'President Buhari looks like a colourful creature called Gollum in 'Lord of the Rings' - Fani Kayode | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 29 April 2017

'President Buhari looks like a colourful creature called Gollum in 'Lord of the Rings' - Fani Kayode

Fani Kayode in his recent opinion article titled: The Ailing President And The Coming Conflagration In Nigeria, has described President Muhammadu Buhari as a colorful creature called Gollum in 'Lord of the Rings'. The former Minister of Aviation in the opinion article reacted over the president's illness and the worrisome state of the Nation. Read the opinion article after the cut...
The Ailing President And The Coming Conflagration In Nigeria

If the United Kingdom's Foreign Minister, Boris Johnson, can describe the Leader of the Opposition Labour Party, Jeremy Corbyn, as a "mutton-headed old mugwump" and an "Islington herbivore" how on earth should we describe our very own President Muhammadu Buhari in Nigeria?

As each day passes he looks more and more like the colorful creature called Gollum in J.R. Tolkien's 'Lord of the Rings' and behaves more and more like the goblins and orcs in that same book.

This is a man who came back from the United Kingdom as an ailing and fading ghost and who, despite all entreaties and pleas from men and women of goodwill, has refused to resign.
Since he came back he has not been seen in any public function, apart from the usual Friday mosque prayers, and he has not presided over or been able to attend any of the weekly National Executive Council meetings in the last three weeks.

Worse still when his high profile and once very powerful Secretary to the Federal Government, Babachir "the Grasscutter" Lawal was asked what his reaction was to the fact that he had just been suspended and stripped of his job by the Presidency, he asked, in a contemptuous and condescending manner, "who is the Presidency?"

I worked in the Villa as spokesman to President Olusegun Obasanjo 13 years ago for three good years before I was appointed as a Minister and joined his cabinet and I recognise the import of that loaded question.

Simply put the SGF was asking the journalist that put the question to him who exactly had suspended him in the Presidency because, as far as he was concerned, the President was no longer in control and other individuals are now making unauthorized decisions in his name and on his behalf without his knowledge.

That is how badly things have degenerated in Buhari's government as different forces and factions are attempting to grab the space and fill the widening power vacuum.
Again three curious events took place in the last few days which all confirm this dangerous state of affairs.

Firstly a Punch Newspaper reporter was marched out of the Villa by the President's Chief Security Officer, without any reference to the President's media team or aides, simply because he wrote a story suggesting that the President's ailment was getting worse.

Secondly, as many as 20 Ministers and the President's Chief of Staff refused to attend the last Federal Executive Council meeting which was presided over by Professor Yemi Osinbajo, the Vice President.

This begs the following questions: was this a well-orchestrated protest and boycott or was it just holiday-time for all those Ministers that were absent?

Thirdly the lying Minister of Information, Lai Mohammed, happily told Nigerians that the President "needed to rest" and would henceforth "not attend NEC meetings" but would instead be "working from home".

He also said that from now on all files that needed to be treated should be sent to the Presidents sitting room!

Do we need to hear anything else before we can safely come to the conclusion that our President is no longer himself and is indeed on his way out?

Whilst all this was going on and the confusion continued to brew another complicated and dangerous mess was silently unfolding in the background.

This is, of course, the deadly, venomous and utterly shameful snake fight of double-speak, treachery, and betrayal that is going on between Ibrahim Magu and his EFCC on the one hand and Ayo Oke and his NIA on the other with the National Security Advisor, Babagana Mongunu, dancing somewhere in between.

With accusations and counter-accusations from all sides, they are all dancing naked in the streets like madmen and bringing shame and opprobrium to the institutions that they lead and to our nation and people.

This is indeed bedlam in its fullest and most pristine form. It is worse than the cacophony of the loud, strange and divided tongues that bellowed and screeched from the biblical Tower of Babel.

A situation where the intelligence and security agencies are merrily "Tarkaring" and "Daboing" themselves before the entire world and exposing one another dirty little secrets all in a squalid attempt to gain the upper hand in an unfolding internal struggle for power and supremacy, is not good for the country and is even worse for the government that they all claim to serve.

The bottom line is that the Presidency is in utter disarray and confusion and the health of the President, despite all pretentions, is obviously getting far worse and is degenerating by the day.

Last week one rather bold commentator went as far as to describe him as looking like a "bag of skin and bones" and described him as a "walking ghost".

Many, including some of those around him, are wondering why he does not just resign, hand over the reigns of power to his Vice President and go back to Daura to take care of his health.
Does he find it so difficult to let go? Has his desire to hold on to power at all costs become as obsessive, compelling and all-consuming as Gollum's "precious ring?"

Does our country not deserve to have a president that is physically and mentally fit and that is hale and hearty?
The fact of the matter is that for those of us that are not in the corridors of power but that are in the know, all this is very disturbing.

The truth is that the consequences of such confusion and turbulence for a nation that is not only suffering the worst economic recession in its history but that is also going through the greatest pain, trauma, division, strife, butchery, hardship, and suffering since its civil war, are dangerous and unimaginable.

Yet sadly it gets even worse. The most troubling assertion that is making the rounds is that the President has lost it to such a degree and that he is so incapacitated by his health challenges that he is hardly ever lucid.

We are told that consequently the country is now being run by a small band of unelected, dark and evil men and an obsessive, paranoid, unstable, dangerous, volatile, ruthless, power-obsessed, ethnic and religious ultra-conservative cabal who have simply refused to let him resign in peace and who are covertly making all the decisions and are actually running the country.

When one marries this explosive cocktail to the fact that many are fully aware of what will happen in our country if Buhari dies whilst on the throne it is enough to give us all sleepless nights about the future.

That fear is compounded by the utterly chilling and callous public comments made by one Inusa Saidu Biu who claims to be an officer in the Nigerian Police Force.

A few days ago he said that Buhari had been "poisoned by his enemies" (meaning southerners and Christians) and that if the President dies he would personally "shoot 200 people dead".
His assertion and threat, made openly and publicly on his Facebook page, in full police uniform whilst carrying weapons and hardware, says a lot and invokes deep concern.

The truth is that Biu's words betray the mindset and reflects the thinking of millions of people from Buhari's core northern constituency, who think like him, who do not give a damn about anything or anyone other than Buhari, who see the President as their god and who are ready to kill for him at the drop of a hat.
There are literally millions of murderous and genocidal maniacs like Biu crawling all over the landscape and under thewoodwork of the core north and who are waiting to vent their spleen and anger and shed oceans of innocent blood in the event of anything untoward happening to the President.
Sadly all this sounds familiar.

Does anyone remember what sparked off the genocide that took place in Rwanda in the 1990's?

It all started when the Hutu President was killed in a plane crash and the Hutus were told that the plane had been shot down by their rival Tutsis.

The result was that in the space of one month close to one million Tutsis were hacked to death and butchered in their homes by Hutu mobs who were motivated by nothing but hate and a desire to effect revenge.

The rhetoric of people like Biu points in this direction. Only they will kill far more than one million if given half a chance.

The truth is that we are sitting on a keg of gunpowder in this country and I sincerely hope and pray that the Presidents health improves and some measure of order, predictability, sanity, peace and stability is restored.

If this happens we will have the historic opportunity to organise ourselves and vote the APC out in a peaceful election in 2019 but if it does not and Buhari dies before the end of his tenure, no-one in his right mind should expect a smooth transition of power to the Vice President.

This is because the cabal and Buhari's hard-line supporters and footsoldiers simply despise him and will not allow it to happen.

If the President dies whilst on the throne there will be chaos, carnage and destruction on an unprecedented and massive scale in our country because his core northern support- base will unleash mayhem on Nigeria and particularly on southerners and Christians that reside in the north.

What they fail to appreciate is that if that were to happen there will be an equally massive and unprecedented retaliation from the south and from the people of the Middle Belt and Nigeria will not survive it.

It is unfortunate that things have come to this but let no-one make any mistake: the will of the south must not be tested.
We are ready for the very worse and whether anyone likes it or not southern unity and solidarity is on the rise.

Gone are the days that our people will be butchered at will in the morbid quest for northern Muslim power and in an attempt to perpetuate Hausa-Fulani hegemony without a robust and equally devastating response.

We pray for our President: that God will forgive him of his many sins, grant him good health and spare his life but we also warn those that are planning to harm our people to sheath their swords before they set off a chain of events that will cause an unprecedented, historic and massive conflagration on the African continent, the likes of which have never been seen before.

May God help us all.

64 comments:

Same ways ur Father Look b4 he died..
Useless Omo Ale Jati Jati ..
They should Lock these Bastard Up and throw the keys into the deep sea..
U wan read ur Nonsense.?
U don sniff ur coke this Morning again abi FFK.?
Get a Life.
Some1 like U shouldn't even hv a Mouth to talk bloody Ex Convict.

Oooops..
FFK want Baba to throw some bread Crumbs his way the way Jona did ..
Iro nla ..
Ko Joor.
Keep Fooling yourself Ole Omo Ale.

obiora said...

Boom!Epic!

Let's wait and see which character Fani Kayode will look like when he is old and grey like Buhari

FFK well spoken, he that has ear let him hear, the South should unite and be ready for the police man spoke the mind of the northern brethren, therefore we should not be caught unaware. God bless Nnamdi KANU.

FEMI FANI KAYODE SHOULD BE ARRESTED.... U TALK LIKE A FOOL. WE NIGERiANS DO NOT NEED YOUR ADVICE. WE ALL REMEMBER WEN U HELD A PUBLIC OFFICE AS A MINISTER HOW U EMBEZZLED PUBLIC FUNDS AND WAS SACKED COS U WERE NOT COMPETENT TO RUN YOUR OFFICE DUE TO YOUR COCAINE ISSUES... WE DONT NEED YOUR CRITICISM U ARE LUCKY AM NOT D PRESIDENT I WOULD HAVE DEALT WITH U. D PRESIDENT WAS DULY VOTED FOR SO HANG YOURSELF MORON FEMI FANI KAYODE...

What a deep thought,FFK is already seeing 2moro while some ignoramus are still arguing about 2day.God bless u JFK

WTF!!! Sméagol?? That's not a nice thing to say...lmao

Stealing from the national cake is not made for u and ur fada alone,just because the man has refused to give u food soo that u can dance for him.u will soon kill yourself out of frustration.bunch of foolish thieves.

hrm paul said...

Well written if buhari dies and dey attack our people we willl retaliate it's going to be an eye for an eye useless people.

Gbam!!! Once again he has hit the nail on the head. Saying it as it is. Nigeria does not deserve this sick president. He should resign honourably and let us move on. So much damage has been done by Buhari and APC to Nigeria. We need to get out of this quagmire and make progres with a very hard working president

Did this Frodo-like looking cocaine addict man take his medication today?

Has someone given FFK food to eat today? I think he is paying for the food with this article.

Oga Femi, is your medication finished?

I will like to see you in your old age. Oh thats if u live as long as him. Running your mouth like gutter....

Topdawg said...

FFK abi wetin be him name sef. Why you and Reno dey carry this thing for una head as if na una prayer point.

Lmao. Hit cool cash! Get soccer prediction tips for Saturday 29th April 2017 @ www.fortunatusblog.com  

May God help us Amen!

Mufasa said...

FFK, rant from now till Jesus comes, you wont get crumps from the national cake. You make inflammatory remarks, remember your old age o. You abuse a president, you should be ashamed of your crack infested mind. Criticise issues nigga not personalty.

Any time this fool talks, his choice of words, the language he employs marks him out as someone that is conveniently possessed by the devil. This guy is gradually turning to a demon and it's too late to save him. If God says it's Buhari's time to die, he's ripe enough to die. But otherwise, your evil wishes will bounce back to you and your household. But, fact is, Nigeria is safer in the hands of a sick Buhari than under an almost always drunk, ineffectual buffoon Jonathan, who again, surrounded himself with drug addicts like Fani-Kayode and 419 artists like Reno Omokri.

Some people that comment here just talk rubbish.why not see simple truth and accept it.is Buhari hale and hearty?No he is not.why not go and take care of his health.haba.people attach alot of negative sentiments to clear cut cases

You are a complete idiot...you can't see the truth even when it hits you in the face

FFK has spoken the truth. A complex country like Nigeria and Nigerians as a people deserves a dynamic, strong, agile, healthy and intellectually alert President. Not one who is just marking time on the throne. There is too much work to be done for Nigeria to move forward. We cannot afford an ailing President who will merely be short-changing and stagnating the country. If Buhari really loves Nigeria as he wants people to believe he should hand over to his Vice to continue the good work until he gets better. When Buhari, before he had fully recovered rushed back from Britain to collect back power from the VP, it looked so childish because a fully healthy man finds it difficult to rule Nigeria talk less of a man with impaired health. Nigeria is presently in a situation of stagnancy and this is not what we voted for. Nigeria is bigger than any ethnic group and their aristocratic agenda. We can no longer be slaves in a country imposed on us by the British.

Stupid man. It is people like you who start trouble in our country. Why do u always assume the worst about northerners. This country has issues. Fighting corrupt people like u is what u don like. Stupid bunch of idiots

If your papa fit afford drugs he will be addict too. Useless element

Hard truth..

At this time of manipulable power vacuum, this is the exact time that unparalled corruption will explode. The vp is quite saintly but also too meek to stem a corruption epidemic. And nothing with a semblance of truth could be expected from the info minister that seems to relish his role as dispenser of logical illogicalities. A clean info mechanism could have been healthier for the future of this nation, for all and sundry. But secrecy,cultism, impunity seem to reign supreme. This should stop. For good

Igbe rara l’ara nke wo ile lo, FFK ma ke niso. Useless guy

FFK God bless you wella joo.
Our nation is in a serious mess, sentimental and so-called religious hoodlums...... That call themselves leaders.

FFK! I thought you changed ur name sometime ago! old fool! go fix your family issues. your type is not even worthy of tying the shoe strings of our worthy president PMB. What carreer do you have? Have you made a success of anything in ur life? See how OBJ disgraced you out of office, and Jonathan (whom u abused and insulted during subsidy march in Abuja) dusted you up to help in his campaign and yet u failed again. HMMM! YOU ARE A FAILURE FFK

Apc Should be seperated from buhari because the party agenda has alway been People oriented, but the president As a leader is responsible for the decisions he makes, As a president you are father to the nation and see that Your healthy status will harm Your People you Should hand over to Your vice before you go into coma,Now look at were we fine ourselves at a cross road a ghost president why ? After They will call GEJ a coward Wen the real weakling is the one Who refuses to let go of power so that peace will rain. FFK has made a point all Should take note the southerner are no longer going to watch why Their own is killed day and nite,it will be in the best interest of the North not to provoke the South no nigerian blood is worths buhari political ambitions,long live Goodluck Ebele Jonathan long live Nigeria.

awo said...

Femi if the president die then ur goal and ur prayers re achieved, God give life and takes and thank God u re also human, let's see how ur ends looks like, for someone to sit wishing someone death just bcs he questions ur ill go item wealth

Afi JFK na. Lol.

My dear, what u don't realise is that a greater damage was done by FFK and his paymasters before Buhari came in. Buhari will get it right to the disappointment of those mocking and wishing him death.

FFK is still battling with bitterness since 2015. Well, we know he is obsessed with the book/movie Lord of the ring and hence he named his son Aragon. Lol. What a name. He is so obsessed with Buhari too that he is trying to also give him a name of another of his favourite character in the movie. A character in which FFK shares the same personality with. Lol. As if we are not aware of the damage done by his paymasters. He should only continue to fool himself because this time around nobody will call u to aso rock and make u a 'director of media' or whatever. It's funny when people think this man has anything meaningful to say.

He made a very good point but the truth will always hurt those who is criticizing his write up. Any way the truth must be said n we all know it

Amiable said...

FFK has spoken well I don't know why people can't accept the truth. Did he say he wants to be d president or he has one to present? He only opened our eyes to reality by saying he should resign n handover to d Vice president bc of his poor health n jet people are saying gibberish. Has d hardship of ds nation not reach ur sides? Bc d president isn't competent other people are running d Govt for him. N u think that when he dies a natural death his cabals will accept it? They will want to fight bloody as its in their nature. They will kills xtians n it will turn to genocide as we will defend ourselves this is just an eye opener. I pray dt d president get well n finish his tenure to avoid ds mayhem in future. Let's learn to accept d truth no matter who it's coming from.

FRESH said...

Linda ikeji,opposition top striker.

Gollum?? would love to see the real live Gollum IF 'he' now looks like it. Lol

Honestly... You called somebody's father, Husband gollum.. Fk look at your wife, u married a dog sleeping with 90yrs old ooyinbo and all grades of Lebanese men back in calabar.silly man.

hsgbalo said...

Dog with bloody mouth..compare your self with the police man because both of u just just expressed ur opinions and not that of Nigerians. Bloody fool

nice piece

Spoogie said...

'He who has ear let him hear' instead of you ppl to be concerned bout what the north will do you're busy hating! If the President truly love the country he suld have resign. The day u hear the President die, God forbid. Please take cover bcos 'baboons will soak in blood' in his words

Well, everything have a time. When you are old you don't know the sickness that may befell you. Mind you,It Was The incompetence of your administration in all facets that brought Buhari.

Whatever..God in His infinite mercy shall intervene in Nigeria. PMB shall be well in Jesus mighty name...
A won omo Ife yi sha....

Whatever..God in His infinite mercy shall intervene in Nigeria. PMB shall be well in Jesus mighty name...
A won omo Ife yi sha....

FFK needs deliverance. He is not normal. No respect, bitter, insultive, scared, divissive, without empathy, vain and extremely eccentric. I pray you encounter Jesus and trully give your life to christ. Life goes beyond, material pursuit, women, and coccaine. Your war should be between you and your flesh and not you and a group of people.

Truth is truth. Truth cannot be amended. Truth is hard to cope with but it remains the truth. FFK has spoken the truth and it is hard to take. Nigeria is sitting on a keg of gun powder and I pray that it does not explode. President Buhari should resign or take leave and attend to his health. Only the living has capacity to lead. We do not want him to die but he should be more honourable and do what is necessary if he truly loves Nigeria

Guy, FKK has said the truth take it or leave it.

FFK has spoken the minds of all southern Nigerians. Enough of this northern. .........

yeye

May God bless FFK! He has said nothing but the truth. May God give the president serenity, healing and vigour he needs to lead Nigeria. As for those blood-sucking core northerners who are always in the business of shedding innocent blood at the slightest provocation (or even without any cause), you will soon meet ur waterloo! God bless Nigeria, I love my fatherland!

Only greedy Igbos,the drug pushers will be clapping for FFK as their hero

Fool. Only greedy Igbos,the drug pushers will be clapping for FFK as their hero

Chimamanda chinonyerem Chiemerie said...

Ogom....nwoke ....talk am.....again and again,the truth is bitter,wishing number1.....speedy recovery in Jesus Christ name amen...udo nija.

Yes, indeed. FFK is a real "prophet" of his generation, take it or leave it. It takes immense courage to sound these critical warnings even in the face of so much opposition. Kudos and much appreciation. QED@atm

Word!!

Like the saying goes ... a word is enough for the wise, but if they lack wisdom destruction awaits them.

Thanks Amiable,
Accept truth no matter who it comes from..

Nigeria, O great naija!! The shackles of slavery and ignorance still reign supreme. Please isn't truth also a slave here too? In my life I have never seen the level of brainwashing anywhere in the world like that in Nigeria. It doesn't matter who talks, whether FFK or a perceived saint, just accept truth and kick on. I surely believe some word in the bible when Christ said you won't believe the people you will see in heaven..

I still maintain that this country is too big for these people. We should split and go our separate ways for peace to reign. It is obvious we can't live together anymore

Word!..