Senator-elect Dino Melaye wants allowances, salaries of legislators reduced | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 27 May 2015

Senator-elect Dino Melaye wants allowances, salaries of legislators reduced

Read the press statement below...
Senator-elect, Otunba Dino Melaye, said he has never been a government contractors and will not be one. He also called on Nigerians to pressurize the incoming Assembly to reduce exuberant salaries and allowances of Nigerian legislators.
Melaye who will be representing Kogi West Senatorial District under the platform of All Progressives Congress (APC), spoke in Abuja on Tuesday night during a reception organized in his honour his friends and relatives.
According to him, the high cost of running the National Assembly is unacceptable because Nigeria is in a serious financial crisis.

"Leaders must make sacrifices in order to move the country forward. Contrary to suggestions from certain quarters, I will not relinquish my activism while in the Senate. I will continue to oppose anything that is not in the interest of Nigerians.

"‎I have never done government contracts in my life, from local, state to federal levels. I have never done any. I will never do it. Some people said I should abandon activism. We have gotten to a stage in this country where people from the grassroots can win elections. Politics is not elitist. For me, in the Senate, anyone that is expecting me to go there and become quiet, your dream will not come to pass.

"Where we need to say no, we will say a capital no. Where we need to say yes, we will say yes. For me, in a just society, silence is a crime. We have no other country to call our own, but Nigeria," Melaye stated.

Speaking specifically on the need to reduce allowances of legislators, he said:‎ "Until we get to an acceptable level in this country, no legislator should keep quiet. This may not be palatable to my colleagues, but I am using this opportunity to call on all Nigerians that in the 8th National Assembly, we must cut the pay of legislators. It may not be okay. But we all need to make sacrifices. He who must come to equity must come with clean hands.

"If we must tell agencies of government to call down expenses, we must lead by examples. I want to appeal to my colleagues to support me so that when we get down to the floor, we will cut down all our allowances. Already, we are on perilous times. There is need for correction. We cannot do it. It will take the people to energise us.

"Nigerians must rise up and tell their legislators to support pay cut. The executive too should cut down its expenses. For instance, in the art budget, N3 billion was budgeted for the president's travels. Where is the president travelling to? Is he the president of the world? The people need to encourage us to do the right things."

83 comments:

We all want that. Lindaobserve

Pls ppl should support this motion

hahaaaahqhahahahahaha...Everybody is talking.....Wen d actions start....hope they wont b d first to scream

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Etsako Pearl said...

On point.....Buh dem go hear??

Rightly said! How wish others will have such like mind.

destinysweet said...

Na so!lies all LIES

Auntylindagoddaughter

phatgal said...

lol @is he the president of the world
on the contrary mechie onu
u don thief finish and now hv talkin mouth

This man shut up already.

I think this woman abuser ought to shut the he**l up. Do you agree?

I couldn't agree more with him. Something really has to be done. Linda take note!

make this man pack well abeg

TheTalkin'Drum said...

3 Bilion for travel... And the out going president did not visit Jesus Christ in heaven lol may God watch over us all. Amen.

Otunba, pls how did U make ur fortune?

I support him on this,
although I don't quite like him.

Doose said...

Better man.

Best said...

Stale

Hmmm had wash my face with water, to be sure I'm reading a statement from Dino Melaye.
The future is bright for our country.

At this point it is appropriate to ask Senator elect Dino Melaye. What exactly is his source of income.

proudlywoman said...

I totally agree with him.

Frisky! said...

Impressive and commendable!

We need more like you in the Senate. God bless you Distinguished

OMG! N3 billion was budgeted for the president's travels - dis is tragic, and unacceptable. Wht sort of rubbish is dis. No wonder d rich get richer while d poor get poorer in Nigeria.

Ka! Am so feeling bad abt dis, and I hope dis needful change wil b implemented if not then we hav all b deceived by GMB, and his party.

My brother '' where is he travelling to?? And for what? I support you ''Mr D'' God bless u ''

Dis is nice but d question is which oda person in d house will support d reduction of their own salary. Dave

Thank God there are few of them who reason this way! I strongly feel that Nigeria is entering into her rest.... I hope Nigerians can build on this. Let's all demand 'sacrifice' from all quarters. They should lead by example

oscar said...

Nice one...

Bad_girl_riri 4 life said...

Yayyyyy..am back..riri is back..hope yall missed me sha...

God bless you sir for that......Nigeria go better!!!

Bad_girl_riri 4 life said...

Lol@ is he d president of the world?..Truth be told we need more pple like dis in government..

Gud one... Go for president, me and my family will vote for you no doubt.....

I wish dis letter will b posted everywhere around d offices of our leaders . To ring it in dere ears always. Den change will come. God make dis work . Amen !

Very true pls tell dem

Very true,pls tell them

Agboola Aluko said...

God bless you

elixir said...

Good move

*Linda. Let Buhari sit the officers of Senate and Reps with workers and make workers promise not to go on strike for 3-4 yrs while the congress reduce their pay/ allowance by 60%

For once u make sense, but bros u neva get enough enemies u wan add an angry mob of politicians to ur long sheet

Oh please! Is it about talking? Senator BEN AYADE of cross river made a similar call when he was in the Senate and his colleagues asked him to shut up. Because of that he wasn't given any major portfolio to oversee.. we need action not words!

Kudos to you.

Gbam!! Gbamest!!! Dino Melaye, one I greet u sir for this u spoke well

Pls if u want write a petition on it n put on LIB, let us join u and sign .r they not public servants same as those being owed salary for 5 months now

This is a welcome development, I just hope this govt officials adhere to it...

OMG! N3 billion was budgeted for the president's travels - dis is tragic, and unacceptable. Wht sort of rubbish is dis. No wonder d rich get richer while d poor get poorer in Nigeria.

Ka! Am so feeling bad abt dis, and I hope dis needful change wil b implemented if not then we hav all b deceived by GMB, and his party.

Let them do the right thing

evablaze said...

Oh mine! 3 billion what? ? aahh! d country av decayed so dis is how money is bin mismanaged?.. u talking urs will b d worse go take a chill pill...I juz dey wait*

But sincerely what is his source of income??? How did he get the flashy cars he drives? Being violent like he was in the house s not the way. Let's start by checking his source of income, rigging of election???

I love the set of electees under GMB, a lot of them seem to be change agents. So is it to soon to start hoping?!

Honestly its only sensible to suggest this.

Very good suggestion my brother. Please don't fail to begin the crusade as soon as the 8th NASS commences. Our legislatures hitherto have failed Nigerians by their greed and corruption. They have raped and milked the Nigerian people since 1999. The constituencies allowances should no longer be given to them, because such monies end up in their personal accounts. Their actions are tantamont to callousness and outright wickedness of the highest order.

Okwudili

Very good suggestion my brother. Please don't fail to begin the crusade as soon as the 8th NASS commences. Our legislatures hitherto have failed Nigerians by their greed and corruption. They have raped and milked the Nigerian people since 1999. The constituencies allowances should no longer be given to them, because such monies end up in their personal accounts. Their actions are tantamont to callousness and outright wickedness of the highest order.

Okwudili

Ovotee odegx said...

Senator Ben Murray-Bruce of Bayelsa is already on record for this same call.

Dreezy the quidnunc said...

Is that the point now? And is it your business?

Ovotee odegx said...

Senator Ben Murray-Bruce of Bayelsa is already on record for this same call for sacrifice by law makers.

Dreezy the quidnunc said...

We don't really know.. But that's not the point now...

The likes of Ben bruce( senator elect bayelsa). I wish otther senators elect will be thinkn this way. God help us

Ovotee odegx said...

Why can't people be happy and supportive of gestures like this one? Every time I read about people like this guy and senator Ben Murray-Bruce, it gives me hope for Nigeria. You always read comments that are judgmental and negative by nature. Let him get there first before u judge him pl.

What about relinquishing previous exaggerated salaries paid and bribes? Like the one you used to build your marbled edifice? Na civil servant pocket money you been take do all dat one? Hian

Fool, u lack sense, ppl r talking bout makin d country a better place ure formin impersonation

Dino ha ha ha Dino !! Dino!!! ..........Great!! Abusite!! !!! Gree sat !!!!!!!;;!

Don Casey said...

I will accept it's genuine thought if it came from Ben Bruce but from a woman beater and serial womaniser like Dino? It's eye - service. Wasn't he the one that was flaunting his expensive house and exotic cars/bike? Who does that at his age? How many companies does he have? What is his source of income?

U don't ve 2 like him,ok??

On point lead by example

I tell u

U don't ve 2 like him,ok??

I concured

Supported

Dino was made already even before venturing into politics.

klue said...

he should be serious with bringing it up when sworn in and stand firm with others of like minds for the implementation to be done.

princess said...

Dino should pls shut up! What happens to billl against domestic. Violence???? If not mistake Hw did he get into senate? Rubbish

No dont agree. He is so right. Dont you want NIGERIA fixed? Irrespective of what he has done in his private life. Let he who hasn't cast the first stone. Besides besides he is speaking on a topic that is conveniently been ignored by Nigerian POLITICIANS.

Why, because he speaks the truth

How about you contribute intelligently on the forum. Man is speaking the truth. Youth of today. Sigh....

100% correct.

True talk. If change is sought, then they need to do the needy. See why its on record that Jonathan ran the most corrupt govt. Had he won the election what will we be saying. More of the N3billion buget for presidential travel would have been budgeted. Who could forget how he budgeted N1billion for food.

That is not the point. We crave change and here is a change agent and all you do is criticise. Reason well.

Totally concur with you. Some uneducated ones on here. Tribalism has prevented them from reasoning well. Whilst others talk without reasoning. The Mr Maleye has stuck his neck out on this you would think people on here would support his motion. No you getting ones posting abuse and pointing fingers about his private life and cars he drive.

Gbidigbidi Myentire Myconcern said...

UP NEPA if dat will happen

tiennynnah said...

NICE SUGGESTION BY THE SENATOR ELECT, THE ISSUE IS THAT WILL OTHERS COMPLY? A REDUCTION IN THEIR WAGES IS NECESSARY, MONEY SHOULD BE DIVERTED TO THE RIGHT PLACE. NOT JUST EACH PERSON GOING HOME WITH A HUGE AMOUNT OF MONEY WEEKLY AND GRADUATE ARE ROAMING THE STREET JOBLESS WHILE SOME THEY ARE EARNING LESS THAN 18,000.