Waitress pays for her customers meal...then she opened Facebook hours later and almost fainted | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 15 August 2015

Waitress pays for her customers meal...then she opened Facebook hours later and almost fainted

This is one of those stories that restores your faith in humanity and teaches the importance of giving and being kind to others. Please read below...
Tim Young and Paul Hullings (pictured above) from New Jersey are hearty firefighters that live for their work. They once worked tirelessly for 12 hours to clear out a fire. After which, being completely exhausted, they went to a diner around 6 am to request the strongest cup of coffee the diner could muster.
Their waitress that day was Liz Woodward and she just happened to overhear the two firefighters discussing their tiresome battle. Eventually, when Tim and Paul went to pay, they were quite surprised. Instead of their bill, they were given this message.

As Tim and Paul read this message, their eyes fill up with tears. They thank the kind waitress for her warm gesture. Then Tim went on Facebook to recount the event : 
“Such a selfless and kind act. I definitely urge my friends to make a trip out and support the business, and if Liz happens to be your waitress, tip big.
But the story doesn’t end there! The firefighter was told by someone on the Facebook post that Liz’s father, Steve, is quadriplegic and has been paralyzed for 5 years and that Liz set up a donation page a few months earlier to fund a wheelchair accessible vehicle so that she can take her father places. 

Tim then urged people on Facebook and his colleagues to donate to Liz’s crowd-fund : “Turns out, the young lady who gave us a free meal is really the one that could use the help…"

Then the unbelievable happened: within a few days, she had gathered more than $70,000 - far more than the $17,000 needed for a wheelchair accessible van! Liz and her family couldn’t be more grateful to the two firemen. 
"All I did was pay for their breakfast. I didn’t expect anything more than a smile,” says the waitress “It goes to show that you just have to be kind to each other and that even the smallest gesture can change a life.”
Liz (in red) with her dad, siblings and the fire fighters who changed her life.

Source: Facebook/Hefty.co

146 comments:

Awww! Nice

Good to be good

Wow, father bless me to help the needy....Amen

Awwwww.....so touchy. Its good to be good, you never can tell when it will all come back to you.

Nollywood Sisters, The Aneke Twins Explains Why They Are Still Single. Blames the Bible..Read HERE

God bless you Liz and bless the hands that bless you..In giving,i feel at peace and fulfilled as a human..God bless me and those that bless. Me too..

Mien-Ebi said...

Being kind is a good deal...

Love don start

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Long story

it good to be good

Awww!
She's beautiful with a beautiful heart.
Lucky her.

Heya.. one good turn deserves d oda

That's really cool, it pays to be nice

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Almost came to tears reading this heartwarming story

That's really cool, it pays to be nice

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

So so touching!

Itz not all about wanting to collect frm pple... dee

BoeDazzle said...

Always be good to people. You never know when it will be your turn.

angelmakiz said...

i feel like crying. the all sufficient God who makes the impossible very very possible

Still haven't gotten any help for the sewing machine I pleade for, please my fellow libers come to the aid of a sister. Gojinaka@gmail.com

It is more blessed to give than to receive.

***ECHOMASS***

Awww this is so.so touching. I'm even more than willing to do more good. Pls anybody need recharge card? Lol.

Humility

Awww! How kind and sweet.

Pro said...

Wonderful, kindness pays
Don't always expect good from people u urself do good first, see the smiles on their faces

That vuvuzela P guy

Beauty runs in their family...nice

This is quite touching...God bless the two young men!

Wow! So sweet! It pays to give

niffyt said...

Moving story!!

Wooow. So touching.

NOT AGAIN !!! Osama Bin Laden Hamza Launches New Terror Attack Plans (Photos here)

I love oyibo. If na Nigerian men or women now, they will think the lady wants something from them or is attracted to them. Empty minds.

Wow! This story is touching.I wish people cold simply understand that u don't have to be Dangote,Otedola OR Adenuga to help people around you

Whoa, am impressed n inspired

What a world!if God begin to pay me for the help i've renderd to people i don't know were i we be.
Is good to give an be good to people,no matter were you see your self try to be good give as much as you can?is just a seed that you sow that might returns back in many folds because of tomorrow.
Imagine what an ordinary meal do for her.

What a world!if God begin to pay me for the help i've renderd to people i don't know were i we be.
Is good to give an be good to people,no matter were you see your self try to be good give as much as you can?is just a seed that you sow that might returns back in many folds because of tomorrow.
Imagine what an ordinary meal do for her.

Another case of God's love, best story of the day. Thanks guys

oya pple start bin nice 2 mi ooo u neva can tel I may b ur saviour 2maro. Nyc story.

Pepe said...

Nice one Lindudu! Ma Naija pipo, even tho economy get as e be, make we try to dey do good to people small small (or big big). And those wey receive kindness, make una dey try appreciate. Make Jehovah Jireh bless our hustles. Amen!

It pays to be good.
Good begets good

Chiisunshine(carolips) said...

Wowww o my God am close to tears. Wish it ll happ to me..

Wow! God bless dem

Trendyify said...

Awww, this is so sweet

it is well

Touching. It's good to be good.
Omoge

U never can tell when u will be rewarded for ur works,whether good or bad.

Wow.... Tears

Dis story brought tears to my eyes but also inspiring. Linda take note!

This really caused a swell of my eye balls. It pays to do good.

Damilola said...

One good turn deserves another....no make that $70,000 wowza. It pays to be selfless

Arsenal said...

A beautiful Liz with beautiful soul.

◇◇◇◇◇◇ If ignorance is bliss, wipe the smile off my face ◇ ◇ ◇ ◇ ◇ ◇

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

Nigerian waitresses are always looking for customers that can tip them, I'm sure they will learn a lesson or two from this post

Pays to be good.

This is a very touching story.. There is definitely good in doing good. I don't know about in naija tho

Some Blessings.

So moving. What an inspirational story!

Such is life.

Njar Takon said...

Every good deed is rewarded, whether now or in the future. So do good.

Give and it shall be given unto you, good measures pressed down and shaken together shall men give unto you. There's always a blessing in giving. The hand that gives, never lacks.

This is a big lesson.

This world is a small town, be kind...cos what one sows he reaps!

Wow!

Be goof at all times

That's a touching story. Got teary myself

AMARACHI (LindaIkeji's Daughter) said...

It pays to be kind...Juliet iwuno r u hearing

Jenny said...

It pays to be good and not expect anything in return. We all should learn from this.

Apples ( SDKBlog Shrink) said...

Aww!! Beautiful soul.

That's the spirit of giving out of your heart without expectation. It just gets back to you in multiple folds. It is a divine principle.

Just hope the younger foreman will take a step further and marry the kindhearted lady.

This really got me welling up.....thank God,genuine people still exist

The Son of God said...

Touching story. Won't happen in Naija tho

So sweet of them

It pays to be Kind always

omalichaspeaks.com said...

It pays to be good. Bless her kind heart.

***Awkward Moments -click my name to read more.

Wow.. Stories dat really touch

Kachi said...

Aww...luvly. ..please get me the tissues 😭😭😢

MORAL OF THE STORY IS TO GIVE AT ALL TIMES. EVEN AT DIFFICULT TIMES.

Aww God bless dem

Chi chi said...

It is better to give than to receive.

Givers never lack!

I know most Libers won't comment but if it's Kim or Kylie we won't hear words. What an attitude the woman displayed.#makingtheworldabetterplaceforuandforme

lovely heart said...

Wow. Goose Bumps all over

Mihearty said...

What goes around comes around. Give and it shall be given unto you!!! God bless their kind heart

Americans can be so mushy. Love to the extremes . Nice

MAY THE GOOD LORD BLESS HER AND HER HELPER

But you did not. Mumu

Blessed is the hand that giveth

KING Nwa AMAKA said...

It really pays to be nice.

I was in tears..Givers will never lack, thus say The Lord.

We make a life by what we give. Giving is living.

This is seriously touching. I'm happy for her and her family.

hrm paul ojeih said...

I talk am say na only yanky dis kind tin fit happen black man African man no get time we are selfish

I believe is a way God want to show HIS mercy on Liz family and teach us to be kind to each other. GOD IS GREATEST

Giving is living

D lady is an extra ordinary nice person cos it takes only an extraordinary nice and kindhearted person who is in need to help someone else in need.

One act of kindness can have a ripple effect. Pay it forward. It pays to be kind no matter what.

Givers they say never lack and this is a message to the stingy ones out there, give it will come back to you. Good measures press down shaking together and running over shall men give unto your bossom

it's really nice to help pple...God bless her heart more

MISSVEE

This is touching

Its pays to be good nice one

UNIQUEBABY said...

Thats good to hear. Godwin

*Minxy* said...

Sharap there!!
You den buy pesin zobo?
See wetin waiter do for pesin, you dey here dey demand sewing machine.

GOD bless them both!!!!!

mustapha Hussain said...

Hope we can be such human.

Awww... So touching... Can't hold them back... D tears I mean... Gud to be good...

Awesome!! There is more happiness in giving than there is in receiving...~ceze

having compassion towards others n always willing to share d little one have is Real LOVE...even God gave His only son(Jesus)so what will Ur excuse be?love is d first law..so let all spread d love in our jurisdictions!!!

Liz & her sister are sooooo pretty! Choi, I for try date either if I dey Yankee!

I need a massage, wink, lol!

Yes ooo

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

Dexy said...

beautiful story....more power to your Elbow Linda....sorry, Fingers

DADDYSWIFE said...

More than nice n more than touchin.God bless them abundantly in Jesus name amen!
#nothankyoui'llratherbeselfmade

Goggleboy said...

So touching, its really good to give, am a witness too

Goggleboy said...

Its so good to be good am also a witness cos givers never lack

Wow! Dis story is so inspirational and its shows dat wht goes around turns around. Pls irrespective of how d condition is pls assist other people.

sexy Cha Cha said...

Gives never Lack

awwwwww

Emotional one

Me too

Life is not about sad stories after all.

Make one of the fire fighters marry her na..lol..idea

Awwwww

This is a lesson for everyone

I am moved to tears and encouraged to do more of help i do that my wife tells me is a waste of time trying to satisfy the world !

Cool story

God had it all planned out that's why Liz could think of paying their bills at the first place. It's always gud to be gud. If it doesnt pay now it must definately pay someday.

In the long run, it pays to be kind .even in this dog eat dog world we live in

Good

Look, go to SDK blog and beg there. Most of the Pple on dis blog are Hungry giveaway hunters. They Dnt care if u're dying. Linda doesn't give a fuck too.

how nice.

That why my slogan is "Do good and feel good" if u do good and u r not paid for u still feel good within u... So why not learn how to put smiles on poeple's face??? Ur words alone could bring smiles... Thanks to sis Liz

<<100%Nigerian>>

I need Hehehe

That's great. I love this story. It pays to be good.

Just Ma Opinion...

Abeg wats her Facebook ID...i wanna ask her sometin..

edo juju said...

Of course, never in Naija! Our girls are too greedy and money conscious to think humane. There's the human hair, expensive shoes and bags, and of course, the ubiquitous iphone to bother about rather than such trifling act of kindness! Mtcheww ... Thank God my eyes have been on a togo chic, and she is responding fine, even offering to pay for a trip around Africa with me !!!

By the way ...

That guy crouching looks like Mark Zuckerbeg

Africa said...

I do wish & pray my country - Nigeria could return to the status where this type of guesture & ooutcome happen too.

This is so touching! It pays to be good....God bless them

Fellow nigerian ladies, hp u guys learnt not to be stingy frm dis story?? If it were to be a nigerian girl, she would rather inflate thier bills.

SEYE AKALLA said...

This is the standard. Give and it will come back to you, good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, shall men give to your bosom.

Awwww, nice