President Buhari reportedly refused to meet with Bukola Saraki | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 12 July 2015

President Buhari reportedly refused to meet with Bukola Saraki

According to a report by Punch, Pres. Buhari has resisted new moves by Saraki to meet with him because he's still upset over what Saraki did during the National Assembly elections...
An official in the Presidency said the President and the Senate President had only met once since the latter’s emergence as the leader of the senate. The official said all efforts by Saraki to have another meeting with the president, after the party’s National Executive Council meeting two Fridays ago, have proved abortive.
The reliable source said that Saraki had at different times reached out to people to help him persuade Buhari to grant him audience.
“The truth is that the President is still displeased with what transpired in the National Assembly, especially the Senate. Their encounter during the APC National Executive Council meeting, when they shook hands, was the first meeting between President Buhari and Saraki since he emerged as the President of the Senate.
“We are aware that Saraki has been going about begging people to assist him to plead with the President to meet with him. That was one of the reasons why he visited former President Obasanjo.
“I can tell you that the President is very pained by what happened. He felt that since he had been transparent with the party, everybody should play that way. But since Saraki took that path, the President was and he is still pained. Let us just hope that at the end of it all, they will be able to put the matter behind them.” the source said
Source: Punch

69 comments:

Vinnie Mcoy said...

Unhealthy for the polity!

Smooth sailing, punch can fabricate stories, sometimes I think Linda is even more reliable

Marshall Matters said...

He supports saraki in silence, make them no dey form nonsense. tinubu just dey there make them dey decieve you.

I think he shld grant him audience

Saraki has not learned his lesson yet.He's got eyes on the presidency,thats his ultimate ambition maybe even before 2019.Buhari should be very careful with him.Impeachment and frustration of bills may be an arsenal of Saraki.I dont trust him & i believe Buhari doesnt either.A man who is capable of rebellion is capable of anything

Buhari should tread carefully. His party APC don't have a 2/3 majority in any of the houses. Also, his actions and appointments are dividing loyalties in APC, which at the end of the day, is a marriage of convenience of different parties. Finally, if his present in action continues for too long, he'll end up losing the support of the voting public.

Bottom line is that he puts himself in danger of being impeached. Saraki is a very powerful man in Nigeria right now.

Buhari old sense is disturbing u just park well

President Iwe oku! What do u expect? He doesn't have forgiveness in his dictionary. Mtchew!

Petite Diva said...

Rightly said!!

Na dem sabi

don andre said...

Do u knw since or u r finding out!

don andre said...

His age is really affecting his thinking....

Bihari tenure is going to be more frustrating

don andre said...

I cnt wait for them to impeach the bastard.

Abegi! People be insinuating what is not. Linda take note!

don andre said...

Saraki if buhari misbehave please impeach him what nonsense buhari better behave he is the one that need saraki not the other way round

Damola Gbadegesin said...

Ok ooo

Hahahaha change is here.curse is the life that voted for terrorist buhari.
Cant wait to see the end of this hopeless so called change of money or change of life.

Its ur life and dt of ur unborn generation dat is cursed. Idiot!

Why so Buhari meet the Foolish senator who put the party into danger

Orekelewa said...

Ugly zina. I presume you just got back from the zoo.wish the igbos can be kicked out of nigeria so that they can practice their cannibalism in peace. Evil tribe.

All the people quick to judge...what if d story is false.

All the people quick to judge...what if d story is false?

chuks Change Agent said...

I don't believe the story told by Punch. Buhari is happier than Turaki for what happened because that was the only to begin to cut Tinubu to size otherwise Buhari is in trouble.

Saraki wields more power than Buhari, as senate president. Saraki just wait, Buhari needs you to pass his bills into law. He will come begging like a little child.

Anon 10:16, are you for real?

Without the cooperation of the senate president, APC cannot do anything. He, Saraki is needed to lead the house to approve the Ministers. Buhari, it is imperative and advisable to work with him.

Yes
It's true.

Saraki can make Buhari's life a living hell. Why is Saraki grovelling, doesn't he know the kind of power he has?

Only in Nigeria can the head of the senate be begging to have audience with the president. The president should be lobbying him not acting stupidly.

Yea dats wat ur papa told u.

I like Saraki and wanted him to be the Senate President but the way he went about it was every bad. Master President please continue your actions toward him. That saved him right.

Seems this official in the presidency do not understand the powers of a Senate president. If truly Buhari is doing this then he should not cry out when he goes to the house for budget approval.

Freeborn Zina the cursed soul. Social media gives a lot of idiots the freedom to just type/say rubbish. smh

It is only in Nigeria that people will still vote the like of Saraki.The family that plunder banks and render a state useless.Corrupt family.

chalee said...

What happened to the independence of the legislature? Ignore the old man joor. This Saraki must ne a coward

Sai Buki!

In Aretha Franklin's voice " Who's zooming who? Who's fooling who?"

Endydecency said...

PMB should not allow selfish Tinubu and APC to push him into doing what he once said he will not do. Avoiding Saraki will spell doom to his govenment because he can not rule without the National Assemble. He is old enough not to be pushed like small boy.

And just maybe some of you relatives voted for him. Be careful when you throw stones in the market - your loved ones may be hit too.

Goaldyn Boy said...

Bullcrap! I take anything that comes from Punch with a pinch of salt! Punch newspaper is a mouth pieces of Thiefnubu! They can fabricate and write rubbish in order to deceive people or to persuade Bhuhari!..... As far as the Senate is concerned Saraki is more powerful than Bhuhari and Thiefnubu! Why I say so is because Saraki has support both in APC and PDP! So, it is Bhuhari that needs Saraki more than Saraki needs Bhuhari! It is more easier to impeach Bhuhari than to impeach Saraki!

Having said that, I don't understand all these noise about Saraki wanting to meet Bhuhari and the latter refusing! Bhuhari will be the one to lose if he refuses to work with Saraki because if the country doesn't move forward, he will be the one to be blamed by 2019! Does it even matter of they don't meet? If I were Saraki I will stay put on my lane!

To all u fools dat can't read beyond d lines thinking dat Buhari needs saraki for d fear being impeached pls do remember dat nigeria doesn't want to get back into d hands of d military. He is still a general even though it's a democratic government.....he has nothing to loose so saraki needs him instead

Bitter/Insecure Igbo Girl !!! Your Comments reek of bigotry and jealousy!! you need more exposure in today's world.

Why re u talking like dis??? What saraki did is wrong or av u 4gotten dt saraki is frm pdp? Where was he wen apc co members re brainstorming...saraki is non integrity man.

Alake said...

Lol, Nigerian politics.

Watch Out!!!

Zinwestta in the track titled Obinrin.

Exclusive to Lake Records!!!!!

sweetie said...

No u ar wrong, PDP is already frustrated. Sai baba Pls serve saraki well. His not worthy working wit

More than half of what you read on media and even the social media are fabricated lies and make believe assumptions. If you base most of your knowldge and judgement on these things and believe most of it, you will live a fools life

Hmmmm.. Mega Point ! If you are capable of rebellion then you are capable of anything. Bonita, chop knuckle...

Which party? Did Buhari tell u dat he belong to apc? Sit down dey look

Anon 10:16 Am, shut your dirty mouth up Idiot. PMB said it before that those who new decamped to APC should not expect that APC will give them ministries appointment etc. Even Saraki himself was aware he still went ahead and do he worst, now u re expecting PMB, Tinubu and the rest of APC chieftains to be happy with him right? U re a garbage.

meggy said...

Welllll........Their business

Don't sweat it guys, they'll sort themselves out. Aren't they politicians anymore? Pls chill people....

We are watching it is unfortunate how Apc. Is handling their issues. First cut is the deepest.

Buhari has nothing to lose. The north will still vote for him & d SW will still choose him in d primaries over saraki. Saraki has everything to lose. He needs friends in APC & nobody wants him in PDP.

The funny thing is pple like El rufai are working hard, winning hearts & minds & have a surer path to d presidency dn scheming saraki.

How is dat Nigeria's problem

Very correct, stupid yorubas, how market?

So whose rebellious here bikonu? Majority carried d vote, is dat rebellion? It simply means dat even APC members voted him in....see me see gobe oo

Your re a pig for calling d igbo into ur argument, maga

Don't blame his utterances, he lacks the least of common senses. I would have said maybe cus he his a house help.. But I won't.. I know wonderful and intelligent helps.. He is a victim of social media.. Internet don dey everywhere

Y do u pple hate d Igbo's? I am certain u knw ur forefather awolowo is d fool DAT made Yorubas betrayals n lazy. Can ur useless tribe exist without d Igbo's? Can u people hustle n work liked Igbo's? We run d economy of Nigeria and we were even tagged d third most industrious in d world after China n India. If u v a problem with us den try to b beta . akpa amu

@Don andre your great grand father iS the bastard.& this use girl call linda.God go punish your generation.

abujakenneth said...

How many times has he met Tinubu. The man is BGS

Dis 9ja Sha ohmmmm

Ohmmmm