Helen Okeke has been arrested by the Lagos State Police Command for allegedly killing her neighbour, identified only as Rose, in the Ikota, Ajah area of the state.
It was learnt that Okeke slit Rose’s throat after the duo reportedly had an argument over who poured urine on the latter’s clothes that were spread on the entrance door to her room.
It was gathered that Rose, who was reportedly getting ready for her wedding, had returned from work in the afternoon, and noticed a foul smell on the clothes spread on her door.
It was learnt that the deceased went to the landlady, Alhaja Iyabo Hamzat, to report the matter. The landlady was said to have pacified her, offering to give her the money to buy some detergent to wash the clothes.
However,a short time after, other neighbours, heard Rose’s sudden cry for help in the corridor. The suspect was said to have been found holding the deceased by the neck, with a bloodstained kitchen knife in her hand.
Rose however died before she could be rushed to a nearby hospital.
The matter was said to have been reported to the Ajah Police Division, Ajiwe, and Okeke was arrested.
According to reports, Alhaja Hamzat said she had served a notice to Okeke, commonly known as Mama Chinedu, on several occasions to pack out of the house, adding that the suspect refused to leave.
She said,
“At about 5pm that day, Rose came to my apartment. She said she came to report Iya Chinedu.
“She said when she returned from her workplace, she found her curtain, towel and other clothes drenched with urine. She said she suspected that it was Iya Chinedu who poured the substance on her clothes.
“I begged Rose and told her that I would give her money to buy detergent to wash the clothes. She had hardly returned to her room when we heard screams of ‘help help!’ We all rushed there and we saw Rose in a pool of blood with Iya Chinedu holding a bloodstained knife.
“With shock, we rushed Rose to a hospital, but she died on the way.
“Iya Chinedu moved into my house just last year. She moved in with her son. The son later left, saying she was fed up with her mother. I had served her quit notices on several occasions, but she refused to move out.
“I went to the police at Ikota to report her, but the policemen there said they would not meddle in landlord-tenants’ affairs.”
Another resident, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said that Okeke had been moody before that day.
Another resident in the area, identified only as Blessing, said after Okeke had stabbed her neighbour, some angry youths beat her up.
She said,
“Mama Chinedu did not show any remorse at all. Some boys became angry and beat her up.
“Everyone was shocked, and wanted to find out what offence was committed that made Okeke to stab the young lady.”
The Police Public Relations Officer, DSP Kenneth Nwosu, confirmed the incident.
He added that the matter would be transferred to the State Department of Criminal Investigation, Yaba, for further investigation.
He said,
“The police visited the scene and removed the corpse to a public morgue in Yaba.
“The suspect has also been arrested. She will be transferred to the SDCI after the police have concluded their preliminary investigations.”
Punch
86 comments:
Man's inhumanity to man. Orange is the new black for her
Oh my God, I'm shading rears right now. Why will ppl be so wicked . See how she ended up this gal' s life all Cuz of an argument. Rip
Evil at the highest order, OMG some people are way to heartless.
Evil at the highest order, OMG some people are way too heartless.
Why are Igbo ladies always hot tempered? Before you cock your gun, I'm a full-blooded Igbo guy. Our women too dey provoke abeg.
Wickedness!!!
Uwa mmebi
Na wa o,pple ar wicked o. RIP to the dead
A woman killing another woman just like that?
The Endtime is here already.
Na wa, why all these violence?
Phew! Talk of evil.
Hope she's made to face the consequence of her action.
Na wa
Chai, neighbour from hell. I once had one but best approach, constant press on 'ignore' button, it drives them mad. RIP.
Hope she rots in jail.
Wicked soul.
Igbo?
Sad news. May,her soul rest in perfect peace.
visit ck Jacob blog for fiction stories
Jiz dis is complete wickedness. She should pay with her Own life.............
dis one of d reason i dont engage in kong-fu.............may her soul rest in peace.phumxcybaby@gmail.com
A lot be happening dese days
What is this world turning into? Problems everywhere,killing human being like chicken. God we need u pls safe us from all evil
Wicked!!
The heart of man is desperately wicked.plz dis woman should b executed!RIP 2 d deceased.....Annabel
Ikota is known for bloody attacks like this. About two years ago, a young man popularly called 'biggy' was stabbed to death at a bar in ikota, December 2009, another young man called chukwudi was stabbed severally in the neck which led to his death. Today as I'm being informed, there's yet another corpse around ikota market. These are a few among numerous murders that happen in ikota. This place is a known haven for criminals and murderers in Lagos state, I still wonder why the government had taken very little action regarding these killers. Often when there are clashes among rival thugs or groups, the police have been said to look the other way as if nothing had happened, cultists roam the streets brandishing weapons and regalia in broad day light without any interference or arrest by the law enforcement agencies. U need to visit ikota to know what I'm talking about, it's a place that thrives above the law of the state and country at large..... Ikota is a dangerous place to live in, ikota is a den of daredevils
Rip to d dead. May d killer riot in kirikiri
Okeke pepper-body go come down nw abi ? Go n kulu temper for cell . Mugu
This world is turning into something else. Rip
Devil incarnate oya chinedu! I pray de kill you too. She's a witch
She's such a wicked being
Things we hear everyday. God help us
This is sad, a bride to be. RIP
Linda pls HP u re posting my comments
The devil at work
No need for any investigation... they should have burnt her alive..
This okeke na real devil in human form....she as to be killed cos she's people are not safe around her....wicked ogbajen
this woman is a murderer and should be sent to prison for this dastardly act
Heart of evil....
Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......
Igbos should be kicked out of lagos asap.
This woman is very heartless, how can you do something like that to your fellow woman?
She should be locked and the key thrown into the river.
Too bad may God save us from angry neighbours
Oh no!
DAT woman Na agent of devil!!!
Is dis a scene from a movie??? Cos I don't understand how a woman would hold down another woman and slit her throat. May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!
Nawooh!!! Wickedness at the highest order...............
.......frm lindaikeji look alike....
What kind of Anger is dat? Sometimes its good to ignore troublesome people, not that u a fool! RIP Rose. So sad
Wickedness! May God rest her soul....
Devil just took over her that minute. ....
Speechless!Rip to d dead
Oh! Tragic tins really do happen in dis life we live. D woman behid dis act should b punished accordingly, and RIP 2d dead.
SOME PPLES HRT ARE DESPERATELY WICKED...TOMJERRYSWIT
WTH? Some people are rock hearted!
Wicked and evil pple everywhere...
Pple are so crul
Little wonder why landlords dread giving their houses to Igbo people. Thank God I didn't marry that Igbo man, I would have been so ashamed of myself now.
Deranged animal. God save us.
Nawa oooo #hmm
Killer Thot.
Lucky she escaped instant justice from retarded Mob
Hang Her.
Hang her quick
What further investigastion are they talking abt?
The devil 😈 In human clothing!Hope she gets hanged for this!
Some igbo people behave like animals
consequences of living in face me i face you yard.
This is just evil.. people with bad temper though
I just can't comprehend what dis world is turning to. Human life is no longer valuable to pple. No conscience nor human feelings. Jesus shud come abeg!
She needs to be dealt with
Now tell me what will be this demonic woman's defence. Anger,anger, anger!!!!!!! Devil,devil devil. Understand life and learn to think before acting.
Nawa, somebody dat is about to get married just killed like dat? what kind of anger most have led to dat? she wil dance to d sound of her drum beat in prison. God have mercy. may her soul rest in peace.
Bad belle jux dey folo ppl around,,,I pray u get death sentenc,,,,RIP ROSE
Oooooooooh my...!
This life is just full of evil and evils people
But why? Just like that. It's unfair.
❤❤❤ THE PROPHETESS ❤ ❤ ❤
She's probably possessed.....tufiakwa!!!
I cant just fathom why people stabs this day. stabbing their opponents where their lives are. This is very sad. People should just be mindful of who they deal with and try as much as possible to stay away from trouble.
No Kenyan you idiot, what did you think?
Nawah! This is why i just take blames sometimes and avoid arguments. Silence isn't always stupidity.
He who kill by the sword will die by the sword...iya chimes,may you die a painful death.
you people are actually animals
its only pure jealousy.
I can't help but say what some of us Yorubas are thinking! Igbo people at their animalistic, no manners, no couth, foaming the in mouth, raging wild like a lunatic, mad as tho set on fire ... Should I stop? Lol, too funny. I'm just feeding you nameless Igbo folks with tribalistic bigoted comments back as you dish them out when the tables are turned. Doesn't feel quite right or nice when folks make tribalistic comments does it? Don't let it hurt, I don't mean it, just wanted to serve you people a dose of your own medicine that's all.
Moving on to better thing, Alhaja, next time don't rent houses to Igbo people, they can't act right. Take them anywhere and they will embarrass you. See how they brought you on Linda Ikeji blog with such negative news. The Aba market brothers and sisters ... The red headed step child that Nigeria is tired of but can't seem to get rid of, they keep coming back. We love you though, but I'm positive that one day and very soon I hope, you bigoted Igbo folks will get it right. What's with the cutlass anyway? When you want to fight, you fish out the cutlass? I don't understand it. Why the cutlass?
improper jealousy