'I don’t know what fuel subsidy means' - Buhari | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 24 May 2015

'I don’t know what fuel subsidy means' - Buhari

In a new interview with Daily Trust, President elect, Buhari expressed reservations over claims by the government of subsidizing the petroleum sector. He spoke on how during his time as Military leader, they were able to make fuel available at all times. Below are excerpts of what he said in the interview
One burning issue is fuel subsidy. I believe you are aware of the queues in major cities like Lagos and Abuja. The fuel importers say they are unsure of the direction of the new government in this area. Have you considered maintaining or withdrawing this subsidy or are you questioning whether it didn’t exist at all?
One of the problems I have, other than the military, is the petroleum industry where I served for three and a half years under General Obasanjo. When people start talking about this subsidy I honestly get confused. I will tell you this, and I hope it will answer what you want to know. Back then we had a refinery in Port Harcourt, which was refining 30,000 barrels a day of Nigerian crude. Later, it was upgraded to refine 100,000 barrels a day.

Another refinery was built in Port Harcourt to refine 150,000 barrels per day of Nigerian crude. So, Port Harcourt alone had the capacity to refine 250,000 barrels per day of Nigerian crude. But when I found myself as the Minister of Petroleum I set up another refinery in Warri for 100, 000 barrels per day of Nigerian crude and the Kaduna refinery a 100, 000 barrels per day. So Nigeria built capacity to refine 450,000 a day. Four Hundred thousands of which is purely Nigerian crude, but 50,000 was imported. The type of crude could be Venezuelan, which could be a bit heavier. But the lighter ones - kerosene, aviation fuel, diesel, PMS of different grades could be produced from our crude because Nigerian crude is about the best in the world. If you could recall, after finishing as Minister of Petroleum, I subsequently became Head of State.

You remember, I appointed Professor Tam David West as the Minister of Petroleum. When we rounded up bunkers, collected their illegal jetties and allowed jetties for only big firms which were doing production and development in the country, we were shocked that we had too much fuel. We had to begin to export 100,000 barrels per day. Don’t forget that we didn’t stop at building refineries, we built more than 20 depots during my time, from Port Harcourt to Ilorin, Makurdi, Suleija, Maiduguri and Kano. More than 3,000 pipelines were laid to connect them. A number of stations were also built to take the trailers off the road, save lives and the infrastructure on the road. It is more economical because each trailer uses fuel.

We did all that in this country and we didn’t borrow any money as far as I know. It’s Nigerian money. From each Nigerian crude, whether Akwa Ibom, Bonny Light or whatever it is, you can work out how much products it will give you; how much petrol it will give you; how much diesel it will give you if you want to produce diesel. We could tell how much Nigerian crude cost, the cost of transportation from there to the refinery, the cost of refining, the cost of transportation to the pump stations and maybe 5 per cent go for overhead. I can understand if Nigerians pay for those cost but somebody is saying he is subsidizing Nigerians. Who is subsidizing who?

But they argue that the price should not be the same in Lagos and Daura, for example? 
It has to be the same because it is the Nigerian crude.

But they consider the cost of transportation? 
Why didn’t it make any difference when we were around? Why did we build the network of pipelines? Why did we build the network of depots? What can Nigerians benefit from the God-given gift of petroleum? No refinery is built unless there is an in-depth research that there is enough reserve of up to six layers to be produced.

The argument I have heard is that refineries are aged. Mostly, they are performing at less than half of their capacity…?
You can’t defend these corrupt and incompetent people. You can’t defend them. There used to be what they call turn-around-maintenance. You close the refinery in order to overhaul and clean it. What we did: we asked our producers, we need various refined products of this type at this time when the refineries are being cleaned. Take this type of Nigerian crude and bring us the refined products. What we don’t need, we will calculate and pay you as fees for refining and transportation. If it is more than what the crude can handle, then we take it from the treasury. But you are trying to justify all these frauds by saying the refineries are aged.

Of course, they are actually aged? 
They said the refineries are aged. The pipelines are leaking. There is vandalisation. Who ordered the vandalisation?

Does it suggest that you don’t believe in the subsidy? So, you are not going to agree to its continuation in anyway?
I would like to be on ground and find out what really has been going wrong. Why is it that people are doing round-tripping with the Nigerian products and take money from the treasury? Some people are still in court. You know about it. So, I’m not taking anything for granted. But I will try and find out what went wrong.

Read the rest of the interview on Daily Trust

178 comments:

Hmmm ok

Hmmm ok

Oh!

Aww preach it my able president.

You will soon know what it means when you finally sit on that hot seat.

U need 2 no about islam, bcos jesus was a muslim said...

may 29 on my mind

I pray ooh

Wow! He spoke well concerning dis pertinent issue, and I pray he make a total change in dis sector.

Linda I tell you Restoration is here not just change.Long live the incoming president.Long live LIBers and long live the federal republic of Nigeria

Sgt.Tackleberry said...

Ghen! Ghen! All ye marketers, start running.

Sir... Can't wait for you to find solution to all these fuel scarcity...

Lol.....
I guess some GEJites were really excited when they saw the sensational headline but then, slowly, that enthusiasm died down when they read the full interview......
In other news,these media houses need to become more reasonable in their headlines....

Gbam!!! We elected d right person, im soooo proud of this man right now,like sooo many things willl be exposed n set right!!!

We wait n see. I pray that miraculous change will surely happen cuz sufferness dey paparapa just like blessed Anikulapo had said.

Why lay pipelines of oil produced in d south all d way to the North? Why didn't they build more refineries in d south instead of taking them to d North. So Buhari, u were d initiator of this act. Not fair @ all, looking @ d cost n maintenance of those pipelines. They were only laid for selfish reasons.

Love every of his answers on this interview. At least have gotten enlighten on some areas

Well said... all I know is by His grace dz new government will not fail..

Alpha said...

THAT'S MY PRESIDENT RIGHT THERE!

Let him ask jona

Damn that write up was long

Epistle

AQO said...

He's the man!!

AQO said...

Can't wait...

GBAM! GBAM!! GBAM!!!
I don dey like dis guy small small
Abeg deliver, CHANGE no be for mouth oooo

GBAM! GBAM!! GBAM!!!
I don dey like dis guy small small
Abeg deliver, CHANGE no be for mouth oooo

Baba tell dem ooo
Thieves we ve for leaders old fools, God is going to punish dem to their 20th generation. In order to steal dey would bring in things and give it name

Sai baba. Rational response. It only takes someone who is aware of the terrains of this country to handle its affair properly

I hate the way this man talks! For the love of God! It's statements like these that makes the marketers say they want monies paid in full before they will import fuel.

The fact on ground is that all these refineries built in the 70s and 80s are producing below capacity, and this has been happening since Abacha's time, so buhari should stop giving us ancient history. There is currently a subsidy regime on ground and marketers want to know what your plans are! Your speaking from the side of the mouth will make this madness continue!

I smell something good

Ugwu Emmanuel Adah said...

Seriously, this is the kind of leader we need one who desire to know the root cause of a problem before action not one who trow blames on the past government... sai BaBa kowe ni

Very thorough General sorry President but I smell though times ahead for the common man because this man means business it doesn't look like the petroleum marketers will win this war creating unnecessary hardship to people because of subsidy removal.
People brace up!

Sai Buhari!!! Sai Baba!!! Perfect reasoning. There is no excuse for the situation we are in. PDP-induced poverty and corruption must go. GMB please please bring sanity back to Nigeria. I salute you.

This man is so stealth and upright and I can't wait to see how many crooks he will expose when he gets in office

Alli said...

When someone who knows what leadership means speak, you shall know where he is coming from. The refineries were deliberately destroyed so the few that benefits continue to do so. Let's wait and see what President-elect Buhari has to do about this.

Hmmmm, I can't wait for buhari to start rulling. I hope it gets better, bcos fuel here in ph is 2hundred per litre now.

WizzyEsq said...

very honest...that subsidy of a thing is actually confusing.removing or putting Nigeria populace still dont comprehend

And you people say this man does not know anything?? Oya GEJ come and answer!

Otunba Pumba1 said...

Sai Buhari dis is d change we clamoured for n we will get it while waiting patiently n today is my birthday n am happy to be adding a year to my years....
GOD BLESS NIGERIA!!!

Damochedxb said...

Oh my, such raw honesty... not those who hide behind big big grammar, abrakadabra statistics and lies from the pit of hell. Sai Baba, please do your findings and bring those people to book.

Damilola said...

My confidence keeps building in this man. There is sense in his answers....Of only he won d elections last time we could have been in a better place. God punish the thieves within us

See as person dey talk like informed fellow....God bless the president elect!

Mr President, sir, please come and save this country o. Whoever is found wanting should be prosecuted. I love you, sir!

Ma nigga...This man is angry!!! I love it.

Sai Baba

I'm beginning to build hope around this man. I hope he doesn't dash it!

I JUST LOVE THIS MAN...... SAI BABA!

simple logic, simple explanation, simple system, simple man. why did they make this subsidy such a confusing issue. I have never wish a man was younger than his age like I wish Buhari, Really wish he is able to do 2 terms

We watchnnnn

Austin said...

no doubt, there's alotta fraud in the oil subsidy... i believe "oil subsidizing" is commonest ways the PDP has given to scam us over the years apart from the recent sure-p bla bla bla.

This man sounds like he knows what to do. Let's all continue to pray and support him.

Jesus Reigns said...

Buhari is truly intelligent

And my fellow libers say this man didn't go to school and that should count.We see where the one that went to school led us to.

Educated illiterates are all over Nigeria.We read their comments here on lib.planes are at present going to small Ghana and cote d'Ivoire to fuel up.Imagine that?And we sit down allowing someone tell us we have the biggest economy in Africa.

How patronizing!!!!The biggest economy but no purchasing power.Being learned is different from having an education.

I'd take an illiterate who has walked the path to direct me over he/she who has only read or heard of it.

Nigeria is in a fine mess.Lord take control.

Ghen Ghen! No nonsense man. God strengthen you. Linda take note!

Indeed, every day for d thief one day for d owner of d house.

Capable man, thumbs up.

that's not true.... you better find a way to solve all this issues.

I am liking this guy. If this is the plan he has for Nigeria then I am behind him 100 percent.
It was obasanjo that started this whole subsidy nonsense. Now he has become a saint in the eyes of many. Jonathan tried to remove it but was stoned.
Now, it's very obvious that Buhari will remove it. So the price of Pms may get to 150 naira after may 29th.
Let's watch and see how it goes.

And they said he had no certificate

Srz situation

http://thelifeofaldorable.blogspot.com/?m=1

cheiress said...

You can't defend these corrupt and incompetent people"....yes sir, u categorized them the best way. Pls help me hand them over to Isis fighters for some push down from sky scrapers. Pls go there and find out what has gone wrong and spare nobody. Wicked people, looting at the expense of over 170million citizens. Shiorr

Srz situation

http://thelifeofaldorable.blogspot.com/?m=1

Sai baba.... Thank God I voted for you. Pls we are waiting for May 29. These hoodlums will be set straight.

Sense

that is my president. not like jona who doesn't know is left or right

I pray God gives you the courage to implement these bold ideas

bomi said...

Indeed, this man is honest...
I have not gotten home from church and sincerely from the bottom of my heart, God will give GMB to continue to keep the path of the truth and I pray for the salvation of his soul too...
He is indeed honest. Subsidy is a scam in Nigeria...
Gbam!!!

well said

I don't know why I don't believe dis man....one way or the other he will still do this thing called fuel subsidy during his regime but as always they'll call it something else

The People's General! Thank GOD you are experienced in this so no one can bamboozoo you. I know you know exactly how to deal with d thieves

princess said...

Don't worry Baba, u'll soon know what it means if u claim ignorance of it may 29th is around d corner.

Let's c iif u will produce fuel from Daura or we will start using ur cow waste as fuel...

Bryan said...

This interview just gave me hope. I think so much is going to be uncovered and a lot of money will be saved, which will automatically mean more infrastructural and human-capital development. Nigeria is moving forward.

Dreezy the quidnunc said...

Old news .. But it's the truth.. Now those idiots giving Anoyying trolls on the early post should say something to this now... Awon ode

So help him God

Apt. Buhari pls clean up their mess. A good name is better than ruby and gold

hmm.. E don set!!!

I kinda like this guy

Am glad Buhari won this election, hopefully some measure of sanity will come back to Nigeria

I can't wait for change to take over, so that all this fuel problem will end.

This President will be the best democratically elected presido i assure you linda....He gives me new reasons to love him everyday....Count down to handover

Welcome to Bookybam's Blog said...

Tnk u sir. May God keep n protect u to deliver nig fr dis Mess

Pls gmb remove the subsidy enough of all these marketers suffering nigerians Pls rmv it my oga #saibuhari

Karlsson said...

Pls try n findout what's really going on in petroleum sector of Nigeria. It's embarrassing already
Ubanagum

I like this man pls come quick am ready for the change . Many will go to prison. Add tami $ swit collection_style $ fashion channel pin C00304C31 add

lizzypompin@gmail.com said...

Sai baba!

The General ia back......thats all I can say.

It has started happening. People that ate what they were not suppose to eat should be ready to purge and vomit o. I dey talk my own.

God bless u sir, pls come and help us in dis country

God Speed Sir! Every one who loves Nigeria should start praying for this man. He will do a lot of good by God's grace, amen

Well said baba, gud n matured response all 2ru. God wl help n c him 2ru IJN

1st Class $$$

The Therapist said...

This country don the confuse person sef

Good responses from d president elect. We believe in u as a man of integrity with a burning desire to serve ds great ,but battered nation. Lets put our efforts 2geda and transform d economy for d posterity wl one day remember ds generation positvely

He actually doesn't know what subsidy is, but he knows the way forward and I think I believe in this man 100. Simple explanation TAM is needed. We produced more than what the country needed in 1984 that's amazing. Hope he can replicate the magic here.

#FOCUS n #ACHIEVE

Chaiiiiiiiii"""" I was so right about this man ''_ God will use you to salvage this country ' God bless you ' a Leader is a Leader ''''

this doesn't hide well for some people.

johnnie said...

Well said

i just hope ds dude #GMB is everything we want him to be. either way, the next opportunity to get out GEJ version of hell (Nigeria), ill take it.. and i hope every corrupt PDP member dies in their sleep. I know they cant take the money to hell

How will u know wen u didn't go to sch..... Sighs.... @bonario and abokidawarri boy should highlight their president

Mr. RAJ said...

Gagan!!!! Action film wan start. Sai Buhari!

Na wah oh. Nigeria is in trouble. I love this man. He is just like me. All the corrupt people will be brought to book.

Hahaha u go pay subsidy if not fuel go be 200 naira a liter

Who caused the leakage? Cant they fix it? Stupid corrupt people. Buhari pls deal with them. Fools

Buhahi pls rule for 20 years. It is people like u that we need. Useless country. Stmchew

There will be a tremendous change in the affairs for the benefit of the country because he will pilot and redirect frustrating issues into success

dontJme said...

WTF did I jst read? This man has no clue, no idea abt this subsidy scheme. Smdh!!

Mr president elect I guess u were still licking your wounds over your loss in 2011 elections during the subsidy saga. Even at that, how come you didn't get a technocrat to explain it to u as if you are a two year old than this embarasment I just read.

This composition you wrote about our refineries was 32 yrs ago and you sound like you are under the illusion that we still have a functional refinery or was it just me.

Wtf do mean by who ordered the vandalization? Who ordered nepa not to give me for the past 1 week..

Confused president!

Sai baba chop kisses o jare,its a New dawn I can feel it!

sweetie said...

Jonathan is a failure, tank GOD for saving us for another four years

I have deep regard and admiration for this man. I am positive things will turn around for good during his time.

More wisdom to GMB!

Amy said...

The following people are to be held accountable:
Obasanjo
Okonjo Iweala
Diezani-chief mischief maker
Jonathan- underG crook
Samurai (being an Emir does not free you)
Others

Aminu Better said...

I hope he doesn't know what fuel subsidy means during his tenure as president.

Adessy said...

God will help the President elect to revive this nation. The selfish leaders have ruined this country. None of them will go unpunished their household will surely suffer for their misdeeds.

As days go by my faith in this man grows stronger👏

purple said...

Please find out what went wrong and act on it

Dis man wld wrk..i swear.God bless u sir n gv u strenght

Dr. Who said...

wipe dem, Buhari wipe dem whn u get on seat. chase all d thieves outa dis country. Giv dem run. Their times r up?....ndi ojo oo. ndi ori

HonsylGlobal.Com said...

Sai Buhari, definitely a guru in Petroleum dynamics.

Hmmm can u imagine

Out of 200 million mumus - just ONE person is the odd one out!!! But that is not the point! The POINT is that the SAME ONLY ONE Person is NOW the PRESIDENT of the Country!!! Halleluyah Somebody!!!! Our time has come!!! Thanks be to GOD!!!

God bless u

Taiwo said...

I'm am beginning to feel relieve that Nigeria will reclaim her lost glory. Some of us are praying for you sir...

SDK latest commenter said...

U r a fool,foolish he goat

You obviously lack depth in knowledge.

He has been on the seat before....did u even read the whole text. Smh.😕

Stern, is not only a foolish he goat, but he is a bastard born throw-way

Amen, @ Bonita, this is a man i want in Nigeria to be my president. That was why I vote for him, and I am happy with it.

All we want is change in the positive direction #onelovefromsnow#

@Cynthia ogo.. Mathew 5:22 ... Try keep ur speech co-ordinated.

Stern I pray ur ignorance and hatred, doesn't close ur eyes to opportunities u may come across in life. Amen

It took me a second but I get you. Now itt is up to the rest of us mumus to not let the corrupt forces that will no doubt fight these changes win

Etsako Pearl said...

I dey tel u.,my mind went gbam! Lol

You are a foolish and also a very stupid coackroach Cynthia ogo . A flying coackroach at that. Buhari will soon find out how hot the seat it I reiterate on Stern's behalf.

Mumu, why don't you just allow your buhari to start first then a year later you can then start your sycophantic blabs. Talk is very cheap o.

And which school did you go so my family can avoid! They clearly didn't teach you to see past the weeds there

U re a big fool

Ewu gambia

Why are you disturbing yourself? You bera just be on the sideline and keep watching. Nigerians obviously don't know what they want. I pity this nation as regards what is to unfold.

Dani said...

This is y you cnt succeed stupid person

Are you dumb or what? They built pipelines to transport the refined products instead of using trailers which he clearly stated.

sisi said...

My dear, it's better you ask questions for clarification. Those pipelines where laid to take products closer to the north.

STERN were u born in this country or u are deaf dumb n blind? He has been in THAT seat before, that's y he spoke out of experience. Really, young pple today should learn to read, not end there, but read to understand.

sisi said...

Can you imagine tankers loading from warri for instance, and travelling all the north.

sisi said...

Do not allow tribalism becloud your comprehension of issues.

Wow such angry souls..hehe..this is not the end of the world guys..lol. Anon 10:22 thanks for standing on my behalf..

Ur d greatest mumu what did ur GEJ do for u

Don't get ur argument on how building more refineries in the south will get the products to the other parts of the country? Do u have brains?

HUMBLE EVE said...

If I call u animal,i too over praise u sef.U nor get sense at all,wetin concern where dem put am.D ish for here na to buy fuel 40naira per litre.If dem like dem put am for only ur house e nor concern us,wetin concern us na make d fuel dey cheap n available.Stop being sentimental

Ode how do you transport. Refined products

seun said...

Thank you Jesus! finaly, I c light at the end of Nigeria's tunnel. rightrighteousness exalts a nation, God bless and guide you sir.

An Intelligent man has just spoken!

Wow!, nice answer! Elgiver u r a big fool

Thank you Irabo Bobby. U are always on point. You always make sense unlike some senseless fools here

What is wrong with extending the pipelines to every part of Nigeria? Is it only the South that is Nigeria? Stmchew

Cheiress u are so funny. You said hand them over to isis. Hahahahaha

DontJme. U are obviously not intelligent. What part of Nigeria did u school. So that i will warn my children not to go there. GMB was a petroleum minister and he understands the tricks. He will surely expose all the corrupt thieves

You think God did not know what he was doing when he allowed this man to win? Buhari you are too much jare

People are so scared of change and that is why Nigeria is not moving forward. The moment we decide to embrace change, the better for us.

Buhari should sack all those stupid marketers and ban them. He should get new marketers that are ready to go by his rules.

ARYVENTURES said...

Discounts and free shipping on Konga.com/ARYVENTURES

I PRAY THAT GOD HELP THE PRESIDENT ELECT TO ACHIEVE HIS NOBLE AND VERY HONEST & SINCERE PLANS OF CHANGING AND RESTORING NIGERIA. PRESIDENT JONATHAN YOU COULDN'T DO BETTER -PLS GO & REST.

Seriously? Do you understand what maintenance is? Do you know how old some of the infrastructures in other countries are? These refineries have been neglected over the years and that's why we've been importing petroleum products! Doesn't it sound disgusting to you that the 7th biggest oil producer in the world is having to import majority of its petroleum products??? It's the importation that's given rise to the so called subsidy. And where do you think the money is coming from to pay for this subsidy??? Why do you think the federal government is broke??? Your ignorance amazes me!!! It further amazes that you seem comfortable with your ignorance!!!

am certain we all can see and its all affecting us all, to those of us who asked him to preach it good luck. our president elect and current president with other top politicians are wherever they are with luxury of Gas, while you and I are at the bus stops struggling to get to work. because we have bad and terrible LABOUR LEADERS.

U really lack depth of knowledge,opening dat gutter u call mouth to spew rubbish

oriade said...

Some people are full of cow dung! You can't hide endemic corruption under shitty talk. Buhari's ancient history didn't say anything under Abacha. He talked about his time as a minister, then head of state. Direct your questions to those periods. People should just shut their fangs and stop saying trash. Some people dragged us here. Hospitals, schools and other such institutions are presently grounded and you want to shield the helmsman? Bladderdash!

Shot ur mouth

abujakenneth said...

This man is actually a daft. The only question he answered well is the last one. He agreed that as early as 1970s and 80s he was importing fuel at a time but failed to consider the population increase. He was PTF chairman for sometime and still response to questions this way. No wonder he has no certificate

this is funny , Jonathan asked to deregulate and remove subsidy in January 2012. Nigerians and the opposition opposed yet we go dancing just because someone says he does not believe in subsidy, The question begging for answer is what did Nigerians , the civil society groups and opposition occupy Nigeria for in 2012 if there was no subsidy?

Linda, is that what he said?

abujakenneth. He has a certificate. He has showed the world the certificate. It is all over the internet. You are the one who is not intelligent. Even if the population of Nigeria has incresaed over the years, is that why they should deliberately burst the oil pipes and be doing oil bunkery??

All those still hurting that Jonathan lost and therefore they can no longer eat money because Buhari is against corruption. Get over yourselves

They have contested Buhari's certificate and they failed, They have contested his health and they failed, they always look for faults in him and criticise his every action yet he overcame them. Buhari is a cat with 9 lives. Can't you see that God is with this man. PDP haters give up and get over yourselves

To all you PDP haters: Listen and listen good;- Whether you like it or not, Buhari has won the elections and he is now your president and there is nothing you can do about it. So deal with it and get over yourselves

U are a bigger FOOL. Oloshi were

Anon and Stern You guys are bastards. Maybe u don't want to move forward in life. Buhari won. There's nothing u can do anymore

I agree with you. Stern is a bitter, pathetic soul. Ewu oshi