Don’t ban ogogoro, distillers plead with FG | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 16 June 2015

Don’t ban ogogoro, distillers plead with FG

The National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control, NAFDAC, had last week, announced the ban of local gin, popularly known as Ogogoro and conduct sensitization across the country, due to the death of more than 60 people who had consumed the local gin in Rivers and Ondo states.
Now producers of  Ogogoro, Okwagbe Distillers Union, Delta State, have appealed to the Federal Government not to ban the production of that brand of alcohol.

Reacting to NAFDAC’s resolution, Chairman of the union, Mr. Samuel Egedegbe, said that distilled gin does not kill, stating that"
“It is the Ogogoro produced from methanol that kills.” He said that their “distilled gin” is produced from palm wine derived from raffia palm or liquefied sugar mixed with yeast and well cooked before distilling the gin.”

He added:
“In the case of methanol, they do not have factories and they do not cook before distilling their gin. Rather, they only mix the methanol with water in their houses and automatically they have produced gin inside their bedrooms. On our part, we the members of the distillers union produce our gin through a scientific distillation  process.

25 comments:

I'm indifferent

Lol... Ogogoro business is huge, especially in d niger delta.. Lets see how this plays out

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Warri pple nor go gree...that's their wine for serving rice....

kemikane said...

Eyah that's some people's business.it may not be banned but then only few people should be allowed 2 sell it @ designated places not 2 been seen on every street then. My guess sha

Say no to 'ogogoro' intake irrespective the form of processing.

na so,nor mind all these foolish lagos and abuja mumu when dey post rubbish for this site,small sense una nor get,if dem like dem ban or not,we go still dey taste ogofi once once.

Scientific distillation process?

Which school did he study this science?
Anyway, I agree with him. The crux isn't banning the product, proper investigations should be made as to what caused the deaths.

I trust Nigerian health/security boards, they love open@close cases, that's the main reason they don't investigate anything.

Hian! I thought the ban was only on the locally made ogogoro??? Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix & my email address is (julie3er@gmail.com). Linda take note!

fine bobo can't shout

Pls Libers, i'm in need of a job. I'm relatively jobless at the moment and of which i have loads of responsibilities on me. May God grant your heart desire as you help me.
Here is my pin 558E6699.

Golda Awosika said...

Hmm, i support d ban, ds tyn kills ur organs ova tym

mira cookie said...

Wtf are dese 1s saying?

I want it banned..sorry but it has destroyed a lot of life

True talk for they spoke well. So they should pls listen to them, and apply dis wisdom in operating.

Addicted to a particular thing is not gud i swear.....

Joseph's blog said...

That is not enough reason. It should be ban.

I SUPPORT DE BAN....TOMJERRYSWIT

I hope they av some other source of income for them,cos its not just to ban ogogoro that shud be paramount

My Year Of Linda's 100k

Ogogoro is a deadly chemical, it sucks the blood and cause infection to the skin..even when is ban..dis is naija..dey can still be sellin it..in a hidden way..pls stop the habit of drinkin it..it Kill !!! Very deadly..thanks

Too late to cry out loud.

Maybe they need to be Nafdac certified. But if those pictures posted yesterday is d scientific process, then its not worth consuming.

Banning that harmful substance is the course of wisdom
jacksoninem@yahoo.com

But how will nafdac differentiate between those that use methanol and the genuine ones.

Nawa o, weytin we no go read, hear or see 4 dis our obodo Nigeria, ogogoro producers too gt association? O ga o