars!! Liars!!!. Two people were buried in one grave last night. Shikena. Shameful traditions in 21st century.

Heathen tings.

YORUBA ARE NOT THE ONLY TRIBE THAT DOING ALL THESE CEREMONIES, ALL THE KINGS OF THIS WORLD ARE ALSO DOING THE SAME THING ,

EVEN IN EUROPE THEY ARE INTO IT SECRETLY, THEY ARE ALL INTO OCULTIST AND WERE ALL IN FREEMASON .

ALL WILL GIVE ACCOUNT AT THE LAST DAY.JESUS IS THE WAY,THE TRUTH AND LIFE.

Phewww......traditions. This one is still archaic. May his soul RIP.

Na only dem sabi with all dese their traditions biko. Linda take note!

Nobody should insult the yorubas, every tribes have their own traditions. Big mouths should shut the hell up

Lol he said "no one can see the Ooni, not even the US President Barrack Obama. Lmao, Barrack Obama doesn't want to see your stupid Ooni! Enjoy your dumb tradition.

U ar just here disturbing yourself.. U ar saying this bcoz u've lost tradition in ur village... Tradition is tradition and it must be kept. The fact is that the family of Ooni knwz what will happen alrdy wen je dies... So no complain.

Hmmmmm. There is Godoooo

They finna harvest baba's heart! ewwww

May His Soul Rest In Peace

How d devil loves pple to be kept in ignorance and darkness combined...

Jesus will come very soon amy whc way and we all go jam Jesus as I'm no escape for anyone... traditions or not. Tradition without fear of God!

Pearlie Pam said...

I respect the Pastor that preached though, he told the congregation the truth. It is well oooo

Mgbeke. Did you read the story? Did she say they were not at the burial? If Linda disgusts you what kind of perversion and psychosis make you stick to a blog that disgusts you? Get outta here sick mofo.

He's Ogboni.....Simple!!!!

Lolz said...

Hehehe @ anoy aug 15 1:47pm. They finna harvest baba's heart? Libers too craze walahi 😃

JAZZ JAZZER JAZZEST

Tradition aside, religion aside, RIP 2 him

A very strong secret cult!

Beehorlah said...

Na wa oooo

That statement is an insult on ever Yoruba person. Its wrong to say such things. Every group of people in any kind of settlement and setting have their traditions and beliefs. I think you owe us an apology man.

With all you General Overseers? Alias? The height of hypocrisy.

Tradition or custom does not make evil right. This is 21St Century, wake up people.

Big lie. They have killed the abobaku and the heart of the king must be eaten. That's why no one is allowed in. They remove the heart fresh before burial. So sad, I can't marry into that kind of family. Forget money and love. If dolapo is pretty, the kings will insist on doing a rite to bring the king back through her in a child's form. It is sad but that's the tradition. No one can stop it.

They shud bury dis man abeg make we hear word, the hype don too much for hiis death n
Burial

U can't serve 2 gods, it's either u are for Yahweh the most high, or you are against him.shekina!

Is that an excuse to Justify all their Satanic acts.Accept Jesus and stop looking for a reason to go to hell

See them oro worshippers....by your comment we know you...juju juju juju people..

The reason Africa will never succeed. Everything "foreign" is good. So the Christain God must be follows. When you guys read things fall apart, do you think the main protagonist got what he deserved? Do you get the point of the book? In the end, it's tradition - horrible or not. We should shed some stuff but we should still appreciate the richness of it all. Yet all I see here is ppl talking abt jazz and evil. Black/African does not equate to being evil. Love yourselves.

Exactly. Conducting a service so a few ppl can be comfortable. The man wasn't a Christain. Not everyone in Nigeria is a Christian.

beckys world ..point of correction it is not Xtainity. .its Christianity ... Christ is not an X. ....

Is better o, thank God