Deplorable state of social welfare office in Ibadan, Oyo state (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 12 July 2015

Deplorable state of social welfare office in Ibadan, Oyo state (photos)

A LIB reader who visited the place sent in the photos and wrote;
I write to you with a heavy heart. Social welfare generally is meant to remedy the ills of the society. Hence, it engages in different services such as;  child welfare services including adoption, solving post/pre marital crisis, rehabilitation and reformation of delinquent & mal-adapted youths, Providing care, protection for the disabled, destitute etc but one would ordinary think that an agency that does this much for the society deserves a lot in return. But reverse is the case in Oyo state as it looks do not fit all any of these welfare functions."
I got a letter from them, I decided to pay them a visit (as a professional counselor) what I saw was indeed an eyesore (ranging from dilapidated building, inaccessible road, Zero publicity, lowly motivated staff, etc.) The most surprising aspect is that people visit this office regularly, and its a pity that the government doesn't see it fit to give this agency a face lift, despite the revenue it generates for the state. That is why I took it upon myself to take some pictures that can buttress my concern.

41 comments:

Lol..

My goodness, looking like an abandoned property, smh what a bad government!

Lol. I'm not surprised tho

Such a garbage. ... why is dis Ibadan so dirty nah?

Ibadan ancient sha

Its a pity that this is happening, just like majority of other agencies. Apart from this, we also have zero maintenance culture in Nigeria, especially towards govt owned projects.

Ajimobi indeed has failed the people of Oyo state, but yet always swift at pointing an accusing finger at Ladoja. Hope this info gets to him and something is done asap to help protect this change we all fought for.

Faith Eze's Blog said...

Whoa,looks lyk my village square

This is a social slum not a social welfare.Its supposed to provide welfare to rats,cockroaches and lizards not humans biko.

Arsenal said...

Is it wElfare or wArfare? Looks like war torn clinic

This country is a big a joke. Nigeria stil remain in peace is because the don't depend on they govt. for their needs or otherwise Somalia would be child's play...

Hmmm it is well

Too Bad

Order for your beautiful bedsheet @79AEFD3B
Delivery available Nationwide.

This is so bad now.

How do these guys plan to help anybody in this state?!

ArranCar said...

same as many institutions.

ArranCar said...

same as many institutions...

ArranCar said...

our govt really has a long way 2go

itee said...

I think the workers so try and are motivated but are barely supported by the government
.Social Work is poorly encouraged in the country, most times the worker who haven't been paid for more than 4months now have to.use from their pockets it's really sad. As an intern there it was very pitiful

That's govt for u, they dnt believe in renovation or maintainance until d building collapses they cldnt be bothered

I had no idea we had one of these.

The building self need social welfare 👄👄

Not trying to excuse the government authorities here, but can we be a tad responsible for some of the littlest things in our lives? As opposed to locking people up for petty crimes and taking bribes from them before releasing them, make them do community services, build service hours into school curriculums, encourage students in high schools/colleges to develop social awareness by forming clubs and organizations that make positive contributions...and this doesn't have to involve money. The over grown bushes and weed at this establishment can easily be taken care of by just 4 teenagers.

Na so government things dey be as people tend to neglect it say after all it's not a personal property. Linda take note!

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Not good at all

Nigeria my country!!!

I really look forward 2d world beyond in Heaven where d streets r gold, and not all dis decay we see over here.

I use dis medium, and my day as point of contact to declare, and decree:
‘completeness, wholeness, health, peace, welfare, safety, soundness, tranquility, prosperity, perfectness, fullness, rest, harmony, and the absence of agitation or discord in ur lives.

From now on:
Whosoever shall bless u shall b blessed, and whosoever shall curse u shall b cursed.
YAHWEH bless u, and keep you. YAHWEH make His face shine upon u, and be gracious 2u. YAHWEH lift up His face upon u, and give u SHALOM. In the name of SAR SHALOM (the Prince of Peace). Numbers 6:24-26.

Linda, and all LIB readers, it has b gracious, fun, and exciting - THANK U, and GOD BLESS Y'ALL. Sweet kisses, and luv y'all.

Oh do they hv a governor? Yes, the airhead with airhead daughters. Fix ur state Mr governor, I hv no idea why u were voted back.

Hmmm na wa oh! The Oyo State Government should rehabilitate that Ministry Of women affairs jore what is it with this their bad governors in Oyo state?

Why do civil servants always sleep in the office . Which way Nigeria?

Terrific

i mean these our leaders are just wicked!!!

Diamond said...

Not surprised

Its ok ... Its not too bad na

And u have a first lady in that state who is obviously a woman, same with who ever is in charge of the ministry of women affairs!!

You can handle ur own and they cry out everytime about #Gender inequality.

Yall not serious!!

#BushbeninBoy

O.Y.O for the workers!

IBADAN NEED REAL CHANGE THIS IS JUST ONE OUT OF MANY

I pray that the good Lord will cause the Oyo state government to do something about the building and everything in it since it has been brought to light in Jesus name. A men.

Ministry?

The oyo state governor is indeed a disappointment. It's so sad to know that he was re-elected a second time after he did nothing the first time. And his daughters continuously post pictures of their lavish and extremely expensive lifestyles on Instagram and nobody seems to be asking where all the state funds have gone.

Dirty environment