Photos: OOU students on massive protest this morning, destroy property | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 15 August 2014

Photos: OOU students on massive protest this morning, destroy property

Students of the Olabisi Onabanjo University, OOU, are currently protesting in the state, demanding a reduction in their school fees. The students have barricaded the Presidential boulevard, the route leading to the office of Governor Ibikunle Amosun, saying they will not leave until the governor, who is said to be on his way to his office, addresses them.

The students were reportedly shot at and tear-gassed by soldiers this morning as they marched to the Governors office. After being tear-gassed, angry students started destroying public property. They had initially embarked on a peaceful protest, but turned violent after the teargas. Continue...

The aggrieved students are demanding a further reduction in their school fees days after Governor Amosun announced a reduction in school fees and said it would take effect from next academic session.

The students of the state owned school say they are not satisfied with the reduction, as it's still too high and they want the new school fees to take effect from the current academic session.

The protest started yesterday and continued this morning...

62 comments:

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

There are still better ways to protect rather than destroy properties. They should take a cue from Unilag students that cooked beans infront of the govt house.

Nigerian students are now hoodlums and nuisance this days must u use shenanigans means to make ur voice heard

Two wrongs can ever make a right, at a time like this, it pays to dialogue than resort to violence.
Later they'll be made to pay for the damages,after suspending academic activities.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

They shuld pls reduce deir fees

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Ceeflo said...

Violence everywhere....gone are the days Nigerians resolved issues amicably

Nigeria soldiers and their crude mentality. The Governor should answer them ASAP.

Aluta Continua...Victoria Acerta

King said...

This isn't right, the taxi drivers didn't tell Amosun to increase ur school fees; so why destroy their means of livelihood cos u r protesting about ur skul fees. Why not destroy government's property instead? Or where do you expect the poor cab drivers to get money to repaor their damaged vehicles? Isiro loko dido

That's the spirit. Am looking forward to a Nigeria where every body will put head together annd fight for one good course.... Caesar Funai

Nochade's Blog said...

Na so... shebi Unilag don open road for them.. Aluta Continua... Our leaders should please help us oooo

keni kizzy said...

na wa oo...d governor had beta do sumtin abt it be4 it get out of hand.

AprokoManagerApril said...

When two elephants fight.....

Pls no gree ooo,Na politics. Amosun While next session y not ds session.Pls any oou on ds blog pls no allow make SUG fight for u cos they are all thieves,my last school fees as a final yr two yr ago was 99k no project fees
Gracenot2001@yahoo.com

youths need to learn the benefits of dialogue! I don't understand how they are protesting a reduction in their fee by destroying properties, sums of which they will be made to pat later. can't we have a peaceful demonstration once in a while?

Eugenia Ekeji said...

This is one thing i hate about student's protest. It never ends well and peaceful, they sha must destroy one thing or the other.

RICHIE INSURED said...

BUT WHY WOULD 2 SETS OF BLOOD SUCKING, BRAIN DRAINED, USELESSLY USELESS, INCOMPETENT, SICKENING, BASTARD, MENTALLY BACKWARD DEMENTORS IN THE FORMS OF THE SCHOOL AUTHORITIES & THE POLICE MISBEHAVE & ABUSE THEIR POWERS. EDUCATION AIN'T THRIVING & Y'ALL ARE INCREASING FARES FOR STUDENTS WHO DON'T GET THE QUALITATIVE EDUCATION THEY NEED. IN AS MUCH AS I HATE VIOLENCE, I SUPPORT THE ACTIONS TAKEN BY THE STUDENTS. SOME FOOLS IN HIGH POWERED PLACES WILL NOT JUST LEARN.

its fine to protest for one's right but I do not understand the act of destroying innocent peoples' property. They are not the cause of the Problem!

Boko haram, ebola and they are still increasing school fees, seiously this country is so fucked.....

If not so goverment will just be promising and failing

before u know it somebody will get hurt
Face of lib

STUDENT SHOULDN'T HAVE TAKEN LAWS INTO THEIR HANDS...THESE IS BAD.

Shanks said...

The way they increase these school fees ehn, one would think they are going to create jobs for these children when they graduate.

OOuite at it again.they should have mercy on them the skool fees is always higher than odas.

Na wa oo. This is really serious

SlimVee said...

haaa.pls d students shld tk it easy o

What happened 2d teaches of non-violent change? Na una go still pay 4 Properties destroyed

esut should beta join them,mtcheeew

dilinger said...

Like when did we ever resolve issues amicably?? Please remind me

Jessica law said...

Why tear Gas when is a peaceful demonstration. some pple in police and Army uniform need to be caution most times.last week on my way home from work I saw pple gathered together in a place with 3 army men before you know it one of the army man started kicking and harassing one guy who wanted to know what is happening to get out the guy nearly get injured.

I wonder o.

Abeg, which kind news report bi dis. If the school fee was increased by Gov. Amosun from a certain amount to a certain amount and was later reduced to a certain amount, don't you feel we need to know these figures. Communication symply means exchanging ideas and sharing meanings. And don't think this report has done that.

Ode Ts lasu student that cooked in front of fashola's office

Whatever Peacetalk Can Not Solve, Violence Can't Neither. (Linda's Man)

Diva Naija said...

Linda, I was there - Trust me, the level of damage incur was jaw opening o, One guy almost brushed me to the floor. You know, a similar thing also happened in Lagos State University before Governor Fashola reduced the fees recently. I just hope Governor Ibikunle Amosun will look into this matter before it escalate. The fee too cost jare. We are students, not WORKERS!!!

this steveosky na mumu sha. double duh!!!!
unilag students dont do such. we protest the corporate way. maybe na those razz lasu students u wan mention. take your time ooo.

franceman said...

ALUTA CONTINUES...........WE NO GO GREE

Mr I must comment
When you see Unilag students dey cook beans?
Abi when Unilag turn LASU?
Pls confirm b4 you say shit
Ozwor

shina shine said...

student should try and take things easy

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

Mz mami. said...

Hmmmm, my school of life.. My last sch fees was 72k as @ 2010/2011 bt now, d fees is jst outrageous.. Fellow OOUites, u dnt av 2 destroy properties of d innocent ones, let ur voice b heard in a betta way...

It is their right.

barmmie creamy said...

@dilinger,lmao

barmmie creamy said...

Yep,but unilag was posh about theirs not like dis,destroying cars won't solve d problem,they should take a cue frm unilag.

barmmie creamy said...

@richie,take it easy sir i can feel ur anger frm here. Chimoooo it is well lmao

orlameeday said...

The school should be shut down,their gals are olosho,the guys are yahoo boys/yahoo plus stupid sch

kush said...

Lmao abi oooo

If it is possible in LASU, den OOU is just mere bypass. Fight that battle relentlessly. Election is fast approaching so Victory is sure.

Anon 22:05 and 1:13pm. Am sure both of you are still students, at least u got d message he tried to convey.

Olosho talking from experience. Everybody can't be like u orlameeday. Am a fresh graduate of the school, yes 1st class. My parents paid my tuitions, house rent n gave me monthly allowance. The extra money I needed, I sold ladies tops n jackets, carrying it 4rm one hall to the other to get it. Ask God to give u wisdom to replace ur swallow brain. Great OOUite! Great!!Olosho talking from experience. Everybody can't be like u orlameeday. Am a fresh graduate of the school, yes 1st class. My parents paid my tuitions, house

You must be stupid 4 that comment

Lol i fl ur pain too @ richie i jst pity d taxi driver hus car was destroyed and pls how come i dnt get to see my comments published

popaholic said...

amosun pls reduce our skool fees and make the effect commence immediately.. i wonder how will a state skool lyk OOU be paying close to 340k for medical students and more than 150k for non medical students.. its unfair Because Education is our constitutional rigt

Yes o
Aluta continua. Victoria acerta
Long live OOU

Ode, they should cook beans when there is tear gas all around....

Mr spirit DAT fee has been high b4 amosun came in2 power. So dey shed be grateful he even thought about it

Shut up your mouth idiota! Shebi u avnt gained admission yet or u went to sch when d fees were 20k...when a student is to pay 300k+ pr year plus some small small fees dey won't protest...hoodlums ko thugs ni

Soo? Were u there wen he came to our campus to campaign? Did u know what he promised? Rubbish

Barmmie ode...coz its d same fees they pay abi say her mouth like posh..

Soo? Were u there wen he came to our campus to campaign? Did u know what he promised? Rubbish

Did you read the post,
Twas meant to be a peaceful protest, u know how many gels fainted n how many of the SUG officials were bruised. N u think Non-voilence would have gotten their attention when they sent thugs to beat us Up?
Please, read b4 commenting. Nobody attacked lasuite, Oouites were attacked by both political thugs n armed men.

Most Dance said...

It is so strange that nowadays there still countries where people have to struggle for such simple thing as education. I think that such students know the real values of education as it demands great efforts while most of learners in developed countries just take it for granted. I think that we are all people and we have to unite and try to help each other. I don`t really know what we can do but I can advise this service for students for writing papers and many other resources which can support, however I realize that they still need the diploma. So I wish hem good luck and maybe more patience, because it is not the best decision.