Photo: An Anambra pastor burns the Ikoro Uga shrine... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 13 August 2015

Photo: An Anambra pastor burns the Ikoro Uga shrine...

Ukolo Uga, according to him is an Oracle.

170 comments:

Okay o..he should continue d burning

Good for them

Lol.
Prolly some payback thingz.

SMURF said...

One needs to be careful with all this traditional things oh!!! He shldnt have oh

He deserve to be shot dead,why burn the shrine?kind of cray

I hope u are strongly for de Lord Almighty? if not ehn! hmmmmmmmm

We av just one God......nice one

Whats with the burning of the Ukolo, is the Ukolo standing on his way of preaching the tenets of his religion to his followers.
This is an intrusion, don't know how the traditional worshippers in Uga allowed him do such.
To each his own, the evil perpetuated now are far more than what was obtainable when we worshipped Ukolo, Amadioha, Ihe-jioku etc.

Dont even knw what am seeing self...

Hummmmmm........nothing dey happen, God is still on the throne!

The God he serves must be able!

He gather liver! He never see where juju haunt am!

Ur lever don done

GOD at work

How courageous.

Hmmmmmm

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

HMMMMM WHY BECAUSE THE BIBLE SAID GIVE WHAT BELONG TO CASERA
HE DOES NOT NEED TO DO THAT
TRADITION IS DIFFERENT FROM RELIGION

God be wit him o

God at work

Hmm, y burn the shrine? It's some people's religion. Let them be, even the bible says "Your faith sets you free", not christianity, Islam. I hope he knows what he is doing.

Hmmm hope he is very prayerful?

Yeah!!! That's destroying the devil by fire

linda pls make sure u follow up on this pastor and his family for the nxt couple of years so we'll know if ukolo abi oracle killed him or not...lwkmd!!!!!

Ibo people are so religious,that you can't go at the corner of there house's without seeing a mushroom church,but still yet ritual,baby factory and drug dealing all this are part of them?upon being religious fanatic.
Am sure yorubas are seeing this ibos are burning down shrine why yorubas are preserving it for there next oba.

Ibo people are so religious,that you can't go at the corner of there house's without seeing a mushroom church,but still yet ritual,baby factory and drug dealing all this are part of them?upon being religious fanatic.
Am sure yorubas are seeing this ibos are burning down shrine why yorubas are preserving it for there next oba.

The juju should take up arms and defend his integrity. No human being should take up arms to defend the juju and this applies to all other God... Prove tour might or fuck you

Na me
@AheadAhead9ja

Joshtech said...

Nice one pastor better reinforce cos they are coming back.

Hmmmmmmm

Let's see how it goes.

Blackgold said...

Shaaatap der u fool. Shot dead that he killed ur grandmother or wat. U should change ur name from Michael back to nweike na if u still want to worship trash.

aproko manager said...

For him to burn juju e anointing carry weight if not make e go sleep for church ooo...na so pastor burn juju e next day e nor wake up oooo

Ok, good for him

U Sha just have to comment. What do u know about the powers that be, after all ur catholic.

Lol, are they scared or what? That is the power of God working they should not be scared if they believe in God. God almighty will protect them all.

Ds is crazy oooooo kia ds man don't know wt he is doing d Lord is ur strength o cos by doing ds dy ll attack him in ten folds.

Bonario, just STFU. I know you are an idol worshiper.

Damola Gbadegesin said...

No comment.

KING Nwa AMAKA said...

Humm. I pity him. He will soon see what is more than fire.

Let's wait for wat will happen next

There's something wrong with you honestly. Dyu think the Oracle was just quiet and not causing trouble in the community and he went to burn it? All dese dieties specialise in human sacrifice.Traditional worshippers have their ofor and chi. I cn remember how they kidnapped a reverend father once saying he was disturbing their kingdom, tnk God he came out hale n hearty as they couldn't do anything to him.

Ms.Nicey said...

OKOKOBIOKI!!! NYANGA DEY SLEEP, TROUBLE GO WAKE AM..

They re definitely coming for him ,watch out for the nxt episode

*iyawo Obama

my Pastor, you are covered with the blood of Jesus,nothing will harm you.

This is a saying in the Bible that says " Give unto Ceasar what is Ceasars" and another one that says "Do not put the Lord God to the test". Sometimes its best to leave some things alone. This pastor has overstepped the mark by intruding on another mans property and beliefs. God help him!

After what buhari said yesterday about Nigerians being free to worship any thing. I think this guy is in for a lot of criticism

Its very wrong to do that. Religion tolerance is the key. Nobody can force anyone to be a Christian. as far as the worshiper is 18years and above. The juju man should sue him

Lol@Blackgold...hahahahahaha!@change name from Micheal to nweike.

................And the gist continues.

Jolof Hearts said...

Thats wrong, totally wrong Let God be the Judge. Pastor, you are not any different from Boko Haram and should be arrested for terrorism.

Lois0 said...

Don't knw y... but I ain't buying this

I thought there was freedom of religion in Nigeria... Is a pastor caught burning a shrine, any different from a Muslim fanatic caught burning a Church? Maybe, just maybe, some religion are more equal than others.

What does being a catholic got to do with bonario's comment?

Bonario, I dis agree with u on this, the Bible has said it all that will should not serve any other gods apart from our creator which is God the maker of heaven and earth. Look @ it. The 10 Commandments List in Exodus 20:2-17
“I am the LORD your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage. You shall have no other gods before Me.
“You shall not make for yourself a carved image—any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth; you shall not bow down to them nor serve them. For I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children to the third and fourth generations of those who hate Me, but showing mercy to thousands, to those who love Me and keep My commandments.
“You shall not take the name of the LORD your God in vain, for the LORD will not hold him guiltless who takes His name in vain.
“Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days you shall labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is the Sabbath of the LORD your God. In it you shall do no work: you, nor your son, nor your daughter, nor your male servant, nor your female servant, nor your cattle, nor your stranger who is within your gates. For in six days the LORD made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested the seventh day. Therefore the LORD blessed the Sabbath day and hallowed it.
“Honor your father and your mother, that your days may be long upon the land which the LORD your God is giving you.
“You shall not murder.
“You shall not commit adultery.
“You shall not steal.
“You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
“You shall not covet your neighbor’s house; you shall not covet your neighbor’s wife, nor his male servant, nor his female servant, nor his ox, nor his donkey, nor anything that is your neighbor’s.”

Ahn ahn! It Av do nah, we don hear u; must u comment multiple times? Wot does shrine burning Av to do wt tribe? Cant pple just comment without bringing in negative comments about other tribe?

La Casera you mean? Lol...I had to laugh.

God give him more power!

Very good! Let the gods fight for itself.

Lmaoooo @ blackgold

My dear you try on. This write up

What is his problem with the shrine? This is our tradition, our forefathers traditional believe. White man tagged our way of talking to oyr God evil and made us to believe in their own tradition called Islam and Christianity. That fake pastor should be arrested for destroying our heritage.

Lindodo, the name is Ikoro, I am from that Town, and do not support this pastor action at all, because I know in this new age no one worship it anymore, to us is like burning a very good well preserved Uga history, that we younger generation just protect by re roofing it with zink, to prevent it from been damaged, This Ikoro is well older that any living human in Uga today.
Very bad Idea
That Miami Florida Man.

@ irabo yes he said u shuldnt bt did he force u 2 worship him? It's only wen ur led by God 2 burn den u burn and it must happen on a circumstance. I hope he is led

ade said...

Honestly, everyday we complain about Boko Haram, ISIS that they want to Islamise the country/ world, Jihadist etc...but truly we are all guilty of the same crime..is it a crime to be a traditionalist?? Cant they wrship their own god?? Can they express their faith???Bcos they dont come out to complain?? Is this pastor not as guilty as boko haram?????
What do we have to show as our history?? We really need to think well as a nation, as a people..

Oga , that is ur Bilble, the same way the BH read verses from theie Quoran and use to do what they believe is right..But we all knw its wrong... This is the same scenario but bcos its a pastor we are okay with it..

Your a chimp 4 saying dis crap name 1 tribe in Nigeria dat isn't religious Anuofia.

NOLLYWOOD IN ACTION, GOD B WITH HIM..TOMJERRYSWIT

Am reali surprised at some pple comment ooo, re u sirus tyns lyk dis still exist nd mst of u are in support of dis juju of a tyn?

Bia, how old are u self? Ur comments always sound childish with unclear english and spellings.

Is dis really neccesary.. I think he should hav focussed more on converting d worshippers i.e winning souls for God.

Michael Adekunle said...

The grace of God is sufficient for him, no power is stronger than the name of almighty God, is a strong tower and the righteous runs unto it and saved. All those gods are dead. Even if trouble arised it is from human beings not from dead god. If the man is righteous nothing will happen to him. The God of Israel will protect and delivered him from the hands of evil ones. Amen.

Mihearty said...

Very good.

Blackgold, u're d funniest human I've ever seen! Haha!

Hi Idiot, You don't use 'still and yet' together. That's very poor of you.

Religious intolerance my foot! Dis is wht am talking abt dat all should turn to God and let him b d Lord and saviour over their lives. Pls desist frm fake god's!

Miami Guy.. You be real ibo man! It is spelt 'Zinc' not Zink

What is d difference btw this guy and ISIS. ISIS is beheading Christians just bcos they are Christians and this guy is burning this shrine just bcos it is not Christian. Biggest level of religious intolerance and the most alarming thing is that most so called learned people on LIB are supporting him. All is see is Christian fanaticism.

Till he becomes mad. Not by burning masquerade oo.

First and foremost ukolo is not a shrine....ukolo is lyk a drum...back in the days when the igwe of uga cums to nkwo uga to celebrate the new yam festival d ukolo is usually beaten...am very very sure dat dis pastor is not even from uga...all these new generation pastors be causing unneccesary confusion...wetin ukolo do u na?....am from uga and I knw ukolo very well...it's jst an artifact...we keep destroying these things in the name of Christianity...#so sad that nothing is left of our culture# sigh

OK

Devil advocate obviously! It's an i-d-o-l. Which means it's evilllllll!! Mo-1

I am from uga and dis is pissing me off
No body worship that wood anymore and it's just there for site seeing for kids wen dey come home.
That thing has been there for ages
I'm a Christian tho
But I rmbr as a kid going to see the history of my people. I hope this man is ready for what comes his way . No b to carry bible.

Why should this happen. The pastor should be arrested. Is traditional worship not recognized in Nigeria? A lot of things are wrong in our system.

chikaezez.blogspot.com said...

Ikoro is wat it's called. Linda

So is it d world still deceiving itself dat ther are no " demon gods." When will Africans be bold enuf to face The Lord God Almighty... Reward for cowards still stand. May God keep his own though.

juw juw said...

Linda post my comment na....shuu

Wow! The same way the God of Christianity fights for himself when his churches are burnt in the North, right! Continue the religious intolerance

I really hope he's prayerful.... It is well with him

Ola Lukaz said...

The Pastor should be pitied for his ignorance and public display of religious intolerance. The silly hipocrate has destroyed public property and set in motion possible religious conflict with the adherents of the traditional religion in that community. We are a Republic, the constitution is our religion. The insurgency in the North East started this way: with intolerance and fanatism. The fanatic Pastor seeking cheap popularity at the expense of civil strive should be arrested and prosecuted immediately for destruction of public property, domestic terrorism, arson and conduct likely to cause disturbance of public peace. I urge the adherents of the religion and community whose property has been senselessly destroyed not to take the law into their hands through retaliation to avoid unnecessary shedding of innocent blood.

Anon 4:01pm ...it is never the same. Why the obvious lie... islam, allah are purely after human blood and destruction of life so did u see blood shed here...? Ps, stop d lies already.

That is the problem.Because it is tradition does not make it right.There is only one way to God and that is through Jesus Christ.

I don't really buy this act...@least there's freedom of worship...part 2

@irabo bobby fera favor d best comandment from God, was for us to love the neigbour we see, that includes respect for his/her belief. Heavenly race is individual,preach the gospel and allow God fight his battle. HE said the battle is HIS. This pastor has same attributes like BH.Naija allow freedom of worship. He should go try burn mosque na and lets see.

@ Anon 3.55. You've nailed it on the head. You need to respect other people's beliefs and religion. Oyinbo why bring Christianity sef, more than half of them don't go to church only mostly old people and black people. My point is this is a heritage and should have been preserved. We all can't like amala or apku we are all different. Burning that does not make him holier than the person who believes in gods. I hope he is punished for that.

Pumpkin

K-REX said...

Yes i support that. Christ is our only savior.

Lol@aguwa,lolzzz

Ola Lukaz said...

Fish brained religious zealot! He destroyed a relic which forms part of his African heritage for cheap popularity. Odenfasis mumuolifous exhibitionist .

I'm Glad we still have people that think Like u in Nigeria. U r a wise person

The Quran say, there is no other God but Allah and Muhammad (PBUH) is his prophet. Jesus is not the son of God, neither is he God, he his only a prophet like Muhammad. Christians and jews are infidels and their heads must be struck of on the field of battle. The day of judgment would not come until the nations of Islam fight the Jews and the Jews would hide behind stones and trees but the stone and trees would say, "Oh! Servant of Allah, there is a Jew behind me, come and kill him".

Irabo Bobby Fera Favor, how do you like this commandments, from a religion with a superior ideology to Christianity?

@ade

Hmmmmm, it is well with him. Linda take note!

If he's fake, I pity him and his family.

KING Nwa AMAKA said...

Pls tell them. We don't have respect for people's way of worship.

KING Nwa AMAKA said...

I tell u

Judith said...

Could nt have said it better

Mr Freeborn, in ur mind now u have made sense with that comment abi? Clap for him

What nonsense! So if I don't like a church, I can also burn it down?
Nigeria is a secular country not Israel of the old testament.
If you don't like a shrine, get on your knees in your closet

We've got traditional worshipers in this part of the world, who're also engulfed into the constitutional concept of religious freedom, and I don't understand why anyone should infringe on their rights simply because they belong to the minority.. And to think that these extremist religious vandals are yet to be arrested by law enforcement, underscores the height of executive selective justice.

Also, considering the fact that most of these monuments have come to be symbolic as the little remaining references to a people's waning culture, they've become invaluable, hence should be preserved like priceless antiques, for the unborn generation.. Imagine how much Israel and Saudi Arabia earn annually from religious tourism--which you and I know wouldn't have been possible if they had gone ahead to destroy every trace of Christ and Mohammed after they passed on. Now, I leave you to imagine the economic importance of the Ukolo Uga shrine to it's host community, in 200yrs.

God bless u,well said. Thats pure presumptousness and religious spirit .God help him

seyi said...

nawa ooo the man sef no they fear.... in oda news see as this woman open her mouth when she catch her husband sleeping with maid

Effiezy.com said...

This is the stupidity of some Nigerians destroying their culture, come to Europe and see how they preserve it. The Nigerian authorities should arrest the so called pastor and charge him. This has nothing to do with belief or God, this is ignorance of not understanding the Evolution of man. This is what happens when people read the bible and interpret to people wrongly.

www.effiezy.com

Religion is the number one cause of all the problems in the world today. Worship yours let me worship mine, why must u force me to believe that yours is the only way??

The state government need to arrest this man..

I will fight anybody that says he wants to burn down Ele Nnono. Leave it there.
History must be preserved.

the name is Ikoro, I am from This Town., I do not support this pastor action at all, because I know in this new age no one worship Ikoro anymore, to us is like burning a very good well preserved Uga history, money can not replace, younger generation protect Ikoro by re roofing it with zink, to prevent it from been damaged, This Ikoro is well older that any living human in Uga today, the white man preserve any kind of their History, after the abolished slavery in America, White house was not set on fire, instead it was made the most important home in United States we are still very backward, if the white man get there hands on Ikoro they will make a lot of money with it, but yet we choose to do away with one thing that replicate Uga Town of old.
Very bad Idea.
That MIAMI FLORIDA Man

You guys should not let that pastor go free. What a nonsense! He should be one of those illiterate pastors that turn the bible upside down.

Ur divergent views on dis blog is getting libers confused. Pple don't even knw what to believe anymore. Lord we need ur wisdom.

Ur English na die oh boy u need to go back to primary 1 stupid boy ezi bida

DISRESPECTFUL!!!

Who are those talking trash if the likes of ISIS and BH men were just burning churches and not human being we will not be faced with all their nonsense, so think before you talk

THOU SHALT NOT COMMIT ARSON

Is like u are one of the idol worship

Burning of shrine requires a Pastor who knows his stand with God,if not, the consequences might be enormous to him and even the community. I just hope, his a fire brand.

Okay nah!

Linda, pls follow up this story...... Will like to know wat happens next

ashilomo said...

He should be arrested for destruction of property and arson. Our people are so stupid.

Glory be to God

U are an idiot 4 saying he should be shot dead.bastard,u hv no sense of reasoning.

sharrap.which unless fore fathers.the man should continue

I think d ministry of culture and environment shd sanction d pastor. Was the shrine in his way? Did it threaten his existence? Overzealous idiot pastor.

Give to God what is God, why the burning, I do not think it disturb him from worshipping his biblical God?

Uzo said...

That man is a fool... What has the shrine got to do with his ministry?... What has this got to do with the progress of his church? Surely God has nothing to do with this. This is just for showmanship. Let him go and burn any mosque and see what will happen to him. Is he persecuting this particular religious organization (indeed they are a religious organization) because they're in the minority?... RUBBISH!

We should always do as directed by the spirit..

Akpan Promise said...

Hmm, there is always another side to why men perform certain actions.
Don't judge and condemn the Pastor.
If he is doing it for publicity or for any wrong reasons he will bear the consequences that follow, but if he was ordered by God, then you shouldn't butt into his business.

Live and let live!.

Give to ceasar what belongs to ceasar

N. K- Pastor Ayo Babalola burnt shrines and houses of deities in the 30s, Pastor Adeboye destroyed shrines too in the early 90s,if that pastor was sent and led by God, no power can touch him. And for some people that have likened this burning of the shrine to ISIS 's killings and shedding blood, think they should open their minds if their eyes cannot see that the Pastor is shown burning only a shrine and not humans, except you all know that most shrines always use humans for their operations. And which I think all haters of this pastor's acts embrace totally.

CMS said...

Na liver be that. God is his defender and protector

onye baa uka tata odi ya ka Jesus onwuru unyahu hahaaaaaaa

Linda his name is prophet Elijah moses. Besides my father organised the crusade and it in my village umuezekpoko,Uga. That is God intervention finally. I wud hv travelled with dem but somtyms kids need to stay back

Never judge wat u don't understand dear. You need to b somwer harmful to understand. If u won't stand up for wat is right nd desired by God don't get in ppl way of doing so.

Over educated illiterate.... lemme remind u darling, ders more to life and D deep tins of life Dan ur acquired ideology of it. God does not deal ur own way

He is dear,i knw him of certain!

Sweet hart, Ikoro is d reason so many tins are not right..History might play itself ova and ova. If we the young generation don't get up and do wat right even b4 God and man. Am from Uga too. Ders so much I can say but not on here. It time for a revolution. It will happen now. Understand the deep tins of the spirit and u won't b deceived by d tins of dis world

Sean Manuel said...

Did somebody just said "ordered by God"? Boko Haram also claims that they were ordered by God! Where do you get off, claiming that your religion or your God is better than another persons religion. More crimes against humanity has been committed in the name of God than for any other reason. Please people should stop drinking this brukutu of Ignorance and buy some sense,

COINGOV said...

hmm na waoo for this pastor self but if is really a true one maybe noting will happen to him but if hes not hmm see ant dey eat elephant ooooo for there

Reading all the comments is evident that most Nigerians worship the devil (including Linda who is obsessed with posting snakes on her blog, the most disgusting uncouth class less blogger ever); cos clearly you are all waiting to see what will happen to the pastor cos you feel your demonic god is more powerful that My Almighty God. This is why I don't trust any Nigerian, most of you going to church is all coverup. No wonder the whole nation is cursed with problems like 419; money ritualist: arm.robbery etc etc.

I am so disappointed with a lot of people so blind to see the brainwash these so called pastors has done to the African masses. A traditional monument, the fragment of our beloved culture and history is being destroyed in the name of God who a lot of people don't even know the meaning. If the shrine is worshiped or not, no pastor have the right to disturb these things instead should go and convert the worshipers. These culture has been there before the white men arrived. Please Please no body have right to tamper with these items period.

Black man seeing everything African as evil while we see the white ms me Christian God as good. Pity

Miclo59 said...

You're the dumbest idiot ever......do you have to bring tribe into this?..#asshole 😠

Miclo59 said...

That thing is no deity, it's just an artifact. ......during the days of our forefathers, I heard that this is the only means of bringing calling together for a meeting /gathering because whenever the ikoro(a bigger version of ekwe ie a wooden musical instrument )is sounded,everyone is Uga will hear the sound and they'll moving towards Nkwo (market place)where the ikoro is located.....

Many citizens of the community that their progress was tired to the shrine are free now.

Fear is the root of our problems. Why should you people question the pastor for burning the shrine. So you all mean the powers in shrine is greater than the power of God. That is completely alarming

i respect this unashames act...dauntless boldness like apostle Paul

Until the god of the Jews is removed from our so shores, mad men and women will have him to hide behind.

For Christians saying Islam is purely after human blood and destruction.
Read Deuteronomy 13:6-10

If your very own brother, or your son or daughter, or the wife you love, or your closest friend secretly entices you, saying, “Let us go and worship other gods” (gods that neither you nor your ancestors have known, gods of the peoples around you, whether near or far, from one end of the land to the other), do not yield to them or listen to them. Show them no pity. Do not spare them or shield them. You must certainly put them to death. Your hand must be the first in putting them to death, and then the hands of all the people. Stone them to death, because they tried to turn you away from the Lord your God

The pastor is confused, he did not understand the meaning of Ikoro. Best is to prosecute him in the court and jailed him accordingly.

Cherish, so the pastor told you Ikolo is the Genesis of your problems? Please update bvs how you've progressed one year from today so others can learn..

Lol I knew your comments were biased before I saw this particular comment. Your father organized the crusade so Uga people now know who to arrest.

tayo said...

I am surprised royal priesthood did not comment on this.

I hope he knows what he is doing as far as I know there is no juju in da thing burnis just there for ttraditional sake so if u say na juju maybe na soo.make it b sooo coz what thing might follo u na u go see not da congregation or fame. May God protect u ooooo

He should be sued. That a man is illiterate and claiming self righteous, is no justification to against freedom of religion. Even Shines recognize God as God and worship him accordingly. But because of the brain washing our people have gone through they seem to have forgotten what was once their legal system, ... .we as a people need to go back and understand our history.. Too much African magic is bothering some people. I am glad some people still see in the same light. Just as there are bad pastors, there also were bad native doctors. So the ills that had made us run from traditional way of worship is still predominant today in our adopted worship. God is God! And God is one!