Liza Morales writes open letter on losing Lamar Odom to Khloe Kardashian | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 6 March 2013

Liza Morales writes open letter on losing Lamar Odom to Khloe Kardashian

Liza Morales (pictured right) was with NBA player Lamar Odom for 10 years. They had three kids together, Destiny, 14, Lamar Odom Jr, 11 and a third child, Jayden, who died at six months old of SIDS in 2006. Liza recently published an open letter in The Daily Beast speaking of her devastation at Lamar's whirlwind romance and wedding to Khloe Kardashian. See it below...
‘I don’t think I’ll forget the tight knot I felt in the pit of my stomach the morning I received the text message with three simple words on the screen. It read 'I’m getting married’ and it was from the man I’d spent more than 10 years of my life with.
‘Years that included us getting engaged in 2000 and becoming parents to one daughter and two sons. Yet not long after our separation Lamar Odom was getting married to Khloe Kardashian, a woman he’d met four weeks before.’
‘How could the man who’d constantly given me reason after reason for why we couldn’t get married just yet now be ready to tie the knot so quickly? There aren’t words to explain how I felt that day.’
Wow! That's life! See more after the cut...

I met Lamar in the 9th grade in Queens, New York, and was completely taken in by his wit, charm, and that devastating smile he so easily flashed at anyone he met. We dated from the 11th grade on and shared a tight bond due to a lot of things, including the fact that we both were products of broken homes.

Though my parents weren’t together, I did have a very close relationship with my father, whom I loved dearly and consider my hero. He worked very hard to make sure I could attend Catholic school and have everything I needed. But when I started dating Lamar that all changed. My father is Puerto Rican and he didn’t approve of me dating a black man. His small mind and small thinking ended the relationship with my dad. I wanted a life with Lamar and needed my family to support that. The next 10 years would be an amazing journey filled with many ups and down but Lamar and I were creating the family we’d both always dreamed of. Or so I thought.

We talked about marriage a lot during those days but Lamar would always tell me that NBA marriages never lasted. He’d point to Shaquille O’Neal’s marriage ending or Dwayne Wade’s marriage ending as examples of why we should wait until he retired to tie the knot. He told me he wanted to leave the game early and then the timing would be perfect for us. I listened to the many reasons why we weren’t married yet and believed them, knowing deep inside something wasn’t right. And then I slowly morphed into the girl I promised myself I’d never become, the girl who stayed long after she knew she shouldn’t. Truth is, I wanted that fairy tale so badly that I couldn’t bear to walk away from that life or take my children away from the comfort and security of a two-parent home.
I struggled to deal with all the groupies around him and with whatever else that was going on and just stayed put. My denial came to an abrupt end in 2006 after the death of Jayden. Lamar and I never really talked about our loss, which I know wasn’t healthy and also meant our relationship would never last. It couldn’t. I found out soon after that he’d had a long-term relationship with another woman—a relationship he said he’d end but he didn’t—and that was that.

We kept things cordial for the children’s sake after the breakup, but that changed when he married Khloe. Now we only communicate through third parties and lawyers, which I regret deeply since it is exactly what we each experienced as children and said we wouldn’t do to our kids.

I’ve only met Khloe once, at my request since she is my children’s stepmother and I felt it was important to get a sense of her and what she’s like around my children. It was a very pleasant meeting, she gave me a hug so I’m happy it happened.

Though some frown upon my decision to do a reality show, I agreed to be a part of “Starter Wives” so I could tell my own story of how things unfolded after Lamar married Khloe. We weren’t really together so I didn’t fall apart as many have suggested. I’ve have to deal with a lot of tabloid lies as the result of all the attention Lamar gets since he’s married to someone so famous.

To be honest I’m really doing the show for my daughter to prove to her that you can get up and move on after things fall apart. I did it to show her how you make mistakes and fix them and that you can never give up on yourself. She needed to see that and hear it from me. I think I also hope my father sees it as well. The only time I’ve seen my dad in recent years was at the funeral for my son. That was the first time Lamar had ever met him or that the kids had a chance to meet him. I’d really love for my kids to have their grandparents in their lives. They've met Lamar's father (his mother passed away before we met) and are very close to my mother. I’d like to see that change and see them have relationships with both of their grandfathers.

As I continue to move on with my life, it can be difficult to avoid hearing about the Kardashians day in and day out. But I do what I can to ignore the constant chatter and I try to keep it from the kids as well so they can have a life that is as normal as possible. I am hopeful that one day I will have a cordial relationship again with Lamar, but until then I have to think of myself and the future I’d like to have given that I’m still in my early 30’s.
I know Lamar wasn’t that happy with the show but it’s helping me move on with my life by getting my truth out there and that’s what’s important. I’m taking college courses now to help with my dream of creating a skin care line in the future. I spent a great deal of my young life focused only on Lamar and his world. That’s all over now. I'm looking forward to meeting someone new and finding a love again and finally walking down the aisle. I'm hopeful that I'll find someone willing to be a role model and a father figure for my children. They deserve that. Today it’s about me and the kids and moving forward. No anger or regrets. Just lessons learned and good days ahead.

221 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 221 of 221

I know she's not doing this for herself, I believe she has told her story so that every young, "foolish in love" girl would know that white or colored, the Parent's advise in a choice of partner may not be absolute but it should be given a lot of thought.
Wisdom comes with age,let every single girl of marriageable age SHINE her eyes. May Gob bless us

in this day and age,i wonder what happened to doing the right thing, to honour and intergrity,am a dude,and am saying the real loser here is lamar odom,he gained entry into hollywood A-list crowd, but for what,marrying an almost replica of his baby mama,khloe is cool and the realest of the kardashian clan,but coming from a broken home, did he really consider what happens to his kids, growing up in a broken home is never easy,peace to you sister, for holding him down for 10yrs before he became a reognizable brand with all the groupies and whatnots,a real man would have ended it a long time ago,and the text massage thingy is just too cold,your daughter is probably going to grow up thinking black men are d**ks,thats said twalley to 2baba for doing the right thing,anybody that was there for you before the fame and fortune is the real for real.

sydney said...

wow!! and i really loved lamar odom and i neva knew he had ds girl and dese kids....hes an ass!! all men r asses!!

Jay said...

Go Liza, you deserve to be happy. I am rooting for you!!!

mr. repent said...

*tears rolling down* i'm a man, a husband, and a young father of two. i work with a media organisation that starts with an "S".i felt really bad when i read this article, cos it reminded me of how i treated my wife. At a point i left my wife when she was pregnant just bcos of a new girl i just met. The most pathetic thing i did which i regret till date, was ignoring my wife, when she called me to say she was having cramp,also that she was carrying heavyload, all because i was with the girl in my car, i just told her to find her way home. she was 8 months pregnant. more so, the new girl in question didnt know i was married. i stored my wife's number as "disturber" so that the new girl wont detect, when she gave birth and went to stay with her peeps, i brought the girl home and she stayed three days with me, but didnt allow her to enter my matrimonial room, which i locked up and told the girl, my mum state der.men think they are smarter, i had to break the relationship cos, i looked in my wife's eyes and saw dejection, she wasnt happy, she looked pale. something happened one day, she took me to the market to buy brazillian hair, i needed just 15k more to complete it, so i harrassed my wife to send me money, telling her i was in trouble, she sent the money and we bought the hair. will never forget dat day. got home, made up my mind never to go back! its me and my fam now. I hate hw we cheat women, how will Liza cope? will never leave my wife! i'd rather die.

One of those stories that touch the heart. She sounded true, though, and I just feel her pain, really.
As for 'men are wicked' or wareva bad comments, I'll only believe that when I can be certain that our opposites are saints. I like her spirit, though, and can only wish her well and as for her desires for her children, I hope they are realised.

@iwugideon

sydney said...

wow!! and i really loved lamar odom and i neva knew he had ds girl and dese kids....hes an ass!! all men r asses!!

@Julz buhahahahaha...God bless u 4dt comment

Sparkling said...

so touching****sobbing*****
but then how can you have three kids with him,if a man loves a woman he will do everything to make her happy.Being that you have always dreamed of wedding;he should have married you just to make you happy and put a smile on your face. why did he agree to go all the way with khloe?anyways that is left for him to answer. I like your courage and determination to put your past behind and move forward.God(comforter of the broken hearten)is all she needs.May you find love and sunshine again.

Sparkling said...

so touching****sobbing*****
but then how can you have three kids with him,if a man loves a woman he will do everything to make her happy.Being that you have always dreamed of wedding;he should have married you just to make you happy and put a smile on your face. why did he agree to go all the way with khloe?anyways that is left for him to answer. I like your courage and determination to put your past behind and move forward.God(comforter of the broken hearted)is all she needs.May you find love and sunshine again.

wow i actually thought he was different! smh...she's pretty tho

ima said...

@that anon....marriage may not make a man stay but it would leave the woman with some entitlements...

it's sad...i've seen this happen with quite a no of people..you date a man for years and he keeps postponing the marriage or not proposing at all..and one day, he meets a random chic and proposes within 4-8 weeks...

bottomline----don't have kids with a man you are not married to..it will not be an easy ride! hold on! your husnamd will come and that motherhood will be a joy untold! my two cents!

Lamar so replaced her!!! He's so used 2 her he can never truly move on! If ur ex and your next look this alike, are u evn sure ur over her? #FoodForThought

Critique said...

Really pained.Baby mama 4 10yrs,3kids?? Jeeez!!! Were u acting Lady Of The Rings? Or Guardians Of The NBa?
Lamar married Khloe after 4weeks? Oya tell me dat Khloe isn't sharp

SB! said...

do u all know that Liza was a virgin for Lamar and hes the only man she's ever known while Khloe wasn't? so men walk away from that too...theres hope finally for ho's out there...

Let her pack Well jor. Why now? Where did she come from? Is she insinuating that Kloe broke up her home or what? Not a fan of the kadashian but this woman is just hungry for fame.

March 6, 2013 at 5:16 PM

If you have to be the first to comment at least be human enough to make a bit of sense.Not some anonymous maggot spitting out dirt, because someone borrowed you a computer and 10 minutes of internet time. You must feel stupid, reading the other comments and seeing that people are being more sympathetic. No be your fault, na Linda cause am FOOL.

As my people would say BOBO LAMAR YI, O BURU GAAAN.

When i read the story yesterday on daily mail, i felt a knot in the pits of my stomach. this is the link http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2288952/Lamar-Odom-falls-asleep-court-custody-hearing--mother-children-speaks-devastation-wedding-Khloe-Kardashian.html

Lamar is a two faced fool and karma is sure going to catch up with him, and Khloe i really pity. If she was African people would have advised her wisely to go and beg the woman or see a pastor for intense prayers. Its not a curse, but like i always say when a woman who has been genuinely hurt cries out God hears and answers.Lamar looks shifty, imagine him ignoring Kris Humpheries because he was with Khloe, HOW CHILDISH. He is looking for fame that's all he is NOT genuine fellow. Karma is a bitch and when the boomerang effect of what he has done comes back to HIT, Liza Morales would be long gone.

The woman's in pain but am glad she's admitted are mistakes but how can we justify Lamar's deeds to her.He was only holding on to her knowing fully well he dint love her till he found what he wanted;Very cruel!He picked up his things and moved just when he found what he was looking for.....ladies,we need to be wise!Let the relationship always be defined from the onset before you even give your consent.Also,remember to always set the rules and stand by it.

Hi woman,Khloe has done u no wroung,its Lamar thats is d bad head,as most men are.U didt need to av done this,it just shows u are not better than him.I advice u just move on and take good care of yrself and yr kids cause they are d only once that will remain constant in yr life.Talking from my experince of waisted 9yrs[marriage].

@ Lily dont mind that idiot,karma is really catching up with lemar.they cant have kids and they have been trying so hard...

The Regional Animal Hospital in Yorba Linda is well
equipped to handle the emergencies. There are approximately 17 million people in the US that suffer from some type of yeast infection.
licitations with regards to making ones cachet that is most certainly Talbots at present.
And so those who are suffering from high blood pressure should
be careful not to have such health problem for long and unchecked.
o - Strike a equilibrium between viewing 2-4 patients per hour.

my page: Brook Jacoby

goodsuccess said...

Liza Morales and Khloe Kardashian look like identical twins...so Lamar was trying to replace what he lost....it means he still loves her and is just using Khloe ...wow...the resemblance is uncannily eerie. They look more alike than she and her other 4 sisters Kourtney,Kimberly ,Kendall and Kylie...they are truly look alike...!nawa 4 Lamar

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 221 of 221   Newer› Newest»