Family drives for 2 hours before realizing they left daughter at rest stop | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 11 August 2015

Family drives for 2 hours before realizing they left daughter at rest stop

A 3-year-old girl was mistakenly left behind by her parents for more than two hours at a highway stop in southern France.

“Another family was at the rest stop and noticed the girl was alone for a while,” Clara Thomas, deputy prefect of the town of Die, in the Drome region, said on French TV.
“They took care of her and called police to let them know."
The 3-year-old was only able to tell police officers what her car looked like and said “Daddy’s car drove away,” according to French media, which reported the incident on Sunday.

After driving more than 90 miles, the family heard on the radio a message from police asking them to pick up their daughter.
“They were obviously traumatized,” Thomas said, adding that the parents, who had “no previously reported problems,” were reunited with their daughter at a police station.
The family was heading south towards the coastal town of Saint Raphael, authorities said. They reportedly asked their other children, a boy and girl, if everything was okay, and no one noticed the toddler was missing.
Local police said they would talk to the prosecutor in Valence, the nearby town, to assess whether further action should be taken.
How can you forget your child though and the other children didn't notice their sister was missing? There may be something more behind this or they may have truly 'forgotten' their 3 year old child.
ABC News

76 comments:

What kind of parents b this? My mom sees non of us for minutes and she starts panicking, muchless forgetting us in a car for 3 whole hours.. Han han..

Trendyify said...

What were the parents thinking?

It is well

Strange...

You can only hear such stories in Overseas. Irresponsible parents.

I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

This kinda tin happens... so I don't know y dere should even be any investigation on d case.. people do forget entirely.

Oh!

Bad.Outright parental Neglet.

Serious, there is something to it, how can you forget your child and won't notice for 2hours even her siblings didn't notice her.

Damilola said...

Different ways to look at this story. Though I must share, my neighbor normally helps drop my kids and her kids at school before heading to work. There was a day she told me she had dropped off the kids and made to turn around for work, she was making a u turn and looked.into her mirror and noticed my 1 yr old daughter (who can be eerily quiet for an hour and sing for the next hour) was still in d car at the back seat (sienna). So basically the teachers missed her and didn't take her out of the car and she just assumed all the kids had been escorted out. Bottom line is she could have gotten to work and even left her in d car without being aware. Thank God she saw her through the mirror. These things DO happen unintentionally

Hmmmm. Wht a shame and I wil call dis shop alone not d case of home alone!

Thank God 4d lovely system they hav over there for if it was in Nigeria it wil tak days/weeks to track d parents.

Oh oh! What sort of thing is that? Aren't they the real parents? Psalm 127:3

Flora said...

Wonders continua, choi

You don't forget you child! It is very rare, especially in cases like this.

That's weird

Diary of a Naija mom said...

What sort of carelessness is this?

Common mistakes made by women in marriages and relationships

Wow

Saw d caption n knew t will never be in Africa... Xpecially Nigeria. Family 1st always biko

cemalez said...

What tha hell

Cutemumm said...

It happens..Happened to a family I know too especially when you have more than two kids.Some mothers can be careless and forgetful.

they re mad oooo

HonsylGlobal.Com said...

Negligence of the highest order.

Carelessness, that's d name

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Hahahaha...were they travelling in a luxurious bus or a motor home...funny

How na?

wolex said...

Carelessness

Nawa ooo.

AMIJEZ said...

Haba,to forget your child for up to two hours? Careless couple.

How possible is that, there must have been something up!

EEEEEEHHHHHHH?????TOMJERRYSWIT

Hmmmmm very funny 4got ur own child. What are u thinking

lolz..its called carelessness and over thought.
I was forgotten once also at same age, but theirs is a small family, mine was a large family.. though I was d only girl but had a younger bro that takes all my mummy's attention.. I keep using that against them in my teenage years that they left me behind n don't really care about me. lolz, they only realise I was missing when they got home, they blamed one of my Aunt and elder bro that was suppose to look after me, was told I was found having a nice time playing with some older kids. thank God it was in a church premises.. It may jus be as simply as that, don't think any other stories is attached to it, but the siblings shld ve noticed though, jus two of them. One of my brothers noticed my absence.. that'y parents should be xtra-vigilant when it comes to handling toddlers.

Nawoo for this kind of family, what were dey think

Nawoo for this kind of family, dat goes along way to show how poor there parenting is.poor kid

A-YA said...

Appalling!

Nawoo for this kind of family, what were dey think

R u kidding me?

The parent need to be flog.

Nawa o

This is so possible,it has happened to someone I know....she went to see her parent ova d weekend with her daugh n den dey went out on dere way bck home dey had a punctured tire after fixing it dey all entered except her....and her dad drove away,her daugh was confused and keep staring at d window bt Cldnt talk dt her mum was left behind, the mum on d oda hand was confused too thinking probably her dad wants to go n make a turning,her fone was inside d car she was shouting and dey Cldnt even hear her....it was like after 30mins of driving dt her fone was ringing and nobody was picking up dt d dad noticed she wasn't in d car n went bck to pick her.....so it can happen

Thank God nothing happened to her though...

INDIGENOUS LIB said...

Weird things like this happen in the white man's land.... *sigh*

girl left alone in (wait for it)...die town, coincidence?

How can one forget a full human being. Linda take note!

Strange

What one thinks abt nowadays eeh...
God pls let me not be carried away in thoughts as for this to happen to me and my family.

uhmmmmmmmm!!!!.Wonders shall never end....ogaaaaoooooooo

obietrezy said...

Stupid people........

Really???

Careless parents.How could u?

If na naija.....d child don go be that

Which kin yeye people be dis sef! Wetin dey alwayz occupy dere minds! Mama, Papa siblings nobody notice! Una well done ooooo

who does dat! forgetting ur OWN child! even if i born 12 i must count dem b4 i enter vehinlce

or maybe it was an intentional act.

I feel if I was an intentional act, they wouldn't have turned back for her den.

I just can't comprehend. This is so weird.

Karlsson said...

That's absurd. They all deserves to be locked up

Ubanagum

Na wao what pple can do.

lolz.. to that person that said ''even if they are 12, u most count them before u enter vehicles''.. nice one! they don't forget me also before o, I be victim of neglect, it wasn't intentional though..lolz

hrm paul ojeih said...

Bros abeg no vex o which of ur mother are u talking abot I tot u said Linda was ur mom or u still get anoda mother. U be real loco.

hrm paul ojeih said...

Madam I don't agree with this it's a total failure on the teachers part and dat of ur neighbour. I hav 4kids I ensure dey all vacate my car wen I drop dem off I av observed dat lately most mothers are absent minded my wife is damn guilty of dat. Even in church I get up from the men's wing and go see wat my kids are doing even wen dey cross my wing to the toilet I use my eyes to follow them to ensure dey are bak in children's class. Wen church is over I make sure I close d door of my car. In Skol I personally turn around to watch them exit the car. At home if my kids are silent for 5minutes am on my feet to seee y dey are silent.age 1 to 12 for kids is wat I call thge physical development of kids any injury will b devastating from 15 u can relax a bit. So don't tell me a kid is in d car and u drive off with out noticing it. That's negligence

hrm paul ojeih said...

Very weird. So d damn parents couldn't turn from their seat to make sure all d kids were inside d car bfor driving away.

It wasn't intentional but kinda weird....

U must be a darling dad......love me not, love my kids is enuf

U such a careless mom... How can u even leave ur 1yr old wit anoda person? Shameee!!!!

Such a gud dad

Lmao

I keep telling y'all that all this wifi and cellphone signals are messing up ppl's brains. We are being bombarded daily everywhere and we now see a surge in violent events, forgetfulness, narcissism and plain ugliness like we have not seen enmasse for a while. Limit your contact with wifi and cellphones. protect yourselves!!!!

May be they were high on Orijin!

May be they were high on Origin!

May be they were high on Orijin!

How come her bro & sis didn't know that their little sis is missing?