Jury awards $21.5 M to man who was hit by sliding door on a cruise ship (Video) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 November 2015

Jury awards $21.5 M to man who was hit by sliding door on a cruise ship (Video)

A jury has awarded a man $21.5 million in damages after he was hit by a sliding door on a cruise ship.
The moment, captured on surveillance video (above), shows a crowd of passengers heading out the automatic doors without incident right before James Hausman walks through.

Hausman, 61, is struck by the door, and then is seen wincing in pain as he turns to his wife.
He was later diagnosed with a concussion by a ship doctor, according to the Associated Press.
Hausman’s lawyer told the court that tests showed his client suffered a minor brain injury, causing seizures and memory loss.

Holland America, the cruise line operating the ship, has said it will appeal the ruling that came from a federal jury in Seattle on Tuesday.

The settlement includes $16.5 million in punitive damages, decided after Hausman’s attorney produced evidence that showed dozens of other passengers had been injured in similar incidents triggered by dysfunctional sensors.
“The verdict is one of the largest in recent memory out of federal court here,” wrote The Seattle Times.
Watch the video below:

35 comments:

Produce ice blocks within 4hours, 8hours, 12hours and 24hours. Ice block machines available 08063748505

Hehehe,Abeg,me ma make I go hit my head o for that money, (too bad for the memory loss)

Ouch

Aha that's a whooping sum of money.If its like that many people in Nigeria would have been millionaires. Over here people suffer worst without even a kobo as compensation

Ouch

Wow
Daz why i like Oyibo's
Dey re so considerate wen it comes 2 dis

#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Dave Mide said...

Oh ye god of sliding door ...oya hit me today! aduraaaaaa

21 million isn't that a little obscene?

Abdulmalik Yusuf said...

Mehn, dat one lucky dude

For what na.

10 handsome men who want to marry Linda Ikeji by fire by force

More photos of Linda Ikeji's Banana Island home

that's a big money he just need to fully utilise it..

Click: Good reasons why some men Cheat In Relationship

Click: If you do any of these, marriage is not for you

Onyinbo can sue for anything sha.....lol. People that knows their rights.

mccoy said...

$21 million gini???
Some jurys sef. The need brain check!

mccoy said...

*they

aproko manager said...

Abeg make dem use d door take beat me so I fit get dis money

Appeal wetin, abeg dey should pay up jare! Dey wan break the man head??? Linda take note!

Lucky soul he is though....

See way to get rich

Can this same sliding door hit the hell out of me? I only need 10 million dollars

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Dis is wholesome and how I wish dis happened to me and all dis money is all mine. Nice judgement!

Soo much money.

Lucky him!

wow datz a whopping sum of cash his a life time

Eyaah! The man feel the pain badly.

kiki said...

That looks so painful in the video buh dunno bout d millions of $$$ charges.

Soda Queen said...

Oh so the faulty sensors caused injuries to other passengers on d ship sef. LOL

Oluwadamilola said...

Jesus Christ..

Oluwadamilola said...

Hahahahaha as in, pls hit the fuck outta me.. Shiiiii

This man is very Lucky,oyinbo and their wahala. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Bummyla said...

Sorry For The Memory Loss! http://www.bummyla.com

Akahi Tutors Nigeria said...

seen!

simsony said...

Well that's whats happens in civilized countries. Make him come try am for here. Him no go get shisshi.

whiterose said...

Lwkmd........aduraaaaaaaaaaa!

Choi!