My parents initially didn't want me to marry Soyinka'- wife opens up on love story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 21 July 2014

My parents initially didn't want me to marry Soyinka'- wife opens up on love story

Wife of Prof. Wole Soyinka, Folake Soyinka recently opened up on their love story in an interview with The News magazine where she revealed how she and the Nobel laureate met and her parents initial objection to their relationship.
"There were objections from everywhere except from my sisters and brother who were happy if I was. I also had the support of his siblings here. My parents along with most of my relatives objected, not because of anything, they just felt he was too famous and too accomplished. They worried about that. But within a few months after we were married, my parents had changed their mind and they loved him until they passed away. His close friends didn't have a problem with it but also everyone had an opinion. Then came the Nobel Prize in 1986 and that derailed everything for a couple of years. More than a quarter of a century later, those opinions didn't count, we are still trudging along. I have enjoyed love because of him" she said
On how they met;
"I knew he liked me from when I was in the University of Ife but I was young and he was so accomplished so I was kind of worried. After I left Ife and went to do my NYSC in Kaduna state, Dr Biodunjeyifo came to visit me and said Kongi (Prof Wole Soyinka) had been looking for me. After the service year, Dr Yomi Ogunbiyi who was at the Guardian got me a job there and one day, Wole stopped by. Our courtship was interesting" she said
She also revealed that the Nobel laureate, who turned 80 recently, is a great cook;
"He cooks and he is quite good at it. He even cooked about two days ago. When the boys were really little, one day in California, he called all of us to the kitchen and said he wanted to have a family meeting. They were so young I don't even think they had any concept of what a family meeting was. He lined all three according to their heights and asked me to sit. He said he has something to tell us and he was only going to say it once. He whipped some cooking utensils, moved them around noisily in the pot, threw some up, caught them performed a few tricks and then told us to listen. He said there were only three people in the world who can cook pasta like he does; one is dead, the other is in Silica, Italy and he is the third one and he is going to cook something that we have never eaten. He cooked pasta that day and we truly enjoyed it. True dramatist." she said.

68 comments:

Some days ar like dat; gud uo followd ur dream. pretex4luv@yahoo.com

Awwww! So lovely to learn he cooks.
I wish them more years of marital bliss.

I dnt understand wht she meant (too accomplished)? pretex4luv@yahoo.com

Eyaaa......love nwantiti.

Family is everything..

Dan Skila said...

Intresting thats nice, I must say the woman looks very young, and you are very lucky to marry to a well known prof..

danskila1@gmail.com

Such is life

I love Wole Soyinka. Ever have. Iv tried reading all his books. He is a great writer and I wish him many more years. God bless you sir.

Wole Soyinka is a great man. Madam u forgot 2 narrate de aspect of concupiscence in your love life. Lol. I was actually waiting 4 dat part but didn't see it. Al de same its awesome. I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Who would have thought the prolific writer has some soft and humorous side to him! Aweome....

Peejay said...

Pasta virtuoso indeed. How romantic especially for someone with a 4inch high afro and 3inch long beard. Never judge a book by its cover...

Juliebabe said...

That was sweet to hear but i only liked the ending part starting from our courtship was interesting downward.

whatever will be, will be no matter how far away you are...
#PICCANTO#
lausmithuj@gmail.com

Nice one its good for dem

LINDA said...

Lol. Real dramatist. I respect the man. God bless his family

Awwwww, me likey... :D

Smiles! Hun
Mamafunkky@gmail.com

I love Prof, good to see that he is not only a great icon but a good husband and father too.

Bibo said...

Such a wonderful story

Every woman's dream; okay maybe some. Men who cook.

pls linda, when ever i look at ur beautiful picture i use to hav this wet dream, pls may b u wil help me out, tnx.

Wow so Wale can cook, good to know he has an interesting attribute.
#PICCANTO#
lausmithuj@gmail.com

She followed her heart and see where she is now

Watch hilarious videos here

Dorobucci Vs Etighi dance

Man Caught his BestFriend in Bed with his Mum

Secondary school girl doing things with a gateman in the bush

2 Girls taking Advantage of Themselves inside an Abandoned Store.

Millypee said...

She is lovely.

Are you that dull? Accomplished as a literary giant and a Nobel Laureate. Can you beat that?

The true story was that, Wole Soyinka left his wife and kids and started having an affair with his student Folake who was a student in Uni Ife back then whom he later married. Folake was from Sapele and her parents weren't pleased with the relationship. Likewise, Wole Soyinka's wife was distraught and his family felt abandoned by their father who was chasing a little girl and neglecting his family! This is the true story....back then, the gist was that Folake was a husband snatcher because Soyinka was already married before having an amorous relationship with his student. Not all that glitters is gold...Linda, confirm d story and post! Dont swallow this comment oh!!!

WELL, MRS WOLE, DOESNT CHANGE THE FACT THAT YOUR HUSBAND IS A MALE CHAUVINIST WHO FEELS THREATENED BY A WOMAN WITH POWER!!! GOOD TO KNOW YOU HAVE SOME LITTLE SWEET MEMORIES TO HOLD ONTO THOUGH! BTW AM A FAN OF HIS BOOKS, BUT NOT HIS CHAUVINISTIC SIDE...

Lolz. Yeye, you were expecting her to talk about that. You would have waited forever. The products of the concupiscence is seen in their number of kids together.

Wow. This woman is still young and fresh. Am sure she's grounded academically and in thoughts to win the heart of such a man. Wish them more blissful years ahead.

Wow cool story

Good man

All na wash, wetin an 80yr old man is doing with a 40-something yr old woman? The way she narrate this story, it sounded like Wole Soyinka was never married before! Wole Soyinka abandoned his wife and kids to have an affair with Folake who was his student then at OAU, whom he later married! Wole Soyinka already have grown kids and if you ask Soyinka's ex-wife, she'll tell you that Folake was a husband snatcher. And she was distraught and felt neglected when Soyinka left her and the kids. Nobody will tell u d true story bcuz they're trying to protect Wole Soyinka's image!!! Not all that glitters is gold...True story!!! Abeg post my comment oh

She followed her heart not her dream. Cute couple ----C21

Awww :) Ehen, next week Monday is give away Monday and it's my birthday. Whoop! I'm really hoping to get something from you Aunty Linda :D | joy@zimylink.com

zoomzoomzoom said...

Awww...very romantic. Nice to know that Professor Soyinka has a very human side even though he's a legend extraordinaire.

Kenyan Gal said...

aaaaawww!!!so touching

AN ICON...ONE OF THE VERY RARE ONES IN NIGERIA. WELL DONE.

awwww..patoswife@gmail.com

Folake used to be 'runs girl' in Ife. Stop making it sound as if Kongi just love you like that. You and your group were in the circle of aristo doing parties with General Akinrinade and his group of big guyz in Ife axis. You are very lucky you were given the honor of wearing Kongi's ring. Who doesn't know that Kongi is a serial lover and a very smooth operator. You married your dad's age mate, so he must treat you like his baby. Lucky you dear.

Linda abeg dis one no be news,
still mourning my friend.

Nkechi Afamu.

dhobiz said...

I feel you,it's good when you're with someone you madly love.

Bold Kid said...

Aww...lovely! she obviously is enjoying her marriage. Good tin to knw he cooks too.

Love is swt

Sail on my Prof of life#Theredseashallneverprevail#

###################GOD punish devil#########################

Pretty interesting,love will alway find a way.
Cooldavoe@yahoo.com

More years of marital bliss.

Bbg Eze said...

This man go dey spend money on plenty hair shampoo if not dandruff go dey full this him hair

Awwwwwn how sweet.

ralbro007 via Sony Ericsson W850i

But you have not said he was your lecturer @ ife and he was also married and you helped in scattering the union as a runzs babe . Now you are forming happily married . Belinda from OAU days

I L♥√ع dat......its nice..... L♥√ع in d air

comfort said...

Gud 4 her

Aunty stop lying. Which parent wouldn't want their daughter to marry an accomplished man? Woke Doyinka is a cultist and founder of "Pirates confraternity" aka " sea dogs" so I'm sure that's the reason why your parents objected.

My dear, I'm equally confused. Did her family have self esteem issues? It just sounds silly

Awwwwww...that's a lovely story.

A Round Of Applause For ƴǒǘ For Marrying Him. (Linda's Man)

Very true.

Thank u don't mind the liar.... Accomplished indeed.... Which parent will want their daughter to marry a man who left his wife unceremoniously? Soyinka yeye man

Folake stop lying, some of us were in OAU and he was your lecturer..... He abandoned his wife n kids.... Ur parents did not agree cos of that..... Soyinka was a serial cheat.. Good u have lasted this long but pls keep quiet rather than lie about an issue where there are witnesses

Yes you are absolutely correct!!! He is one of the problems disturbing academics in our universities till date!

A man who can cook, that is what ladies like lol!!! Whizman

Yeye girl ...... so Folake dey form now about marriage, abi? Soyinka is a real osomo.... Jeyifo na one of his boyz arranging girls for Kongi. And you Folake was a MEE protégé. Dr. Ogunbiyi former Times Newspaper self carry a beauty queen for house and relegated his first wife, Mrs sade Ogundiyi to the background. Folake Doherty,don't come hear now to tell us nonsense.
No be you scatter the Kogi's home. Telling us, he is a good cook, from time nko ? An elder wey dey knack his daughter's age mate toto must wash her underwear now.
Please, the media has a role to play in building a sane society.... do not encourage all these ashewo girls come dey form in the media. Nonsense !

www.nollywoodtvreviews.com

Anon July 22, 2014 at 6:19 AM; yes she worked for late MEE. I remember them in their Opebi/Allen/Toyin Street days. Heavy chics. She should be in her fifties now.

LIBers went in. Lol.

Trust to get your history from here. If you want to know peoples stories, read comments. Lol

Like seriously,the real gist is in d comments''''' trust niga peeps they sabi finish person carrier

MR.ANONYMOUS, PLS SAFE A LITTLE PART OF THE STORIES AND PROTECT THE REPUTATION OF THE NIGERIAN HERO, A GREAT AUTHOR OF MANY BOOKS, A ROLE MODEL, PLEASE.