Rivers State Governor-Elect, Barrister Nyesom Ezenwo Wike has declared that his administration will carry out a forensic audit of all government accounts to ensure the recovery of all resources stolen by top officials of the out-going administration in the state. This is even as he declared that all those who participated in the use of N4.5bllion to conduct illegal local government elections by the Rivers State Independent Electoral Commission, RSIEC, will be brought to justice and made to account.He said RSIEC embarked on the illegal local government elections despite the court stopping the election. Speaking on Monday while receiving the interim report of the Transition Committee led by Deputy Governor Tele Ikuru, Barrister Wike said the days of impunity and massive corruption are over in Rivers State.
He said Rivers State will be a test case in the fight against corruption, noting that a comprehensive approach in fighting corrupt elements in the outgoing administration will be adopted to entrench fiscal discipline in the state.
"I am not going to be intimidated. The only way we can work together is to check the ills of the past. The right thing must be done. Those who have stolen the resources of the state must be made to account. "I have the political will to drive the process to its logical conclusion.
The massive stealing of government resources was a deliberate attempt to create problems for the incoming administration ", Wike said. The governor-elect added that all the back-dated appointments and certificates of occupancy being hurriedly issued by outgoing governor Amaechi will be set aside.
He said all the top officials of Amaechi administration who have refused to cooperate in the interest of Rivers State during the transition period will soon cooperate whether they like it or not. According to him : "Those who have closed the courts will be the same persons rushing to the courts when we open the courts".
Earlier, Chairman of the Transition Committee and Deputy Governor, Engineer Tele Ikuru recommended that the new administration should carry out forensic audit of all accounts in view of massive looting by officials of the out-going administration.
He said that Governor Rotimi Amaechi and top officials of his administration refused to cooperate with the committee for a smooth transition. The deputy governor urged the governor-elect to work towards restoring basic services in the state.
Simeon Nwakaudu,
Special Assistant (Media ) to Barrister Nyesom Ezenwo Wike,
Rivers State Governor-Elect.
60 comments:
BETTER,....TOMJERRYSWIT
Na them sabi biko. Linda take note!
Enough of all d talking, and I advice he should go for action insteading of all dis noise making.
Yeah, this is a true governor. No sentiments. Ride on.
Needed
OK
I dont knw whether to praise him or do otherwise but i like the idea though but to me all this act is cover up some stuff....
Looking like fried puff puff in boxing ring. Abeg make we heard word jare.
This is really the season of change. Carried out wike
That's cool
Supported!!!
Issorite
Yimu mtchewww coming from a man who did nothing as Minister of Education when ASUU went on almost a year long strike.
A good step😘step😘
I love this man😍
Hehehe.. Woke the new Ameachi of rivers state!! Shey Amechi d rebel is done with his administration, APC get ready for PDP "Ameachi..
Hehehe.. Wike the new Ameachi of rivers state!! Shey Ameachi d rebel is done with his administration, APC get ready for PDP "Ameachi..
Stop being boastful...
Amaechi is dangerous....
Good. I hope they really do, so we can all see what they did with the youth corpers' money
Hurricane wike!...I can't wait for this movie to begin full time. Amaechi get ready!
Starting from himself, if he's allowed to do this then it's okay. Nigerian really needs this now.. corrupt souls. Micah 2:1
The drama is starting!
He should focus on achieving d promises to his people instead all dis distractions.
Lets see how long you remain as governor of Rivers.
I just hope who ever takes over from him also has the guts to probe his accounts
Lmaoooooooo! Shut the fuck up Wike. You are even worse than Amaechi.
Kettle calling pot black. Make we hear word jare
Story for the gods...aka Bobo juice!!!
Coming from this armed robber.I give your relationship with Dame Patience 1 year before a highhandedness becomes unbeatable for you then the real stories will come out.Buzz off already you lying,thieving moron.
Mr wike, I tink u shld also b ready to bring back all dat u stole too from Education
I smell trouble
STORY STORY, NGWANU!
Dat's D Man we want......Welda dy like it or Not..I luv dat part...... Ride on Bro
good.
No wonder you are anonymous.. Make sure you don't remain anonymous forever...
Wike abi na Wicked no be only forensic audit you go do. Kuku do autopsy and issue a coroner's report on Rivers finances. No be rigging put you on that seat? Nonsense.
The real man of the people...
Lol oyibo supu nnu nna @Royal P osi nuwu "insteading" if na Linda make d mistake now u go shout out loud. Linda observe.
That vuvuzela P guy
Nice move Nyesom wike
Mcthew
yeah! wike my man you are the true governor, carry on and don't relent
well that's the way to go
He should first of all bring the once he stole as Obio Akpor local Government chairman and minister of education, and account for the once he gave to madam Jonathan for he blessing and favour. Stupid killer.
Rivers wahala...make wi wait n see d end
If Thiefnubu hear am....
see dis one, sitting on one leg and already opening his mouth. This same stock from GEJ? wish you guys well
toyinwilliams2@gmail.com
Like he too is not tainted. Better leave the witch hunting and focus on making something out of that state. You don't have any agenda on continuity. So please come up with a better form of living beneficial to the people of PH while you are auditing.
When you yourself is corrupt.
You rigged the election, now you want to form saint.
This Igwe Adaobi are you sure all is alright with your brain? Why comment like an idiot? You see someone making sense and all you could type is he rigged the election..Even if they decide to conduct another election in Rivers today..sorry to say that Nyesom Wike will win hands down. Get a life monkey igbo girl
Shey u guys want change?
Why are you complaining?
Abi it's only apc that can bring change?
If you have proof against him, bring it.
He didn't say he will arrest innocent people.
He said, an audit will be carried out.
If found guilty, they will be prosecutedm
What are you guys afraid of?
If Amaechi is innocent nothing will happen
If guilty, he will face the wrath of the law.
Nigerian politics is about picking sides and supporting that side you picked even if they kill. Partial retribution
Bring it on wike!
My governor my governor... a great politician indeed....the fear of wike is.....
While you're at it please don't forget to include the unpaid salaries of Federal Ministry of Education staff since September 2014 in your forensic audit...
am waiting
Igwe adaobi shut up r u fucking amaechi
@Amy when has making our leaders account for mismanaged funds become witch hunting? Shame on you hypocrite.
u wey ur case dey 4 tribunal.u still get mouth 2 talk...we shall shee on d field of play..(acoding 2 abd'karim adisa)4ma military administrator.
Ok na😄