Teenager who was raped in Abia state commits suicide (see her pic) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 12 July 2015

Teenager who was raped in Abia state commits suicide (see her pic)

This 14 year old girl named Chiawolam Comfort Umeh (pictured above) committed suicide on July 7th after she was gruesomely gang-raped by 3 men on June 28th at Iyienyi Village, near Okwoyi Community, in Isieke, Ibeku, in Umuahia North LGA of Abia State. Chiawolam was a virgin before she was defiled by the vile men. Read the full report after the cut.

Culled from Sun News online

Chiawolam, who was among students who sat for the Junior Secondary School education (JSS) examination recently from Isieke Model Community High School, was reported to have dashed into the bush at the back of the family house with her mother’s head tie, climbed on top of a guava tree and hung herself two days after she was raped by the three beastly boys. The rape incident happened on Sunday, June 28, 2015, while she hung herself on Tuesday morning, July 7, 2015.

Chiawolam’s father, Mr Umeh said that early in the morning that Tuesday, her mother called her to find out how she was raped and she complained that she was having pains all over her body. The mother told her to endure till they come back from the police station that morning, but unknown to them, the deceased had another plan.
“She took her jacket and what we later discovered was a scarf and left, warning that nobody should mention her name. We thought she was going to the toilet,” the distraught father said.
The members of Umeh family, who are natives of Amaeke Abam in Ohafia LGA, have been residing in Inyienyi village, where they acquired land and built a house.
A family source disclosed that Comfort had told her mother earlier that she would not be able to stay alive to behold the faces of those who defiled her, but the mother did not understand what she meant.
It was her deafening cry while struggling between life and death on top of the tree that drew people’s attention to the bush. They then rushed to the scene to discover that her tongue had already protruded out of her mouth showing that she had given up the ghost.
Comfort’s mother, Mrs Ekenna Umeh, a prophetess who runs a prayer ministry in her home said that the deceased would have clocked 15 years in October this year.
She said that her daughter did not like having any affair with boys as she swore that she would keep her virginity for her husband. She was said to have told her mother that she would complete her studies and start working before considering marrying. The deceased mother alleged that one Ndubuisi had been disturbing her daughter since they moved to the area in 2013, and had in her presence threatened to deal with her if she refused his amorous overtures.
Her words: “In my presence, I had asked my daughter and she told me that relationship is not her prob¬lem now until she is through with her education.
She hardly collects gifts from boys nor accepts free rides when coming back from school.”
Chiawolam was said to have gone to see her sister in a nearby village. On her way from the visit, the three boys allegedly abducted and took her into a nearby forest, where they have a cult house and shrine.
Explaining further, the mother told Sunday Sun “While this was going on, my daughter told me that she was still shouting, but nobody could come to her rescue. She said that immediately they got into the forest, near Inyienyi stream, one of the boys named Ndubuisi brought out a dagger and threatened to kill her if she refused to submit herself to them. Eventually, they over-pow¬ered her, tore off her skirt, blouse, pants, brassier and forcefully raped her in turns. She said that when they were doing all those things to her, she passed out, only to wake and see herself in the pool of her own blood.
It became difficult for her to stand up and walk out of the forest, as her head was turning and every area of her abdomen and private region was paining her. She said that she looked at herself to discover that blood filled the whole place like where a goat was slaughtered for sacrifice.”
Mrs, Umeh said she never imagined that her daughter would take her life. She called on the police and all relevant authorities to give her justice and ensure that her daughter did not die in vain by making those who pushed her to suicide pay for their sins.
The Police Public Relations Officer for Abia State, Mr Ezekiel Udeviotu, who confirmed the incident described it as unfortunate, stating that the police was doing all within its powers to arrest the culprits, who were said to have fled the community.
Source: Sun

134 comments:

Ooooh no, how wicked can pple be, such a sad story

Poor baby. Rest in peace.

Phew! May her soul rest in peace,
I pray those who perpetuated this evil act are made to face the full wrath of the law.

O my... RIP too young for that. *sad*

Sad
So this fine girl is just gone like that.
May her soul rest in peace.

So sad.. .

Omg!!! Dear God... plz rest her gentle soul

Saganity said...

So sorry for her .. Suicide is bad . RIP

sad news

God! im so speechless and full of grief right now.With every rape and domestic violence story i read,i feel its kinda wrong to be a female in today's society.The pain is enormous.We seem to be concubines to pain.
I pray the rapists are brought to book.

This kind of life I cannot explain.

Karlsson said...

God ll judge those who committed this evil. They won't go unpunished

Ubanagum

So sad

God of mercy!

Jojo said...

Such a painful incident. May her soul RIPP

God of mercy!

So sad and painful

Ada lolo said...

Torture and castration should be melted on them. Useless boys. May her soul rest in peace. Amen.

Sorry baby shouldn't have done that you suppose to wait for God's intervention. Anyway RIP shall

Too bad

So unfortunate.

Those guts should be sentence to death by hanging. So sad.

So sad and touching a news.
May the culprit never go unpunished. Rip girl.

Wicked world...its so sad she had to commit suicide.

So pathetic

Oh no

Ahh God! Wat d hell! Dose men will forever be miserable,dey ll eventually take their own lives as well cos dey ll be tormented by dat little gal's spirit. May her soul RIP

Lily of Nigeria said...

God of vengeance!!!!! Avenge this child. You said that vengeance is for you alone, avenge this poor girl. Oh! The pain...

www.iblogwithgrace.blogspot.com

Oh Gosh!... Wat a loss!... I kw how such feels but Suicide ain't an option...
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *

God will haunt dose men.dey will suffer until dey confess n beg to die

The crime was aggravated by her mother's scorn and early stigmatization.if only she had kept her mouth shut this little girl would have been alive to see justice meted out on her assailants.

Thank you Linda for bringing your search light to this horrific heartbreaking matter....

Vanguard/Punch has the names of the animals that did this and are now on the run. Please help this beautiful girl get justice.....

OMG! dis is so sad! Bet Y? dos animals dat did dis will never go unpunished!
Lord just strike dem with terrible disease nd sufferin till dey dead, nd b trown into d evil forest!

Oh dear. The best they'll always do is condemn the crime. As for the rapists, their destruction is closer than they expect.
Comfort to her family.

andre kelvin said...

Linda thank you for repotting this horrific heartbreaking matter.

Vanguard has the names of the 3 cowards & animals who vomited this crime and are now on the run. Please help this beautiful girl find justice.

Ooooooooh my..!

She committed suicide as a result of mockery she got from her useless mom.

Maye73 said...

RIP.the police should intensify their effort on this case.definitely God will deal with the culprits.

This is so sad. Only God knows why she resorted to suicide, 'cos its never an option. Rest in Peace little one, I hope and pray that ur rapists will face the full wrath of the law soonest.

Prostrate Care said...

May her blood cry upon d culprit...

I hope they find the animals and roast them alive! If this were my daughter, this is one of the situations where I don't mind going down for murder! And I will tell the judge not to waste tax payers' money by putting me through any unnecessary trial. It disgusts me when we feign so much piety and we have such a messed up society! Tougher and stricter laws need to be passed!

Awwww just too sad may her prosecutors never go unpunished

#Iamwest said...

She didn't commit suicide! She was actually killed by her mother.

Hmmm may those boy never hv peace in their life until they re punished. Nd may her soul rest in peace.

This is absolutely a barbaric and an insane act. The police must do everything within their power to arrest these pedophiles, pervert and rapists. They must be brought to justice no matter how long they run. They can only run but can't hide. Please let this family get justice!!!

This is so unfortunate may her soul rest in peace

Welson said...

This is absolutely a barbaric and an insane act. The police must do everything within their power to arrest these pedophiles, pervert and rapists. They must be brought to justice no matter how long they run. They can only run but can't hide. Please let this family get justice!!!

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

RIP. Suicide is not an option

visit ck jacob blog for fiction stories

Her blood is in the rapists hands. Her ghost will hunt then for the rest of their painful life.

Oh ibo people has joined there oruba counterpart in raping hmmmmmmmmm.
Who must have taught this kid how to commit suicide or is she what she learnt in movie.may her hot soul never rest in peace until the culprit are arrested and killed.

Oh ibo people has joined there oruba counterpart in raping hmmmmmmmmm.
Who must have taught this kid how to commit suicide or is she what she learnt in movie.may her hot soul never rest in peace until the culprit are arrested and killed.

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

What a sad loss - rip girl

What a wicked act..may does beast face the rant of the low..

But dead sentence was not the best option

..JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

Bahybee said...

D police must use all dy have to apprehend d 3he-goats. Their punishment mustn't b d normal 7years for rape,bt death by stoning in a very big market. Heartless pple. Chai,wen asawo full everywhere dy no fit use dm konji power der. RIP to d dead.

Mmh! Its really sad. See wat d world is turning to.? Its sure coming 2 an end sooner dan we think.

It's such a painful story,but my dear u shldn't hav done dat,ur life wld hav been a tin a emulatn in future.pls FG shld pass a decree against rape ASAP.

FancyNancy said...

May her soul rest in peace. But suicide is never an option

Suicide is neva an option. We need to create more awareness amongst the youths. Linda take note!

Sinful world we are living in....so sad may her soul Rip

THIS IS TO INFORM THE GENERAL PUBLIC OF NIGERIA CANDIDATES THAT ARE GOING FOR 72 REGULAR INTAKE (72RRI) IN NIGERIA Navy FORCE. FOR THOSE THAT HAVE REGISTER THEIR APPLICANT NUMBER, THAT STILL NEED HELP NO THEIR (GARANTOR) SPACE OR ANY HELP BEFORE THE EXAMINATION WHICH WILL BEEN. WRITTEN ON JUNE/JULY 2015 SHOULD IMMEDIATELY CONTACT 07.082239729

Abia state and it's history of rape...

Omg so sad ,

ogeee said...

Babe,y kill urself wen u serve a living God who ll fight for u,well RIP u killed urself

Ibeku pple! Known for always gang raping... it's a pity!!!

Since they know the culprits who have fled, the police should name them.

So sad... R.I.P! I hope they find those bastards

But she is not suppose to take her life... God please forgive her and accept her soul

WeALTHY ChIC said...

Oh dear. This is sad.

Damilola said...

To the boys who raped this poor little girl, and made her feel worthless to the point of giving up her life, you will never know.peace. It is people like you that will be having serious problems in adulthood and then start blaming ur ancestors in the village.

Kiah...this world is a wicked place...i pray dey r caught n may dis befall dia family members too

THANK GOD THAT NATIONAL ASSEMBLY NOW HAS A LAW ON RAPE WHICH IS LIVE IN PRISONMENT.

Nawa oo. The dogs don't have money for ashawo. The girl sef, why make much noise about your virginity. Rest in peace shaa

The new policy on rape is life in prisonment. I pray the idiots are caught

Oh my God! This is so sad.Hmmm, in peace may her soul rest.

God rest her soul.
Parents should also teach their kids that virginity isn't everything.
That evil can happen in life.
That no matter what happens, life must go on.
That we must always move on n find the strength to accept ourselves despite anything.
That nothing alters who we are inside.
That no experience will change their love and acceptance of you.
That we must all always find the will to move on.
That nothing kills you except death.

Parents must always make this clear.
So children don't commit suicide or become errant over bad experiences like this.
We all owe this to our kids
African parents love you so much
But are not expressive at all

meggy said...

She couldn't bear the emotional truma

I don't understand some men. If they are not bold enough to ask a woman out, they forcefully rape an innocent one. If you need sex badly, why not go and pay a prostitute. May it never be well with those men for making an innocent virgin lose her virginity by force and also commit suicide.

In future when bad things start happening to those men, they will be blaming the devil not knowing that it is the evil that they did in the past that is chasing them. Stmchew

I don't understand some men. If they are not bold enough to ask a woman out, they forcefully rape an innocent one. If you need sex badly, why not go and pay a prostitute instead of raping an innocent person. May it never be well with those men for making an innocent virgin lose her virginity by force and also commit suicide.

that is what ibo sabi do best b dat...were buruku

Ethel said...

This is so painful! Let GOD have mercy on her soul!

Lawani Moziz said...

This is actually disastrously bad and a very sad news for all to hear. RIP to the deceased.

So sad

May those boys never find peace till they confess their sins and accept God. They hve murdered sleep!

Ah! That's wickedness of the highest order..... God have mercy ooooo. Kai!!!

I wish 4 ha ghost 2 haunt diz evil doers 2 dia horrific deaths!!! But only God can Avenge, pls Jehovah avenge for dis poor innocent girl. RIP Chiawolamoke, may God 4giv U nd grant U a place in his bossom.

What a cruel world. Those rapists must pay dearly for this

iyke cindy said...

OMG!!! May God punish d culprits nd wateva dey represent!!! Nw dat she's dead,hope dey ae hapi...? RIP young innocent!!!

And the fools who raped an innocent virgins will die slow and very painful death. May God accept her soul

God shud not spare those bastards dat did this to her.....suicide is never an option! RIP tho

FIRST LADY B said...

What a pity,this girl sld get justic

Rape victims or any sort abused individuals shld be watched closely & advised appropriately. RIP girl - but dat wasn't d best decision!! May those guys neva be left on punished!! I with draw peace 4rm dere dwelling!!

Oh,poor girl. May God have mercy on her soul.

ibos.their men all rapists

Ifechukwu you're an insensitive goat for asking why she made such noise about her virginity. To some ladies its a big deal. You dare not question people about their life choices, faith or moral standing. This was a 14years old teenager, and her first sexual experience had to be that? That you can have sex anytime you want with anyone you want doesn't change the fact that there are still virgins around. The boys must be arrested and punished accordingly, and its high time they put a death sentence law in place for RAPISTS and people with insensitive comments regarding rape.

Sylvonce said...

Very sad. Hope they are apprehended

Linda thanks for reporting this.

Vanguard published the names of the coward animals that did this horrific act.

Please keep on reporting on updates. Help this beautiful child find justice in death.

Aha! So touching when I come across dis story. We really need to b enlighte abt suicide dat is no way out for solving temporary problems.

I use dis medium, and my day as point of contact to declare, and decree:
‘completeness, wholeness, health, peace, welfare, safety, soundness, tranquility, prosperity, perfectness, fullness, rest, harmony, and the absence of agitation or discord in ur lives.

From now on:
Whosoever shall bless u shall b blessed, and whosoever shall curse u shall b cursed.
YAHWEH bless u, and keep you. YAHWEH make His face shine upon u, and be gracious 2u. YAHWEH lift up His face upon u, and give u SHALOM. In the name of SAR SHALOM (the Prince of Peace). Numbers 6:24-26.

Linda, and all LIB readers, it has b gracious, fun, and exciting - THANK U, and GOD BLESS Y'ALL. Sweet kisses, and luv y'all.

I use dis medium, and my day as point of contact to declare, and decree:
‘completeness, wholeness, health, peace, welfare, safety, soundness, tranquility, prosperity, perfectness, fullness, rest, harmony, and the absence of agitation or discord in ur lives.

From now on:
Whosoever shall bless u shall b blessed, and whosoever shall curse u shall b cursed.
YAHWEH bless u, and keep you. YAHWEH make His face shine upon u, and be gracious 2u. YAHWEH lift up His face upon u, and give u SHALOM. In the name of SAR SHALOM (the Prince of Peace). Numbers 6:24-26.

Linda, and all LIB readers, it has b gracious, fun, and exciting - THANK U, and GOD BLESS Y'ALL. Sweet kisses, and luv y'all.

So sad.

Damn ur english almost murdered me.

Sad sad sad.
I felt death inside me while reading this sad news.
Looks like i'm gonna fall sick.
RIP.

If dey like let dem run 2 onu agu
My own is 4 dia pictures 2 b circulated in all parts of de countries in de world
Dey dnt deserve 2 liv
Dey committed atrocity
Dey re murderers
My heart is bleeding
Chaiiiiii
May her soul RIP,Amen
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

so sad,find it hard to believe.where will her soul rest ?has she the right to take the life she did N't create?

Sad sad sad...Rip

RIP...... terrible way to exit.......

Rip

Are you drunk? Or high on petrol fumes?

You are definitely drunk!!!

COOKIE LYON said...

Its like a Nollywood movie. So so sad.May God console the family. And I pray they find the culprits and kill them.

Rip

Shouldn't have done what . Read before you type

TONIA GREEN said...

Rest in peace young girl. Very pathetic.

❤❤❤ THE PROPHETESS ❤ ❤ ❤

Lukman said...

We already know she committed suicide, why telling us again

help said...

THIS IS TO INFORM THE GENERAL PUBLIC OF NIGERIA CANDIDATES THAT ARE GOING FOR 72 REGULAR INTAKE (72RRI) IN NIGERIA Navy FORCE. FOR THOSE THAT HAVE REGISTER THEIR APPLICANT NUMBER, THAT STILL NEED HELP NO THEIR (GARANTOR) SPACE OR ANY HELP BEFORE THE EXAMINATION WHICH WILL BEEN. WRITTEN ON JUNE/JULY 2015 SHOULD IMMEDIATELY CONTACT 07082239729

This is sad! May God rest her soul....

God bless you.. I hv been a victim of rape, molestation and abuse. Got pregnant in the process and was denied. I chose to live and to hold my head high up. Today I m a barrister. The scars are gradually fading and I m a better person each day

Dobzi fingers said...

This is just so awful.....so sad

http://www.dobzifingers.com/?m=1

Eagle Eyes Media said...

Oh! I can understand her situation. She was too young and fragile to bear the pangs of rape. Rest in peace dear girl.

Eagle Eyes Media said...

Dear Hannah, English language is hard. I understand your plight.

Oooohhh my God!Dis is a wicked word.it shuld not have been innocent gurl.pls God grant her parent d strength to bear dis great loss.for dos Boyz only you will judge den God.

Perpetrated and not perpetuated.

I wonder wat kind of punishment wud be enough for this crime not even their lives. However, I do pray that God wud heal the broken-hearted n accept the soul of the deceased. To the perpetrators eternal shame.

@anonymous shouldn't have committed suicide. ODE

Ugochukwu Ezike said...

I find it very appalling and most insensitive that some breed of untrained goats will come her on LIB and open their shit-hole of a mouth and say 'Ibo men are all rapists.' I mean, what has tribe to do with this the issue of rape? Is rape only synonymous with the Ibo people or is it a general misconduct any misguided fellow from any tribe or religion indulge in? Please, people have to be very careful with the way they talk, especially online, cos what you say is a true reflection of who you are. I believe we are all reasonable people at some point and would love to be perceived as one. Take correction!. As for the girl, My prayer is 'May your soul rest in perfect peace.' And for those riff-raffs, they will live to regret this or better still die a painful death. I bet them.

omotara said...

Ibo people and rape.. hian! Uncultured tribe

The wicked men will not go unpunished

May her soul rest in peace!!! This is such a painful incident. To imagine that a girl of 14years was gang raped by 3 hopelessly possessed men. My heart hurts over this. May God give her family the fortitude to bear their loss. May He also protect our daughters and female siblings.
I fervently pray the culprits be dealt with

X said...

5.37pm, this story was carried some days back on SDK's blog and some other platforms. They said her mother blamed her for the rape and scolded her. And that was why she took her life. Anon 12.30 is talking based on the original story.

OMG!