Another Young Nigerian athlete drowns (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 15 July 2015

Another Young Nigerian athlete drowns (photos)

Student-athlete, Oluwatoni Onikeku, 20, a student of the University of Massachusetts, Lowell, died on Sunday July 12th while swimming with friends in the Deerfield River in Deerfield, Massachusetts.

Toni, who was an active member of the campus community, was a high jumper and sprinter for the track and field team, the River Hawks, at the university, where he earned several medals.

His family left Nigeria when Toni was 7 and have been living in Fitchburg for 13 years. He has been described as a well liked teammate, outstanding athlete, strong student, and an active member of Student-Athlete Advisory Council. May his soul resr in peace...

This was his last instagram post. Same day he died. May his soul rest in peace, amen.

63 comments:

Rip young blood

Innocentia Annie said...

God forbid
Another one again?????
This is not good to be trendy
So heartbreaking
RIP to the dead

linda onyx said...

Rip

Haba! Dis is too much na

May his soul RIP.....

Not again!!! Lord have mercy

Oh!

Gosh,,,so sad,,,,RIP dear,,,,heya he is too young for dix***odikwa risky nd tyt

May his soul rest in peace.

Rest in peace.. but swimming is not by force..if you cant swim dont force it!

God pls grant his family d fortitude to bear their loss. RIP to him. May we never experience untimely deaths IJN.

Rip

What is happenin 2 our boyz?

Mihearty said...

Rip

What is happenin 2 our boyz?

Handsome dude, what a loss! Almost looks like Clarence Peter in the last pic. RIP young one.

OMG! What's happening?

May his gentle soul rest in perfect peace. So touching.

RIP bro

Juliebabe said...

Their river/lake is partial, why must it be drowning Naija people. May his soul rest in peace, amen and may God give his family the fortitude to bear their loss

Nawa just like dat! So sad! May God accept his soul Amen. Lolo1

so disheartening and sad we once stayed together in FAAN quarters MMA Ikeja Lagos R.I.P Toni Onikeku

Eyaaa may his soul rip Amen.

May his soul rest in peace,God heal the family

na wa oo R.IP

Nky said...

Rest in peace.

May his soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

So sad in peace may his soul rest

na dsame destiny both of carry come dis world ? Linda lmao

Sleep on

Hmmmmmmm!!! Dis is bad ooh...

Frm linda ikeji look alike

Arsenal said...

Drowning thing again.
Families are really in distress.
May your soul rest in peace.

◇◇◇◇◇◇ If ignorance is bliss, wipe the smile off my face
◇◇◇◇◇◇

Wakapass said...

May his gentle soul rest in peace, God pls protects ur children.

He drowned or he was let to drown......don't understand this chains of drowning incidences....... Rip broda.....

God pls grant his family d fortitude to bear their loss. RIP to him. May we never experience untimely deaths IJN.

Return If Possible.(RIP)

Rest his soul!

So sad may his soul R.I.P

Da Fuck?
RIP Son.

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Nawa for all these sad occurrences - rip Young man. Thoughts and prayers are with the family x

So sad may his soul RIP!!!

This is unbecoming... Very worrisome development 😭😭😭. We need to consult our oracle ASAP!
Rip to the dead

olatunolas blog said...

Rest blood res

Swimming is not by force.These talents we are loosing every other day is becoming worrisome.

Spiritual arrow knows no geographic boundaries

May his soul rest in peace.

mimi said...

Kindly nite linda that the young man is still very much alive and not dead PLEASE do ur research well, the mothers brother is my friend n we still talked today that his still in d hospital reviving n not dead please the family here n over there won't find this funny pls. Kindly do ur reaserch well madam Linda

mimi said...

This is sad that the young dude is still in d hospital while his family are praying seriously that he will make it n here u are linda broadcasting that his dead if u want to confirm I will gladly give u his uncles number pls this is too bad

mimi said...

Already munched dis page for the brothers mum to see proclaiming the young man is dead how sad his ALIVE madam LInda

mimi said...

Linda is not posting my comments this young man has not been proclaimed dead pls. I still spoke with d mums brother this morning his still in d hospital not dead yet

RIP. I hate going close to water

May his soul rest in peace....

Folks need to be educated that rivers are not what they seem. Some rivers have very strong current and can get quite deep, if you are not careful even a very strong swimmer could get caught up in the current and easily drown. Rivers are no safer than the sea!

Ikuku AmStrong said...

RIP to the dead. So sad:-(

I personally know this dude and I can tell you that he was a gifted young man. The entire Nigerian community in Massachusetts is devastated due to this loss. He will surely be missed. His Burial will take place this Friday.