Chimamanda Adichie confirms she & her husband have welcomed their daughter | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 1 July 2016

Chimamanda Adichie confirms she & her husband have welcomed their daughter

Popular Nigerian Writer Chimamanda Adichie and her husband Dr. Ivara Esegee have welcomed their first child. In a new interview with Financial Times, the writer revealed that she and her husband welcomed their daughter a while back but she decided to keep it private. According to her,
"This is the first time I’m saying it publicly. I have a lovely little girl so I feel like I haven’t slept . . . but it’s also just really lovely and strange. I have some friends who probably don’t know I was pregnant or that I had a baby. I just feel like we live in an age when women are supposed to perform pregnancy. We don’t expect fathers to perform fatherhood. I went into hiding. I wanted it to be as personal as possible.

55 comments:

OMG.... Congratulations my role model, love you!!!!!!!!

CONGRATULATIONS

******************************woooooow....... my vry own Amanda???????congrats boo boo......... sure ur daughter go resemble u through n through

Congrats to her. Linda take note!

Your cup of kunu
Congrats to you

Story!
Am bigger than all this lies.
SHE DON ADOPT A CHILD WELL ALL NA CHILDREN BUT THEY SHOULD BE BOLD TO SAY IT.
DID SHE THINK THAT EVERY BODY IS DAFT OR WHAT?
CAN SOME ONE HID PREGNANCY?

Story!
Am bigger than all this lies.
SHE DON ADOPT A CHILD WELL ALL NA CHILDREN BUT THEY SHOULD BE BOLD TO SAY IT.
DID SHE THINK THAT EVERY BODY IS DAFT OR WHAT?
CAN SOME ONE HID PREGNANCY?

Congrats sister some others believe pregnancy is for showbiz

ADeSeWa said...

congrats

Me that have been counting months for her. Thank God for safe delivery.

Ada bekee said...

Lol @women performing pregnancy. Congrats

Kiki said...

Who cares. Mtsweeeew!

Congrats !

Ada bekee said...

Lol @women performing pregnancy. Congrats

Congrats to her.

Na surrogate you use? You want carry naija sense for UK. Anyway I trust whity, the lies no go dey comfortable with your hubby. So soon him go burst the truth.

GOOD TO SEE

AUNTY LINDA....

Whoops! Congratulations!!

She went into hiding, and then came out with a baby girl. U are one strange woman. Congrats anyway.

King Eli said...

When a real woman talks...........

WooooooWww! Congratulations to them!

Genny's Blog said...

Congrats to them.

Gud to knw.....

A Punch word in her statement..I just feel like we live in an age when women are supposed to perform pregnancy. We don’t expect fathers to perform fatherhood...am I the only one that got it? ...#Men braveup#

Peace nwadire said...

Odinma

Congrats anyway

I think it's adoption, How can you be pregnant and we won't know. Meanwhile See Hot leaked video of Popular celeb smashing. Watch this

Really, Even ur friends didn't know u were pregnant? OK o, l rest my case.

The other woman in marriage said...

Congratulations to her! I didn't know she was married talkless of pregnant. That is great-people should learn to keep things secret.

I love good news.... Congratulations dear daughter of zion.....

......... Liber maniac.....

optimisticlady said...

Meeting you my mentor is top on my must-do-list.
Chimamanda you simply stand out!

Wow, big congrats to her

Congratulations to dem

Adoption things

Did you read her reply atall? She hide herself inside during pregnancy... Read before commenting biko...

....... Liber maniac....

As in eehhh...u can't hide pregnancy..na adoption things

aww congratulations

Great woman. Congratulation

MumiAdasom said...

Many knew she was pregnant, she was already showing even though she disguised it at her booking signing at vi some months ago.either linda or stella carried the knew with photo.

Wao I really admire this lady. She is very cool and classy.
Not for her the razz public display of pregnancy and her entire marital life on social media like so many of this generation. It is indeed heartwarming to come across a highly cultured woman like her.
God has blessed you Chimamanda and the blessings will keep growing. Amen.

BB said...

Weda you adopt or you born am... as long as u Don come out from hiding,, congratulations

But this your comment just shows how daft you are.

Didi 3000 said...

My beautiful, smart, brave and lovely Chimamanda.
Congrats. You've done it again.
God bless you and yours.

How come lynda and SR didn't penetrative the information.

hrm paul ojeih said...

Nonono free born is right am sure she adopted how can she say she is pregnant and her friends didn't no for a public figure like her na lie jorshe adopt

la choice said...

My sister pregnancy can't be covered, nine Good months all de same congrats

)Menhhhhhh! This is good news....congratulations to her.

Bebee said...

I was pregnant and only my immediate family and husband knew. Everyone was surprised when i delivered. U only really start showing in the third trimester and u can actually retreat during that period. Its very possible and not even that big a deal. Besides when your hvaing a girl, your pregnancy is really smooth so no wahala at all. If she adopted then there was no need for the big announcement, she could have just carried on living her life as privately as she already was. Afterall people didnt know she was married for a long time or even when she got married.

Saphire Muna acquire sense before responding. It's obvious anon is trying to say she's a liar.

Nkem ike, hope Oduamadi will wife you after your delivery. Heard he's got mutiple girlfriends and they even visit him in Finland. Your friends are giving your gist away cos they say you're a pretender and snitch.most of them even in the industry said you're a low key runs babe and gossip. Lol,one close friend said your sugar daddy sponsored your trip to US to have the alleged Oduamadi's baby. Guess you&your friends deserve each other cos they gossip about you as much as you gossip about them.

To Freeborn July 1 at 3.46pm. She did not adopt a daughter. I saw her pregnant in May last year at the Farafina Literary Night at Oriental Hotel. She carried and gave birth to her baby.