NMA rejects sack of 16 thousand medical doctors | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 15 August 2014

NMA rejects sack of 16 thousand medical doctors

The Nigerian Medical Association has rejected the sack of resident doctors by the Federal Govt which happened on Wednesday August 13th. 

At a press briefing today in Abuja, the president of the NMA, Dr Kayode Obembe asked the federal government to withdraw its circular on the sack of the resident doctors and also reverse the directive
"NMA demands immediate withdrawal of the suspension circular and unconditional reinstatement of the so-called sacked resident doctors. Government should show commitment on her part in resolving the current impasse with the NMA rather than resorting to punitive measures that will only further aggravate the already deplorable situation. NMA condemns in totality the alleged presidential directive via the Federal Ministry of Health suspending Residency Training Programme in Nigeria,” the NMA President added.
The NMA president also stated that even if FG reinstates the resident doctors, they will still not call off their strike, which is over a month now, adding that the govt must meet its “24-point demand”.

178 comments:

This is just More headache! Ps 24:1. BishopDammy#

Its unfair to sack them. #am Linda's newest boyfriend.

Ceeflo said...

The FG is on the winning end...Lol..the doctors certainly didn't see this coming!.....they must be shell shocked! I'm sure they will reinstate em.....just trying to shake em up a bit !

frankblack said...

K o I wil c hw d drama wil unfold..sipin my Orijin

Can someone please remind me which sector in Nigeria is not in disarray?

BrendaN

Wahala too much for this country may God help us

These docs should have several seats abeg...

D ROCK said...

What the??
Everybody knows say our president was kidding now. How could one do that?

Ghana High Ranking Minister’s Son Private Video With VC’s Daughter Leaked!

Residency should be stopped or better still the student doctors(registrars) should henceforth pay for their training as other professionals does and also resident doctors should not be allowed to form a union that go on strike,abi How do you explain students going on strike???Just like Interns/H.O going on strike..

Ghen Ghen, let see who has more power now. Seriously, sack is not the nest thing. I don't know wat GEJ is thinking, Very wrong disition at the wrong time.

Nigerian Docs have failed us..They took Money above the passion to save lives which is against their so called Hippocratic oath..

Hmmmm! D mata no be here oh.

Hazard allowance shouldn't be for only doctors as other healthcare worker are also exposed to these hazards,esp nurses and the scientist that deals with blood and bodily fluid of the very ill...

The Transformation agenda must get to all facets of the country. Its just turn by turn and we all will experience the fresh air we were promised during 2011 campaign.
Come september,ATM users would also get a little taste of it.
GEJ!! For 2015 and beyond.

I might have applaud jonah in all the sacking he had been doing but this particular sacking of doctors just didnt make any sense at all......

Dr.Kayode Obembe must be a useless man. You have houses scattered all over the country,you have if not the biggest hospital in Ibadan. you also work in UBTH as staff and consultant. You and ur co-horts are making so much money from this crisis and you still have a effontry to call government names. People like you should be stoned to death for the wickness you have melted on the people of Nigeria for your only selfish reasons.You and ur co-horts are not only wicked but wish the entire Nigeria should perish from Ebola but God is bigger than you. Useless and greedy doctors. The blood of those who have died from your greediness will hunt you and your generation unborn.

Linda a fourth ebola victim is dead. Pls find out

Gibbs said...

It's high time GEJ use his brains 2 think before making decisions concerning the issues of the country,how can one just take laws into his hands like this....it's terrible #Regularviewerfirsttimetocomment :) Pls an applaude for me :)

Yes oooooh
Federal govt has 99problems and d doctors ain't one

The President has spoken. & rejecting the sack sounds like an insult to the presidency.

Peejay said...

Poor doctors...

Lol. This one is very stupid. What do yall know?

Elyon said...

God have mercy o! But definitely not the right time for this. We have serious issue at hand #Ebola

The Medical Laboratory scientists are the ones that are mostly at risk. I think it's time we Nigerians are apprised of the duties of various health workers.

NawaoOoo

Ayo said...

Sacking 16,000 doctors is not the way to resolve the issue, Nigeria as a nation needs all doctors and nurses we can muster to help in the fight against Ebola, these people should be encouraged and persuaded to return to work for the sake of the masses.
I'm sure those at the helm of affairs would not want their husbands, wives and children to come in direct contact with Ebola patients even if they are provided with protective clothing.
A visit to IDH in Lagos, Yaba(Abule Ijesha will show you what doctors, nurses and patients have to go through every day.
Let's treat these folks with the respect they deserve and give them what is due to them.
Would GEJ or the minister of health be able to replace the experienced hands they are so quick to lay off within a short time with more experienced personnel without the whole system falling apart?
Let them stop playing politics with the lives of innocent citizens.

Solary said...

"Our. Health sector is very poor n in a deplorable state" dts wt we all say, nw d doctors wnt a pay rise, better working conditions n equipment so dt. U dnt need to refer "headache" or "stomachache" abroad, n we cry foul,
Is sacking dm d bst d govt cn do?

Gbam..you said it all

Hmmmmmmm... Like seriously?

Seun said...

Its really more headache my bishop join the wahala dey dey dis country now...every sector just get problem even to toast woman no easy again ..haf tayad

=))º°˚¤˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚¤˚°º‎​=)) u really got me on that one!!!! =))º°˚¤˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚¤˚°º‎​=))

Geeeeez! Adisa go learn how to spell!

Dental news said...

Idiot,it is the Drs you prefer to places curses on and not the thieves (politicians) ride on.I hope U and ur family dont reside in Nogeria cos if U do,rest assured those curses will come back to U and ur generations yet unborn cos U will have a share of what Jonathan is dishing out in the health sector.I am a dr,and a proud one at that,the sack by ur president can't stop my life in any way cos I've got my skills and intellect.Lets ride on and see how it pays your family.

ur head dey their. yeye people...and most of them dont know anything

u are just an ignorant fool. How are registras student drs? Be enlightened before u make comments abeg? who do u think do the work in the teaching hospitals? mtchwwwww.. ignorant mofo.

You all talking rubbish about Doctors should stfu!clueless ignoramuses.Doctors can never be poor as Ɣø̲̣ũ rats even if fed govt sack.you will still go to their private hospitals and pay through your noses.its a win win situation for them.so,stop rejoicing.

dem think sey na only dem go school. everybody stay on his lane.yeye pple

See this fool. Hippocratic oath did not mention working for peanuts or working in bad conditions. So they should be working n their families should be deteriorating with their lives at risks for government and pple that dont appreciate their efforts shey? abeg take several seats and shut the hell up.

Esty kudos said...

Why wont they call off d strike when being reinstated? Pls FG we need dz doctors in times like dzz. Dz not d best time to sack dem. Come to think of it, dz resident doctors are d ones doing majority of d jobs in hospitals.

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.............water eyaf pass garri

double wahala

maris said...

U really can't spell decision??? Smh

This is a very stupid comment. After spending 6+x yrs to study medicine. Another 6 yrs to do specialization
How do u expect them to take care of themselves.. when doctors have to work in deplorable conditions. We recently read abt the death of a nurse due to poor SOPs in a so called clinic. Pls face reality. I am a german based medical doctor and i know the difference. Naija is in deep shit when it comes to healthcare. Peopke live up to 90s here.

I agree with this doctors gov't should widral d sack.what this doctors are fighting for is for our country to be a better 1 in terms of health wise so gov't shld widral it

.........SUNNY X........

These doctors are not passionate about their jobs, they are way too money conscious.If u choose the profession to be medical practitioner don't expect to be wealthy, the oat taken by these guys is to put humans first not money.This profession is for those who are passionate about saving lives, but this not the case with Nigerian doctors, even when they encounter a dyeing patient, they would insist on money before treatment. They hv been on strike since regardless of the Ebola issue.Just so they know,in Russia medical doctors earn 200 dollars monthly, Russia sells oil and gas to European countries and they are one of the largest manufacturers of ammunition and military fighter plans, meaning they are richer than Nigeria. Nigerian doctors be grateful for what u earn.

All they know is strike, come up with a vaccine for Ebola, they all went hiding. They deserve a reduction in salary.

Well said...

Julz Cakes said...

Lol...this is indeed the freshness of air we were promised

Anonymous 3:5th. .its not ur fault.i wonder what course u u read in school.u are opening dat ur halitosis mouth to talk about people who have times 10 d brain u have.when u have headache, u will run to d hospital like a headless chicken.YOU should take several seats..idiot!

Anon 4:00pm. ...I really don't know what to say to you.ur IQ is too low for u to understand what I'm gonna say...you are as dumb as u sound.

Thank u anon 4:25..stupid is d word!

Pele ooh. .health worker

Anon 4:12pm. ..its unfortunate cos Dr key ode obey be won't read what u wrote..I think u she go face ur work rather than rant like sme1 who has made of disease...take several seats ok?

You must be very stupid

Registrars are nt student doctors. It is a pity u decided to show ur ignorance to d whole world on LIB. Registrars are specialist in training and are higher in cadre to interns and medical officers. Besides, it is d Nigerian medical association dat is on strike and dat includes all doctors includin dose dat work in private hospitals. By d way, u cld help by citing countries where residents pay for their trainin and we can start from there. Mtscheeewww

So bcos of d oath, doctors shld nt be properly renumerated. Smh. Why dnt get exposed to all sort of diseases for one month and get paid 5000 naira as hazard allowance at d end of d month. Do u rmbr dat a doctor was d first victim of d ebola crisis in Nigeria and she didn't av to stay with Sawyer for a month. 5000 naira will barely pay for laborers dat will dig her grave, so let's tink well before we talk. Btw, u can educate us more about dis Hippocratic oath u seem to know so much about

All of you blaming doctors are fools,if you r not you will not be talking rubbish.stupid people.do you think doctors are here in the world just to serve your sick heads,oh you think they don't have what to do with money or you think they don't have responsibilities.its better you keep quiet if you don't know what to say.useless people on here that just open mouth to say rubbish.fools!fir you information I am talking to everyone who is talking against the doctors here.

Esty kudos said...

Lindodo am looking for comment

Fed govt shld sack al of dem,so dey culd go 2neighbourin countries 2practice dis deir godamit profesion.dnt knw wat dey feln lik.

Why is it that when Dr's fight for their rights, some ignorant goats will start tlkin about hippocratic oath? Ask yourselves how much senators and members of the house are being paid? Pls how many lab scientists have died from ebola? This is to that cow that said lab scientists are exposed to more hazards. Pls get ur facts right b4 u comment on LIB. Gej is a mad man. He has mad men around him. Pls can they now go and run the hospitals let's see how far..... RUBBISH!!!

All health workers and not just d so-called Nigerian doctors should be well paid!

This country is sh*t

As at 2013, it's on record that we have just 25 consultant Oncologists, 40 neurosurgeons, 50 neurologists, and 300 paediatric consultants registered in Nigeria as a whole! Many people do not know the consequence of Mr President suspending the residency training! For you information, if he doesn't reinstate them or rescind on his decision, the figures I stated above will stand til Nigeria crumbles! Another case scenario is the massive brain drain that will happen in the medical sector. Imagine after medical school, there isn't any postgraduate training system in place...? the "quack" doctors then will multiply! Mind you, the Locum doctors are just doctors with the basic medical knowledge, and manning our hospitals is a further dearth to health-care! When the old hands consultants die out, who will take their place? Jonathan should better give himself some brain! You don't pour fuel to quench a raging fire! Healthcare is a core sector, do not politicize it

I so much believe that if u want to be a doctor be a doctor, if u want to be a politician be a politician. U can't be a teacher and want to earn like a doctor so can u be a doctor and want to earn like a politician. The choice I urs. Doctors have failed us they have put money first b4 human lives.

some foolish people will b here typing nigerian doctors hv failed us.and hippocratic oath they know nothing about.the victims of ebola in lagos what has been done to encourage them?very ungrateful patients.the time is coming when all the nigerian doctors will travel out for greener pastures and this country will understand the importance of the health sector.make i dey sit abroad dey watch una.nigerian doctors r the worst treated worldwide.and they have now realised this.useless country

Axing 16000 doctors' jobs in one swoop, who does that?!!! Must be a genius or a lunatic...

This is a case of curing one's headache by beheading! Goodluck Johnny...dia ris God o!

...interesting....#sipstea

GEJ takes drastic decisions without thinking wisely.

You should have just continued as a viewer because its obvious you lack intelligence.....

Arnold.

really? @ anon 4.02pm. im sure u av no doctor in ur family. shebi na hippocratic oath go pay my house rent and kids school fees. or maybe when i get to d market to buy tomato, i wil simply say im q doctor o and av saved 50 lives today, please dash me 500 naira tomato. silly u

If 3 of u're wat d future of dis country has 2 offer den we'd better disintegrate in 2015

It's a pity so many of U here dnt knw d main reason why doctors are on strike.... Now let me tel sum of u a lil.... There was an increament made last year only fr doctors as health workers, now this year the federal govt budgeted to increase nurse's salary as well, due to tht .
increment,doctors insisted tht FG must increase theirs again this year nd nt only fr d nurses, in response FG tld dem dey dnt hv d dem in increament budget fr this year so no increament.... (thts no1).... For those of u who knws lil abt how doctors operates, they hv consultants an under dem r other doctors,if u hv been to teaching hospital before u wil knw tht almost all d procedures are being Carried out by d nurses,wat doctors do is to diagnose, prescribe and operate and bcos of tht fact tht nurses take Care of patients more than doctors, d FG and d ministry of health wants to have a Nurse consultant so tht a nurse cn equally diagnose and trt wen dere is absence of doctor,.the doctors refused... Thts d reason fr d strike and nt peanuts as payment...

Dr anonymous, you can reply comments without being so rude. State ur case in a matured way and enough with the insults.

@DrOsaz said...

I worry not bcos of d affected doctors but bcos of d ignorance of d govt & d masses + d bleak future of healthcare in this country. Regardless of d reason(s) given, d obvious is a Divide and RULE 'stratetrick' & d
casualization of medical profession by d fed govt.My worry is based on this premise: When NMA reacts to this 'sack' if sustained, the following could ensue:
1. NMA directing MDCAN to embark on strike over d unconstitutional 'sack' & stoppage of specialization in d country.
2. NMA directing MDCN to withdraw training of medical students in d med schools.
3. NMA directing all doctors not to pick up any locum job in these govt hosps & enforcing it.
4. NMA blacklisting any CMD that enforces the sack.
5. Private hospitals may have to be shut down If MDCAN functionally joins in d NMA strike in solidarity.
I hope d masses would understand these listed implications & appeal to d fed govt to reconsider their stance b4 things get outta control.
I don't work for any govt hosp & I'm not in any med residency program (+ hav no intention). So, there's zero bias.
Possible later implications could also include:
1. mass exodus of med docs outta our country. And our country is short of practicing doctors already.
2. Dearth of specialists & consultants in a few years from now as d present ones would hav aged without training successors. Meanwhile there is a dearth already.
3. Med students (essentially trained by d resident docs) are half-baked leading to lob-sided doctors & thus further drop in our healthcare quality- meaning no life is safe.
4. Possible return back to d era of importing doctors from other countries who I don't see agreeing to come & face d decadence in our healthcare sector with #5,000 monthly hazard allowance + poor facility + + suicidal workload due to shortage of docs + d typical Nigerian patients that almost always present late to the hosp but demanding for a magic care & solution.
I don't want to imagine d endless implications but I strongly hope swords are sheathed by both parties asap 4 d sake of d peace of d masses.
Where 2 elephants fight, d grass suffers as our elders proverbially assert. Nigerians need not suffer further than d present one.
May The Almighty heal our land & endue d fed govt + NMA with His wisdom at this critical period. God blez Nigeria.

By all means please travel abroad and see how long it would take you all to get a jobs as doctors in other countries,with your half baked Nigerian degrees.

MiSsY JaY said...

The sack of resident doctors is unfair is FG trying to say their demand can never be meet or what..The FG should give the doctors those money they use in going abroad for treatment and medical check up.Is high time the government do sometin about hospital cuz most of them r in a sorry state.the beds r notin to write home about.its time for them to transform the hospitals in Nigeria to be far better than the one abroad..For those of u abusing the doctors one tin u duno is that this doctors are fightingnot just for themselves but also for our children who might want to be doctors someday in d future

Dis doctors swore to follow money not save lives. Always treating on guess work.

Gbam...dats the gospel truth cos we Cδ♍ε in contact with the raw fluids frm dis sickening patients with difrnt ailments in the lab n yet docs wanna be regarded as alpha n omega in the health sector...make dem G̶̲̥̅̊o sit dwn one plax joor,striking for flimsy excuses

U are fooli$h to $ay that. When A$UU did that why didn't u $ay thi$. The dr$ de$erve every penny. Ri$king their live$ for 5k hazard allowance

If you're a doctor, then I pity my country. SMH!.

First of all dz is for that fool who was asking wht course someone read in skool claiming docs have ten times his brain,re docs d only proffesionals with brain?everybody CNT b a doc and some ppl won't even go for medicine even if they will b paid to study it and they re damn brilliant, choices differs....And YES registrars re "students "or wht do u call a masters holder in pursuit of his PhD? a PhD student is d answer..regs re specialists in training(students) and their teachers re d consultants..to buttress dis, u can b a reg either junior/senior and turn out not to be a consultant I.e when a student fails to pass his/her exam.And for dt man saying does he have to tell d tomato seller I'm a doc and I've saved life before buying tomatoes, why re u painting a wrong picture as if docs re pauper to d public? re u not been paid at all?why re u talking as if d 5000 hazard allawy is all u receive? an HO(a fresh graduate of medicine in training) in a federal Hosp recieves up to 180k per month and M.O recieves more in state hosps. while reg recieves bigger in teaching Hosp with consultants taking d larger share.Probably someone need to find out how much better docs with brains receives in India /Russia unlike our Nigerian docs who re mostly half baked(facts withheld here)and YES half baked cos I've compared and contrast.someone also asked how many scientist re dead/infected with ebola in response to a comment,if I may ask how many docs re dead too? and how many nurses?d ansa is 2nurses though one confirmed doc..docs in most cases re not more exposed to dz hazards than dz two other categories though they re also exposed..Everyone in d health sector needs to be well compensated and not only docs..I think its high time ppl go for medicine for d passion of it and not for only d goodies I.e d WHO missionary docs..Lastly d healthcare system won't take its rightful position until all d professionals see themselves as important and a team and for everyone to take its rightful position they belong..these re all group of proffesionals...Oya let doz docs come after me..I'm successful in my career if u care to know and I'm very versatile...Linda post this..

Petite Diva said...

The thing that amazes me about Nigerian doctors is that they keep on rambling about other countries and how they are better paid there. I wonder if they have ever checked out the salaries of other healthcare workers in those countries and compared it to what we are earning here yet no one is insulting anybody.

They keep shouting about 5000 naira hazard allowance, i would like everyone to know that everybody in the hospital is paid the same amount even the nurses. And can someone remind me again which member of the healthcare team that attended to the liberian guy has died? Oh yeah! 2 nurses!!! The doctor is still alive i believe.

If anybody should be shouting for more hazard allowance it should be the nurses and the lab scientists not one family medicine doc that sits in the consulting room or rarely stays in the ward.

And doctors need to watch their tongues, stop insulting people. It is not nice. And if anybody likes, please feel free to insult me. I am way above your brain grade, class grade and life grade. I have no business with you. Federal Government just played you guys big time! So go back to the board and get a new game plan because threats won't work right now.

Have a nice day people...

http://journalofapetitediva.blogspot.com

Am sure he will rescind his decision to sack them. I wouldn't take the sack seriously if i were these doctors.

U re just an illiterate, get ur facts right b4 judging doctors

I left nigeria 4 months ago to practise medicine in d middle east, at first i wasnt sure if it was d rite decision but on getting here i was satisfised wit d decision but now am convinced it was a divine move. Here has widened my horizon n i cannot see myself back in nigeria whether residency is restored or not.dear colleagues flee nigeria if u can. Best wishes

Jonathan has shown he is really "clueless"! Sack 16,000 physicians in an African country is suicide. It is quite appalling that Nigerian politicians really think with their feet like bootacracy. Buhari proscribed the medical association in 1985 and that lead to a terrible Brian drain that Africa's most populous country is yet to recover from. Babangida tried, with the help to Ransome kuti to revive the system in 1988. 3 decades later history is repeating itself!!! African leaders are self centered. A big politician came over to the us to have a procedure at a cost of over $350,000. Yet this procedure is being done by poorly paid surgeons back in Nigeria for less than $6,000 dollars! The quality of the procedure is same. I have seen demands by the doctors and can say it 100% justifiable. It would significantly help to improve the quality of healthcare in Nigeria. The issue of appointment of consultants in hospital setting is not an issue at all. Only an attending physician/consultant can have admitting privileges in the hospital and take responsibility for overall care of patients. It is appalling that allied health professionals are not satisfied with their responsibilities and want to assume that of the physician. This can only happen in Nigeria because government and law enforcement are totally irresponsible and cannot protect the gullible citizens. Here in the states, a law is being proposed to prevent physician assistants with PhD from calling themselves "doctors" in the hospital in order not to confuse/mislead the patients about their roles;and the PAs fully support this. I am certain that if this was in Nigeria they would have been on strike and be abusing the physician. The dearth of qualified physician in Nigeria means that any of the allied health professional want to assume the role of a physician. There is no physiatrist in Nigeria presently hence physitheapist want to arrogate to themselves the role of physiatrist demanding to be called consultants. Creating a department of physiotherapy is an abberation! They are supposed to be a division in department of physical and rehabilitative medicine headed by a physiatrist. The same for laboratory technologist/scientist and radiographers! It is unheard of that the laboratory technologist want to be separate from the pathologist as consultants! That's insanity. Africa's largest country is fast loosing it and its leader are practically clueless! The inferiority complex of the allied health professionals is truly limitless or how does one explain an "allied" (helper, auxiliary) demanding to be boss. I read that a govt committee recommended residency programme for allied professional to create harmony! The members of that committee must be really nuts like they were drinking vodka in those meetings. Where on this planet did they see such? Residency is for doctors only! Did they even know what they were recommending? This is quite sickening. The health budget of the UK government is nearly 100 billion pounds - five times more than the national budget of Nigeria- and they don't have enough money for such stupid "residency" programme for allied health professionals. The earlier the government of Nigeria sought help from outside to manage its health system the better. Cancelling residency programme is practically condemning millions of Nigerians to no healthcare.

Is their any scientist dead yet of ebola since u claim ur more @ risk.
When Doctors and nurses talk u have to als feel relevantly affected. KMT

mamalette said...

God bless u ije, exactly what my husband told me. He says it hurts him because doctors have forgotten their calling and want 2 earn like politicians whc is not achievable in d kind of country we find ourselves.

Lmao doctors are greedy cos we want our kids to go to good schools like yours?
We should save lives for peanuts while you live and work and get paid what u deserve while we sit in the hospital and serve you all our lives? because we took hippocratic oath biko go and read the oath again We are DOCTORS (the profession) not MISSIONARIES (volunteers for the service of humanity)!!!. Somebody even mentioned russia. In russia shebi the docs go home to light ba? Do they buy fuel for gen? Do they have to deal with daily emergencies due to bad roads? Please chill its for your own good too.
Its only in Nigerian hospital you'll see patients in a ward contributing 100-500 naira daily for fuel for the generator! That's outrageous!
I'll spend 12yrs in school and get paid for running around a hospital, doing ward rounds daily what a new graduate gets paid for sitting in an office all day . Sorry I refuse.

Y'all are on Jonathan's side now, knowing how corrupt this government is? Knowing that this is not the 1st time they lied? Knowing the govt specializes in embezzlement and cover ups? Knowing that if you were getting paid 5K to risk your life as a parent, sibling or spouse, you won't even answer the idiot that said it? Hypocrites!

Please chill we understand that lives at risk and truth be told most of us on the so-called "strike" won't see a dying patient and look away! We will stabilize them and refer to private hospitals.
But we can't keep living like this! If I go to the US with my med sch fees paid, I'll be able to afford a sensible life for my family, you keep asking us to stay here and build Nigeria. Well this is part of it. Let docs get paid what they deserve. And all of u rejoicing over this locum hope you know its now that all the unemployed, underqualifed or retired docs will come out to play. Goodluck with that. Jona, just answer us! abi na our money you use for your daughter's wedding?
Alluta continua!
Dr A.

Hmmmmn trouble everywere

We should save lives for peanuts while you live and work and get paid what u deserve while we sit in the hospital and serve you all our lives? because we took hippocratic oath biko go and read the oath again We are DOCTORS (the profession) not MISSIONARIES (volunteers for the service of humanity)!!!. Somebody even mentioned russia. In russia shebi the docs go home to light ba? Do they buy fuel for gen? Do they have to deal with daily emergencies due to bad roads? Please chill its for your own good too.
Its only in Nigerian hospital you'll see patients in a ward contributing 100-500 naira daily for fuel for the generator! That's outrageous!
I'll spend 12yrs in school and get paid for running around a hospital, doing ward rounds daily what a new graduate gets paid for sitting in an office all day . Sorry I refuse.

Y'all are on Jonathan's side now, knowing how corrupt this government is? Knowing that this is not the 1st time they lied? Knowing the govt specializes in embezzlement and cover ups? Knowing that if you were getting paid 5K to risk your life as a parent, sibling or spouse, you won't even answer the idiot that said it? Hypocrites!

Please chill we understand that lives at risk and truth be told most of us on the so-called "strike" won't see a dying patient and look away! We will stabilize them and refer to private hospitals.
But we can't keep living like this! If I go to the US with my med sch fees paid, I'll be able to afford a sensible life for my family, you keep asking us to stay here and build Nigeria. Well this is part of it. Let docs get paid what they deserve. And all of u rejoicing over this locum hope you know its now that all the unemployed, underqualifed or retired docs will come out to play. Goodluck with that. Jona, just answer us! abi na our money you use for your daughter's wedding?
Alluta continua!
Dr A.

Alluta continua!
Dr A.

I've really taken tym to listen n observe closely wah dey are clamouring n aggitating for, n I must tell u'all it's simple based on greed, selfishness n pride......Dis is d point wen d country nids dem most to help fight dis epidemic n all dey could say or do is STRIKE......##Ruuuuuuuuuuuuuubbbish##

Dr A-Y said...

God bless you,my brother. Beyond ignorance, inferiority complex and envy is the disease prevalent among our allied health personnel. Permit me to share your comment on Facebook. God bless you.

He said he was shoeless previously and was delivered .This time around, he's being diagnosed Brainless....Wondering where the help ll come from

Oh please! U were "waffed" out of med sch

He said he was shoeless previously and was delivered .This time around, he's being diagnosed Brainless....Wondering where the help ll come from

Residency for doctors is a training. in other countries, such trainings are being paid for by the participants(resident doctors) but here in Nigeria, resident doctors are on full scholarship privilege (a privilege, not a right). if the very essence of establishing such program is no longer serving its purpose, then it should be scraped. The country today is challenged by the ravaging claws of EBOLA and this is the time these gentlemen are expected to heed to the national call yet they decided to abandon their duty post. if regular doctors should go on strike must the resident doctors follow suit knowing fully that they are just trainees that are being financed by tax payers money? # TO BE OR OT TO BE#

Dental news said...

Ode ni e.when Drs ask for money in teaching hospitals,the money does not go to their pockets but hospital mgt's which was indirectly asked for by govt cos govt wants management to run the hosp.No dr is asking to be wealthy but to be comfortable.i have spent 14 years in training as a dr yet not comfortable.Go to medical school and be a dr to safe Nigerians like the present doctors can't.mumu!

Dental news said...

olodo is what U are.sack us,we we practise in this Nija and U will pay our bills.Idiot,don't ask for ur rights from ur government,sit there spitting saliva.

Dental news said...

Who U be? Auxillary nurse or midwife?nurses do everything but Drs diagnose,prescribe and perform surgery.sweet heart tell me what else a patient needs to get well.

Dental news said...

Ose o jare olopolo.It is the same grass that will suffer that are uttering rubbish here.Let them continue ti wallow in their ignorance

Coco, ur husband must b a clown. U and Ije both ignorant people. Get ur facts straight before showing ur ignorance in public. A Dr is paid 5k for hazard
HIV, Hepatitis, Tuberculosis, now ebola, and d rest. Foul smelly diabetic ulcers, needle pricks nd u r talking about calling. Which calling? To whom much is expected, much should be given. Besides its not only d allowance dat is d reason for NMA strike. Go educate ur local champ of a husband...

LIB VISITOR

Contact me for your fashion handbags , male n female wristwatches at affordable prices etc ping 2752572B or 08063862213

Nigerian drs are not civilized uall sound like market women. Cursing the way u do I dont think u deserve better than the sack.

Gbam their mates left comfort of America went to liberia tohelp ebola patients all they know is strike sack all of them we will manage agbo

Travel what are u waiting for. FYI u cant pass medical exams in the west u will end up being a lab technician. With ur foul language u will come back after 3 months

Antoine said...

Jonathan did well.

FG has iterated severally that they dont have the requested sum captured in the budget. Where do the doctors expect the extra pay to come from? Budgets are things probably not taught to them in the Medical school. If they are not scared of the current situation, they won't be protesting like they are doing now.

Doctors are relatively well paid in Nigeria. A junior reg grosses about N260k ($1,600/month; while they may want to compare their salaries with those abroad($4,000/month in US, GBP2,000/month in the UK), we all know the services rendered and equipment available here differs from what is tenable outside the country. So if you don't have the same equipment/technology as your colleagues in the UK/US, how can u claim to have even close to the same level of training/expertise? What is the basis for an increase in pay?

I have read several comments from other LIB readers saying, 'The grass will suffer'. Now, 16,000 is a large number and if they all go private, we should expect medical fees to be competitive else they'd have no customers. For economic reasons, we should expect a reduction in medical charges due to the glut of available medical personnel. 'Grace' to grass...

The grass would suffer, Yes... #ButThatsNoneOfMyBusiness

I read with so much disappointment the manner in which doctors who have gone through professional training in credible institution respond to comments on the issue at stake. it clearly shows that they have lost the true essence of their profession. I do not understand why they feel they are better educated than others in different fields. Nigeria is our country and we much strive to see it survive.

Dera pharmD said...

Point of correction, it's pharmacist that research and develop drugs not doctors.
@dental news, I'm really surprised at ur foul language, lack of critical thinking. We in the health sector, pride ourselves as professionals and as such, certain things, certain use of words should not be associated with us. Seriously? Fool? Idiot? Mad...? What is all this? Is this how you treat your patients when they come to you hoping for the best care? Please.... And yes, I'm a pharmacist, a proud pharmD graduate at that

Jane said...

Crawl back into ur hole pharm D!

I want to to thank you for this very good read!!
I certainly loved every little bit of it. I have got you book-marked to look at new stuff you post…

my homepage: Prolong

Generally, it is a legal term that refers to emotions,
mind or injuries to the body. On the day of settlement, the claimant needs to have agreement with the offender for the
compensation needed to cover all the charges and expenses
that they incurred. Like buying a commodity in grocery
stores or finding the right school for educating your young or finding the best architect to do the design works for you,
people tend to look for the best.

Also visit my page :: accident lawyer

You could definitely see your expertise within the article you write.
The sector hopes for even more passionate writers like you who aren't afraid to say how they believe.
At all times follow your heart.

Feel free to surf to my page - กล้องวงจรปิด

You could certainly see your expertise in the work you write.
The sector hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to say how
they believe. At all times follow your heart.

Also visit my homepage; Online System 2015

In order to do so, mysteries must be solved and missions must be completed.
Acting like a rating system for movies, it determines the age group that
a particular game is appropriate for. Video and
audio-equipped bait cars with tracking devices are more often utilized resulting in more captures.

Feel free to surf to my homepage: gta 5 online money hack (hackgta5online.com)

A good option for this race is the Mazda Roadster RS (NC) '07 from the Dealership for only $25K.
Since the launch of Honda Insight―the
first hybrid car to go on sale in the United States―in 1999,
the country has come a long way with more than 2
million hybrids to its credit; the most number of hybrids for any country in the
world. Realistically it's the leasing of property that gives you the great market knowledge and database that backers want.

Feel free to visit my weblog Business

Thank you a lot for sharing this with all folks
you really recognise what you are talking approximately!
Bookmarked. Please additionally talk over with my site =).
We can have a hyperlink change arrangement between us

Check out my webpage: madu penyubur kandungan al mabruroh

I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with
the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?

Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it's rare to see a
great blog like this one nowadays.

Here is my site ... Linwood Kortright

I just could not leave your web site before suggesting that I actually enjoyed the standard info an individual provide on your guests?

Is going to be again steadily in order to check out

Also visit my homepage - facebook privacy issues

Awesome! Its in fact awesome piece of writing, I have got much clear idea regarding from this piece of writing.

Look into my web site Oxygenius Cream

As Dr. Tessina looks generally on stereo, online, she is known

Feel free to surf to my weblog :: bullion

Hey very interesting blog!

Look into my blog; ที่เที่ยวเปิดใหม่หัวหิน

DownloadShadow Combat 2 Cheat right now and ejoy enjoying without any limits!

Feel free to surf to my blog - shadow fight 2 hack android download

Nice blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog shine.

Please let me know where you got your design.
Cheers

Here is my blog post; Plumbing emergency

Excellent blog here! Also your web site loads up very fast!
What web host are you using? Can I get your affiliate link
to your host? I wish my website loaded up as quickly as yours lol

Here is my webpage :: grow Taller

Bachelors and couples really don't really need a high-capacity front-loading washing machine in their home.
How would a goose do in an agitating washing machine.
The water level in this machine is specified by the setting
that you choose, and it always uses the least amount of water possible.

Feel free to visit my web blog :: best high chairs []

It's in fact very complex in this full of activity life to listen news on TV, so
I only use world wide web for that reason, and take
the newest news.

Take a look at my homepage - writingcustompaper.com paper writing service 🎓

In case your trade-show has attendees in t-shirts jeans
and, the style could be little laid back, possibly in a business casual search.

Feel free to surf to my page - modeling

You'll find other designs all over the globe, nevertheless, none beautiful
or as stunning as the types who have originated
in Brazil.

my weblog: atmosphere models

At its primary lies a prosperous abstraction for describing, the Eclipse Platform,
composing, and manipulating info.

Here is my website talent agency

20 is included by the HIDA design -instant conferences in a
reverse tradeshow structure wherever customers
stay from selling businesses at tables and groups pass.

Review my weblog ... promotional models

The CFDA continues to work directly with notable manner naturalist and head of the Diversity
Coalition when it comes to range.

Feel free to surf to my web blog; models

Therefore got them as a present for me personally she understood my interest for example and fashion style.

my web blog - models

Under growing stress to become finer and thinner, and younger and younger consequently, types are.

Here is my webpage ... fashion models

Someone necessarily help to make seriously articles I might
state. That is the first time I frequented your web page and thus far?

I surprised with the research you made to make this
actual put up amazing. Magnificent activity!

Also visit my weblog ... watch brands list

Choose a Winx and start style your very own trend wings:
designs and select shapes, and paint them in your favorite colors!

Here is my blog post - modeling agency

Preparation of a survey takes both skill and time
of people educated of both jobs and questionnaire planning.

my webpage; models

a trade-show being presented at by plenty of moments, a hope is of visibility producing serendipity.

Feel free to visit my web-site: talent agency

Businesses tend to be more vulnerable to hire you
as being a male type if you should be available to stepping outside the box and being not same.

Take a look at my web-site ... atmosphere models

A healthy diet also prevents the body from aging, thus providing us an even more youthful look.

Also visit my site ... fashion models

Suppliers did not understand what they certainly were performing with models who walked the runway in straightforward bathrobes.

Here is my web page: modeling

I am courting a German person at this time, he is alluring +
incredibly affectionate but he has no style lol.

Feel free to surf to my site: atmosphere models

This indicates you can get around even more or $400 to get a superior AY collection guitar and
you may also seethe F styles practically requesting
the exact same value.

my web blog ... promotional models

Alex Simon in Nevada hence stands as an inseparable element of Livetalent, which
can be your one stop look for endorsing your company
on and off conclusion.

my web blog fashion models

Bohemian trend includes a kind of its own and also you have really appropriately stated that the musician is herself or herself a
piece of art!

Also visit my web blog ... promotional models

The reddish version has got the same easy
matte finish since the bright model (contrary to the black style,
which has a softtouch plastic feel).

my web page :: atmosphere models

And a drawing from the Old, the one at the top of
the peasant, exhibits a handbag a large number of females hold.

my blog :: trade show models

Being fashion conscious not only enables you to popular among your people but also upgrades your assurance level.

Here is my web blog :: atmosphere models

Till they decided to put in place their
particular design business in 1982, one of the best French style manufacturers Dolce both worked as assistant designers.

my blog: trade show models

The types proceed from sexy in recommending others to assist moms in war-torn to sympathetic countries.

Here is my web page: atmosphere models

The folks who generate to tradeshows are fundamentally seeking familiarity with goods and new systems
inside their specific occupation.

Visit my page ... talent agency

As a costar within the Disney present "Infamous Drugs" she's said to be the only real Filipino -American that
has a major purpose around the Disney Station.

Also visit my blog modeling

In case you incorporate vans, the rarest product was
basically the' 62 Loadside pickup with only 369 generated.

Here is my weblog: modeling

Sophia Cahill, that year, a previous Miss Wales, strode the driveway
carrying just a hat from Coles' range at pregnant, 8 weeks
during Fashion Week.

Feel free to surf to my web-site - modeling agency

Distinctive types are Klum which is number 1 in my own checklist and
undoubtedly - the popular model and as well
as Claudia Schiffer Kinski.

Also visit my blog: atmosphere models

Ship necks or staff necks are generally the incorrect alternative for large-breasted
girls. You ought to wear v necks instead.

My web site; fashion models

It may be helpful to produce a model-based on this widespread connection considering that the task could be
the connection between the worker and also the firm.

Feel free to visit my blog; talent agency

Take a step out part of one's field and show who your design and you
actually are!

Stop by my homepage; fashion models

Customers are generally more impressed by somebody who has a take-it-or-depart-it attitude than somebody who seems
eager to get the task.

my web site: models

Looking for denim that is fresh?

my site ... trade show models

It had been n't easy in performing to get many chances, therefore I began doing makeup and that's how I was found as a style.

Also visit my blog post :: modeling agency

Angie Dickinson 's job in show business started inside the 1950s with
touch-pieces on movies and different television shows.

my blog post - trade show models

In 1957, the Fight Magnum was chosen the Model 19, and cost-all of $95, sometimes in dime or blue.

My web blog :: promotional models

A trade show booth should pull customers that are potential in connect to, to examine and learn about your product or procedure.

Stop by my blog ... atmosphere models

Since she is off the exhibit, I am hoping she will get her pleasure that is interior - and show it to others.

Look into my web site: trade show models

Ensure that your parents are to type up to speed with your selection - it may need a lot
of operating.

my web page; atmosphere models

A healthy diet should specially be implemented while
in the rising kid or perhaps a teenager's schedule.

my page modeling agency

Lola Falana was identified by Davis, Jr., who became her mentor and
gave her a job in his Broadway show Golden Boy.

my site: models

This post is invaluable. Where can I find out more?

Also visit my web page - Sydney Business Coach

Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog
platform are you using for this site? I'm getting tired of Wordpress because I've
had problems with hackers and I'm looking at options for another platform.
I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Here is my homepage Sydney Business Coaches

Aw, this was a really good post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to produce a superb article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and don't
seem to get nearly anything done.

my web-site: Career Coach Sydney

Along with the car sales, the Japanese used car sellers also supply the dismantled parts of the
vehicles in cube containers of size 20ft or 40 ft. Strict standards
and excellence in service is what made Cullitons the premiere limo service of choice for thousands of Torontonians as well as visiting
guests from all over the world. According to Campbell Fuller,
spokesman for the ICA, buyers need to contact their insurer before agreeing
to a purchase.

Also visit my page; Sprint Iphone Unlock

If it doesn't, just say it's the thought that counts.
Candy can thrill your taste buds, and it can also warm your heart.
He acclaims astonishing customer service for his extraordinary results.
Only wear red lipstick if it absolutely matches the shade
of the red dress. By natural means, a precious bride will need the many good
would like and beginners luck to have a thrilled married life along with
red bridal wear can be beginning for that. Taking to Twitter to share
the details of her look, she tweeted: '#Tomorrowland - AWorld - Beyond @disney_uk
premier wearing @hm @ysl'. If you want to hide any curves then you should consider wearing
baggy dresses.

Feel free to surf to my website; red plaid dress amazon

You really make it seem really easy along with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something that I think I would by no means understand.
It sort of feels too complex and very wide for me. I'm looking ahead for your subsequent post, I will try to get the cling of it!

Feel free to surf to my page - tinyurl.com