Paris attacks: French National anthem will be sung by all Premier League clubs this weekend | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 19 November 2015

Paris attacks: French National anthem will be sung by all Premier League clubs this weekend

English clubs will sing the French national anthem across all stadiums this weekend, Premier League bosses have confirmed. The anthem will take place prior to the coin toss, with teams coming together in the centre circle, along with the match officials, facing the main stand. It should be noted that about 72 French players play in the premier league.

The choral version of La Marseillaise will represent a show of 'solidarity and remembrance' according to English Premier league chief Richard Scudamore. He said:
"Given how close we are as well as the long-standing relationship that exists between the Premier League and France, playing La Marseillaise as an act of solidarity and remembrance is the right thing to do. We were all saddened and deeply shocked by the events in Paris last Friday, and the fact it was an attack on people enjoying their everyday freedoms like going to a bar, a concert or a football match resonates with football fans and the general public throughout the UK"

54 comments:

And that of Nigeria?

Let me sing it too inside this R8 before I kill one of those traffic robbers

Can't wait for this weekend. .

Nice one.

Confirm

Ekwe! Why dem no dey sing naija own all the while??? Linda take note!

aproko manager said...

Nd dem neva sing 9ja own since bh issues

Eyaaa

Will it bring the dead back?

I will continue to pray for Paris..

tahar said...

One love

Awww! So nice of them, good to see humanity caring for their kind.
Evil must not triumph over good.

ITS ALRIGHT

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB....

"will be sung" not "will be sang" :)

Thats good! #stillprayingforParisandNigeria.

Nice one let those bastard cowards know that we christians can come together . That's all we need. Nigerian christians have the population. All the muslims should behave and be peaceful if they like them self but I will still say . Islam is not peace

Issokay yet Nigerian local leagues have never thought of doing something as little as this.We are our own enemy.The Luv between Nigerians is quite appalling.Yet we are the first to shout racism ! We insult each other coz we are from different regions & religion.Shame

usman said...

My question is...why isnt anything done wen boko haram strikes or wen hundreds re killed in palestine?

edDREAMZ said...

But the english colonised us but they have never played our national amthem during this boko haram crisis.....

May the lost souls rest in peace

shescute said...

Interesting...I see how many times they have sang national anthem for our people BH have blew up

Chiisunshine(carolips) said...

Paris! U see the fast response from their government to tackle those havocs. But come to nija... we re dying everyday

Fuck em all...yes fuck em all

Wat of the Nigerians dat have been dying errday

Fucking white pple...

Fuck em all...yes fuck em all

Wat of the Nigerians dat have been dying errday

Fucking white pple...

Mr kings said...

Wen it comes 2 book harm nd dere victims. The international. Community. Won't respond

Nice one. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Baddest Puta said...

Hmmm smh Nigerians die everyday in hundreds from terrorists attacks but somehow it's never a big deal, and everyone is shocked by this particular attack. Na wa oooo

SMURF said...

Nigerian Anthem was never sung in any match or event!! Now can Nigerians see they dont matter cos of the continent and color?????

Northern Princess 7 said...

Heya! #pray for paris

May the Victims souls Rest in Perfect Peace

Did africa sing for nigeria? Lol..

Euroleaguenews said...

Football stands strong against terrorism

ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A SUGAR MUMMY OR DADDY PLEASE CALL THIS LINE 09050085168 PLEASE BE MATURED>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

rocky said...

I don't know why I feel racism is involved here...... #myopinion

itsDidisBlog said...

ok o

if you long reading short amazing fictions then you need to click my name

Dis is wholesome and lovely....

B4 u knw it, foolish Nigerians wil copy them and start dis too after d much ado using France flag by Nigerians and they never used Nigeria flag.

Dats fair enough

That's bullshit..why do these people consider Africans as lesser people?thousands have died from boko haram attacks yet they have done almost nothing and they are showing this much sympathy for France ,are they for real?

anonym said...

Linda.. the right expression is ... 'will be sung'.

Catch Ebola and die for that question. Bastard, like u don't knw d answers.

anonymous said...

People should listen to the lyrics of the song sang by the late King of Pop, MICHAEL JACKSON, ☆ALL I WANT TO SAY IS THAT THEY DON'T REALLY CARE ABOUT US.☆ The white race don't even know if the black race is existing, only what they are interested in us for is to continue to loot our NATURAL RESOURCES. Full stop

Sung ma nii...

unityRichBrain said...

D premier league is Back !, nice one

Oshi no pray for ur fatherland, Paris ke. Niger republic ne

Is this how irrelevant Nigeria is to the international community, racism @ it's heights. Pray for Paris ke, pls wild rather pray for my fatherland

Linda take note ur time to reap don dey reach... hustle for xmas take away. Idi egwu gbo juliet iwuno!!!

Onye grammar! Na him u never go open ur own blog dey blow am.

God bless you.

Everything Rosham said...

people die in Nigeria,Syria, Afghanistan, Philistine almost everyday.. y dem no sing deir anthem.. abegi make i ear..

Not a bad idea, but can they also sing the Nigerian anthem. We also suffer terrorist attacks.

Allons enfants de la Patrie
Le jour de gloire est arrivé !
Contre nous de la tyrannie
L'étendard sanglant est levé
Entendez-vous dans nos campagnes
Mugir ces féroces soldats?
Ils viennent jusque dans vos bras.
Égorger vos fils, vos compagnes!

Aux armes citoyens
Formez vos bataillons
Marchons, marchons