Obono-Obla who represented Malami at the senate public hearing on the alleged forgery case yestrday, told newsmen that Malami had not erred in charging the principal officers of the senate to court.
He said Malami is answerable to President Buhari and not the Senate
“The AG has not done anything wrong. The AG has not undermined democracy. He acted pursuant to his powers vested on him by the Constitution, Section 174 (1) says he can prosecute anybody. And he has done that. The Senate is not on trial. He has not taken the Senate to court. He has taken four persons to court. They are not the Senate. Being President of the Senate does not make you the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. The matter was investigated by the police and a prima facie case was established and the AG invoked his powers under Section 174 (1) to initiate criminal proceedings against those persons. And this matter is now before a court of law. There is separation of powers in Nigeria. It is not the position of senators to constitute themselves into a court of law. He’s (AGF) not answerable to them. By virtue of the principle of Separation of Powers, he is answerable to the President who appointed him. And he has not done anything wrong. You cannot be a judge in your own case. We don’t have confidence in the committee.”he said
32 comments:
hmmmmmmmmmm
Vodoo Administration
Can't wait for the outcome of these scam! #Kwaruption
Oooh so u are one of the cabals. We would know who gets the last laugh u foolish human being
Really,separation of power #noted
Man Who Steals Female Panties Caught (PHOTO)
hmm
THIS COUNTRY IS JUST HORRIBLE.
AUNTY LINDA....
Who is this one again?
I HAVE NOT HEAR THIS KIND OF OFFICE BEFORE OOOO TERRORIST BUHARI JUST GO AN BRING ALL HIS KIND MEN AN BE APPOINTING ANY THING THAT COME IN TO HIM.
MR MAN BETTER SHUT UP I KNOW THAT U ARE ONE OF THOSE FOOLS SPONSORING THE SO CALLED FORGERY SHAME U ALL THAT EVEN UNA PRESIDENT IS INCLUDE IN THE SAME THING DID HE HAVE SCHOOL CERTIFICATE? DID HE GO TO UNIVERSITY? WHO MADE HIM GENERAL?
Who is this one again?
I HAVE NOT HEAR THIS KIND OF OFFICE BEFORE OOOO TERRORIST BUHARI JUST GO AN BRING ALL HIS KIND MEN AN BE APPOINTING ANY THING THAT COME IN TO HIM.
MR MAN BETTER SHUT UP I KNOW THAT U ARE ONE OF THOSE FOOLS SPONSORING THE SO CALLED FORGERY SHAME U ALL THAT EVEN UNA PRESIDENT IS INCLUDE IN THE SAME THING DID HE HAVE SCHOOL CERTIFICATE? DID HE GO TO UNIVERSITY? WHO MADE HIM GENERAL?
demo crazy.
Dats right. Linda take note!
For real? Impressive
With all this your gbagaun you're still looking for a generals certificate
Anarchy loomso! Can Buhari caution all these his big mouthed guys opening thier mouth to pass comments that could derail our democracy? I think it is high time the well meaning Patriots of this country to call President Buhari to order.Baba Obasanjo,Prof Soyinka,Balarabe Musa ,Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, Alex Ekwueme,and other elder statement steps in to caution the President on all these antics he is using.We need peace in this country and if we allow Anarchy to set in, then, everyone of you won't sleep.
They should commence impeachment process asap
U gave him the keys to the house. U surprised he locked up out....
Waiting for the outcome.
@freedomborn. You should be ashamed of yourself cos u made no point in your comments. U need to go back to your fucking school, to learn how to say something in public
Oga AGF u r wrong,u have just convinced me that truly there is a cabal.
U r answerable to the constitution which is protected by the senate,all these antics by the presidency is hurting the image of Nigeria,but i guess from here that u do not care about the image of Nigeria.
D national assembly can't summon an appointee of Mr president to answer or clarify matters in pursuit of public order..wonderful
Powers that be.
In other news, do you need a natural permanent hair removal solution? Have you heard about thanaka powder and kusumba oil? Google and read about them and send an email to kinibd@yahoo.com if interested in purchasing. Thanks.
A
I
I'm sure you wrote this in trance. Make sensible comments or hold your peace. It's a public forum. If you do not know anything about jurisprudence, I'd advise you educate yourself. The SA is spot on. The fact that things have been done abnormally doesn't negate the existence of proper processes. Let those charged go and defend themselves or at best challenge the jurisdiction of the courts or the locus standi of the AGF.They cannot invite the AGF on this issue. I hope you've learnt something.
Mr Jacob u r a mad man...Everyone is answerable to Buhari but he is not answerable to anyone..no matter what???u r a mad man and tht zoo levels will kill u guys in tht country...even during elections..a man choose to boycott every form of public debate..he Even said he doesn't owe Nigerians any debate,he can choose to say No..u guys let all of tht go..u guys take all of this shit....d senate can summon d AGF who is a fuckin Nigerian and not above d law..if ordinary d AGF can't b summoned by d senate then who can? Only opposition members can b summone I guess...Buhari is cooking and brewing problems and big confusions in d senate..SHAME ON BUHARI....#Zoolevels
good talk! in the same case, the president can be taken to court. who is he answerable to? the court or himself? nonsense democracy! better the military comes back.
We don't blame you!!! If Buhari is sincere to move Nigeria forward by downsizing the government/running a lean government/ not creating unecessary job for his extended families; you won't be here talking rubish....
This man be talking trash. How can the AGF not be answerable to the senate wen they are d ones that screened him for d post. Confused bunch.
That he can prosecute anybody does not mean that he can prosecute with malice and without justification. An AG can be impeached if he carries out his duty arbitrarily and without deference to the rule of law. The legislature, also, has the right to supeaen any official of the government, including the president. Any aggrieved person can go to court to challenge the supeaena. I'll advice the Senate to go ahead and issue a supeaena for his appearance. A letter of Invitation is not enough for a recalcitrant fellow.
Chyke
City: Unknown
Were you screened by the senate?
The music they've played has stopped... but it seems they're still dancing to the echo.
Buhari and his touring circus clowns...