Black woman & white teen charged with similar crime. Guess which one is forced into a cavity search? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 14 August 2015

Black woman & white teen charged with similar crime. Guess which one is forced into a cavity search?

They are two incidents from the frontline of American police's ongoing campaign against soft drugs. In one, a young woman (left) claimed she was allegedly forced to pull down her trousers and endure a cavity search after an officer said he smelled marijuana in her car. In the second, a young man (right) who was arrested for speeding and who reportedly admitted to having smoked marijuana before getting behind the wheel, was permitted to pose for a selfie with the arresting officer.

Charnesia Corley has accused officers of sexually assaulting her after she was pulled over in Houston on June 21 after allegedly failing to stop at a traffic light.

After an officer claimed to have smelled marijuana, the young woman was hand-cuffed and placed in the back of a patrol car. The policeman then called for a female colleague to perform an intimate search.

The female deputy, Ronaldine Pierre, ordered Ms Corley to pull her trousers down, but she refused, saying she was not wearing underwear, KTRK reported.

“Well, that doesn’t matter,” Ms Corley said the female officer told her. She said a second female officer then helped wrestle her to the ground while one sat on her back. They then spread Ms Corley’s legs open and inserted their fingers inside her vagina, she said.

“I feel like they sexually assaulted me,” she told the network. She said she felt “disgusted, downgraded, humiliated”.

Ms Corley is in the process of filing a legal action against the Harris County Sheriff's Office. The department did not immediately respond to inquiries, though reports said police have charged Ms Corley with two minor offences. They said she had found .02 ounces of marijuana on her.

The man detained for allegedly speeding, 20-year-old Gilbert Phelps, was pulled over in Iowa City last week. Police said he was speeding and had an obstructed registration sticker.

Reports said officer Ben Hektoen detected an odour of “ingested alcohol” inside the suspect’s Toyota Camry. When questioned, Mr Phelps said he had been smoking marijuana before getting into the car, according to a report on the Smoking Gun.

After being brought to the station, Mr Phelps was permitted to pose for a selfie with Mr Hektoen, with the officer “happily obliging” to the request.

No-one from the Iowa City Police Department was available for comment.. But Mr Phelps said he captioned the photo with emoji icons showing “a police car, next to a passenger car, next to a tow truck”.

There is nothing to connect the two events; the first incident is said to have taken place in Texas, the second in Iowa. They both involved different officers and different police departments. The full details of what transpired have yet to emerge.

But many on social media pointed out that the young woman in the first incident was black, while the young man who was allowed to pose while allegedly being stoned, was white.

It is difficult, the commentators said, to imagine the scenes being repeated had it been the other way around.

Source: Independent UK

40 comments:

Black

Racism ain't gonna end soon.

Should I say racism? Or human right abuse?

livingstone said...

this is really becoming too much....

Racism on display. .

frank said...

Fuck white

OFCUZ NA ,..CUZ SHE BI BLACK..TOMJERRYSWIT

I have told the blacks in america,that they should stop buying any thing the see or think is good?xenophobia we take place in america very soon imediatly obama tenure expire.
Blacks are in danger in america thou at time blacks are the cause of it.

Things will never change shah but still on still i will love to be a citizen though no doubt... #NowPlaying>> new guy: sarkodie....

I have told the blacks in america,that they should stop buying any thing the see or think is good?xenophobia we take place in america very soon imediatly obama tenure expire.
Blacks are in danger in america thou at time blacks are the cause of it.

Racism will always be in their blood.

Rubbish, d level of racism in America is so annoying

Hiaaaaaaaaaan

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Hiaaaaaaaaaan

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Really sad d way dis whites treat black pple...

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Sexual assault! She should Sue.

ckjacob.blogspot.com for fiction stories

Darrel tom said...

Eyaaa
Racism will never stop in America n the world in general
Linda mbok na go dig off aneke's twin them pix naaa
Even if na old ones we go manage am
Love how libers blast them
Linda's last son /laura IKEJI'S nephew

Darrel tom said...

Eyaaa

Darrel tom said...

Eyaaa

Yes incident can not be repeated if it's the other way round. This is racism, pure and simple.

#BeingBlackInAmerica

Golda Awosika said...

Hmmmm can u imagine! Dia shud be a shoot at sight policy against white ppl in Africa I swear. Ds shit is becmin too much

Not fair though... the way blacks are being treated aint fair at all.

pamscrib.blogspot.com

Racism ain't gonna end pretty soon! Smh!

Not the first time things like this has happen smh God help us!!!

Hmmm Racism in US is too much, what the police officers did to that black girl is bad very very bad. #Fuck white people with racism#

That is so wrong! Why search for marijuana inside her vagina? She should sue them all!

Even though we would all scream racism here but thinking about it. The white guy no be woman wey dem for give cavity search nah. Linda take note!

Difference between them is one admitted, one denied...one struggled, one didn't

As much as I know racism exist in the States, It all depends on how you choose to relate with the officer. If I am stop for whatever reason and I appear arrogant and talk down on the officer; of course he will treat me like a dirt bag. But if i choose to be respectful and truthful; he may just cut me a slack

Mihearty said...

Don't have strength to read mbok

Hmmmmm. There is more to dis story and I suggest proper investigation should b carried out.

How many of them did you tell? Mumu

Juliet, men also can be given cavity searches. They undress them, ask them to bend over and crawl.

There is a huge difference in the behavior, reactions, of the two suspects. One had humor and openness, the other had resistance and aggressiveness. The white dude was more relaxed and had fun. In Nigeria most ppl know that with a bit of humor you never get damned by the police. Humor always works.

Sweet Ama said...

Literally it's nw a crime to be Black...

Yeah, the next time the police tackles you and sticks their hands into your vagina, come back here to tell us how you handled it with humor.