'I was almost killed by police officers yesterday'- LIB reader shares story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 21 November 2015

'I was almost killed by police officers yesterday'- LIB reader shares story

A LIB reader shares an encounter  she and her family had with police. Read below...
 I was on my way home with my two sisters when we were stopped at a police check point. Two police officers stopped us, seeing my sisters fiancee driving us, he thought we were prostitutes and asked what we were doing at that time of the night (it was 11.15pm). He asked for the drivers license and was given. He started asking silly questions and the next thing the other police officer will say is,
"I can kill all of you in this car and nothing will happen because there is no witness." We the girls in the car knowing our right tried to get a picture taken, at least to send to someone so as to know what really happened but police officer threw the phone away and hit one of my sisters. I want you to please post this news, because if we were killed, the police officers will come up with a ridiculous story and what really happened would have been forgotten. It happened at century checkpoint close to the police station there. The only reason we made it out was because we knew our right. Thank you.
I've published numbers you can call to report policemen who you feel mistreated you (see here). Please get their names and use those numbers ...

55 comments:

Don't worry your life is not in their hands, they can't kill you okay. Pele dear. Isah 54:17

End time policemen

#It wiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#IT MuSt enD iN prAise

Bad Watch sextape of busty Nassarawa Poly student that's gone viral

At the end Linda be sounding like my mom 😂 . Lol

I always see police officers as thieves and killers

Thank God nothing happened at the end.

Thank God u were not killed.

God protect us

Psalm 91 covers us

That vuvuzela P guy

You and your sister fiancé act silly (Claiming your right in front of a brutal police officer is a silly act) never ever in your life argue with a policeman in the bush or at night, they are terrible and Worst than robber.

So sorry to hear that. Would have given you the number of a journalist, Femi Owolabi who had an incident with the police and decided to take it up. But the guy is a major sell out.

Just thank God you are alive. And never argue with a police man or women. They are all unstable. If my child says he/she want to join the police na to kill am be that.

edDREAMZ said...

When they employ thugs as police what do yu expect....

Why will you try to take a picture of him at his front? Isn't that foolish enough? All the same the police was wrong...should be sanctioned.

Baddest Puta said...

Linda forget that number shit. You think that would work? U won't understand how useless, reckless and foolish some of these policemen are. No offense to my uncle and friend in the force.

Some of these policemen aren't normal I swear.Most of em are depressed scumbags who are waiting to unleash their aggression on innocent Nigerians

hrm paul ojeih said...

How can the police be our friends when all they do is kill innocent Nigerians.They kip talking tough yet when they see armed robbers they disappear. trigger happy fool. when the government wanted to send them to Bornu state they went of strike useless animals. the day we get guns legalized in this country a police shoots my family or relation the next thing to do is to open fire at any police man then the equation will be balanced.I dont like the police for nothing. And they all die such miserable death

Pls expantiate and give better details of the story so people can use it and even prosecute the policeman. If you are truly prostitutes we won't condemn you. Just state a word by word account of what happened. E.g you didn't tell us how you were eventually set free. Did u beg or threaten. You only said "we know our right".
What actually ensued?

I disagree with u madam, d only reason u made it out was God's grace. It was not because u knew ur rights. A lot of people who know their rights r dead and cold.

I disagree with u madam, d only reason u made it out was God's grace. It was not because u knew ur rights. A lot of people who knew their rights r dead and cold.

That is how they treat people they are paid for to protect,may the Lord help us in this country,police force need to be sanitise for real. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Policemen!, you shouldn't have let them notice u were snapping, this has got many people in trouble

I pray oooooooo

SMURF said...

Nigerian police are the most unlawful people

Some Nigerians are so funny . You want to snap a policeman with rifle at crime or abuse scene. Please apply wisdom next time bcos you so lucky not to have met a trigger happy policeman even in US that we all claimed that is so advance , they still waste people Derek

Some police men are like dis.

All dis policemen self if is criminals now Dey will go and hide. Thank God for your lives.

thank God for ur lives.but wat were u guys still doing outside late dat night?11:15pm dats an ungodly hour u knw.abeg mak una dey enter hse quick o.december don reach.

Linda, pls how do I 4ward or get across to u if I have some pictures or articles to post.

Na una bad mouth almost kill una,u don't come here and cook up stories

Those Policemen at Century Police Station are the worst of them all. Thank God for una lives o! Cos dey smoke hemp and do all sort of rubbish. Linda take note!

If the police thought u were prostitutes, it may be from the way u dress and talk. People will address u according to the way u dress. Women, dress well to avoid embarrassment.

D only reason u r alive is not b/c u knew right..my sister God jst saved u guys..na dose wen knw der right police d dey kill well well..thank God for ur lives

there is always 3 side to a story.
1. your version
2. police version
3.the truth

Remove that sir from your name cos you are fool, who doesn't know Nigeria Police and stupid excuses to extort money and kill people

U made it out by God's grace and not by knowing ur right....

Dolly said...

This story is really not clear. What are you doing with ladies at that time of the night? What and how were they dressed and also thier attitude? We just come here and say all manner of rubbish about police, we know they are not perfect but you as a citizen how do you respond to them. Well, I feel by that time, with 2 skimpy dressed lousy ladies and just you as the man, is quiet suspicious to me . That my take on that. Reporting to any human right what ever , my guy, you don't really have a good case. Linda tell them to take note.

It is not just making numbers available IG. What everybody has now is a smart phone publicly announce that every citizen has a right to record their encounter with police men and see policing work.

The only reason u made it was d grace of God & not ur stupid right. So insane of u 2 make a picture of dem in d course of a heated argument @ such ungodly hour. U should hav kept ur mouth shut and allow ur sister fiance answer to their questions.

In as much as I don't support unruly officers in d police force & want dem flushed out. Would hav considered u wise if u had done a voice recording of d argument, had facial recognition & service number of 1 officer involved. By now u'll hav a case & fishing dem out will b easy since it all happened @ century check point near a police station.

Receive sense!!!

Aha!

Display and utterance's frm our police officer's shows their level of unprofessionalism.

They should b sanction accordingly so dat they wil b sanity in our police force.

Linda u're sounding like a big sister o! I like that!

These girls took a risk! taking that picture would have surely had them killed!

Tessa said...

Publish their and the station's location on fb and twitter also
So people know where to find you.

Stop keeping late nights!stop exposing ourselves to danger,don't be in a secluded place simply bcos u r driving,endeavor to be home earlier and be more prayerful

Linda u talk my mind. Poster should have memorized d names on their uniform and called d numbers too.

Century checkpoint where? Sorry sha but use that no given ,it works

Human hair sales!!!
16 inches=15k
24 inches=19k
Other high ends available too.
Bbm: 5678C76D

Sorry dear. Our Naija police need reform.

Asap

Disarm and scrap police now. They are useless.

Na so
We c stuffs like dis often
Thank God 4 una

# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Uselsss goats, but if an armed robbers their mouth no go sharp reach

Na wah...

Its just that they don't usually wear uniforms whenever they are at checkpoints especially at night. But if they happen to be on their uniforms, be sure to get their names and the numbers on their shirt pocket. Then go make a report.

@ anonymous. Century checkpoint is in ago palace okota.nd d police are very useless there.

The greatest proof that police is a low grade profession in Nigeria is seen in the fact that their children never follow their profession because they know it is useless . You see doctors, lawyers, engineers, sand many noble professions where the child will follow the path of the parent and continue the parent's legacy.
But police children nowadays regardless of their age will never follow their parent work or even wish to follow it.

Go back to school. Where in the story reads that they were skimpily dressed? They can be coming from anywhere eg even hospital. What happened to fundamental human rights?

Is time Nigeria government have to stop those Awusa people who do know there job