Boko Haram abducts politician's wife and two children in Borno state | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 21 July 2014

Boko Haram abducts politician's wife and two children in Borno state

Suspected members of Boko Haram have kidnapped the wife and two children of Alhaji Zaraye Mala Sheriff, a Councillor in Borno state who is reported to be a cousin of former Borno state, governor, Ali Modu Sheriff.
A source told Daily Trust that the men stormed the Ngala town residence of the politician in the early hours of Friday July 18th.
"The insurgents stormed the house of the councillor around 12:30am on Friday and asked the wife about her husband. They also asked her for the money he kept at home but she kept quiet. Luckily enough, Zaraye was at the other side of the house and when he heard the conversation, he fled,” a source from Ngala said.
He said angered by her silence and the absence of their target, the sect members took her and her two children away. Continue...
"Up till now, nothing has been heard of the woman and her kids. We have not heard anything about the two businessmen either,” he said.
Two other politicians, Alhaji Annur Mohammed and Liman Alhaji Hussaini were also reportedly kidnapped by the sect men.

Meanwhile there are reports that Maiduguri metropolis and its environs have been without power in the last three weeks following the destruction of electricity installations around Damboa town, 85 kilometers away from the state capital.

A senior official of the utility firm supplying the state with power, the Yola Electricity Distribution Company (YEDC) said the attack by Boko Haram members in the last three weeks around Damboa caused “huge damage” to their 33KVA installations.

“The problem is aggravated by the security situation around Damboa which makes it difficult for our men to effect repairs. The truth is that it will take time before electricity would be restored in Maiduguri and environs,” he said.

60 comments:

E don happen. pretex4luv@yahoo.com

May GOD save us

Her Excellency said...

Ohh its now d turn of them Politicians

Maybe d govt will pay mor atention now dat dey are sweepin thr corridors

boko haram again? These people are just making me fed up. Just cut us a slack

()L@-WUNMI

NaNcY DreW said...

Hands on my jaw *****sighs*****

It Is better 2 kidnap politicians dan innocent civilians bcs with dis more efforts will be made in rescuing de victims if they were politicians dan wen dey are ordinary civilians. Dats just de truth. I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Dan Skila said...

Na so, they should go after politician

danskila1@gmail.com

"cousin of the former Governor,Alimodu Sheriff. The chicken came home to roost.
I pray they are found hale and hearty.

#king said...

every day new story.................................#KingOfKings

Hmmm! Odi egwu really......let's see how serious de'll be on dis issue. God help us oh

In Phynos Words: IF YOU GO AGAINST ME, NTUÒ DOWN KA ALúSì.

……………..
¤GROWN MAN IN A YOUNG BODY¤

sweet malo said...

Please God,you have power over all things,give us a president that will protect us..!

Juliebabe said...

Na wa o, when will all this insurgence eish stop, father please take control.

May God save us from these beasts... donchyke@yahoo.com

make God safe Us for this Bokoharam issue for Nigeria

IFY NWAJESUS said...

Hope dis ppl are saying d truth

9jahub.com said...

na wao

9jahub.com said...

e go better,make we nor worry

advertise now to over 5000 online members daily at http://9jahub.com

www.vicshowplanet.blogspot.com/2014/07/suarez-needs-help-of-psychiatrist.html?m=1

THEIR DAYS ARE NUMBERED...

dis ppl are going too far

If it's true, that's good; atleast, they'll get to feel what poor citizens feel constantly and hopefully, join hands with GEJ to fight the battle...

*My R1.50c comment*

I wonder that there's anyone left in Borno to terrorise.

So the man ran when he heard his wife being interrogated by BH? God forbid! And allowed his family to be abducted? Shame.

Kimmy *****

Heard whilemena Moses parents were burnt to death in a car accident in Aba this morning serves them right

"he fled,” a source said.

What I get from this is that the politician, heard his family was in danger and "he fled"? Not "he went to get help" or "he called the police" or "he petitioned neighbours to help him resuce his family" but "he fled".

haters-slayers said...

singing there is fire on the mountain in ASHA's voice

NOT TRYING TO SOUND NEGATIVE BUT ITS TIME THEY START FEELING WHAT THE ORDINARY MAN IN BORNO FEELS. SOON IT WILL GET TO THE PRESIDENT AND THEN HE WILL GET TO KNOW THE NEED TO ACT FAST.

TEEANA86

Those who sow wind end up reaping whirlwind

This is worse than i think,wake everyday to boko haram attacks.
Hope they get out of it unharmed
Cooldavoe@yahoo.com

Hmm it keeps getting worse

Tina Ezeh said...

i pray they find them soon. tinaellington5@gmail.com

Bbg Eze said...

About time we heard the last of this evil

Make God dey protect us o, for this nigeria!

Make God dey save us o!
Mamafunkky@gmail.com

Make God dey protect us o, for this nigeria!

The greedy politician wanted to keep the money meant for the BH lunatics to himself. Now you all can see that this mallams know who d BH lunatics are and they are their sponsors.
God will use these mallams love for money to expose all of them. It just started. May confusion be their portion IN JESUS NAME! AMEN!!!

Micbechy said...

He is not Lucky then!!!! His wife and kids? Hope and pray they join him soon

It is obvious they are thief jare, dey asked for money, and when they dint get that, dey resulted to abduction #Leverage, since ali modu sheriff is a politician that just defected to pdp, politics is not to be ruled out

give urselves brain said...

abeg not meaning to sound ignorant but is it d same Borno dey kidnapped d chibok girls?d same borno where uk,us,france and co sent armies to get back d chiboks girls?and our plenty army?abi dem all go there go convert to boko?cos i doubt if isis can withstand america's force talk more of american,buckingham and france put together?make una talk true abeggi

So now they have finally reached the politicians? Maybe now they will agitate for quick and rapid response

May God protect them.

He ran away and left his wife and kids!

Rosemary said...

Insurgency!!! GOD HELP OUR COUNTRY. chidikwarosemary@gmail.com

dhobiz said...

Hmmm if not that kids are involved d best response to this would have been "to God be the glory",they should leave the families and face the politicians themselves starting with Tinubu

Boko, ur end is near!

What goes around comes around 'rubbish

I wish someone come up with a plan to destroy this things called boko.They seems to have out grown their creators.

As each day pass,some people seems to embrace this evil as part of us,others join them just to be alive for been in that part of my state and they keep growing stronger from our fear & weakness.

The part that scares me a lot is that the awareness people were creating then also died just the way all good dies in Nigeria .WHO WILL SET NIGERIA FREE ? YOU & I,START THE AWARENESS,DON'T EVER BE QUITE,Use the issue of the beast as our method of greeting.Do something with your voice & help break this evil chain of innocent blood turning into a river by the seconds.

GOD BLESS NIGERIA !

Nawa o

I @m FENZY said...

This situation has gottan out of hand

to be fair, the only way to effect change in nigeria is really to hit the politicians and their families. right now they are feeling it's not our problem, that is usually the attitude of our government. when it starts to affect them personally, maybe they will do something. i know it is bad but in a way, i'm glad that these higher uppers are also feeling what the masses are feeling, maybe change will be effected and maybe change will happen.

Must u type in capital letter? So irritating!

He fled?????????
Just praying for his wife and kids.
#PICCANTO#
lausmithuj@gmail.com

God dey..patoswife@gmail.com

na now they come...............a beg kidnap them thief

Until God himself come 2 our rescue,no politician can resolves dis BH of a thing nt even our clueless president

TB joshua has said it before that if the FG do not bring back our girls the insurgent (a.k.a bokoharam will turn against the politicians.

Laughing in Greek! The gods are not to blame! But, really may be now the so-called leaders will begin to sit up. I careless because a lot of the masses have gone to the world beyond and the monsters we call leaders did nothing but condolence visits without even using part of the looted funds to care for those in d hospital. Nwachiocha!

May God Bring Them Back Safe. (Linda's Man)

dessymal said...

finally its @ their doorstep...let them suffer what the masses are suffering too
#BringBackOurGirls